4.5 star rating: Recommended 4407 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 4407 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best tour guide! She really loved showing and explaining everything to us. It was a fantastic way to see the Vatican and avoid the queues. Highly recommend this tour, it is worth every cent to not wait in line and have someone with such enthusiasm show us the Vatican. Well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was very informative, and entertaining. Gave us a great insight and we saw all the highlights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was well organized and the guide very knowledgeable about the Vatican. Would recommend going on the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the afternoon tour, after a 16 hour plane connection to Rome, on a hot sunny day with tour guide Marianna? Not sure of her correct name and spelling. She was efficient, and gave so much knowledge to keep us (2 grandparents with a 17 year old grandson) interested and asking questions. I can't imagine waiting in line, and walking through the museum and the chapel and basilica without a guide to give so much knowledge. We only had 4 full days in Rome, and wanted to make the most of our time, which is why we did this tour the day we arrived.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good guide and interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic! Could have spent a lot longer on this tour ... so much to take in, and such an informative guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic and worth the money to skip the ridiculous line to enter the Vatican museum. In addition to being calm and friendly, our guide (Alfredo) had an amazing knowledge of Vatican and Italian history. This tour is a great history, art, and architecture tour to take prior to the Ghost and mystery or Dark Heart of Rome tour. All of those amazing works of art and human accomplishment had to be paid for somehow.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Unbelievable brilliant tour. Very busy when we arrived and had we not booked we would not have got in at all. Excellent guide, worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Viviana, spoke excellent English, was very knowledgeable and respectful - she was about the only tour guide who followed the "no speaking" rule in the Sistine Chapel. It was an excellent tour, and well worth the cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was great. Loved the visit. I will definitely recommend this service

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was an excellent tour. Our guide Rosetta or Scarlet (I think) was very friendly, knowledgeable and likeable. She made the tour very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed this tour. it was the highlight of my time in Rome.
Rischella was our tour guide and she was very informative. It is definitely worth the money to skip the queue especially if travelling in high season like us. You had time to take in the surroundings and had detailed explanations and insight into areas like the sistine chapel and st peters bascilica. This tour is three hours long but it flew around. I would definitely recommend this tour and will book again when in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

everything we were looking for!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Meeting point close to entrance. Friendly welcome at meeting point. Francesca was a very dedicated guide, explained with passion, used iPad to be showing scenes we would be viewing prior to entering.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful, knowledgeable guide and a nice small group! Skip the line tickets are the only way to go!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

​​
Much better than I thought it was going to be! This is definitely a must see if you're in Rome for a couple days. Plan for 4-5 hours including this 3 hour walking tour. I just thought it a big church, it turns out to be a MASSIVE church.

Things to keep in Mind:

Cover up: The basilica has a dress code so make sure you follow it. If you don't you can't go into the Sistine Chapel or the Basilica. You need to cover your shoulders and you need need shorts or a dress that covers you're knees.

HIKE TO THE TOP OF THE DOME: This is a MUST if you have the energy. It's 5 euro to walk the 500+ steps to the top. 7 euro to take an elevator half way and walk the rest. Amazing views of Rome - highest point in Rome so you can see the entire city on a nice day.

READ THE FINE PRINT: I booked it not realizing that we also had to purchase tickets into the Vatican. 23 euro per person so the whole experience ended up costing about $175. I'm cheap so if I would have known before hand, I probably wouldn't have done it. I'm so glad I didn't though since the whole experience was amazing!

The tour was a full 3 hours. Enjoy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really great tour with a very knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Vatican Museums, and Sistine Chapel is so beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

5-star says it all.......doesn't it ?????? GREAT!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide, Francesca, was absolutely brilliant, shepherding our group through the Vatican museum on a very busy day and making sure everyone was looked after, including the children in the group. Her anecdotes about the Sistine Chapel were very entertaining and her knowledge of every frescoe, every statue, every Map, painting and ornament was very impressive. Definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic tour. Well worth the cost to miss the queues if nothing else. Our guide was so knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was well worth the money. The guide was friendly and passionate about the art she showed us, so it was more enjoyable. The jumping of the queues was essential in the hot weather and with the group being small we were able to get a more personalised tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide- very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really "skipped the line". Chiara explained to us so much, where we would have only been walked by. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

lovely!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money to skip the line, arrived at the Vatican at nine and the line must of been at least 300 meters long. Many thanks to Francesca great tour guide.
Giuseppe and Anna
Perth Western Australia..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable about art.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Very pleased with our tour guide Mr.Nikola he was funny, pleasant and informative. I would recommend this tour and to also wear comfortable shoes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an amazing 3 hour tour of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica. Our tour guide Nicholas was amazing, he was very knowledgeable and had some interesting facts on all areas. He even managed to keep the attention of our children (aged 8 and 12 years) for the whole 3 hours. So glad we saw these monuments on a tour, wouldn't have been the same without a tour guide. Thanks for the experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was very well down. Our guide was lovely and very knowledgeable,
She made it very interesting. Would recommend your tour, ciao
Karen Sattler and Caroline Sawiski from Michigan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The experience I had with my Vatican tour couldn't have been less complicated or easier. We showed up for our tour a little early, only to find out that some people had not showed up for the earlier tour in the morning and we were put into a group with a total of five people. Having such a small group made the tour that much more enjoyable and easier to maneuver throughout the crowed Vatican. Our tour guide did an excellent job of explaining the Sistine Chapel art work, the ancient statues and just about everything else. I could not have asked for a better experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome guide and wonderful tour. We chose a late afternoon time, it was not as crowded.
I would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great way to understand what you see. The guide eas excellent and I would definatrly recommend thid tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent way to see the Vatican!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The lines were long so it was definitely worth while purchasing this skip the line 8am tour! It doesn't officially open until 9am so it was great to get in before everyone else did.Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us lots of interesting facts.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

So much to see. Skipping the line is a must. Guide was informative. Appreciated the lower 1 pm cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Sara was a great guide and very knowledgable about the Vatican. VERY worth the money to skip the line to get in!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. Tour guide was very pleasant, helpful, knowledgeable and spoke good english.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. The Tour Guide was thorough and spoke fluent, comprehensible English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great guide and so much better than waiting in queue. Will definitely do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and informative. It's an easy way to see the highlights of the museum and St. Peter's Basilica. Guide was able to give us history and background of the Vatican, including St. Peter's Basilica and Sistine Chapel. Beware, the entrance fee for the museum is not included in the price and must be paid when you show up for the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour, excellent tour guide, very informative and in inclusive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly informative guide. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

vatican was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an unbelievable tour. The guide had remarkable knowledge and made the whole tour a pleasure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was amazing, tour guide was really helpful, had a lots of knowledge and shared a lot of interesting facts with us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Was well organised and tour guide was superb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was great and ensured I saw the mains sights. Best part was that we skipped the queues.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic, guide was great...thank you!,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Serina was a great tour guide! The tour was excellent and took us through the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica with appropriate historical background on the artwork. It was interesting and not too long. We had 2 kids, age 10 and 13, and they also enjoyed it !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great guide, great tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Francesca was a great tour guide! Even though the crowds were huge, she got us through and we still enjoyed everything!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour and the guide Chiara was excellent and did a splendid work !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing! The line looked at least 2 hrs long. Was so great to be able to skip it. Our tour guide was fantastic and knew so many details about the Vatican.

From USD $ 38.73

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message