• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 85 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 85 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was one of the best times I have had. Monica was awesome and was an excellent teacher. She made things so easy. I definitely planning to do this again. I cannot wait get home to cook fo family and friends!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Wow! My family loved every minute of this experience. The drive into the countryside was beautiful. Monica (our driver and instructor) was friendly and a great conversationalist; she thoughtfully and thoroughly answered lots of questions we had about life in Italy. The little town where the cooking school is located is charming, as were the vendors who sold us the fresh meat and vegetables. The house is gorgeous, as were the views. Then there was the class itself... Monica was patient, gave excellent instructions, and helped us to produce a wonderful meal (3 types of pasta with a unique sauce for each, bruschetta, marinated chicken, and macerated peaces). I was always afraid to make pasta on my own before, but under her expert tutelage I gave up my fears and, I'm going to try it right here at home! I think this was the favorite part of the trip for my 11-year-old niece and 9-year-old nephew, both of whom love to help out in the kitchen. Definitely worth it! Thanks Monica (and Fabio)!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

LOVED LOVED LOVED this class/tour! My dad, sisters and I surprised my mom for her 70th bday with a trip to Rome. We were looking for something to do outside of the city and this was the perfect day! Not only is the village adorable, but the cooking experience was top notch. And, our chefs picked us up and dropped us off so we had plenty of time to ask questions about all things Italian/Roman! We enjoyed fresh food from the tiny grocery store and wonderful teachers to turn it into an amazing meal! We learned a great deal and still had plenty of time for wine and laughter. And we actually just made homemade pasta again while we were together back at home! Because there were only 5 of us in our group, the class was rounded out with a single traveler as well as a gap-year student and her parents. All of us (a variety of ages) had a fabulous time and left with full bellies! I would strongly recommend for families of all ages and sizes, couples, singles...anyone looking for a great Italian experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was wonderful day, the town was really interesting and the cooking lots of fun. We ate miles too much. Our group was only five which was great as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our teaching chef, tour guide and driver transported us from the chaos of Rome to the peaceful countryside of an ancient village where we had a fabulous cooking experience. Our teaching chef purchased the menu’s ingredients at the two local shops. Then we went to a beautiful apartment on the edge of a breathtaking view of a wooded gorge where we prepared a delicious lunch from scratch. We had so much fun making a multi course meal in the serene retreat with our teaching chef and her assistant. Enjoying our prepared meal with paired local wine will always be a wonderful memory of our time in Italy. Next time we’ll remember not to eat breakfast!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I have been on other cooking tours. This was the best one. Monica was a joy to be with all day and she made us feel like we were on a family outing.
Thank you Monica.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

What can I say, our day was awesome. Monica was able to take us totiny medieval village Calcata and then to the tiny neighborhood stores to shop for vegetables and meats for our day of fun. We were then ready for a wonderful and extensive day of cooking: making pasta treats(ravioli, fettuccini, and cappitelli on our day) risotto, bruschetta, chicken thighs, strawberries... and did I mention the wine? We had a wondeful teacher in Monica: great English, very patient, and wanting you to do as much as you'd like to do...dig into that pasta dough!!!! My only regret for the day was losing her card a and thus not being able to go online to retrieve the recipes and communicate with Monica. (Can you help me get in touch via email with her?? PLEASE)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Myself and 3 friends (and another couple) had the most fantastic day. We saw a part of Rome that we would never had visited and had a great time making pasta for our lunch. Definitely go again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

GREAT.
Teacher Monica was charming and very flexible making the entire experience so enjoyable. The sights and the location was an experience in itself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

OUTSTANDING!!! Chef Igor and crew were great! Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This was not only a delight but an extrordinary opportunity to learn from one of Italy's best chefs in a inspiring environment. The initial vivit to the small mouontain top village was a treat as well. I highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Rome. The tour guide/chef was named Monica.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Fantastic. Can not recommend this tour enough. Monica our chef was fantastic as was Alberta her aid. We cooked so much food, ate so much, drank, laughed all day. Enjoyable day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

The cooking lesson was the perfect ending to my trip to Rome! Monica was fun, informative and a great instructor. The food, wine and conversation made the day so memorable, not to mention the countryside and medieval village. This was a perfect day and I couldn't recommend it more highly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This was the best excursion we took when we were in Italy. Chef Monica was so welcoming and boy could she cook! The entire day was wonderful. Beautiful countryside and location for the class. Can't say enough good things about this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful day in Mazzano with Teresa and Fabio! We were a group of five and had great fun preparing and enjoying a wonderful Italian meal! A beautiful memory and a great cooking class. We most definitely recommend this trip!

From USD $ 182.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message