Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 4485 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 4485 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely the best tour we've ever had: from the new-fangled headsets which meant we heard every word guide Nicola said, to the fascinating insight we were given, on how paintings are really mosaics, on how the Colosseum was partially dismantled to build other buildings and metal sculptures melted down so only four remain in the whole city; on the Holy Wall opened every 25 years at St Peter's, on how the Vatican is the world's greenest country etc etc. So much fact given in a very interesting way. The walk was 3 hours but never overwhelming. The crowds were handled beautifully by Nicola and his little yellow flag. We never felt lost. The Vatican, St Peter's Basilica and the square are tremendous. We ran out of hyperbole. Well worth the extra cost to skip the line - it was so easy to get in the Vatican and straight into the Basilica. Congratulations and a big thank you to Enjoy Rome and Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide, Felix, was great! Super smart and was able to answer questions quickly and accurately. His pace through the exhibit was perfect and he made the three hour tour enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent - our guide made sure that we saw everything and her explanations were very clear. Skip the Line does not mean "skip the crowds" but we did get into the Vatican much sooner and had sufficient time to see the museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peters.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Knowledgeable tour guide, excellent tour, great time of year to do this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I enjoyed the tour very much. The service at the agency was excellent and the staff were very helpful as we arrived late for the tour initially booked but they accommodated us with a later tour. The tour guide was informative, organised and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

fantastic trip with excellent guide, thank you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

fantastic, loved this one too. So beautiful , emotional , wonderful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Worth the extra money to have everything explained to you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was lovely and kind. Very knowlegdable and took her time to explain everything. I got seperated from the group and she noticed right away and came to find me. A great experience all around!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fantastic,Awe inspiring.Blew me away completely.Guide was immensely knowledgeable and focused on her job and clients.Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Elenora was our guide, I believe we were in the company of a delightful, knowledgeable and entertaining woman. We could not have be more pleased.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent guide and skipping the line a must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour guide! The Vatican, Sistine and St Peter's Basilica was out of this world. Well worth the money.

Noel C
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing! Our tour guide Francesca was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was a knowledgeable art historian and really made the tour what it was. really enjoyable and worth the money!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Unbelievable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

this was my favourite trip but was a little tricky finding meeting point well worth the visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

loved it! crowds don't matter when you have a guide with a wealth of knowledge and a great sense of humor!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

caught a cab from hotel. met by dario. real pro. the beat the line tour is he only way to fly. crowds caught up within 90 minutes. go for it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. It was worth every penny to avoid the long lines and to keep the group size small. Our guide was very professional and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was really amazing- definitely worth the queue jump and our tour guide was very informative and answered any questions brilliantly! Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We ended up booking this tour at the last minute and it was a wonderful decision! The tours are wonderful because you don't have to wait in the long lines for tickets, entrance, etc. which was extremely helpful at the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another really good tour. Very knowledgeable guide and great to skip queues.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommend this tour,skipping the line as the queues even at 9 am are unbelievable. Our guide was really great and we got to see everything ;-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide and very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, but I wish we had time for the Vatican Galleries!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Probably the best walking tour I've been on. I had a great tour guide who was very informative, passionate and interactive. His name was Nicola and looks like George Clooney :P Despite the large crowds of people the tour guide was great at navigating our group around with minimal waiting time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very interesting and most enjoyable tour. Everything was well organised. The office (where we met the tour guide) was easy to find, it was great to be able to bypass the long queues, and our tour guide was very good. Excellent value and a great way to see the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding experience. Emanuella our guide was super special. Kudos for this tour .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

No regrets. Nicola, our guide, was fun and dedicated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and tour guide,really held it together when some tourists got rather lost more than once.Never lost her smile great tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I brought two excursions for my sister's birthday, two in one day! This was our afternoon excursion, and it was the highlight of our holiday! The tourguide (Marketa, I think her name was) was informative, witty, and knew the perfect pace to let us see what we wanted and see as much as possible. It was very obvious she loved her job, and I couldn't have asked for a better afternoon. An out of this world experience, thank you for everything!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

my second trip to the Vatican, but did it the right way this time with a tour! I learned so much more by taking this tour. THE ONLY WAY TO GO!! The guide was well versed in the subject matter, a good speaker, held your interest and even had a good sense of humour. Very professional. It was very crowded but he held the group together and got us in to see items well. If he walked ahead too far, the radio reception was a bit hard to hear and I was a little anxious we would loose him in the crowd was my only issue. But again.....he was excellent at waiting back for all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day skip the line is definitely the only way to go it was all breathtaking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We wanted a tour to get the most of our short time at the Vatican and the Museum and also St Peter's Basilica as it's very easy to skim through and not get to know much. I was surprised how much Egyptian stuff was in the museum. Our guide Carlotta was excellent and really made the difference, she was passionate and gave exactly the right level of detail for us. We only booked 2 days before.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, our tour guide had a wealth of knowledge, would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best tour guide! She really loved showing and explaining everything to us. It was a fantastic way to see the Vatican and avoid the queues. Highly recommend this tour, it is worth every cent to not wait in line and have someone with such enthusiasm show us the Vatican. Well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was very informative, and entertaining. Gave us a great insight and we saw all the highlights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was well organized and the guide very knowledgeable about the Vatican. Would recommend going on the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the afternoon tour, after a 16 hour plane connection to Rome, on a hot sunny day with tour guide Marianna? Not sure of her correct name and spelling. She was efficient, and gave so much knowledge to keep us (2 grandparents with a 17 year old grandson) interested and asking questions. I can't imagine waiting in line, and walking through the museum and the chapel and basilica without a guide to give so much knowledge. We only had 4 full days in Rome, and wanted to make the most of our time, which is why we did this tour the day we arrived.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good guide and interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic! Could have spent a lot longer on this tour ... so much to take in, and such an informative guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic and worth the money to skip the ridiculous line to enter the Vatican museum. In addition to being calm and friendly, our guide (Alfredo) had an amazing knowledge of Vatican and Italian history. This tour is a great history, art, and architecture tour to take prior to the Ghost and mystery or Dark Heart of Rome tour. All of those amazing works of art and human accomplishment had to be paid for somehow.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Unbelievable brilliant tour. Very busy when we arrived and had we not booked we would not have got in at all. Excellent guide, worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Viviana, spoke excellent English, was very knowledgeable and respectful - she was about the only tour guide who followed the "no speaking" rule in the Sistine Chapel. It was an excellent tour, and well worth the cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was great. Loved the visit. I will definitely recommend this service

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was an excellent tour. Our guide Rosetta or Scarlet (I think) was very friendly, knowledgeable and likeable. She made the tour very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed this tour. it was the highlight of my time in Rome.
Rischella was our tour guide and she was very informative. It is definitely worth the money to skip the queue especially if travelling in high season like us. You had time to take in the surroundings and had detailed explanations and insight into areas like the sistine chapel and st peters bascilica. This tour is three hours long but it flew around. I would definitely recommend this tour and will book again when in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

everything we were looking for!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Meeting point close to entrance. Friendly welcome at meeting point. Francesca was a very dedicated guide, explained with passion, used iPad to be showing scenes we would be viewing prior to entering.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful, knowledgeable guide and a nice small group! Skip the line tickets are the only way to go!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

​​
Much better than I thought it was going to be! This is definitely a must see if you're in Rome for a couple days. Plan for 4-5 hours including this 3 hour walking tour. I just thought it a big church, it turns out to be a MASSIVE church.

Things to keep in Mind:

Cover up: The basilica has a dress code so make sure you follow it. If you don't you can't go into the Sistine Chapel or the Basilica. You need to cover your shoulders and you need need shorts or a dress that covers you're knees.

HIKE TO THE TOP OF THE DOME: This is a MUST if you have the energy. It's 5 euro to walk the 500+ steps to the top. 7 euro to take an elevator half way and walk the rest. Amazing views of Rome - highest point in Rome so you can see the entire city on a nice day.

READ THE FINE PRINT: I booked it not realizing that we also had to purchase tickets into the Vatican. 23 euro per person so the whole experience ended up costing about $175. I'm cheap so if I would have known before hand, I probably wouldn't have done it. I'm so glad I didn't though since the whole experience was amazing!

The tour was a full 3 hours. Enjoy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really great tour with a very knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Vatican Museums, and Sistine Chapel is so beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

5-star says it all.......doesn't it ?????? GREAT!!!!!

From USD $ 42.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message