Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 971 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

peter b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was enthusiastic and informative. There is so much art to be seen in the galleries that one tour is not sufficient but the guide pointed out the highlights and was particularly strong on the many Bernini sculptures--not to be missed!

Eric S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Having known very little about the Borghese family prior to this tour, I personally found the tour and our guide's wealth of knowledge very interesting and essential to fully understand and appreciate what I was looking at. It was amazing to be standing so close to incredible works of art while our guide, Andrew, explained the back stories. The narrative connected you to the artists and the time period and provided a deeper, more intimate lesson on Renaissance art history. Even though 3 hours sounds like a long tour, it didn't feel that way. You have only 2 hours in the villa before they clear it out for the next collection of tour groups. The last hour included a guided stroll through the gardens which was optional. We found this tour extremely interesting and educational,and our tour guide did a fabulous job of engaging us and answering our questions. I highly recommend this tour for people who do not have an in depth knowledge of Renaissance art, but appreciate it and want to learn about the passions, intentions, and decisions of the people who created it and collected it.

kathryn c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great. Our guide Rebecca was very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the gallery and its pieces. Highly recommend.

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Just amazing. So many beautiful pieces to be found here and having the added insight of the guide into the history of the works and the house and gardens worth the extra just makes the whole experience complete. Your visit here is strictly time limited so for me the guide was essential to ensure you got the pace right to cover the whole exhibition and get the most time at some of the incredible pieces like Berninis Daphne and Apollo. Worth the price of admission just to see this. This Gallery and gardens should not be overlooked.

Kristie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Our tour guide - John was awesome. He was funny and engaging. He really made the tour interesting. Also he made Fred Armisen laugh.

parveen a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide rebecca was brilliant. She was so enthusiastic and lively she can make anyone fall in love with the tour

Jasmine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Rebecca was an amazing guide! Very knowledgable and funny. She made the paintings and sculptures come alive for my husband and I. Especially with Bernini and Caravaggio. We really enjoyed having her as a guide and would definitely recommend this tour to our friends who are visiting Rome.

Jasmine and Mun

Laurie G D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour, our guide Rebekah, with her vast knowledge and interesting anecdotes made our visit remarkable. It is a pity that just two hours is all that is permitted to visit such an important collection!

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful way to experience a lesser known area of Rome and absorb the culture through the local food. Our guide Betheny was terrific!

Teresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Rebecca was very pleasant and kept us engaged thoughout the tour with all the history she gave us on the gallarey and gardens. She made our visit to the Borghese Gallery a pleant experience which we will treasure forever.

Iris R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Andy is an outstanding guide
Directions on where to meet the tour are confusing

Miichael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was probably the best tour we experienced during our 3 1/2 week visit to Italy. Pia, our guide, was an art history professor and really knew how to keep us interested in out tour, as well as to share with us the appropriate amount of information to a group of individuals that may not necessarily have an extensive background in art history. We left with a greater understanding or art. Also, the museum limits the number of individuals in the museum at any one time, so there are no crowds to deal with. There was a walking tour or the gardens that was also very informative.

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

yvonne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great tour hosted by MIke !

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfectly run. Guide John was very knowledgeable and helpful with Rome dining suggestions. Fyi, gallery is very warm so bring water, all bags will be safely checked in tour group bin so it was fast and safe.

Jane D L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Had an American guide who was very knowledgable. Rebecca really put more effort than most guides in everything she did. The art collection was amazing and the Villa is stunning. Only minor problem was no a/c. Ventilation was open windows.

Thomas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maximo's informative and entertaining history of the gallery, artists and the art added a lot to the experience.

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While in Rome, you must visit Borghese Gallery and Gardens. Rebecca, our City Wonders tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable of the artwork and made the tour a lot of fun. Works by Bernini, Titian and Raphael are on display. After the Gallery tour, we walked through the gardens and ended up at a location with a beautiful view of Rome and Piazza del Popolo. This was an afternoon well spent in Rome.

Megan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We booked several tours in Viator and Citywonders and my friends and I agree that Gio, our tour guide for the Borghese Gallery was the best tour guide we've had. For 3 hours, we enjoyed the fascinating story about the Borghese family and the arts. Gio was passionate and engaging tour guide very articulate and knowledgable on the subject. Not been a fan of art but Gio inspired me to buy a book and learn more about the history of the gallery, the art and Rome in general. Other tour guides can learn from Gio! Thanks Gio for a great tour!

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Tour guide Rebecca was very enthusiastic, knowledgeable and entertaining. She made the Bernini sculptures come alive.

Craig N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great small group tour!

Sammy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was absolutely stunning and amazing!! I was fascinated by the beautiful gallery of art and the serenity and peacefulness of the garden. Our guide, Lindsay explained the artwork and garden tour so simply and yet in such detail that I felt I'd lived in the time the pieces were created. Best!

Vera C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour!
Mike the guide was very knowledgeable and energetic, exuding charisma and humor and therefore keeping our attention since we were jet lagged on our first day in Rome
Excellent tour
We are very pleased

Ryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Mike was fantastic. Highly recommended to do a tour!

Viewing 5 of 39

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 58.43

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731BORGHESE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message