5 star rating: Highly Recommended 312 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 312 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Manuela was terrific! Our tour of the very crowded a Vatican was excellent, she knew how to get around the crowds and recognized when the four of us needed a break. The depth of her knowledge about histioty, religion, art, and architecture was most impressive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

4 of us and a private guide. So knowledgeable. More than the stock tour. Focussed on what interested us while giving a great overview of all. The history learned while on the tour could not have possibly been appreciated on a self guided tour. Highly recommend spending the money for a private guide. Our trip was April 2015.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. She went at a good pace and provided wonderful information that was particularly helpful when we were in the Sistine chapel. We would highly recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I was surprised to know when I got to the location we were suppose to go, the agent already had my name and guide ready. The whole experience was stress free. The guide was excellent. Viator is a First Class operation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was incredibly knowledgable, friendly, and took care of my difficulty walking after 2.5 hours. We learned so much about the sculptures and paintings. And we truly did avoid the lines. I would highly recommend Viator for your Vatican tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had Stephania as our personal guide and her knowledge was extremely beneficial to us . She took time out to explain all the paintings in the Sistine chapel before we entered making it easier for us to understand . Stephania speaks excellent English and made the day an extremely pleasant experienc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We met our guide, Stefania, at the steps outside of the vatican museum entrance. She spoke very fluent English and was very bright and knowledgable. This is SO much better if you only have less than 5 people in your group. She gets you past the line which can take 2 hours to get through and you have a more private conversation about each section, versus the large group where you can only listen through the headset. The Vatican Museum tour ends in the Sistine Chapel. You cannot take pictures inside and you can't talk so Stefania gave us a quick lesson on the art and history of the chapel. Inside it was breathtaking. Afterwards we go to St. Peter's Basilica, which was beautiful and much bigger than I expected. NOTE: Women: make sure your shoulders and knees are covered. The Chapel and church are a holy place and require it, and you can be refused entry. We wish we had known about Stefania earlier so we could request her for more tours! Very worth the extra money and highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Stephania was the best and the tour was excellent. She was knowledgeable, very pleasant and never rushed us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic! Missed all the queues and saw a fabulous/fantastic building. Climbed to the top of the Vatican to see the Roman City which was awesome. Weather was sunny and clear and really enjoyed ourselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant we learned a lot on this fascinating tour. The guide - Alessandra - was superb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant we learned a lot on this fascinating tour. The guide - Alessandra - was superb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was GREAT, so knowledgeable and engaging.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the best walking tour we've ever taken and not just because its the Vatican but because the tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable. We loved the personal attention so we could go at our own pace and ask questions. The guide spoke perfect English and was very well read in not just the artifacts in the museum but all the related history, architecture and archeology.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Gianluigi Gigi was our guide. Bubbly, charming and really, really knowledgable. Excellent English. My wife asked him about a random piece of art at the beginning of our tour. His answer was so wonderful and deep that we knew we were in for an amazing tour. It only got better. He understood the art not just as a historian but also as someone who found total joy being surrounded by inconceivable amounts of genius. He beamed every time he pointed out a subtly that would go by unnoticed if it were not pointed out to the casual observer.
I saw the Sistine Chapel years ago before the restoration. To see it in its current state is breath taking. Before it was dark but now the colors and the art can't be described.
Let's face it, the popes knew who to hire to do their art work.
We went on Good Friday and the museum was quite crowded and the Basilica was closed for Easter preparations.
If you can afford a private tour, skipping the line with Gigi is absolutely the only way to see the Vatican Museums.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. The tour was made very special for us by our tour guide Benedetta Bosco, who was a delight with her friendly personality and wealth of knowledge. Will definitely use Viator for all our trips, thank you!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable tour,well worth it's cost. Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgable. She spoke excellent English. We felt it was an occasion to be remembered. Since returning home have recommended this tour to several people and will continue to do so.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The organization was very good . The guide explained every thing very well , took her time showing us all the important things , she was exceptional . we can highly recommend her for all visitors willing to have an interesting visit in Rome and know about the history and the art of Rome .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Our guide, Daniella was knowledgable and passionate about the Vatican and she kept our teenage girls engaged. We learned a lot and we would recommend this tour to our friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour guide Luciana just made the trip! Well worth the money for the private tour. Would highly recommend as we didn't have to stand in any lines and went right to the front. Luciana was knowledgeable, organized, professional and very friendly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was excellent and very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Angela was an incredible guide! She tailored the tour to our needs and was very helpful with my mother in a wheelchair.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was excellent. Her name was Bernadetta and she was very knowledgeable and spoke English fluently. It was the best money I spent on vacation, the Vatican is enormous and overwhelming but she had map's and took her time. I have arthritis so I walk slowly and she was very accommodating. If you want an in depth tour request her.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A superb tour. We arrived a bit early and waited about 10 minutes to enter the Vatican Museums. From there we went through the tapestries, paintings,furniture and a host of marvelous sights. The highlight was the Sistine Chapel which we hadn't seen since its cleaning many years ago. It is still fantastic. We then toured St. Peter's Basilica which is monumental. Our guide was not only knowledgable, but had a great sense of humor.
We can recommend this tour without a doubt. It was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour and guide!!! No long lines for us... Definitely worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I booked a private tour with Francesca. She was GREAT. She was very professional and thoroughly knew her subject. She was patient and explained everything to us. We thoroughly enjoyed her comments and insights. We would recommend her to anybody for a thorough and enjoyable time.

From USD $ 109.93

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICAN_P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message