Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 1831 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If we had not been able to skip the lines, we would not have been able to complete our tour near as quickly. The lines were horrendous and being on our feet for so long would have made our experience much less enjoyable. Thanks to the guides who did a good job getting us in and keeping the group together in all that chaos!

tom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A good deal. As we approached the Vatican in our taxi we saw a blocks-long line for entry into the museum. Our driven told us the line was light, only about two hours, rather than three for high season!

The arrival instructions were clear. The meeting area was chaos but the coordinators did a good job of directing us to our designated entry group. Once inside, more chaos ensued, this is the busiest museum entry we have ever experienced.

After running that gamut, having free reign over this magnificent museum was delightful.

Well worth the price to save on time and fatigue from a long line.

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour guide and loved all the history and knowledge of the artwork. Highlights include the Sistine Chapel and the Pieta. But it was all wonderful.

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Skip the line tickets saved us queuing time of about one and a half hours but did not prepare us for what was to come, namely the vast number of people the whole time but it was an unforgettable experience

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets were brilliant. The guide was exactly where the paperwork told us he would be at exactly the right time. He gave the group that had gathered for the same time slot about 12 of us in total a run down as to what would happen. We entered the main concourse of the museums together as a group. He went off to get our official tickets and then left us to our own devices. It was about 2 euros more than buying the official tickets ourselves but we didn't have to queue. The museums were amazing. I would definitely recommend buying the skip the line tickets.

On the way to St Peter's Square there are dozens of ticket touts trying to get you to buy tickets to skip the queue into the Basilica. They make you feel that there's no point walking down to St Peter's Square as you will have to queue to go in. This is nonsense. You do not have to queue to go to the square which is free and marvelous. However, if you wish to go into the Basilica which is free you do have to queue and the queue was massive when we arrived in full heat of the day around 130pm. We enjoyed the square, then went back up the road to get our skip the line into the museums. When we walked back later, the queue had reduced significantly and I would guess the people at the end would have queued for about half an hour. You can buy a ticket before you go that gets you into the Basilica directly from the Vatican Museum and I would suggest this would be a good idea.

The Viator tickets were great and I would not hesitate to buy from them again.

I would recommend anyone going buys before they go, or sorts out tickets through their hotel as the ticket touts are so annoying and all of them convincing. You wouldn't know a scammer from an official.

Joan Arleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Starting point of the tour was a bit difficult to find mostly because our taxi driver dropped us off at the wrong location. Tour itself was amazing and our tour guide had a wealth of information. Make sure you listen to the tour guide and follow instructions - a couple people in our group did not stay in a location we were told to stay in and they missed the rest of the tour.

Catherine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Held up to our expectations - we got to skip the long line.

Darrell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth it to skip the long line.

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth skipping the line with this tour. Totally recommend to anyone visiting Rome.

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Worked exactly as advertised. We were met by friendly staff and got into museum with no problem.

Gemma R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour guide. Francesca was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions.

R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

So glad we skipped the ques and took this trip otherwise half the day would have been wasted queuing up .
A fantastic day out ! well organised and once through security free to roam at own pace round the Vatican.
Well worth the money

Brenda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was well organised and straightforward despite the thousands of tourists waiting to gain entry into the Vatican. The guides were very efficient and kept us informed all the way right through til we were inside and able to be left on our own.

Natasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was a good way to skip the line to get in and through the gates. Inside the Vatican you are on your own so you have the freedom to see what you want at your own pace

Thomas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you are looking to get into the Vatican museum while avoiding the line, this is a great way to do this. By no fault of Viator, I wish we had booked a guided tour.

Lyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour was very good, very informative and lots of fun. Saw all the attractions around Rome and very informative guide. Had time to walk around the places take photos then continue on. Highly recommended.

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The representatives were exactly where they were supposed to be and were very helpful. The Museum itself was very crowded but they were very efficient, provided us with our tickets as quickly as they could and from there on everything went very well.
This is not a criticism of the tour or your reps, but if they could just remember to speak up at the very beginning it would be great help. I was at the back of the group and am also hard of hearing, my wife says deaf, but this is not true, I'm only deaf when she's talking, anyway, I could not hear any of the explanation about what was going to happen. I waited until we were moving and then asked another guide who filled me in.
It didn't alter my enjoyment, and took nothing away from the experience

Charles N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Simply fantastic!! It was a very popular day at the Vatican, but our guide was so patient and kept track of all of us. She provided excellent information and shepherded us through the museums, Sistine Chapel and Basillica - we all thoroughly enjoyed the day and I'd highly recommend it to anyone considering going to the Vatican. We didn't wait in any lineups at all!!!!

Eric B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

An absolute must see, everything we expected to see and more. Since we were trying to see both the Vatican and the Coliseum in one day, our Driver Luca who was a Amazing recommended that we visit the Coliseum in the AM and the Vatican in the afternoon to avoid the crowds, he made a few calls and had our itinerary rescheduled in minutes without any added costs.

Steve P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great value for money. The guide was very informal, conversational and extremely informative. Without a tour, you would not discover and learn so much and would have to stand in line for hours. A must!!

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really glad we did this. The line waiting was unbelievable and the bonus of being able to go directly into the Basilica was really welcome.

Dex J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Easy location to meet the tour reps. A short hop through some airport like security inside and we were free to explore. Fast, efficient, hassle free and polite. Would use again.

Simon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Quick entry to the Museum, well organised group entry. Best way to see things at the pace you want to.

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Although it was very crowded, I'm glad we skipped the line and did the tour on our own.

rossco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very easy and would definitely recommend to a friend to take up this as saved heaps of time!

Viewing 2 of 74

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 43.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731SKIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message