4.5 star rating: Recommended 4911 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 4911 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Unbelievable brilliant tour. Very busy when we arrived and had we not booked we would not have got in at all. Excellent guide, worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good guide and interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful, knowledgeable guide and a nice small group! Skip the line tickets are the only way to go!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed this tour. it was the highlight of my time in Rome.
Rischella was our tour guide and she was very informative. It is definitely worth the money to skip the queue especially if travelling in high season like us. You had time to take in the surroundings and had detailed explanations and insight into areas like the sistine chapel and st peters bascilica. This tour is three hours long but it flew around. I would definitely recommend this tour and will book again when in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Friday evening tour of Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the historic events surrounding the Vatican and the Popes. She also made amusing commentary about what was going on at those times. The shear amount of sites in the Museums is phenomenal. We made the most of our time to see many of the highlights, The evening tour made it less crowded than regular times, as there were only tours allowed at that time. The tour guide really helped in understanding the art and the history of how things came to be in the Museum as well as the interactions between artists and Vatican officials of the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great guide and so much better than waiting in queue. Will definitely do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really great tour with a very knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

​​
Much better than I thought it was going to be! This is definitely a must see if you're in Rome for a couple days. Plan for 4-5 hours including this 3 hour walking tour. I just thought it a big church, it turns out to be a MASSIVE church.

Things to keep in Mind:

Cover up: The basilica has a dress code so make sure you follow it. If you don't you can't go into the Sistine Chapel or the Basilica. You need to cover your shoulders and you need need shorts or a dress that covers you're knees.

HIKE TO THE TOP OF THE DOME: This is a MUST if you have the energy. It's 5 euro to walk the 500+ steps to the top. 7 euro to take an elevator half way and walk the rest. Amazing views of Rome - highest point in Rome so you can see the entire city on a nice day.

READ THE FINE PRINT: I booked it not realizing that we also had to purchase tickets into the Vatican. 23 euro per person so the whole experience ended up costing about $175. I'm cheap so if I would have known before hand, I probably wouldn't have done it. I'm so glad I didn't though since the whole experience was amazing!

The tour was a full 3 hours. Enjoy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour, excellent tour guide, very informative and in inclusive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was well worth the money. The guide was friendly and passionate about the art she showed us, so it was more enjoyable. The jumping of the queues was essential in the hot weather and with the group being small we were able to get a more personalised tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide, Francesca, was absolutely brilliant, shepherding our group through the Vatican museum on a very busy day and making sure everyone was looked after, including the children in the group. Her anecdotes about the Sistine Chapel were very entertaining and her knowledge of every frescoe, every statue, every Map, painting and ornament was very impressive. Definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

5-star says it all.......doesn't it ?????? GREAT!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Vatican Museums, and Sistine Chapel is so beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really "skipped the line". Chiara explained to us so much, where we would have only been walked by. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide- very knowledgeable.

From USD $ 45.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message