5 star rating: Highly Recommended 14920 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 14920 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

One of the highlights of my entire European trip! The Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's are all incredible to explore... but I have to say, it was Shannon our guide that brought the experience to life. She had so much knowledge and had a way of brining us back into history by sharing stories and insights we would never have known. Our entire group was spellbound from the start when she took us to the electronic board at the start of the tour to explain what we would be seeing and what its significance was. It set the tone from the start and gave the experience that much more impact. I can't say enough about her. If there is a way to request a specific guide on Viator... request her. Amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Did this tour 27.10.2014, well worth it!! You are crazy not to sign up for a skip the line tour to get into the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica as people can wait in those lines for up to 2 hours or more!! With this tour you get to skip the lines as well as have a personal guide take you through the Vatican with lots of knowledge. Our guide was from City Wonder Tours, I think her name was Sharon? she was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantasic guide and really worth while tour. Shanonn our guide was great, really engaging, knowledgable and entertaining. She made the tour relaxed and yet thoroughly informative and enjoyable. Skip the line was definately worht it as the line at 9am was already 3 hours long. Viator was really easy to book, confirmtation and detials really clear and helpful. An amazing place to visit and would highly reccomned.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The meeting point was very clear and easy to find. The group was limited to 20 people which was good considering the size of the Sistine Chapel and the need to be able to hear our tour guide (Igor) clearly.
Overall the tour was very informative however we would have liked more time hearing about and walking around the Basilica rather than spending more time in the Vatican Museums. Unfortunately the authorities only allow you to stay in the Sistine Chapel for 20 minutes and there isn't much room to stand and take it all in. But we were grateful to be on a tour for easy access regardless.
Igor had already briefed us on the history of Michelangelo's creation prior so we had the information before we arrived which helped.
Igor was very patient and we really enjoyed our tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was excellent! The information our wonderful guide shared made the sites come alive! I would definitely recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely brilliant. Guide was extremely well informed with loads of interesting information and we felt we had so much knowledge from her.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really enjoyed this tour and the guide was great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was fantastic. She was so knowledgeable it really added to the experience. No question went unanswered. I would highly recommend Viator when booking in advance. You get what you pay for. We have used them in New York and Rome. This was an amazing experience, thank you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide Manuella was excellent and very knowledgeable, the time just flew by. She made sure that we got to see all the things that were worth seeing. The queues of people waiting to go in were incredibly long but we were whisked past and received first class treatment. You could opt to do the tour by yourself but if you really want to enjoy yourself, I would recommend that you treat yourself to 3 hours with Manuella. My daughter and I felt that it was worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was an excellent tour although it was very crowded. Our tour guide, Elizabeth, was a wealth of information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Skipped the queues. Given earphones and a radio pack so you can hear your guide. Amazingly informative and knew her history. The museums are stunning. Slightly disappointed with the Sistene Chapel though. Absolutely packed and people kept talking, so there wasn't silence in there, which was a shame.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Mind Blowing tour of Vatican Museums. Our guide Alessandro was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He thinks he struggles with his english and keeps apologizing for it, but Alessandro - we understood you perfectly!

Do mention though that on Wednesdays the doors to Basillica open only after 1:30 pm, post Papal address.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was easy to book the tour in advance and to find the tour group when the day arrived. Valentin was a great tour guide. She presented great details about what we were seeing with enough context to appreciate the bigger picture, and she calmly led us through the throngs crowding the hallways of the Vatican museum, the Sistene Chapel, and Saint Peter's Basilica.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The skip the line tour is the way to go - the line to get in was blocks long and we were able to bypass it. Our tour guide, Francesca was very friendly, experienced and knowledgeable. She spoke excellent English and was able to answer all of our questions. I would highly recommend this tour - it was awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was absolutely brilliant. I was unsure about booking a Vatican tour as I am not religious, and felt the oppulence would offend me, but I am so glad I did. The place itself is obviously unbelievably impressive, but it was the imput of our guide Shannon who made it so special. She is American, has lived in Italy for 20 years and has a background in fine arts, so she knew and understood everything about the subject matter and could explain it and answer our questions perfectly. She was able to explain the significance of the everything we saw, which made it more interesting and memorable and she told many anecdotes which injected some much appreciated humour. The tour was 3 hours long, which was quite physically exhausting given the heat even in October, but it was so interesting, we weren't aware of this until it was over. The other great benefit of the tour was that we could stride past all the other poor souls who were wasting their energy queuing to get in.

From USD $ 77.22

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 19+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message