4.5 star rating: Recommended 1298 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1298 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Mike was awesome. His stories made this tour so fun!! The history was creepy and interesting. Thank you to the bus driver too. Those are crazy streets!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely fantastic! The catacombs were absolutely amazing and spooky, it was so neat to be able to go back in time at the church and the capuchin crypt was crazy! Better see it before it's gone!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was fascinating! I know it sounds macabre to like decorations made from human bones but it really does solve a space problem. How else could they have buried that many people in a small space - one mass grave? This is much more creative and sort of honors the dead. There are much stranger things people want done with their bodies after they die. This is most artistic.

pritchardsam84
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Simply fantastic! You'll see and learn a lot. It was a comfortable coach and when in the catacombs and other sites you'll be amazed. Mike our guide was brilliant. He's funny, educational and knows a lot. We both highly recommend this tour and tour company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Rebecca was enthusiastic and knowledgable. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and learnt so much about Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Crypts and Catacombs was an AWESOME tour! We started by bus and went to the Catacombs. Very interesting. The tour director, Violet, was very knowledgable. A woman who had relocated to Rome and was very much an asset to the tour. The next stop; St. Clemen's was very interesting on literally all levels. The highlight however, was the Crypts! A very interesting place to visit and in my/our opinion, the best part of the tour! So glad we decided to add this to our time in Rome! It truly was a gem!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour is very interesting. The guide - very efficient. You can=t go to this places alone. I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Rebecca, our guide, was the best we have experienced in all our European tours. Her extensive historical knowledge and delightful stories made this tour one of our favorites. We would reccomend everyone take the time to explore more than the normal typical tourist destinations

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour definitely goes to some less visited sites, for those interested in going beyond the typical Vatican, Coliseum, Forum, etc. sites. While we had one tour bus with about 35 people on it, there were 2 guides assigned which made the group smaller and more enjoyable. The catacombs were very interesting, and humbling, from a historical perspective. The bone monks were also unusual. I had seen something similar to this in Paris, but didn’t know anyone else did this. The church was wonderful too. With 4 different and individually interesting layers, the site was really unique. I think our tour guide categorized it best as “archeological lasagna.” Speaking of which, our guide was a wonderful American named Rebecca. Yes, and American guide in Rome! She was terrific! Her energy and passion for Rome was contagious, and really made the tour enjoyable. Plus, the lack of a language barrier was really nice for a change. Overall, we really enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone wanting to try something a little different in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour that was a bit off the usual must see sights in Rome. This brought history, and especially early Christian history, to life in a unique way. The last stop at the Crypt of the Capuchin was a bit macabre, but overall this was a fantastic tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was awesome. Learned so much about the history aspect of the crypts and catacombs. I would recommend it to anyone who would like that personal touch when learning about Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very worthwhile afternoon in Rome. Our guide was very knowledgable! This was in actuality three tours in one with a new, clean bus picking us up at a great central Rome location and moving us from place to place. The catacombs were fascinating (and why we originally signed up for the tour) but the Capuchin Crypt and Basilica of San Clemente were two of the most interesting and memorable places we saw in Rome. Very well organized and professional tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I booked this tour on behalf of two other traveling companions. (I didn't actually take this tour.) However I was informed by my companions that they thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would recommend this tour highly. They said that the tour guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Really good worth doing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide (Mike) stepped us back in time as we navigated our way through the catacombs. We had flown in on the redeye and hit the ground running. Our tour was in the afternoon and was a great way to finish out the day. Mike was awesome and EXTREMELY knowledgable. This is a great tour.

From USD $ 84.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CRYPTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message