5 star rating: Highly Recommended 845 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 845 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour is made up of 2 tours, a morning tour and an afternoon tour. Both of which were very good. I had Anjelica as my guide for the morning tour of St Peters Basilica, the Vatican museum and Sistine Chapel. The afternoon tour was where we visited the other 3 Basilicas and the Holy Steps . Unfortunately I can't remember the name of our guide but she was once again very knowledgeable and interesting.

Mr. John
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I had been to Vatican about 25 years ago on my own, but it was a lot better with a tour guide who could show you some of the important things at the site and give you some good background. We really enjoyed the tour even though we could not see the entire St Peter's Basilica since there was an event taking place there. Other basilicas were also very nice and all of tour guides were very nice and knowledgeable. This was a GREAT tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

loved this tour. Our tour guide Rachael was fabulous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I enjoyed the tour , and really enjoyed not having to stand in those long lines that I saw . The lines seem like they went own forever .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour in 2 parts. Our St. Peter's guide was very efficient and knowledgeable and got us through the crowds without missing a beat. The skip the line aspect was great--we walked past a long line that encircled St. Peter's Square right into the Vatican. The 2nd part toured the other 3 Papal Basilicas--St. John Lateran, St Paul's outside the wall, and St. Mary Maggiore. Our guide Lindy was upbeat, very pleasant and very knowledgeable and kept us moving and interested on what could have been a much less interesting tour with a lesser guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip was unbelievable our guide Tiffany was awesome very knowledge seemed like she knew everything there was to know about the Vatacan and all basilicas on the tour and very passionate about what she does she definitely loves what she does and that makes all the difference. I would recommend this tour to everyone thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Rome. Everything was on time and very professional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was two tours in one-and was Fantastic! The tour leaders were very well spoken, easy to understand, very pleasant and took us through everything and more. It was our first trip to Rome and I'd reccomend this tour to any first time visitor.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour Guide was excellent, her knowledge of the Vatican and its history was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I can't recommend this trip enough. whether you are a devout catholic or a curious traveler, this tour is for you. Our tour guide explained the in depth history of the Vatican and its secret symbology of its art along with the three other basilicas not found in the Vatican. This tour is a must for both the devout and the curious travelers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was really laid back and our tour guide is very pleasant and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. Guide very informative Loved every aspect Would recommend to all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We expected this tour to be the highlight of our trip, and our expectations were exceeded. We had two knowledgeable and friendly guides: Daniella in the morning and Rebecca in the afternoon. Both were funny and patient with herding wandering tour members. Definitely will take this tour again on our next visit to Rome. Two thumbs up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Tours ( Morning and Afternoon ) were very good, the guides were extremely knowledgeable about their subjects.
In the morning we went into the Vatican Museum, which was very good, from there we went into the Sistine Chapel, here I could have spent 4 or 5 hours, but we were limited due to the other areas we were going to see. From their we went to St Peters, and here I could have spent a whole day, in fact we went back in between the morning tour and the afternoon tour just to be able to spend more time there and soak up the atmosphere.

After lunch we toured the City and visited 3 more Vatican sites.

This trip is ideal for anyone who is interested in Architecture, Art, Sculpture, Christian History and the general history of the Roman Catholic Church without it being in your face.

Could it have been better? sure it could have been spread out over 2 days, the weather could have been better, etc.......

In general, a very good day, with very knowledgeable guides and very good value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful, our tour guide Alexis truly enjoys her job. Very knowledgeable, willing to answer any questions, lovely personality. Would recommend this tour, a must see, job well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The morning Vatican Museums tour excellent. Our guide Sara was knowledgable, interesting, informative and so enthusiastic. We learnt so much from her. After a break for lunch, we met our guide Anna, again excellent, for the tour of The Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, Basilica of St. Paul outside the walls and Basilica of Saint John Lateran and the Shrine of the Holy Stairs. We were taken to each of the three Basilicas by coach through the streets and traffic of Rome, which provided an opportunity to see and learn about some other points of interest. Just be warned that the afternoon trip ends at Santa Maggiore Basiilica not at the entrance to the Vatican Museums, where it begins . Not a problem though as Anna provided guidance on how to use the Metro,to get back to the Vatican, which provided us with yet another experience. We have used Viator before and the company always sources excellent tours, provides great value, excellent guides and never disappoints. This tour was particularly well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

So happy that we had this tour guide. She was helpful, knowledgeable, and insightful with her answers.
Skip the line is a must at the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guides were a fountain of information, just wish we could have spent a little more time at the museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour! Guide was very knowledgeable and accomodating. So much to see. Don't make the mistake of seeing it by yourself. The lines alone are ridiculous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was wonderful. THe Tour Guides were knowledgeable and answered our questions.
Kept us informed of what was going on. We felt like we had received enough information to adequately appreciate and understand the Vatican/Sistine Chapel/ St. Peter's/ and the three basilicas we saw in the afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour! Got to see a lot for what we paid for and loved how they provided you with headphones to wear so the guide could communicate with everyone and you wouldn't miss hearing the history. We had a break in between the 2 tours to have lunch and take in Vatican City!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful, well presented walking tour with the necessary headphones and audio from your guide. Everything was as good as it could be, but the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's had BRUTAL crowds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

.

Special Offer
$108.31 Save $16.25

From USD $ 92.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731THRONE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message