5 star rating: Highly Recommended 14334 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 14334 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour.
The visit started at the specified time. The guide had a deep knowledge of the Vatican and its secrets. The explanations he gave were quite perceptible. Furthermore had a very pleasant sense of mood. I strongly recommend this visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very informative and excellent guide! skipping the line is absolutely necessary! our family of 5 truly enjoyed this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day started well organized by the tour and the great introduction by Rachel our irish guide. having a trained archaeologist to run this tour was already a positive sign and she didn't disappoint at all. Would have the be the most informative and well drilled tour guide I have experienced.From the first moment right through to the end of the tour Rachel kept her tour together - took questions and queries without issue and guided us throughout the maze of the Vatican museum and through the messy throng of other tours. Always a step ahead in both position and knowledge we felt privileged to be at the hands of a vatican expert. Rachel was able to move forward to critical areas with ease ahead of the crowds and position us so we could focus on the information at hand. She was able to enlighten us with details and information about certain parts of the vatican history with in depth storytelling and using words to paint excellent pictures. Often she would scoot past other groups to get a better position to give us a back story or move to a separate room to give us further details. Her handling of the Sistine chapel tour was excellent by taking us into a separate modern art room with seats and gave us a descriptive detailed analysis of the artwork and the story behind the creation of the chapel as though we were actually there. Made us all focus on the information and thoroughly get great value from the 15 minutes we had in the chapel on our own. At no point did she lose contact with us and despite me taking many photos I was able to keep pace of the information via the headsets and be engaged with her knowledge and detail. There was an obvious passion for her craft rather than speaking from a script which made this a major point of difference. I would highly recommend Rachel as a tour guide and recommend this tour in particular. Would actually do it again next time I'm in the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was excellent. David was great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We absolutely loved the tour, our tour guide was Dario he was fantastic I could not have asked for a better guide. Dario spoke perfect english, was very attentive and courteous to the group, amazed by his knowledgeable about the Vatican, Sistine, Basilica, Art, Statues and History. Dario brought books for props to show the group specific items in paintings to look for when we got into the Sistine Chapel. It was perfect and nice to know what you were seeing. After the tour Dario gave information visiting the tombs, walking the 537 stairs to the top of the Cupola and other sites to not to miss in Rome. What we were lucky enough to see was overwhelming and amazing, Dario brought everything into perspective and made our day perfect.

We took the Colosseum tour on Saturday and asked for Dario he was not working that tour that day, wish he was.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Shannon was one of the most informed and passionate guides we had on the various tours we had taken. We learned so much from her and her enthusiasm was infectious. Loved it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A well conducted tour with excellent guide services. I would highly recommend this tour for people who do not have much time at their disposal. In fact I have already recommended to few others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

David took us on our tour and he was excellent. We saw everything and he had good ways of getting us more time to visit the Sistine Chapel or the guards will move you on. Knowledgeable and friendly guide.

It is a long tour which started at 2.30pm and he left us at St Peter's about 5.30pm to see it by ourselves.
That worked out well. Cost more to go up to St Peters some.

Allow plenty of time to get to the right location for the start of the tour as it is by the groups entrance.
Ladies make sure your knees and shoulders are covered to visit the church.

This visit was a highlight and the guide was very informative on the artwork and history

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guided was so informed about everything. Talked with passion about the Vatican and the artist. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the 9:00 am tour on Monday, August 11, 2014. When we arrived our guide was there to assist us immediately. She was outstanding. She was extremely knowledgable, very funny, articulate and got us in to see everything. She was very conscious of the hot weather and kept us in the shade as much as possible. With employees like her your company will remain successful. Thank you. Ed and Linda Burger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Christian was an excellent tour guide and this is an awe inspiring place. Must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Manuela, was knowledgeable and personable. She guided us through the Vatican and St. Peter's with good humour, patience and experience, replying to our questions, giving us information and making sure that despite the considerable crowds, we were able to see everything. The crowds were the main detractors with this tour - be assured that no matter where you go, there will be hundreds of other people going along with you! However, the guides really know their stuff, and you can also be sure that you will be able to see everything you want to. You will be on your feet for a full 3 hours though, so dress comfortably and wear comfy shoes. As soon as you enter the Vatican, the tour lives up to its name - Skip the Line. Manuela was responsible for getting our tickets and we had to wait only a short time before going straight in past all the other people waiting in line. So all in all, we would recommend this tour - we would never have seen or understood as much if we had been on our own. Book with confidence.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour! The meeting point was easy to find and well organized. Marta was a great guide and was knowledgeable, informative, entertaining, and friendly. It was everything I expected and more. It was very nice to have a small group of 12 and to start at 8AM. It took 3 minutes to get through security and there was not another line for us to deal with for the rest of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative, and very good tour guide!

From USD $ 81.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 19+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message