4.5 star rating: Recommended 1346 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1346 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Clifford Chua
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I found the tour really inspiring and educational. The guides did a great job in giving us the history and the anecdotes of the lives of the early Christians. This is a hidden part of Rome that very few hear about or get to see. If you want something out of the ordinary, this is a fabulous choice!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour with our amazing guide, Rebecca. She was so knowledgeable about ancient Rome, the crypts, San Clemente Basilica and the Capuchin Crypt. We loved her enthusiasm. After many tours, my teenage boys (ages 13, 15 and 18) found this one to be the most fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is definitely the trip you take when you've seen everything else in Rome. Not for the faint of heart however and be prepared for many stairs. Seeing more of Roman history that is buried under the city or the churches was fascinating. The Capuchin Monastery was interesting and creepy at the same time. The guides, (there were 2 since there were 2 groups combined),were excellent; very knowledgeable about the history of Rome, including the churches, the emperors, and how the Romans dealt with their dead before and after the arrival of Christianity.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see the Crypts and Catacombs. It sounds a bit macabre but it provides an interesting education around the history of the Christians and Roman's. The tour is by tour bus and starts with a short trip to the catacombs which is about 20 min by tour bus just outside of the city walls. There are 2 more stops - both were equally fascinating especially as you walk down the different 'layers' of the history. Its quite amazing to walk down hundreds of years of development. The last stop is the most macabre with the various skeletons re - designed into art by the monks. We found it really interesting and the kids were engaged (16 and 13) in the whole tour. As always the tour guides knowledge of these places really helps to bring alive the history. It wouldn't be the same to tour these on your own unless you had really researched the history behind these places on your own. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best tour and guide we have EVER had. The guide Rebecca was informative friendly knowledgable . A true pro. Please ask for her. The catacombs were amazing. At one point there were 500,000 bodies buried there. I am recommending Rebecca to anyone I know. She is with Rome Dark City Tours.

Stephen B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very enjoyable and full of interesting information.
Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable.
Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was the favorite of all the tours taken with Viator. The tour leaders were funny and very informative. The topic was a favorite of my 14-yr. old grandson. Since we covered a lot of ground, the bus ride was wonderful and the driver superb. This tour did start and end at the same place. A very long but satisfying day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very enjoyable trip into the history of the early church.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour, especially the catacombs and the Cappuchin crypt. Amazing. Our guide, Kinga, was my favorite for all of the tours we took. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Rebecca made the tour come to life and she clearly has a passion for Rome and its history. We all loved this tour and wished we could've taken additional tours with her. She presented the history in a fun and easy to understand way and made it real. I'm sure If I ever come back to Rome I will look for a tour she is leading.

Lucy B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide Rebecca was fantastic, really passionate and full of information! The tour included an air conditioned coach which in the summer is a great relief!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was money well spent! I higly recommend this trip. It is a small group so you get an intimate feel of the three locations and the guides are very informative and Knowledgeable. I am thoughroughly impressed with Viator tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was both informative and interesting. She made the effort to make sure that everyone on the tour, including children, were involved and had their questions answered. I would highly recommend this to anyone going to Rome, who would like a tour beyond that of the boring headsets and would like to see sites usually ignored by most guides.

RITA P
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is very interesting, from the walk through the catacombs to the visit to the Capucin skulls via the underground visit of the Basilica of St-Clement - all must see attractions. Our guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable and brought great insight to this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a unique tour and a fun way to spend a hot Roman afternoon. Our adventure began in a very nice, air conditioned bus which shuttled us in cool comfort to the Catacombs and the Capuchin Cyrpts. Both were fascinating and we learned a lot. The guides were native English speakers and obviously loved their jobs as they were enthusiastic and brought history to life.

Special Offer

From USD $ 72.27

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CRYPTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message