Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 5133 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Col M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour itself was excellent. Our guide was extremely informative and kept our attention throughout.

I would absolutely recommend this tour.

The only negative is that the maps they give out give the meeting point in the wrong location and when you ask the locals they all agree with the map. The location of the new meeting place has the wrong company signage on it.

Zeidy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful time.. our tour guide person was great!
Great experience .. i will recommend Viator for tour booking.. skipping the line to enter sites was worth the money.
NY

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

To visit such an awsome place, you need someone who can provide all the relevant facts, and 'wow'!!
the young lady terrible with names,sorry did exactly that,and more..sociable,informative, ready to answer any questions put to her..well done.

Hassan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The money was worth paying it. Skipping the line especially with children is highly recommended. Having a guide to explain and focus on the most important is also highly recommended.

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good tour, great guide and wow the Vatican was amazing.

Caroline K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, very informative guide, well organised.

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Its the way to go to avoid the lines! It was a great experience, a great tour with the history behind the paintings, tapestries, and the history behind some of the Vatican. I wish i had done my own homework before going so i could ask more questions! The size of the Vatican is just amazing. Highly recommend

Oris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing!

Teresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great....our guide had a great sense of humor and was very informative. Getting in ahead of the very long lines was also a plus. Will do it next time in Rome....can't see everything in one or two trips.

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

So worth it! SO many people, but the tour made it easier. No wait in line to buy tickets, AND a knowledgeable tour guide, to give information. Great tour!

Matthew V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, obviously very passionate about the history. Tour well worth it, just to skip the line. Tour guide's perspective definitely adds something.

Becky O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was excellent and very knowledgeable - the use of the headsets in order to make sure that she could be heard was also a good idea - however I do think that it is over priced and if you are going charge for a tour it should be all in - the money you have to then pay in Rome effectively doubles the price

Allison S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! Our guide Nicoli was fantastic. You could tell he was very passionate about the information he was sharing. The Museums are very crowded and he gave us fair warning of this but also stopped to give us more information about the art around us. I would definitely recommend this tour!

martin s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

brilliant tour guide rearly knew his subject matter

eunicesika06

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable and patient. She really took us back in time. Very memorable trip.

Neil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Stephano was great! Very informative and had a good sense of humor as well.

Oltjana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent

Russell M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent guide, just need to make it a full day so much to see it's mind blowing, already looking forward to do a return visit, thankyou!!!! Russell and Sarah

Dóra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly Recommended

Wayne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So glad we took this tour. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and fed us information that made the experience all the more enjoyable. To see the amazing artifacts and historical beauty of the Vatican Museum, the amazing Sistine Chapel and the incredibly beautiful St. Peter's Basilica completed our European vacation in the perfect way.
If you want to see the Vatican do this tour. Skipping the queues, quite simply, saved us hours and the guide made it perfect with the information she had about everything we saw. 10/10 Viator.

Tunku Fatimah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was great but it was so crowded.

Baker G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Anna, our tour guide was so sweet and very knowledgable, and there was so much value in being able to get in early. We saw the crowds after our tour finished and I don't think we would have seen or heard anything had we done the regular hours tour. It was still fairly crowded even on the early tour.

carl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everthing was as expected, the guide was nice and very helpful

Jessica E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Rome, Italy. The tour guide was personable and knowledgeable. My husband and I had a memorable experience and appreciated what we saw because we were provided the history. I was also glad to bypass the very long queue to get into the Vatican. I would highly recommend this tour. I really wished I remembered the name of our tour guide I liked her.

LANCE Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well done tour but the Skip the Line is the true winner here..Seeing a line that went on forever and in the blazing sun and then SKIPPING it made it immediately worthwhile!! Skipping the line must have gained us an extra 2hrs that we would otherwise have lost..

Cameron F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Although it was a very busy day at the Vatican, Felix was a very fun, energetic, and knowledgeable tour guide.

Alexander W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, tour guide showed passion and was very informative, would highly recommend

Rene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Nice tour guide.

Sudhakar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth the money. And its required to cover both locations.

aguerra3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It was fantastic

GEORGIOS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Definately must see!

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour Guide was excellent and we had a wonderful tour. Also gained so much knowledge of the history of the Buildings. If you do this tour on your own you need to line up twice for entry but by doing the tour we had priority entry. Would highly recommend this tour.

JANNETTE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This experience was absolutely great. The Tour guide was very knowledgeable. We learned so much with her. We had the time of our life. We will repeat this visit again.

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Anna, our guide was wonderful! She is well-informed and made clear all of the history involved in the buildings, museums and paintings. She interacted with each of us in our small group answering any questions we had. I will definitely advise friends or family to ask for Anna to guide them through the Vatican.

ALEXANDRA C Cyprus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

5/5 excellent! best thing to do is skip the line.

S M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The booking was simple as were the instructions on where to meet etc. Arrangements at the office were also slick but the big difference was the guide who was not only very knowledgeable but was also an excellent communicator who steered the small party brilliantly around the Vatican. The queues were horrendous but as the strap line says, we skipped them all. A first class tour.

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth as the guide was great, but it was packed!! Good thing we used skip the line as the line was at least 4 hours long and it was 37 degrees! Useful tour as you had everything explained and you could ask questions. Would recommend and would use again.

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Stunning, not much into Religion but this tour is a must. The history and information provided 1st class!

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good Tour with English speaking guide - This is certainly worth paying for as the waiting time to go into the Vatican was approx 3-4 hours! With this ticket you skip the queue and have a guide approx 25 people in the tour group. The entry fee is an additional cost on top of the skip the queue fee. Well worth seeing as the Vatican is a must when visiting Rome!

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant tour, excellent tour guide, amazing venue. Would always use viator with their smooth and easy booking service. Skip the line tour was exactly that and very welcome on a hot July day. Our guide was so passionate and knowledgeable, her comments were also at times hilarious. A

veve_angel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was the best skipped all the lines the guide was very informative the best desecion we ever made was this tour

ioana sabina l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

well organized, on time, friendly guide

Samuel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, and well worth the money. However there is another fee of 23 euros per person on arrival which isn't stayed until after you have bought the ticket for the tour.

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Emanuela ?was fantastic! Entertained, educated, involved and made a lenghty 3-hour walk into something really worthwhile. Entertained the kids on the tour too.

dansc76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Breathtakingly ornate and over the top. Must see!

Peter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide forgot her name! was so knowledgeable and easy to talk to. Tour was informative and fun.

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Remember that you have to pay extra for the head sets they weren't very good, but our guide was very good

Mr S J Eyers E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the surcharge to 'skip' the queue. We heard from fellow hotel guests that the queue on that day took four hours to reach the entrance to the museums.
The museums themselves were as memorable as we had expected, although the extraordinary crowds impeded complete enjoyment of some of the artefacts for instance the Laocoon statue.
Our guide, Elizabetta, was thorough, informative and entertaining - tiny and compelling - full marks.
Memorable quote from her: 'In the Vatican, if it looks like gold, it is gold!' And indeed the wordliness of this religious headquarters was abundantly evident.
We did not see the Raphael rooms on this version of the tour, but we had had enough by the time Elizabetta bade us farewell in St Peter's. In fact we had no energy left to do the basilica justice but that was no fault of the tour.

agniram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good. But. Hot. Inside. Great pieces of. Art during renaissance

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The best experience, and it was amazing how we skipped the queue. Our guide was excellent. Have already recommended the tours to my brother who is travelling at the end of August

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, saved us lots of time queuing. The guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable and engaging.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Katharine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good. Knowledgeable and interesting guide.

mini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our first day in Italy we did the skip the line Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. So glad we booked this tour we sailed by the incredibly long lines and right into the venues. Our tour guide was personable and spoke fluent English. Our guide moved at a relaxed speed and was so knowledgeable. We were in awe of the beauty and history. I would recommend Viator for any one looking for a reasonably priced tour.

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

All that I expected and so much more. Priscilla, our guide, was fabulous as she worked us all through the very crowded, and hot, areas throughout the Vatican. She is excellent and you can see that she loves her job as she explains, with such meaning, all that the Vatican represents. Our grandson was thrilled to be asked to help her carry her guiding pole!! Thank you, Priscilla!!

Stephania L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our guide, Alfredo, really knew his stuff and did a great job sharing the info with us. We enjoyed it and learned a lot.

Garry A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. She provided great insight about the extraordinary Vatican Museum collections while also making it very enjoyable with entertaining stories.

Betty P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Francesca was excellent. She was very animated and she even kept the children on the tour engaged. It was beautiful and very moving. I would recommend the tour to anyone visiting these locations for the first time. It was very hot and humid. If you are visiting Rome in the summer, be sure to bring plenty of water, and a hat or an umbrella on this tour.

rhoyalrhapsody

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. The Vatican was extremely busy this day and without this tour, I would've easily left or bypassed a lot due to the large crowds. You will get an in-depth tour of the historical pieces and beauty of the art and history. This place is well preserved and quite stunning. I highly recommend it.

Nicolette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Of all the fast passes we used on this trip, our guide Margetta I may have gotten this wrong was the best of the lot and they all set quite a high standard! I think I just simply love her great wit and she really shared so many interesting facts about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica with a great deal of passion! This with the Colosseum is the best choices we made in Rome as it clearly illustrates the vast change experienced in the City's culture over time! Loved every minute!

Elie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Very informative with highly educated and fun guide.
The process helps tremendously with shortening the wait line.

Viewing 4 of 86

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 43.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message