5 star rating: Highly Recommended 929 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 929 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The morning Vatican Museums tour excellent. Our guide Sara was knowledgable, interesting, informative and so enthusiastic. We learnt so much from her. After a break for lunch, we met our guide Anna, again excellent, for the tour of The Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, Basilica of St. Paul outside the walls and Basilica of Saint John Lateran and the Shrine of the Holy Stairs. We were taken to each of the three Basilicas by coach through the streets and traffic of Rome, which provided an opportunity to see and learn about some other points of interest. Just be warned that the afternoon trip ends at Santa Maggiore Basiilica not at the entrance to the Vatican Museums, where it begins . Not a problem though as Anna provided guidance on how to use the Metro,to get back to the Vatican, which provided us with yet another experience. We have used Viator before and the company always sources excellent tours, provides great value, excellent guides and never disappoints. This tour was particularly well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

So happy that we had this tour guide. She was helpful, knowledgeable, and insightful with her answers.
Skip the line is a must at the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guides were a fountain of information, just wish we could have spent a little more time at the museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour! Guide was very knowledgeable and accomodating. So much to see. Don't make the mistake of seeing it by yourself. The lines alone are ridiculous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was wonderful. THe Tour Guides were knowledgeable and answered our questions.
Kept us informed of what was going on. We felt like we had received enough information to adequately appreciate and understand the Vatican/Sistine Chapel/ St. Peter's/ and the three basilicas we saw in the afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour! Got to see a lot for what we paid for and loved how they provided you with headphones to wear so the guide could communicate with everyone and you wouldn't miss hearing the history. We had a break in between the 2 tours to have lunch and take in Vatican City!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful, well presented walking tour with the necessary headphones and audio from your guide. Everything was as good as it could be, but the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's had BRUTAL crowds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Unforgettable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour by far was the best one of all ones we did over five days in Rome. Both the morning and afternoon guides were professional and very informative. The Vatican museums and St. Peter’s really could have a longer tour than the three hours allotted in the morning. Both places were very busy and it was difficult to see everything in St. Peter’s. Our guide basically stood in one place and gave her commentary in the church. I would have preferred more walking around and then speaking on the works. To her credit the church was so busy that it was difficult to see most things. The afternoon was a special treat and a real surprise for me. I learned so much and the other churches were less busy and it was very enjoyable. This is a great tour but hopefully they will allow more time for the Vatican itself. I was lucky that I was able to go back to St. Peter’s for another visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

outstanding tour-saved the day because the line was very long. very well informed guide and kept the roup moving thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Totally amazing, we learnt so much about the history of the Vatican, St Pauls outside the wall and St John of Lateren, all fantasic for a great day out. A must do and great tour guides all day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guides....very organized, and so wonderful to see all the beauty and learn so much of the history of Vatican City! Excellent tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see the highlights of the Vatican. Was much more meaningful with the knowledge of our informative and entertaining guide. Not to mention not having to wait in line! Highly Recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time with this tour. Guide was great, very knowledgeable, we would not have seen or understood what we were looking at with a tour.

Our afternoon tour of the churches was great, Julia was very passionate about the tour which made s want to know more. Would definitely recommend this tour to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent. The only way to go to by pass the long line-ups. Excellent tour guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was outstanding. Our guide, Alissa (sp?), was knowledgeable, well organized and fluent in English. She escorted us through the maze that is the Vatican Museum and made sure that we did not miss any highlights. She allowed us plenty of time in the Sistine Chapel having given us a detailed description before we entered. She did an outstanding job explaining St. Peter's Basilica and even had suggestions for lunch. I hightly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I highly recommend this tour, you skip the line and go in. Sara, our guide, was excellent. Couldn't ask for a better person to guide this group She was raised in Rome, spoke English beautifully and thoroughly knew the subject matter.
She became my first love in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader was excellent she (Irish lady) was very knowledgeable and explained things very clearly.
Hugely enjoyable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! tour guide very knowledgeable. The tour of the was great, skipping the very long lines and with all sorts of information and history about the museum and St Peter's Basilica. The afternoon part visiting the other 3 major basilicas is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best tour of our trip to Europe. Gulianna was incredible!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It's obvious after our second tour with this operator (through Viator), that this company only hires the best employees. Our tour guides Katherine and Giulia were wonderful. They were very knowledgeable, funny, and personable. They kept a great pace and made sure that everything was high energy and exciting. This is a great tour and would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The morning Vatican tour was superb! Our guide was knowledgable, interesting, informative and focused. She presented some of the highlights of the Vatican museums and grounds, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. The Vatican was very crowded but our guide kept us all together (no easy task). This is a fast-paced tour with much to cover, and our guide adeptly did so, including "adding a few extras, that we may not have time for" which made it more exciting.

The afternoon tour of the 3 other Vatican basilicas and the Shrine of the Holy Stairs was more relaxed than the morning. We had different guides. There were two groups of about 25 people on the bus, and two guides, Becky and Rebecca. When we left the bus we split into the two separate groups, each with its own guide. Our guide explained the highlights of each site in great detail. We felt that there was just the right amount if time spent at each site.

From USD $ 108.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731THRONE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message