Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 4770 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 4770 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the 8:00 tour before the Vatican museums opened - and it was on Good Friday. I heartily recommend this tour to avoid the queues and the crowds once inside. We actually got to take photos with no-one in them - on Good Friday. Also, our particular guide was great. She gave us some great insights into the Sistine chapel, Michelangelo and Catholicism at the time of the Sistine Chapel creation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was so knowledgable it made me see the Vatican in a completely new way... Loved it !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour lived up to its name Skip the Line. The Line was wrapped around the corner or the museum and it was so nice to get right in. Actually we still had to wait due to the extra people there free day and Easter Sunday. It was extremely crowded but our guide did an exemplary job of keeping calm and keeping us together. When we arrived at the tour office we were informed that the Pope had closed the Sistine Chapel so we were given several options as compensation. which I appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My tour guide was great and knew so much about the history and architecture. I left the Vatican having learned so much. My tour guide was unable to take us through St. Peter's Basilica because of the time (3pm) which was not stated on the tour I purchased which was frustrating. Still a good tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved this tour--made especially rich because of the passion and knowledge of our guide Nicola. He was wonderful. The amount of time was perfect and Nicola's ability to answer a broad range of questions made each persons experience strong. I'd recommend this tour unequivocally!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was beautiful. Our tour guide was amazing!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent experience - despite large numbers we moved through quickly and received wonderful insight from our guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had the best tour guide. The Vatican was packed, but our tour guide kept us entertained and informed the entire time. Without the guide, I am not sure how we were going to be able to handle the madness. We also skipped the two and three-hour long lines to enter the Vatican and got in within 15 minutes. The downside is that you still have to pay for the admission to the museums, which was like 24 euros or so.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! Miss (maybe Mrs) Carbonara were great!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide for this tour was wonderful and very knowledgeable. She provided great information about histoy and the art in the Vatican. We entered ahead of the long lines and toured the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. Well worth the price! Excellent guides.

Italy
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it! Tour guide was very good and easy to understand. The tour was well worth the money, but be prepared to do a great deal of walking...some areas had steps to climb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I can't recommend this tour highly enough. The guide was informative and very knowledgeable. We skipped the queues and had a full 3 hour tour. I usually prefer to explore things myself so was initially sceptical but both myself and my partner were thoroughly impressed with the tour guide and the organisation. A definite must for any visitors to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great to skip the long waiting lines! The tour was very interesting and our guide Felix friendly and knowledgeable.
Magnus and Lykke, 21 March 2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well worth the money! The tour was educational and visually breathtaking as we walked through the museums and the Sistine chapel. A must do if you're visiting Rome, whether your religious or not.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guide was fantastic, good English and very humourous. Ten out of ten, well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great tour guide who was very personable and extremely informative regarding the Vatican. The ability to skip the line which seemed like it never ended as we walked past was worth the money on its own. We highly recommend booking this trip of a lifetime!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful! Our guide was knowledge and personable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. It is well worth doing. You meet at the office so you have the security of knowing that you're in the right place. The staff are very efficient and friendly.Our tour guide Ella was very approachable and knowledgeable. It is also worth it to skip the line.Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well worth the money very informativea great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

WOW, is the only way to explain this tour, we were upgraded to a small group tour which was a lovely surprise. Would recommend this tour to everyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were so glad that we took this tour. There were 4 of us, all seniors aged 68-79. We were able to get the 8am start time and it was a blessing to us. The weather was cool and rainy, but we went right in. The guide was wonderful, so knowledgeable. Of course the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums and St. Peter Basilica were the highlight of our stay in Rome. EXCELLENT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour guide and tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and walked the perfect line between keeping us together and letting us explore. She told us just enough history and interesting details without overwhelming us with -- and was fun as well. A wonderful person to take us through an amazing place her appreciation of it was evident. The tour was a great way to skip the very, very long lines and gain more appreciation than any book could offer. I would highly recommend this tour -- wear good shoes and be prepared to walk and deal with crowds!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was lovely and informative however the one thing I regret was not being able to see some of the paintings in the Vatican museum - we saw plenty of statues, very interesting, but I must admit I was looking forward to some of Rafael's paintings. Maybe next time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nicola was an excellent guide - very lively, enthusiastic and informed. We really enjoyed ourselves and learnt a good amount of art history. Nicola kept us interested throughout. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

very knowledgeable tour guide, she moved us through security quickly, so we could enjoy our time at the musuems, Sistine Chaper, and the Basilica. She was very courteous and answered all our questions and even gave us some free time to enjoy the Sistine Chapel on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip to Rome was tremendous , thanks to our AMAZING and knowledgeable tour guide ❤️
The skip the line really made our days longer to see more of Rome . Our memories would not be so colorful about brome had we not done your tour. I recommend you to everybody I know for a wonderful view of Rome.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Would totally recommend. Tour guide was very knowledgeable, and had a degree in art history which was evident. Wish we could have spent more time in the Sistine Chapel. Only allowed about 20 minutes there. No pictures or video was allowed of the Sistine Chapel on this tour, however. Very strictly enforced by the Italian police in the Sistine Chapel. However, there may be a "private" tour offered through Viatour for more money where pictures are allowed, which we only learned after our tour. Overall would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A really good experience. The group was not too large and the guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable.

I would recommend this to any visitor.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour! We got to see everything we wanted to with explanation by a very knowledgeable and fun tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good and the tour guide excellent - lots of information at appropriate times, attentive to the group but giving time to us when required - and all this with no notes, well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lines were outrageous for the Vatican, would recommend skipping the line and getting all the knowledge available from the great tour guides offered.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, incredibly knowledgable tour guide, no queue,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The skip the line thing, first of all, is a big advantage. We are able to get in with no hassle. Viviana waa so engaging and informative. We learned a lot and able to appreciate more the beautiful treasures of Vatican. Thank you very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

our tour guide was outstanding! Wish I cold remember her name - I think it was Priscilla. Informative and insightful. GREAT tour I high;y recommend this

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nicola. Very professional tour guide. Excellent English. Great sense of humor. He makes the 3 hours tour an awesome experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. Very interesting tour. Length just right.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very experienced tour guide and just the right length of time to see the main things in the Vatican without being too tiring.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour, was so much better than just wondering around.
There is so much to see and our guide gave us plenty of information and plenty of time to look at everything. Because there is so much to see, i would recommend this tour to ensure you get to see the main sites within Vatican City with history and detail behind everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fantastic. The tour guide was both knowledable and friendly. I would highly recommend taking the tour as she gave us brilliant insights and a wonderful day at the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was very helpful and showed lots of knowledge and understanding.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely worth the extra money to skip the que. The guide, franchesca, was extremely knowledgeable, incredibly pleasant and made the experience. We are taken through each part away from the ques and it was superb. Totally worth it. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting the vatican tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful experience and well worth the money. Our guide was excellent and I learned so much. I would like to advise travelors to make sure what they are purchasing when they pay for this tour. The tickets to the Vatican are separate. This was stated on-line, but it was late at night when I placed my order and I overlooked this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Informative and fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good half day tour at a reasonable pace to see the main attractions

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I definitely recommend doing the tour. Learned a lot. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I especially like how the group wasn't too big and we were able to skip the huge lines.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely skipped the line - the queue was horrendous. Our guide was very informative and passionate about all we saw, and managed to herd us successfully through the crowds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Sara was the best- so enthusiastic and kind and funny. Was a wonderful tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

So glad we chose this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and interesting and the tour was the perfect length.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was brilliant very knowledgable highly recommended for anyone visiting all nationalities!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide was excellant,lovely person and knowledgable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent great guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent grear guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well worth while. The Vatican was so busy that without our guide it would have been very difficult to find the best exhibits, even if it was a bit rushed we did see the most important things in the Vatican. The only thing I would say is that the tour leaves you inside St Peters Square which is great as you can then spend as much time as you like on your own visiting St Peters Basilica and climbing the dome etc etc BUT there are no food outlets there so take a snack so that hunger doesn't force you to cut your trip short!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative awesome tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A really good tour. Enough walking and standing but because there is so much art and history to take in we may have to return to Rome and do it all again. Our guide Rosie was lovely and very informative, she explained a lot before we went into the chapel so we could look around the paintings with some knowledge of what were looking at when we had to observe the quite rule. We will definitely return to do it all again we loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Perfect!! The guide was so informative and we could hear her at all times. I would highly recommend using the tour company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Vatican was amazing! Our tour guide Arianna was incredible as well. The skip the line tour is worth every penny especially when you see how long the line really is.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great fast moving tour with lots of well delivered information from a knowledgable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Group was small and we bypassed a 3 1/2 line to get in . The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took the time to answer all of our questions. I would highly recommend this tour.

From USD $ 39.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message