5 star rating: Highly Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful experience, the chef and our host where delightful. It was like been with friends. We met the locals, learn how to make bruschetta, different types of pasta and Italian style Tiramisu. We had a delicious meal. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic, educational, fun, memorible and so delicious. Our cooking guides were exceptional and very thoughtful. The cooking tour was a highlight of my stay in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hands down the highlight of our trip to Italy. The whole experience from marketing, cooking in a mid evil village, the wine, and cooking the most amazing food you will eat in Rome makes this day trip is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. Moncia and her assistant were very friendly and we got to do a lot of the work in the kitchen! The food was amazing and we can't wait to practice cooking at home! Thank you so, so much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a fantastic day. Our chef, Monica, and her assistant, Elisabeth, we both fantastic. The village and the flat where we spent the day were very charming and comfortable. We would enthusiastically recommend this experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic experience!!!! I was picked up by my hotel and then we all met up and were taken to a quaint, adorable Italian Village about 40 minutes from Rome. There were 6 of us in our class total and it was the perfect size. Chef Monica is awesome! She is so easy going, fun to talk to, a great teacher and you can tell she absolutely loves her job. When we arrived in Mazzano Romana (my spelling might be off) we stopped in the butcher shop as well as in a little market to purchase items to cook with. Monica will make sure that the menu she selects takes into account if anyone has any food allergies or certain items they will not eat. We walked to the apartment and what a view! The apartment is gorgeous and when you stand out on the small balcony the scenery is gorgeous! In the course of several hours, we prepared bruschetta, zucchini/cheese filled ravioli, a vegetable filling that we made a lasagna with, 2 chicken items, rosemary potatoes and tiramisu. Everyone participated in all of the preparation. It was fun because as we were cooking we would chat and everyone got along very well. After all of the work was done, we sat done and ate an amazing meal together. Everything we made was absolutely delicious. Monica also served red and white wine with our meal as well as bottled water. It was truly one of the best days and such a great vacation memory!!!!

One note I will make - and this is not any fault of Monica's - one of the people in our class was quite sick with a cold. Personally, I feel this person should have just observed and not been doing any preparation. She did though and she would stop back and be coughing into her arm and come right back to prep again. Honeslty, It made a few of us frustrated - I still had 11 more days of vacation left and the last thing I wanted was to get sick. As a result, I only tasted each item - did not eat much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good tour. The class only had six people which was fine. The town of where the class was held was very interesting. Both of us like to cook so the cooking portion of the tour was especially of value to us. The teacher was very good. Enjoyed the meal we prepared.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

One of our most favorite experiences during our trip. There were six of us, along with Monica and her assistant and it was a wonderful experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The cooking class itself was totally amazing. Monica the chef was fantastic and the food we made was out of this world. Starting off at the butcher and the market was great. The countryside was beautiful and was good to get out of the hub bub of the city. The only problem was with Carani tours. When looking for a cooking class our hotel sent of the Carani tours info. The reviews on them were terrible, so I opted not to go with them and booked through Viator. I did not realize that Viator then booked it with Carani. They were late picking us up. After having the hotel call, they sent a taxi who dropped us off at the Carani office without any instruction. There was a group standing outside the office so we presumed that was our tour and waited. The Chef was there waiting for us, but she and we were unaware of this. So, it was a late start which disrupted our evening plans. I would highly recommend the class, but never Carani.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful experience! I can't recommend it highly enough. Monica was a great teacher, easy to understand and I can now go home and feel confident to make fresh pasta.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the drive to our host Italian family, Monica showed us her skills to a small group, and we spent time enjoying our new cookery skills put to the test in the company of our small group. Monica was a fabulous teacher and a great ambassador for her country. We would encourage anyone to have this experience if in Rome....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it! The electricity went out unexpectedly but we continued by candlelight with gas! It was all very authentic and the food was really excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was fabulous! Our group of 5 people was perfect. Monica did a terrific job, explaining all the techniques and recipes for 3 pastas, 2 chicken dishes, bruschetta x2, side of potatoes and stuffed tomato, along with dessert. All with perfect wine pairing, in a countryside home, with a view beyond belief. We highly recommend this tour! And to Monica, ..Brava!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The cooking class and Monica were wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

GREAT! AWESOME! Monica was excellent, we made pasta, 1st. for us, and many more fantastic dishes. The apartment in the 15th century town was unbelievable, one of the very best experiences of our trip! If you don't do this you will miss a great memory.

From USD $ 164.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message