• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 632 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 632 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous tour. It was so nice to have a small group to go through the Vatican, and not have to wait in the very long regular ticket line. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. She catered to all ages in our group and answered all of our questions. This was everything we had wanted for our tour of the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Hoped for good, got great! Everything they say in the description and then some. Easy to find meeting place. Very organized. Small group means easy movement and personal attention. Marta, our tour guide, is an art historian, energetic and capable. With a fine, mentoring hand, she gave us a real education about the art we saw in these amazing museums, brought the art and artists to life, and made it all fun at the same time.

This tour, like all Viator activities in my experience, is easy to book and confirm. I found you didn't have to be Catholic to enjoy it. Wear comfortable shoes, dress modestly and appropriately, and bring your camera. Pictures can be taken everywhere (WITHOUT FLASH!) except in the Sistine Chapel where it is strictly forbidden. If you're looking for an opportunity to see some of the world's greatest artistic accomplishments with ease and convenience, and skip the line doing it, I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was amazing and so knowledgeable!! We had a great time in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was most informative and our guide Alessia was wonderful, having a thorough knowledge of the history of these monuments. Alessia spoke very good English and had a very friendly nature. Having only a small number of English speaking participants made it much easier to comprehend and understand the beautiful Museums, Basilica and, of course, the Sistine Chapel. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Not only did we skip the line but had a very knowledgeable tour guide and room to move about in the Sistine Chapel!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a really great tour with Catherine as our guide!! She was so knowledgeable and able to weave historical stories about Michaelangelo and Rafael along with many other pieces of good information. It was done in a very easy way to understand she was able to build on the presentation from the beginning to the end at St. Peter's Basilica. The group was small enough (12) that it wasn't too crowded and we never felt out of touch. We had a couple of other tours in Rome and Pompeii on our trip and Catherine and this tour rates as our best!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and it was nice to pass even the skip the line group for an early entry to the museum. There is so much to that it is good they focus on the need to see exhibits. Our guide was an american who is very knowledgable about the Vatican and Rome. It goes without saying the Vatican and Sistine Chapel are unmatched from any church I have ever seen. I even was accompanied by Jewish friend and he enjoyed every second and all the stories to go with the history of the church. I will need to come back to spend even more time yet this was a great introduction.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and guide! She was very informative and passionate! Definitely do this one with a guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing. And so were the tour coordinators. I don't recommend doing this (you'll have to pay a re-booking fee), but we missed our first scheduled tour, and they worked hard and quickly to ensure that we were able to rebook later in our trip. I know it is weird to pay hundreds of dollars in advance to hire an unknown guide in an unfamiliar place. Seems a little sketchy at first. But DO IT! You won't be sorry. The guides are informative (a thousand times better than trying to go it on your own with a guidebook or a rented listening device!), the coordinators are well organized, and the company is fair and helpful (in troubleshooting in our case).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Catherine was outstanding . Excellent tour and the most humbling experience. Raphael's rooms were moving. Could spend days and days here. Catherine - Brilliant!!!!!

June And Michael - Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The vatican was amazing, so much to see and we would highly recommend this guided tour. Our guide, Martha, was superb, very knowledgeable and added significantly to our enjoyment of the vatican visit, she pointed out and explained so many things which we would have otherwise missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had the Vatican to ourselves for 45 minutes! Guide was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved the small group led by Anna, a very informative tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fascinating, although very busy towards the end of the tour. Just pleased we could gain early entry. The guide was experienced and able to answer any questions. The queue to get in as we came out had to be seen to be believed

From USD $ 128.10

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 19+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICAN_SMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message