4.5 star rating: Recommended 1307 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1307 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Rebecca, our guide, was the best we have experienced in all our European tours. Her extensive historical knowledge and delightful stories made this tour one of our favorites. We would reccomend everyone take the time to explore more than the normal typical tourist destinations

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour definitely goes to some less visited sites, for those interested in going beyond the typical Vatican, Coliseum, Forum, etc. sites. While we had one tour bus with about 35 people on it, there were 2 guides assigned which made the group smaller and more enjoyable. The catacombs were very interesting, and humbling, from a historical perspective. The bone monks were also unusual. I had seen something similar to this in Paris, but didn’t know anyone else did this. The church was wonderful too. With 4 different and individually interesting layers, the site was really unique. I think our tour guide categorized it best as “archeological lasagna.” Speaking of which, our guide was a wonderful American named Rebecca. Yes, and American guide in Rome! She was terrific! Her energy and passion for Rome was contagious, and really made the tour enjoyable. Plus, the lack of a language barrier was really nice for a change. Overall, we really enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone wanting to try something a little different in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour that was a bit off the usual must see sights in Rome. This brought history, and especially early Christian history, to life in a unique way. The last stop at the Crypt of the Capuchin was a bit macabre, but overall this was a fantastic tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was awesome. Learned so much about the history aspect of the crypts and catacombs. I would recommend it to anyone who would like that personal touch when learning about Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very worthwhile afternoon in Rome. Our guide was very knowledgable! This was in actuality three tours in one with a new, clean bus picking us up at a great central Rome location and moving us from place to place. The catacombs were fascinating (and why we originally signed up for the tour) but the Capuchin Crypt and Basilica of San Clemente were two of the most interesting and memorable places we saw in Rome. Very well organized and professional tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I booked this tour on behalf of two other traveling companions. (I didn't actually take this tour.) However I was informed by my companions that they thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would recommend this tour highly. They said that the tour guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Really good worth doing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide (Mike) stepped us back in time as we navigated our way through the catacombs. We had flown in on the redeye and hit the ground running. Our tour was in the afternoon and was a great way to finish out the day. Mike was awesome and EXTREMELY knowledgable. This is a great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very well done. The Capuchin Monastery was spectacular!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide was fantastic, very knowledgable and engaging. The tour was very interesting and makes for very good sightseeing. Wouldn't recommend to people who are claustrophobic as a lot of the spaces we were in were very tight. Definately worth the money and a must do if your in Rome for a period of time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic and interesting...Violet our guide was impressive with her wealth of knowledge and passion of the subject.
Again I would fully recommend this tour to everyone and again hopefully you may get Violet as your guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a great tour. The guide speaks english very well and showed a good knowledge about the history of the places. It was creepy but very interesting. Unfortunately you can´t take picutres but I don´t think you will forget the places. I recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Another Wow moment for me. I live in a young country with not much history and when you walk in to a 12th century church, with a 4th century church beneath that, then a 2nd century and 1st century beneath that again you can't help but be wowed. Our guide was Mike and he kept us in stitches with his humour and in awe of his knowledge. Crypts and Catacombs might sound a little macabre but there is a lot history here and many stories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Mike as absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend Dark Rome tours. The crypts and catacombs were wonderful to see. The small nature of the group was nice. The history surrounding us was amazing and inspiring.

From USD $ 81.70

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CRYPTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message