Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 5021 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

theryans2008

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great guide combined with an amazing amount of things to see. Definitely worth booking the skip the line option.

Elena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the best thing I did SKIP THE LINE, I have recommended to lots of friends. I do not understand
Why more people don't do this. I think they are not aware of the great service. And they stand in lines for hours!!!!!! Great guide and spoke very well and very clear.

Marlon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guides were informative and very patient. Made the tour fun and entertaining.

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful guide. I believe her name was Ariana. A complete pleasure!

annshoplik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were in Rome on an exceptionally busy day a Saturday in the height of vacation season. We were on the 8:00 a.m. tour, which turned out to be a huge advantage, because we beat the lines! I highly recommend the early tour, for this reason. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable about everything she showed us, and she was able to answer all of our questions. This tour supplied headsets and a microphone for the tour guide, which meant we could hear everything easily. We saw everything we wanted, and we were able to stay in St. Peter's and wander around on our own afterwards. We also climbed the steps to the top on our own, and beat the lines because we were there so early in the day. An unforgettable, wonderful experience!

Chado

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good guide

Jose P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you do not want to spend your time in long lines, this is the best.

Jenny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was perfect. She had lots of insights without going on and on.

sylviajpanora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing!

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We are so pleased we arranged a private tour of the Vatican through Viator. Francesca was informative and answered all our questions. We highly recommend this tour! Kathy and Jeff Schwartz

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Linda was our tour guide, and she was awesome!! She was extremely knowledgeable and kept us right on schedule.

Fenella P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really interesting. Excellent guide, personable, amusing, informative. Kept us together well, and maintained a lively stimulating commentary.

Diane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Perfect, the french guide was MAGNIFICO!!!

Katrinka S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tours were very easy to set up on Viator. Our first tour was the Mystery tour,at night. The information was interesting and the guide was humorous . Our second tour was skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Again the tour guide was very good. We enjoyed it immensely.

MONIKA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Vatican half-day tour was great - knowledgeable guide, very nice. Only critique is that they gave us one-ear headphones - which makes listening to the tour guide somewhat difficult bc of the loud noises of the surrounding crowd. Bring your own headphones and this won't be an issue. We took our 9 month old - if you have a baby with you, use a carrier to make it easy, as there aren't any elevators. Beautiful tour - we went in high season June, but if you go in the off-season, may be a bit easier to walk around. Half-day tour was the right amount of time for us, as it allowed us get a taste of the main sights, and not leave us exhausted for the rest of the day.

Scott O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the 2nd time I have done this tour and it was just as good as the first. Paying to skip the line and going first thing in the morning is the only way to see the museums. It was still crowded, but at least you had more opportunity to see things and get an explanation.

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and saved us hours of time.

RockyDick USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow, did we score! Viviana sp?, our guide, was a PhD expert in her knowledge of the history and art of the Vatican -- an incredibly detailed and engaging tour. And are we ever thankful it was a skip the line tour. You felt sorry for the giant lines of people waiting the hot sun.

chung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Patrica, our guide is very humorous and explained all the pictures before the trip started in detail...this is particularly useful for those people like us where we did not research much before the visit.

Ami L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour, largely due to our fantastic guide. She educated us on Papal history, art history, architecture, and Greek and Roman mythology with passion and humor. The tour was perfectly paced and allowed us time to explore on our own afterwards. I highly recommend this tour.

Lucia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Priscilla was amazing! So knowledgeable and also had a sense of humour. Highly recommend this tour

Susanna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and we learned a lot more than if we had just done our own thing. Office was easy to find and the guide very knowledgeable and friendly.

Marie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was exemplary!

Teresa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Great to be in there before the crowds. Definitely recommend upgrading to the early start!

Fernie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was highly educated and very knowledgeable. It was a very educational experience. The tour allowed us to use our time efficiently. I highly recommend it.

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide very knowledgeable and engaging. Our family enjoyed this tour immensely!

Andrea H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The only way to do this tour is with the Skip the Line. Our guide was knowledgeable, and our group size was manageable.

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and so glad that we skipped the line as the queues were really long!!

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Deborah Lee Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Quite overwhelming.

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing experience! Alfredo, our guide, got us through the hustle and bustle of the Vatican Museums. The crowds were so overwhelming and it was a blessing to have a calm presence bring us through the vast experience. There's no way you can see everything the Vatican offers, but to be able to gaze up at the ceiling of the chapel is worth the price of admission, alone.

You'll definitely want the tour because you'll get to navigate the crowds, which were enormous on even a typical weekday. Alfredo was very knowledgeable about the art and history of the Vatican, which helped us appreciate it even more. My wife and I recommend this experience highly!

pageb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour , our guide was knowledgable and gave us a great understanding of the museum and history.
A must tour when in Rome.

Alison J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really informative tour and our tour guide was really knowledgable and enthusiastic. Thankfully it didn't seem too busy for a change and I was able to hear her commentary. Well worth paying to get some expert guidance, especially about the Sistine chapel and some of the Vatican treasures. I would never have known what I was looking at otherwise!

Scott E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were unfortunately late to arrive for our scheduled tour, and the team at Viator generously simply moved us to the next one! Tour was excellent!!! Guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Absolutely no waiting!!! Highly recommended!!!

Lisa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Tommy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour! Anna was an amazing guide and very knowledgable. She was courteous the entire time and kept everyone together. She even went beyond and had printouts of the Sistine Chapel, with which she provided a thorough explanation of the scenes as well as Michelangelo's technique!

carla b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. A lot of info. Our guide was so nice.

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Unfortunately it was exceptionally busy as it was Holy Thursday. Despite that we were able to see and learn so much from our guide. I am so glad we did the museum and the Basilica the y were both spectacular. The line up outside to get in was over 3 blocks long. So glad to have done skip the line .

rockiefan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to end our trip to Rome. We intentionally booked this tour the day our cruise ship disembarked. The guide was fantastic and knowledgeable.

Prasad R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and you really do skip the lines. Wish we could have seen more of the Vatican museum though. Our tour guide was fantastic

Charles N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well, what can I say.......it's the Vatican. It was GREAT! The sights are wonderful, and the Sistine Chapel is incredible. We kept moving, and our tour guide was great. When you see the lines waiting to get in, you understand that this is the only way to go. I couldn't imagine standing in those long lines! Excellent tour.

jennifer c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the tour a lot. Our guide was not only very informative but charismatic as well. I would definitely recommend it.

Angelina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amaxing tour, our guide (Alfredo) was very informative and made all the history interesting. I would definitely book another tour with the tour company.

Hiu Lan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Linda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, excellent tour guide !!

lucilgeorg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Alison F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was terrific! Sara was our tour guide and was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica. You have to meet with the group at the tour office and that takes a little map navigation, but once found, it's location is convenient to the Vatican. We went to the Coliseum on our own first. A better option for us would have been to find a tour that combined both the Coliseum and then bussed to the Vatican/Sistine Chapel/St Peters.

Heather.Herrera11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were able to skip the huge line with thus tour. Worth every penny!

eifion w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very good ,guide very informative and gave you time to look round.

Aimee D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tiberius was an awesome guide! So knowledgable of Roman history and very entertaining! It was the perfect amount of time and we were able to explore on our own afterwards.

Justine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was amazing. The fact that we didnt have to wait in any lines and skipped right to security was a real treat. The tour was a perfect way to see everything without it taking all day...then you get to walk around on your own for however long you desire.

Tracy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took the early morning option and there were only 11 of us. It was amazing in its entirety however our tour guide added so much more! She brought the art to life with her knowledge and kept the group at just the right pace.

Gavin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First class guided tour. Highly recommended.

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Arianna was awesome! Extremely knowledgable and made the tour fun! All tours need to have a guide with an archeology or history background!

ramonmontez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Having a tour at Vatican City is a must-have just to skip the line! The GA line is very, very long. Marketa was a great guide making sure to keep our large group together throughout the entire Vatican tour, which is a very crowded place. She provided a lot of insight which made the already magnificent Vatican City that much more interesting.

Olga K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable tour guide, we were able to quickly get into the Vatican and see the sights efficiently. I think without a tour you can spend days wandering around in there, would recommend this tour to others.

Jesus G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

GRASYA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Specially our guide was excallent

Juan Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was perfect ! So kind Guides and very useful and interesting information . More than I was expecting .

Viewing 4 of 84

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 40.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message