4.5 star rating: Recommended 1298 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1298 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is one if those do not miss this is a wonderful tour. The catacombs are awesome and the Crypt is just incredible. A must see and a beautiful ride into the countryside....enjoy and thanks !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great. .Rebecca was wonderful and the the entire tour enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were absolutely amazed by the crypts of the Cappuchin monks. Giulia was our most informative and entertaining tour guide. Our small group were bussed to the Appian Way and the Catecombs beneath, another truly unbelievable solemn place. Our tour finished at St Clemente Basilica, on its various levels and times in history dating back to the earliest days of the church, and continuous running water beneath. A great tour to see what lies beneath Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

There were quite a few people signed up for the tour, and we were pleased that the tour company split us into two groups. Both guides on the tour were very entertaining and knowledgable. Massimo took our group through each site. He was quite an engaging speaker. The tour bus that took us to each of the sites was clean and comfortable. Not sure that all tourists to Rome take the opportunity to see the Catacombs, the Capuchin Monks' Crypt and San Clemente Basilica. The tours have an "off-the-beaten path" feel to them that we appreciated. Fascinating places. Unfortunate that photos are not allowed at any of them. The Crypt tour might not appeal to the squeamish, but it was tastefully conducted.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Two of our families went on this tour. The tour guide, Rebecca, was absolutely fantastic. She was the best we have ever had. Her information was very engaging, but most importantly, she was always concerned with the group's comfort and enjoyment of the day. I would highly recommend her as a tour guide, and the company as a tour. It was such an interesting day for all of us. Thanks. Mae Cardaci

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

So glad someone told me to do this tour. The 2 tour guides were Fantastic, knew their information, told us trivia as we went by places in Rome and they made it more than just a typical tour but a personal fun and special tour that was made just for our group. I would highly recommend it. So glad we got to see the 5 sites we did and I would still repeat to tour again it was so good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend this tour!! really informative guide called Gio and we loved all three parts to this trip. Would certainly recommend it . We did this tour in the afternoon after the half day walking tour of Rome and the Colosseum.
This combination worked fantastically as we finished the walking tour at about 1.00pm and had to meet this tour at 2.30pm in Piazza Barberini. So we dashed on the metro and arrived at Piazza Barberini about 1.40. Just enough time for a plate of Pasta in a bar on the corner (recommend the pasta arrabiata) then meet tour guide at the fountain. As this tour was a little way out of Rome it meant we could sit on the coach and be taken to all our destinations, after the mornings waling tour this was a welcome relief. So if you want two really good tours and you need to put them back to back as you are a little short of time this combination works fabulously. You really see a lot. Thank you all we had a wonderful time!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The three places gave a good perspective of life and death in the early Christian era. Tour was well organized and the tour guide professional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I especially liked the museum! The museum was fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our group of about 40 left from the meeting site to board a bus to go to the catacombs on the Appian Way. On the way, our guides, Michael and Peter, gave a running commentary about the history of various places we passed along the way and about the catacombs we were about to see. It was easy to hear since the guides used microphones. At the catacombs we broke into 2 smaller groups; ours was led by Peter. As we toured the catacombs Peter shared much about the history and culture. He was very open to questions and was a an excellent guide. After the catacombs we drove to the San Clemente Basillica church for another tour led by Peter, who again proved very knowledgeable and open to questions. Our third stop was at the monastery of the Capuchin monks to see the "bone" tributes. It was sobering to observe the bones of so many now dead, but Peter expressed a reverence and appreciation for their solemn beauty that made the tour quite memorable. Overall, a very good tour, well worth the money. A few notes: There is a fair amount of walking and traversing old, uneven or steep steps, so be forewarned. The guides did provide time for a bathroom break and souvenir run at the catacombs. Peter clearly revealed a great appreciation for the sites we toured and we were very impressed with the depth and breadth of his knowledge. And, finally -- keep in mind that these very talented guides who work hard to keep you informed and entertained for 4 hours would appreciate a small tip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely brilliant and a must do along with the usual sites of Rome. Our tour guide (unfortunately can't remember her name) was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. We actually enjoyed and got more out of this tour than we did out of the Vatican and Collosseum/Best of Rome.

Would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic! Our guide Barbara was fun, informative and so helpful. We loved visiting the old history of Rome seeing the catacombs and Capuchin Cemetery was eerie but awesome. The side trip to the church was an added bonus. I would recommend this tour to all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our trip to the Crypts and Catacombs was excellent. Our guide Karina was very knowledgeable and friendly. As a bonus on our trip we were able to see the San Clemente Basilica, which was very intriguing. It was amazing to be able to tour the 14th century Basilica, the 4th century Basilica below it and then the 1st century Basilica below that. This trip was well worth the time and money. I would definitely go again as there is so much to learn.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Superb guide, with appropriate time at each of the sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour

From USD $ 84.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CRYPTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message