Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 4615 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 4615 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a really good tour. The guide was so knowledgeable and without her there would have been a lot we would have missed. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide very knowledgable, interesting and amazing place.

Niren P
India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Tour to take for visiting the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and Basilica. Must do for all visiting Rome. We had an excellent guide too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing! Fabiana our guide eas very knowledgeable amd patient try to explained to us everythings! Is really worth it to join this kind of tour, group of peolple are coming around the eorld, this tour it benefit you a lots! Is highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, no waiting time, all parts in time. The guide was a very professional scientific lady (was the name Rosalie or the Italian version of Scarlett?) and she brought very interesting details. We enjoyed it very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Must take the tour in order to avoid the huge line that forms to get into the Vatican. The museum was amazing and the Sistine chapel was incredible. Great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really good tour. Tour guide was great and passionate about the history and works of art.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous! The art and history were amazing! The tour was very helpful! Our tour guide was an Art Historian- I really enjoyed her information. Skip the line was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alfredo was a fantastic guide , very knowledgable about art and Vatican history. Was also very personable and friendly with me and the other tour participants with our questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was understandable and educational. We were highly pleased with the tour and guide. Would highly recommend this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was understandable and very educated. Very interesting tour. Took a lot of pictures

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was amazing! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. Sara was the perfect guide. Lots of information and passionate about her work. Delightful company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very informative and well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour, both in content and information. Our guide, Gabriella, was so well-informed and she shared her knowledge with passion. I will not hesitate to recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, great guide, So much to see and she gave a good overview and a lovely lunch recommendation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent. Good value for money and it was good to miss the queues. Our tour guide was Sara, she provided us with brilliant facts and was very informative, answering many of our questions. She had a good rapport with our children (who really liked her) and she spoke excellent English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful and very knowledgeable guide, very professional and personable. Really enjoyed the tour and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. A great experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent, a real must if you go to Rome and worth every cent incl the money paid on the day for entry fee's.
St Peters Basilica had to be my highlight as I just walked around in awe and wonder with my jaw hitting the marble floor as I have never seen anything as beautiful made by man.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing tour. The guide was so knowledgeable and willing to provide the information. We would highly recommend the early tour as it starts before the public get access.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely breathtaking. Sarah, our very knowledgable and provided excellent explanation of each area. BWilliams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Tour the best way to see Vatican and guide essential to negotiate enormous crowds and appreciate the highlights Need to spend couple of days to explore main attractions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. Our guide was great - gave us lots of detailed information. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really good tour. Guide was very knowledgable and went at a good pace with lots of info. Worth while!!

Fionnuala F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fabulous tour. Our Guide Francesca was amazing. She was very enthusiastic and knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Ellie, who was our tour guide, made this a fun and informative tour! Using Viator enabled us to walk right in and begin the tour without waiting in line for admission. Ellie was very knowledgeable and made this a very pleasant experience! You'll be amazed by the beauty within the walls of The Vatican! This is not to be missed! Thank you Viator! Donna Irene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

great tour guide... we even got to see the Pope.. Well worth the money because there were long lines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very cool tour...bring your own headphones though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well worth it, quite remarkable. There were long queues even in late October that we skipped. The location of the start of the tour could have been better shown on the documentation sent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was excellent. Our guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and most interesting. Really kind to our two children. I was surprised when I arrived and had to pay extra for admission, but that was entirely my fault. It stated explicitly and openly on the ticked that admission would be paid on the day, if only I had bothered to look at the ticket. If comparing prices this should be checked first. Most impressed, very interesting, educational and enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

In both cases, the Half-Day Walking Tours well exceeded our expectations, and we would highly recommend them to anyone considering visiting Rome. First-class guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We booked the evening tour on Friday. Our guide Felix was fantastic, very knowlegeable and passionate about his city and his work. Check out the fine print, there is a 23 euros charge to get in the Vatican on top of the price of the tour. but it's worth every penny.
Dew and Tim
Quebec, Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an awesome tour. Very informative and our guide was so skilled in providing us with the information about what we were viewing. There was ample time to view and did not feel rushed thru. I would gladly reccommend this tour to anyone wanting an informed tour thru this wonderful part of history. Thank you all for the ease in making this happen.

daggag21
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The only way to do the Sistine chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guide! Fantastic place! Must book in advance.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent, extremely knowledgeable and experienced. We were very glad that we decided to take the tour and not just go on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative - - and our guide knew the ins/outs and etiquette of all the properties and kept us in line. Beautiful places I thought I would never see, and honored to have stood in the midst of.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Except for the headsets not working the tour was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was really good and full of information. That is just what we needed. The tourist guides expressed himself really authentic. I suggest evryone.

Szilard from Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Grate tour. However we did not visited the Raphael’s rooms and pinacoteca, probably not included in our tour since it was not enough time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was amazing! The crowds were crazy, even at the end of September, but it was great to be able to bypass the lines to get in. The artwork was phenominal. Talk about sensory overload! I wanted to be able to take it all in, and be able to remember it all too. The guide was great at maneuvering us around and getting us to a good place to be able to explain what was coming up.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was great, Sara. She was very knowledgeable and spoke really good English. We enjoyed the tour and recommend it to anyone that goes to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Scarlet was the best. We arrived at an office very close to the entrance to the Vatican Museum. We had about 20 in our group. The museum was crowded as expected but Scarlet managed us all, including a family group with an elderly woman in a wheelchair. Scarlet patiently directed the W/C members to the existing elevators but much of the tour areas had no elevators. The impression of my group of 4-we could easily hear and understand all of the wonderful history Scarlet relayed via our head sets. She was attentive to questions and fantastic on keeping the group together. The next day we spotted her guiding a group at the Colosseum. We only wished we scheduled her for that day, as well. Our only suggestion- consider a less crowded time tour time for W/C bound tours. I felt bad for those in W/C, who mostly had views of others backsides and difficulty in the crowd managing the stairs. Keep up the great work, Scarlet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour.
It was a very informative tour and we got to see so much. Thanks
for a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were so happy to be able to see the Vatican without the crowds. Definitelty recommend
going in the evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

just as I had hoped truly wonderful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely wonderful. The tour guide was excellent and very informative. Definitely would use your service in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide ,Michela , was extremely knowledgeable and caring. She kept track of all of us , checking and counting to make sure our group was together. Her information was amazing and thorough not to mention she was able to flip between English and Italian and very clear pronunciation. I would wish that everyone could have such a meaningful experience.
The tour office was a little difficult to find as we took the metro , stopped at Ottaviano and then walked to the tour operator's office; there should be some signage on the street. Fortunately, a tour guide from another company directed us. Barbara Stephano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour. Our guide was so informative and truly has a passion for what she does. (I don't remeber her name but she's an archeologist). The lines were so long but we never waited for anything so it is definitely worth doing this tour. The highlight was her wonderful explanation of Michelangelo and his paintings of the Sistine Chapel before we went inside!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely a great tour, awesome! But the person who made it a very interesting and informative was our Guide Stephano! very knowledgeable. Thank You.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very professional and knowledgable. Extremely happy with this tour and it is definately value for money. Highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

THIS WAS EXCELLENT AND WELL ORGANISED, THE ONLY MINOR ISSUE BEING THAT THE GUIDE HAD TO LEAVE BEFORE OUR TOUR FINISHED AS SHE HAD ANOTHER ONE TO DO. APART FROM THAT IT WAS EXCELLENT.

KEEBAB
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth skipping the line and saving hours of waiting. Guide was very knowledgeable as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I rate this tour a 5. Our guide was very informative and had a great deal of knowledge abour the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This small tour was a wonderful way to see and understand the Vatican museums. The crowds made it impossible to see and understand on our own. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We'll organised, guide was very good. Well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was crowded, but Viator has no control over that. The guide was well-informed and delightful. She answered all questions I liked the tour ending at the Basilica where we were able to roam at leisure. Overall, a good experience.

From USD $ 42.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message