5 star rating: Highly Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was a definite highlight of my time in Rome. Monica was an absolute gem, she is so enthusiastic about food and sharing her experience with tour participants. The location is magical with views over the river valley. The class was a great deal of fun and was hands on. Hand making pasta and local dishes was wonderful. The only drawback was there was too much food!!!! Everyone in the group was replete with good food and good wine and had a well deserved nap on the drive back to Rome. Thank you to Monica and our wonderful driver/kitchen hand for an experience to remember.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a fabulous day in Mazzano Romano! Chef Monica was a gracious host. Well worth a day spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Loved this! I highly recommend this experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Wow! From the hotel in the morning to back at night, everything was well organized and fun! The chef was very patient and helpful! Getting to go shopping at the markets was quite the experience and eating our cooking after all of the work was fantastic! A great trip to get out of the city for a day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Monica was a delight. Her cooking skills are sublime. The day was most enjoyable. Just 3 of us and Monica doted on us to the extreme. Grazie.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

It was a wonderful cooking experience. I went with 17yo grandson who really enjoyed the village and the cooking. I lucked out to a small class of 3. It would be crowded with more than 4. Monica our instructor was great. Hotel pick up was no problem, taxi took us to meeting place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a fantastic tour with Monica as our chef and guide. We went in November which was low season and she picked us up cheerfully, even though it was only my husband and I, and we set off on a culinary/travel adventure. She is so lovely, knowledgeable, patient and kind. She asked what our goals and food interests were and then she developed a plan with us while driving to the country to fit our interests. My number one goal was to learn to make pasta and she taught me how to make artichoke/ricotta stuffed ravioli, lasagna with bechamel sauce, roasted pumpkin and sausage, and fettucine with wild mushrooms. I will never go back to box pasta. We also made a fantastic chicken dish with balsamic vinegar, bruchetta, roasted potatoes with rosemary and stuffed tomatoes. For dessert we made tiramisu. We chatted all day in the wildly unique environment-- an ancient but totally renovated house in the village overlooking the river-- great kitchen-- drank wine and learned a about food, the Italian culture etc. We were so spoiled by Monica-- we did have her all to ourselves, but I suspect she would treat everyone that way. She is a very hard worker. Fabio, the owner, is lucky to have her and so were we. Thanks Monica for your graciousness and a splendid day-- TC and Dennis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

My wife and I were the only couple scheduled for this particular day with Chef Monica and we learned a lot about Italian cooking. Monica has a great sense of humor and is very passionate about food/cooking. We had some great wine and prepared a fantastic dinner. The village of Mazzano was awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a great experience...and it wasn't our first Italian cooking class. The town we went to was charming, the recipes wonderful and the teacher was super. After sitting down to eat all that we had cooked, we swore we would never eat agin. (That was, of course, until the next day!) The cooking lesson was a great way to break up our days of sight seeing in Rome. We would highly recommend it! Dorene and "Lorenzo"

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Very intimate, wonderful insight into the real Italy. Not super touristy and english speaking. Would recommend to family and friends

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was one of the best times I have had. Monica was awesome and was an excellent teacher. She made things so easy. I definitely planning to do this again. I cannot wait get home to cook fo family and friends!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Wow! My family loved every minute of this experience. The drive into the countryside was beautiful. Monica (our driver and instructor) was friendly and a great conversationalist; she thoughtfully and thoroughly answered lots of questions we had about life in Italy. The little town where the cooking school is located is charming, as were the vendors who sold us the fresh meat and vegetables. The house is gorgeous, as were the views. Then there was the class itself... Monica was patient, gave excellent instructions, and helped us to produce a wonderful meal (3 types of pasta with a unique sauce for each, bruschetta, marinated chicken, and macerated peaces). I was always afraid to make pasta on my own before, but under her expert tutelage I gave up my fears and, I'm going to try it right here at home! I think this was the favorite part of the trip for my 11-year-old niece and 9-year-old nephew, both of whom love to help out in the kitchen. Definitely worth it! Thanks Monica (and Fabio)!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

LOVED LOVED LOVED this class/tour! My dad, sisters and I surprised my mom for her 70th bday with a trip to Rome. We were looking for something to do outside of the city and this was the perfect day! Not only is the village adorable, but the cooking experience was top notch. And, our chefs picked us up and dropped us off so we had plenty of time to ask questions about all things Italian/Roman! We enjoyed fresh food from the tiny grocery store and wonderful teachers to turn it into an amazing meal! We learned a great deal and still had plenty of time for wine and laughter. And we actually just made homemade pasta again while we were together back at home! Because there were only 5 of us in our group, the class was rounded out with a single traveler as well as a gap-year student and her parents. All of us (a variety of ages) had a fabulous time and left with full bellies! I would strongly recommend for families of all ages and sizes, couples, singles...anyone looking for a great Italian experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was wonderful day, the town was really interesting and the cooking lots of fun. We ate miles too much. Our group was only five which was great as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our teaching chef, tour guide and driver transported us from the chaos of Rome to the peaceful countryside of an ancient village where we had a fabulous cooking experience. Our teaching chef purchased the menu’s ingredients at the two local shops. Then we went to a beautiful apartment on the edge of a breathtaking view of a wooded gorge where we prepared a delicious lunch from scratch. We had so much fun making a multi course meal in the serene retreat with our teaching chef and her assistant. Enjoying our prepared meal with paired local wine will always be a wonderful memory of our time in Italy. Next time we’ll remember not to eat breakfast!!

From USD $ 166.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message