Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 4693 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 4693 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide was excellant,lovely person and knowledgable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent great guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent grear guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well worth while. The Vatican was so busy that without our guide it would have been very difficult to find the best exhibits, even if it was a bit rushed we did see the most important things in the Vatican. The only thing I would say is that the tour leaves you inside St Peters Square which is great as you can then spend as much time as you like on your own visiting St Peters Basilica and climbing the dome etc etc BUT there are no food outlets there so take a snack so that hunger doesn't force you to cut your trip short!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative awesome tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A really good tour. Enough walking and standing but because there is so much art and history to take in we may have to return to Rome and do it all again. Our guide Rosie was lovely and very informative, she explained a lot before we went into the chapel so we could look around the paintings with some knowledge of what were looking at when we had to observe the quite rule. We will definitely return to do it all again we loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Perfect!! The guide was so informative and we could hear her at all times. I would highly recommend using the tour company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Vatican was amazing! Our tour guide Arianna was incredible as well. The skip the line tour is worth every penny especially when you see how long the line really is.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great fast moving tour with lots of well delivered information from a knowledgable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Group was small and we bypassed a 3 1/2 line to get in . The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took the time to answer all of our questions. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour director was amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide(think Darius was his name)
Excellent knowledge
Enjoyed it very much
All handling from booking to starting was arranged perfectly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great Tour! Must take a tour to the Vetican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was great and gave us lots of history. It would have been nice to stay a little longer in the Sistine chapel (on 15 min because the tour started late).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A guia Julia foi muito gentil e conhece muito o Vaticano. Indispensável para a visita. Recomendo vivamente,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Thorough tour guide. We had a blast and learnt a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Although I missed the 9 o'clock tour by only 20 minutes, another was scheduled for 11 am. Rather than take the tour with a French-speaking guide at 10, I relaxed and waited for the English-speaking tour.
Roselina was our tour guide. I can't say enough about her enthusiasm, her professionalism, and her knowledge of each of the areas which we toured. Prior to our entering the Sistine Chapel, she pointed out several anomalies in Michelangelo's works that many people don't know about. This made the visit all the more intriguing and will be long remembered. I am so glad that I scheduled this tour and will always remember Rome with fondness. The people that I encountered there were some of the friendliest and helpful persons in Europe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour, awesome guide and was great to be able to skip the long lines.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my favorite tour! A personable, knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide and being able to access the Sistine without waiting in a long line. Outstanding! Plenty of time for photographs in St. Peter's and the Vatican, too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Definitely worth "skipping the line". The tour guide was well-informed, very friendly and easy to follow in the Vatican Museums. There is so much to see, but also so much that you cannot see. We felt like we received a good overview of the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel. There was much in St. Peter`s that we didn`t know exactly what to look for, outside of the La Pietra.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing. We found the meeting place very easily. Nickola the guide was excellent- telling us interesting facts all the way around the museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica- the time passed by so quickly. Once the tour was over we had some free time of our own in St Peter's which was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing day and our tour guide was great at guiding us around the Vatican. We visited on Christmas Eve and it was very busy so the lines were long. He definitely knew where to go and how to navigate the entrance. He took the time to explain various masterpieces and felt he didn't go overboard which allowed us to keep moving and seeing the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone. Francesca our tour guide was not only extremely knowledgeable but did it all with a great sense of humour. The 3 hours went really quickly as Francesca filled us in with great facts and information all the way. Thanks Francesca!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour - excellent guide

pattiandleroy
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour! Our guide was so informative and answered everyone's questions along the way! Learned facts that we would have never known, had we just gone ourselves! She gave us time for photo ops - which is always appreciated. Small group which was nice - noticed some tours had 3 times the people in them!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a really good tour. The guide was so knowledgeable and without her there would have been a lot we would have missed. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide very knowledgable, interesting and amazing place.

Niren P
India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Tour to take for visiting the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and Basilica. Must do for all visiting Rome. We had an excellent guide too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing! Fabiana our guide eas very knowledgeable amd patient try to explained to us everythings! Is really worth it to join this kind of tour, group of peolple are coming around the eorld, this tour it benefit you a lots! Is highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, no waiting time, all parts in time. The guide was a very professional scientific lady (was the name Rosalie or the Italian version of Scarlett?) and she brought very interesting details. We enjoyed it very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Must take the tour in order to avoid the huge line that forms to get into the Vatican. The museum was amazing and the Sistine chapel was incredible. Great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really good tour. Tour guide was great and passionate about the history and works of art.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous! The art and history were amazing! The tour was very helpful! Our tour guide was an Art Historian- I really enjoyed her information. Skip the line was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alfredo was a fantastic guide , very knowledgable about art and Vatican history. Was also very personable and friendly with me and the other tour participants with our questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was understandable and educational. We were highly pleased with the tour and guide. Would highly recommend this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was understandable and very educated. Very interesting tour. Took a lot of pictures

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was amazing! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. Sara was the perfect guide. Lots of information and passionate about her work. Delightful company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very informative and well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour, both in content and information. Our guide, Gabriella, was so well-informed and she shared her knowledge with passion. I will not hesitate to recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, great guide, So much to see and she gave a good overview and a lovely lunch recommendation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent. Good value for money and it was good to miss the queues. Our tour guide was Sara, she provided us with brilliant facts and was very informative, answering many of our questions. She had a good rapport with our children (who really liked her) and she spoke excellent English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful and very knowledgeable guide, very professional and personable. Really enjoyed the tour and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. A great experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent, a real must if you go to Rome and worth every cent incl the money paid on the day for entry fee's.
St Peters Basilica had to be my highlight as I just walked around in awe and wonder with my jaw hitting the marble floor as I have never seen anything as beautiful made by man.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing tour. The guide was so knowledgeable and willing to provide the information. We would highly recommend the early tour as it starts before the public get access.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely breathtaking. Sarah, our very knowledgable and provided excellent explanation of each area. BWilliams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Tour the best way to see Vatican and guide essential to negotiate enormous crowds and appreciate the highlights Need to spend couple of days to explore main attractions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. Our guide was great - gave us lots of detailed information. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really good tour. Guide was very knowledgable and went at a good pace with lots of info. Worth while!!

Fionnuala F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fabulous tour. Our Guide Francesca was amazing. She was very enthusiastic and knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Ellie, who was our tour guide, made this a fun and informative tour! Using Viator enabled us to walk right in and begin the tour without waiting in line for admission. Ellie was very knowledgeable and made this a very pleasant experience! You'll be amazed by the beauty within the walls of The Vatican! This is not to be missed! Thank you Viator! Donna Irene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

great tour guide... we even got to see the Pope.. Well worth the money because there were long lines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very cool tour...bring your own headphones though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well worth it, quite remarkable. There were long queues even in late October that we skipped. The location of the start of the tour could have been better shown on the documentation sent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was excellent. Our guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and most interesting. Really kind to our two children. I was surprised when I arrived and had to pay extra for admission, but that was entirely my fault. It stated explicitly and openly on the ticked that admission would be paid on the day, if only I had bothered to look at the ticket. If comparing prices this should be checked first. Most impressed, very interesting, educational and enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

In both cases, the Half-Day Walking Tours well exceeded our expectations, and we would highly recommend them to anyone considering visiting Rome. First-class guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We booked the evening tour on Friday. Our guide Felix was fantastic, very knowlegeable and passionate about his city and his work. Check out the fine print, there is a 23 euros charge to get in the Vatican on top of the price of the tour. but it's worth every penny.
Dew and Tim
Quebec, Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an awesome tour. Very informative and our guide was so skilled in providing us with the information about what we were viewing. There was ample time to view and did not feel rushed thru. I would gladly reccommend this tour to anyone wanting an informed tour thru this wonderful part of history. Thank you all for the ease in making this happen.

From USD $ 42.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message