Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 1717 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Tena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed this tour and our guide Rebecca was great. She was very knowledgeable, energetic and friendly. This is an unusual tour that gives you a glimpse of ancient Rome in a unique way.

Catherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing tour. Our guide Karina was so knowledgable and made everything really interning. It was great to get away from the huge crowds as well.

jackie.neuman57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our Grandson who graduated from High School and just started college wanted to go to Rome so we took him there. Our Viator tours really helped us to see many things. We only had a week there and could not have seen as much as we did without Viator. The guides were very good and the tours were really complete.

Jaci D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The hosts were very organised, attentive and helpful. Their communication of the topics was very clear and easy to comprehend

Steven S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Definitely have become a fan of the 'Skip the Line' tours...worth every penny especially if time is short.

Melinda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a very interesting tour. Our tour guide was excellent! Good half day tour of something different. I would recommend this tour.

Nat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect, if you like bones, and if it's a really hot day I definitely recommend this tour as its really cool inside, also don't do if you are claustriphobic as it can get very tight

Karen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome tour!! The guide was knowledgeable and the sites were interesting. I would highly recommend booking this tour.

Dev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved Katarina, our guide. She was excellent, very knowledgeable and personable. Definitely put this tour on your list you will not be disappointed.

colburn17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved the tour! Excellent, Peter is a very knowledgeable guide. He kept us on the edge of our seats and there was never a dull moment. The tour takes you outside the ancient walls of Rome, and Peter was able to tell us the history of many of the places we passed by. During the tours, he gave us solid, factual information without a bias.

George F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and extremely informative on the historic elements. As well as being comedic, and keeping us entertained. He never tired of answering all of our endless questions. I would suggest this tour to my friends, that are coming to Rome in the Spring.

Gerald V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, so very different. Angela the tour guide,was wonderful, knowledgable to the max. Born in NY, easy to understand and very friendly.

SarahMain91 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had Lucan as our tour guide on the afternoon of 18/09/15, Lucan was fantastic, really engaging, informative and passionate. Lucan took his time to answer all questions and was generally great!
I would definitely recommend this tour, it was enjoyable to see the other side to Ancient Rome and the city below which isn't really touched upon on other tours!

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was an amazing afternoon and extremely interesting. Our guide, Rebecca was very knowledgeable and courteous.
We would highly recommend this tour to others visiting Rome.

D.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely amazing. Our guide was fantastic and the tour was excellently organised and went smoothly without any problems. The Capuchin Crypts are unreal, the Catacombs are fantastic and the Basilica of San Clemente is a great suprise to finish off with! I had no idea what to expect from the Bascilica but as our guide kept saying - it's like travelling through time! Spectacular.

Sally V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I am not into buildings therefore, being part of the past and getting an understanding of how people lived and their passions was the best!

In Rome, there should be an architectural tour which would describe the people of the past and their styles of living.

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Melanie was superb and really was passionate about showing us these sites of Rome. She knew so much and really expressed herself well! The group was a little too big....and we would have preferred a smaller group however, Melanie handled the size well and made it more interactive than it normally would have been given its size.

Sdeso Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I have an unusual interest in the weird and wonderful, and made my husband sign up for this tour with me. He is so glad that he did. We got into Rome about an hour before the trip and had a stressful time getting to the hotel, so my husband was in a less than stellar mood, but it quickly got changed around. No photos were allowed on the tour, out of respect, but it didn't dampen the fun. Our guide was Karina and she was fantastic - great knowledge and a sense of humour. First we visited the museum and crypt of the Cappuccin monks who maintain a noble and wonderful life philosophy. The crypt was beautiful, although some may find it dark and creepy. Next we headed outside the city to the catacombs, and got to see an area that had been excavated only 6 months previously, a,one other things. Again, beautiful and sad, great history, and was wonderfully quiet and cool give the hot days and huge crowds we'd been experiencing lately. Finally the tour ended at the basilica of saint Clements which is a great illustration of the history of all of Rome.
The only thing that I was slightly irritated by is that there was a dress code to enter these places covered knees and shoulders that did not seem to be reinforced. It was only irritating because my husband and I were in jeans and miserable because it was so hot, but we did so out of respect. Yet others, one in a dress that at best reached mid thigh, were comfortable and still able to enter these places. They did have to cover their shoulders had brought a scarf for this purpose so were aware there was a dress code, but the short skirt, or very short shorts, wasn't enforced. This isn't the fault of the tour/guides, just irritating. So if you plan on taking this tour, please be respectful and abide by the dress code.

Leonardo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour is very good and everything its arranged to perfection. No waiting and our guide Rebecca makes it exceptional.
Thank you.

margaret.franks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I loved the cCatacombs and Crypts tour. The guides were excellent and the conditions were perfect for such hot, September weather. I would highly recommend this tour!

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had high hopes for this and it exceeded all of them. A GREAT tour, good value and we were fortunate enough to have had the single best tour guide we have ever had the pleasure of having. Melanie was so phenomenal that words escape us.

mr J L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A long, 3 site and well organised trip. Well worth seeing. Our guide John was full of information. Like any of the trips we went on, if you went solo you would not gain much insight into the past.

Corine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastico! I was very apprehensive about doing this tour but did it anyway out of curiosity and boy was I glad I did! Our guide Rebecca was so warm and friendly and really enjoyed sharing her knowledge. The tour as a whole was very informative and interesting and gave you a very different perspective at each three stops. The bus ride to the Catacombs takes you outside the city walls and was nice to experience This is a tour you don't want to miss!

CHot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well organized tour that included transport between the venue. Kiley was the best - the Capuchin crypts were amazing - Catacomb tour so very informative. Great group of people on this tour

johnhaddock57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A wonderfully rich and rewarding tour. Make no mistakes, it is a biggy! So many things to see, and so much history to cover. But in one afternoon you feel yourself transported back in time to the time of the first Christians burying their dead in the catacombs, then slowly follow the progression of the church through to the underground layers of St Clemente, where you are able to see the foundations of the early churches. Then to the later development of early medieval architecture and some of the earliest frescoes. You will need stout boots, plenty of drinking water and not be afraid of the dark!
A wonderful experience.

Viewing 4 of 69

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 80.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CRYPTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message