5 star rating: Highly Recommended 303 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 303 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Stephania was the best and the tour was excellent. She was knowledgeable, very pleasant and never rushed us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic! Missed all the queues and saw a fabulous/fantastic building. Climbed to the top of the Vatican to see the Roman City which was awesome. Weather was sunny and clear and really enjoyed ourselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant we learned a lot on this fascinating tour. The guide - Alessandra - was superb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant we learned a lot on this fascinating tour. The guide - Alessandra - was superb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was GREAT, so knowledgeable and engaging.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the best walking tour we've ever taken and not just because its the Vatican but because the tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable. We loved the personal attention so we could go at our own pace and ask questions. The guide spoke perfect English and was very well read in not just the artifacts in the museum but all the related history, architecture and archeology.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Gianluigi Gigi was our guide. Bubbly, charming and really, really knowledgable. Excellent English. My wife asked him about a random piece of art at the beginning of our tour. His answer was so wonderful and deep that we knew we were in for an amazing tour. It only got better. He understood the art not just as a historian but also as someone who found total joy being surrounded by inconceivable amounts of genius. He beamed every time he pointed out a subtly that would go by unnoticed if it were not pointed out to the casual observer.
I saw the Sistine Chapel years ago before the restoration. To see it in its current state is breath taking. Before it was dark but now the colors and the art can't be described.
Let's face it, the popes knew who to hire to do their art work.
We went on Good Friday and the museum was quite crowded and the Basilica was closed for Easter preparations.
If you can afford a private tour, skipping the line with Gigi is absolutely the only way to see the Vatican Museums.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. The tour was made very special for us by our tour guide Benedetta Bosco, who was a delight with her friendly personality and wealth of knowledge. Will definitely use Viator for all our trips, thank you!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable tour,well worth it's cost. Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgable. She spoke excellent English. We felt it was an occasion to be remembered. Since returning home have recommended this tour to several people and will continue to do so.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The organization was very good . The guide explained every thing very well , took her time showing us all the important things , she was exceptional . we can highly recommend her for all visitors willing to have an interesting visit in Rome and know about the history and the art of Rome .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Our guide, Daniella was knowledgable and passionate about the Vatican and she kept our teenage girls engaged. We learned a lot and we would recommend this tour to our friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour guide Luciana just made the trip! Well worth the money for the private tour. Would highly recommend as we didn't have to stand in any lines and went right to the front. Luciana was knowledgeable, organized, professional and very friendly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was excellent and very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Angela was an incredible guide! She tailored the tour to our needs and was very helpful with my mother in a wheelchair.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was excellent. Her name was Bernadetta and she was very knowledgeable and spoke English fluently. It was the best money I spent on vacation, the Vatican is enormous and overwhelming but she had map's and took her time. I have arthritis so I walk slowly and she was very accommodating. If you want an in depth tour request her.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A superb tour. We arrived a bit early and waited about 10 minutes to enter the Vatican Museums. From there we went through the tapestries, paintings,furniture and a host of marvelous sights. The highlight was the Sistine Chapel which we hadn't seen since its cleaning many years ago. It is still fantastic. We then toured St. Peter's Basilica which is monumental. Our guide was not only knowledgable, but had a great sense of humor.
We can recommend this tour without a doubt. It was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour and guide!!! No long lines for us... Definitely worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I booked a private tour with Francesca. She was GREAT. She was very professional and thoroughly knew her subject. She was patient and explained everything to us. We thoroughly enjoyed her comments and insights. We would recommend her to anybody for a thorough and enjoyable time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing place and the guide was great and knew so much. It was definitely worth paying the extra for a private guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sara, our tour guide, was incredibly knowledgeable and fun to be with. It's not every day that your tour guide has a PhD in Roman architecture. The tour of theVatican was long, but interesting and everything we expected it to be.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Laura was a fantastic guide and taught us so much about the paintings and the stories they told. We really enjoyed talking with her and learning all that we did. If you haven't seen the Vatican or St Peter's Basilica, this is a great tour to take. We skipped the very long line waiting for admission and walked right in. It was very crowded the day we were there so it was nice having our small private group so we could move in and out of the crowd and could always hear what Laura was saying. Highly recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

As we only had limited time in Rome, we had to make the best use of it. This tour is the way to go for a first time at the Vatican. We had a private tour guide for just my wife and I. She was very good and well educated in the area. We wanted to see the Vatican museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Perer's. She had to be selective given the short time but did a great job covering all three. There were of course a lot of other tourists in all the areas but she got us in and out with a lot to see in the time allowed. I highly recommend this tour and felt it was well worth the added price

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was excellent! She was so knowledgeable and friendly. We wished the tour could have been longer, with so much to see and talk about.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Francesca was very knowledgable. She happily answered all of our questions. She tailored the pace of the tour to our walking abilities. One of the people in our party was hearing impaired and Francesca was careful to take us aside and talk to us where we could hear her better. The crowds were crazy,but she kept good track of us. I also appreciated her enthusiasm for presenting the treasures to us. I liked that she seemed to appreciate our enthusiasm for certain objects ( I loved the doors in the library!). Oh, and she didn't rush us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A perfect tour. We met our wonderful Guide at the time and place previously arranged and headed off for an amazing, completely overwhelming tour. Our guides knowledge and English was incredible. We seemed to be first through every door and she always found a quiet spot where we could take in our surroundings, ask questions about what we had seen or were going to see. We could not have asked for anything more. thank you Viator.

From USD $ 111.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICAN_P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message