Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 5230 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Friendly and very knowlegable guide.

phil Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Just wanted to leave some feedback from our trip to the Vatican city on the 5th Oct 2015. Not only was it well organised it did exactly what i wanted it to do. I was a little apprehensive beforehand as you are when you book trips from home and not knowing exactly where to go once you arrive. But it was amazing, we skipped the lines enjoyed three hours touring around this amazing place with a brilliant guide. Priscilla was funny knowledgeable and absolutely first rate. Will use Viator again in the future without doubt. Thanks to all.

Sandra X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great! A Must

roger v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great trip and worth the money. I would recommend anyone to take the Sistine Chapel tour and ask for Rafael as a tour guide. Rafael was very knowledgeable about the history of the Sistine Chapel and Italy.

Jeffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very worthwhile. You will miss a lot of information without a guide and ours was great. Also, to line up the normal way will take hours, so this is for sure the best way to see what you want to see as well as doing it in a short time.

Matthew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Such wonders of Art and History and the Catholic Religion. I wish the other tourist held some kind of respect for it, other than jumping infront of you with a selfie stick for a photo op. Guide was delightful and charming.

Heddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I found the tour excellent, the guide very knowledgeable and he would answer any questions that I had.

cebrickey0604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Again, this was an excellent tour. The only bad part was the Basilica was closed for a special mass, but we were able to get in later in the day.

higgy0705 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour...Must do. VIATOR is is in a league by themselves providing enjoyable tours.

neville h Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The most amazing and informative tour anyone can go on, its a must do on any ones bucket list.

Mathew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great and knowledgable tour guide. Booking ahead does help to eliminate most of the lines and having someone give you information about what you're seeing is invaluable.

Make sure to bring your own head phones or earbuds, much more comfortable than the complimentary ones.

Robyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous. We had the best tour guide ever,

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Chiara made the tour so enjoyable for ourselves and our young boys 10 and 7. She was so enthusiastic and created so much interest. She was brilliant.

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour was excellent and very informative!

M J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour! The guide was excellent and not standing in line for hours waiting for tickets is the only way to go. This tour was recommended to us and we will recommend it to our friends.

Harry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour got us in quickly and the guide was most informative. It was well worth the expense.

Ralph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was really excellent!!! the guide was first class

Paul T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

great tour of the can't miss Vatican sites. No waiting in lines, the guide was clear and knowledgeable and answered our questions

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Priscilla was a terrific tour guide, providing thoughtful insights about the art, architecture and history of the Vatican. I overheard some other guides really over dramatizing the history and art, while our guide was very engaging but without the over-the-top drama. The pace was reasonable and she took care to keep our group of 20 together. Unfortunately there was no appropriate opportunity to give really thank her... we departed in front of St Peter's tomb!

scatcas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nice, informative trip with a pleasant guide.

Yee Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Withe the guid that is provided, the experience through the vatican has been interest provoking!
however, make sure that you have noted the meet up destination!

Manet D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was absolutely wonderful! I had a great tour guide and the museums, chapel and St. Peter's Basilica was overwhelming! I did not expect to have to pay more than was advertised though. I think the 43 ad makes you think that is full price. The extra 23 should be included as some people were embarrassed who did not know. Otherwise it was wonderful.

Kitsa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was fantastic very informative. The only criticism is that we could not finish our tour because we started a little late due to the crowds so we had less time than promised.

tedblank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Nicely organized and interesting tour. Skipping the line is definitely a time-saver, and the guide did a great job covering the highlights of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. Highly recommended!

Toni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wow oh wow! Our guide was amazing! The day was just so touching, the passion, and the love for the city and the Pope! I can not remember her name but she had a stick with a pink fluff thing(flower) maybe. Truly a site to behold!

Dee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was amazing..so interesting and passionate..about the history

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A tour fully of information worth doing.

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Worthwhile booking

SarahMain91 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We went on the 3pm tour on the 17/09/15, the tour guide was excellent she was really informative and engaging, she spoke with real passion. The Vactican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica were all breathtaking, the only downfall was how busy the venues were with multiple tours and tourists about at times it was very frustrating and difficult to take everything in.

Millie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My daughter and I had an amazing tour of the Vatican with our guide. She was great in explaining everything we saw and took the time to let us take pictures and ask questions. I would highly recommend this tour. This is so much to take in on your own. Don't delay, book this tour today, you won't regret it.

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was so knowledgeable. Lots of factual history presented in an interesting manner that held your attention. 5 stars plus.

jcallah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was great. She knew so much history and explained the paintings so well. I t was easy to keep track of her and she was constantly checking on us. I would definitely recommend this tour for the vatican. It was reasonable and just long enough.

Jeanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guide was very good and knowledgeable. An excellent tour!

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very good!!

Joy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Marta was amazing! This was the only guided tour I did on my 2 week vacation in Italy and so glad I did. She highlighted some key historical moments and was a fabulous art historian as well. It really brought my experience of the Vatican Museum, Sistene Chapel and St.Peter's Basilica to life!

cyllancharles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an absolutly amazing tour. It was made even more special by our guide who spoke not only of the facts about the tour, anyone can do that but spoke passionately about Italy and the Vatican. She is an exceptional tour guide and I would request her service if I can, anytime.

As for the tour itself, full@of facs, history and fun titbits. You leave a lot more informed than when you sarted with e better perspective of the churcu, of history and of a possible future. The Basilica and the Vatican musuems are literally out of this world, a lifetime experience for my wife and I and we hail all the way from Trinidad and Tobago in the Caribbean. The experience of the Sistine Chapel, frankly I cannot find words and I feel as if its difficult for my brain to process it, I think it will be quite a while before we can adequately put into words, our impressions and experence. Overall, a truly amazing, wonderful and life significant experience.

Now about the tour sevice...Ecellente The office was extremey easy to find, its two blocks away from Ottaviano, subway station, catch the M train..and google maps makes it ridicously easy, the radois were defintely needed and would I use their service again...YES!

Rose Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Worth the money! Our guide Nick was very informative, knew his history, learned a lot. Tour Office was easy to find. Started to rain and we walked from office, which was near the Museum, directly into the Museum. St. Peter's was jaw dropping. What a great experience.

Syl United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A fantastic tour with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. It was brilliant to be able to walk straight in and not have to wait in the extremely long queue. Why would anyone not book a tour in advance?

snair1952

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Superb

J B P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was extremely knowlegable, very interesting and polite. We managed to see a great deal in a limited time without feeling too rushed.

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good tour, knowledgeable guide.

Col M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour itself was excellent. Our guide was extremely informative and kept our attention throughout.

I would absolutely recommend this tour.

The only negative is that the maps they give out give the meeting point in the wrong location and when you ask the locals they all agree with the map. The location of the new meeting place has the wrong company signage on it.

Zeidy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful time.. our tour guide person was great!
Great experience .. i will recommend Viator for tour booking.. skipping the line to enter sites was worth the money.
NY

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

To visit such an awsome place, you need someone who can provide all the relevant facts, and 'wow'!!
the young lady terrible with names,sorry did exactly that,and more..sociable,informative, ready to answer any questions put to her..well done.

Hassan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The money was worth paying it. Skipping the line especially with children is highly recommended. Having a guide to explain and focus on the most important is also highly recommended.

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good tour, great guide and wow the Vatican was amazing.

Caroline K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, very informative guide, well organised.

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Its the way to go to avoid the lines! It was a great experience, a great tour with the history behind the paintings, tapestries, and the history behind some of the Vatican. I wish i had done my own homework before going so i could ask more questions! The size of the Vatican is just amazing. Highly recommend

Oris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing!

Teresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great....our guide had a great sense of humor and was very informative. Getting in ahead of the very long lines was also a plus. Will do it next time in Rome....can't see everything in one or two trips.

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

So worth it! SO many people, but the tour made it easier. No wait in line to buy tickets, AND a knowledgeable tour guide, to give information. Great tour!

Matthew V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, obviously very passionate about the history. Tour well worth it, just to skip the line. Tour guide's perspective definitely adds something.

Becky O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was excellent and very knowledgeable - the use of the headsets in order to make sure that she could be heard was also a good idea - however I do think that it is over priced and if you are going charge for a tour it should be all in - the money you have to then pay in Rome effectively doubles the price

Allison S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! Our guide Nicoli was fantastic. You could tell he was very passionate about the information he was sharing. The Museums are very crowded and he gave us fair warning of this but also stopped to give us more information about the art around us. I would definitely recommend this tour!

martin s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

brilliant tour guide rearly knew his subject matter

eunicesika06

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable and patient. She really took us back in time. Very memorable trip.

Neil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Stephano was great! Very informative and had a good sense of humor as well.

Oltjana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent

Russell M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent guide, just need to make it a full day so much to see it's mind blowing, already looking forward to do a return visit, thankyou!!!! Russell and Sarah

Dóra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly Recommended

Viewing 4 of 88

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 42.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message