Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 4485 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 4485 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Nicholas, our Guide was excellent! Very knowledgeable and professional!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was beautiful. Our tour guide was amazing!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the 8:00 tour before the Vatican museums opened - and it was on Good Friday. I heartily recommend this tour to avoid the queues and the crowds once inside. We actually got to take photos with no-one in them - on Good Friday. Also, our particular guide was great. She gave us some great insights into the Sistine chapel, Michelangelo and Catholicism at the time of the Sistine Chapel creation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had the best tour guide. The Vatican was packed, but our tour guide kept us entertained and informed the entire time. Without the guide, I am not sure how we were going to be able to handle the madness. We also skipped the two and three-hour long lines to enter the Vatican and got in within 15 minutes. The downside is that you still have to pay for the admission to the museums, which was like 24 euros or so.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My tour guide was great and knew so much about the history and architecture. I left the Vatican having learned so much. My tour guide was unable to take us through St. Peter's Basilica because of the time (3pm) which was not stated on the tour I purchased which was frustrating. Still a good tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent experience - despite large numbers we moved through quickly and received wonderful insight from our guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! Miss (maybe Mrs) Carbonara were great!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well worth the money! The tour was educational and visually breathtaking as we walked through the museums and the Sistine chapel. A must do if you're visiting Rome, whether your religious or not.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great to skip the long waiting lines! The tour was very interesting and our guide Felix friendly and knowledgeable.
Magnus and Lykke, 21 March 2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I can't recommend this tour highly enough. The guide was informative and very knowledgeable. We skipped the queues and had a full 3 hour tour. I usually prefer to explore things myself so was initially sceptical but both myself and my partner were thoroughly impressed with the tour guide and the organisation. A definite must for any visitors to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide for this tour was wonderful and very knowledgeable. She provided great information about histoy and the art in the Vatican. We entered ahead of the long lines and toured the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. Well worth the price! Excellent guides.

Italy
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it! Tour guide was very good and easy to understand. The tour was well worth the money, but be prepared to do a great deal of walking...some areas had steps to climb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

WOW, is the only way to explain this tour, we were upgraded to a small group tour which was a lovely surprise. Would recommend this tour to everyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great tour guide who was very personable and extremely informative regarding the Vatican. The ability to skip the line which seemed like it never ended as we walked past was worth the money on its own. We highly recommend booking this trip of a lifetime!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guide was fantastic, good English and very humourous. Ten out of ten, well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were so glad that we took this tour. There were 4 of us, all seniors aged 68-79. We were able to get the 8am start time and it was a blessing to us. The weather was cool and rainy, but we went right in. The guide was wonderful, so knowledgeable. Of course the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums and St. Peter Basilica were the highlight of our stay in Rome. EXCELLENT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour guide and tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and walked the perfect line between keeping us together and letting us explore. She told us just enough history and interesting details without overwhelming us with -- and was fun as well. A wonderful person to take us through an amazing place her appreciation of it was evident. The tour was a great way to skip the very, very long lines and gain more appreciation than any book could offer. I would highly recommend this tour -- wear good shoes and be prepared to walk and deal with crowds!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful! Our guide was knowledge and personable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nicola was an excellent guide - very lively, enthusiastic and informed. We really enjoyed ourselves and learnt a good amount of art history. Nicola kept us interested throughout. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. It is well worth doing. You meet at the office so you have the security of knowing that you're in the right place. The staff are very efficient and friendly.Our tour guide Ella was very approachable and knowledgeable. It is also worth it to skip the line.Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was lovely and informative however the one thing I regret was not being able to see some of the paintings in the Vatican museum - we saw plenty of statues, very interesting, but I must admit I was looking forward to some of Rafael's paintings. Maybe next time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

very knowledgeable tour guide, she moved us through security quickly, so we could enjoy our time at the musuems, Sistine Chaper, and the Basilica. She was very courteous and answered all our questions and even gave us some free time to enjoy the Sistine Chapel on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well worth the money very informativea great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lines were outrageous for the Vatican, would recommend skipping the line and getting all the knowledge available from the great tour guides offered.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good and the tour guide excellent - lots of information at appropriate times, attentive to the group but giving time to us when required - and all this with no notes, well done.

From USD $ 42.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message