Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 1489 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1489 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Rebecca from City Wonders was knowledgeable, obligating and very friendly. She went to the trouble to ensure she knew each person by name. Her English was perfect and so very easy to understand. Her consideration for toilet breaks was much appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. Didn't need to take this tour to really skip lines but would never have fully understood these treasure without the guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our tour, Gio was a fantastic guide. She gave us just the right amount of insight and history into the catacombs and churches we visited.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting and different tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Karina was informative, interesting, and funny
She was excellent, answered all our questions and was very good at pointing out other special areas to us. As a result on Saturday we visited 2 of these.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was very good and shared a lot of interesting facts with us. Our favorite part was going down 3 layers under the existing church.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating tour! Karina our guide has a flair when relaying the information about what you get to see which is a vast amount of mind blowing history, and gave extra information called commercial breaks when we were on the bus on the way outside the city walls. Nice to do something a bit different to the rest of the tourist trail. If you have also ever visited the Paris catacombes then this is a nice comparison.. quite different indeed!

Time very well spent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding

Evelyn
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really interesting and the guide was super out going, full of knowledge and great overall. It was intriguing and a bit creepy. Definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting. Jose and Rebecca had a great love and knowledge of the subject which they imparted to us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very good and gave a lot of relavent information while keeping the tour moving.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Rebecca did a great job. She was knowledgeable and kept the tour interesting. This was my last day in Rome or I would have booked more tours with her as she was the best guide we had during our 15 days in Italy. She told multiple stories that brought the crypts and catacombs to life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I, including our two children in their twenties, loved this tour. It was very fascinating learning the history behind the crypts and catacombs. The designs in the crypts were unbelievable and the tour of the catacombs was so interesting. This is not your typical Rome tour. Our guide, Allessandro, was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

more than i expected, also great tour leaders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was a fascinating insight into how the crypts and catacombs came to be and why. The visit to Basilica of San Clemente was a highlight - city upon city has been excavated, right down to the 1st century. Our guide was passionate and knowledgeable. Can highly recommend this tour. Be advised that there are steps in the catacombs to negotiate.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely intriguing and our guide Ernesto was simply, awesomingly full of so many unknown facts and history. Great tour :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fascinating and unusual tour. It started with a coach trip to the Catacombs sadly no bones present any more!, then another coach trip to the fascinating 4-levela church of San Clemente, then back on the coach to the fountain where the tour began for a short walk to perhaps the most unusual museum in Rome - the Capuchin museum complete with celebratory skeletal scenes featuring hundreds of dead monks and a couple of princesses too. I had a feeling this would be a good tour - I could feel it in my bones! - and I was right! Three separate parts to a half day tour packs a lot in and is good value for money. Our tour guide Rebecca was helpful and knowledgeable, and answered any questions anyone had, as well as putting everything in its historical and cultural context.
A great way to enjoy a taste of macabre Rome. Bone appetite!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour with Massimo was great. He was informative, we got to see things you might not see and its something off the beaten path and within the city. i would recommended if you have the time.

pearsond64
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. The tour guides were fun and very informative. It was a tour that we had no idea of what to expect. A great tour, glad we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a very good tour the tour guides are fun and knwoledgeable. Iwould highly reccomend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Astonishing tour, very good guide, highly recomended,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was so informative and our guide Katrina managed to portray a real understanding of the crypts and catacombs. Would thoroughly recommend the tours, very professional and well organised.

From USD $ 77.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CRYPTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message