5 star rating: Highly Recommended 114 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:7 hours (approx.)

Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 114 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We had an excellent day out on this trip. The house and village where the cooking lesson took place were beautiful - really stepping back in time. The cooks were great fun - they involved everyone. Warning, there is A LOT to eat so don't have breakfast if you want to taste everything! The only thing which could have been better was when we were picked up at the hotel in Rome by a driver we assumed were going straight to the cooking lesson. In fact we were taken to a travel agency in Rome where there were dozens of people waiting. It was all a bit chaotic and we thought everyone was going on the same trip. Nothing was explained. In fact we worked out that just 6 of us were then going to be picked up from there for the cooking class. It all worked out fine but it would have been better to have known this was the plan in advance. But I would really recommend this trip. If you are staying in Rome it's an opportunity to get out and see some Roman countryside and learn some cooking tips (main one seemed to be put lots of oil and cheese in it, whatever it is).

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Monica was an excellent teacher and it was a wonderful day spent learning the nuances of pasta making and eating a terrific meal!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Nice tour. The village was amazing. The day was a little longer than I would have licked but there was way to much food.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Only two of us booked this tour, so we were thrilled it wasn't cancelled. Had a really good time, saw lots, cooked lots, ate lots, drank lots, talked lots, laughed lots. Monika, chef Fabio's friend who took the tour also arranged for us to visit another medieval hill town near Mazzano Romano where the lesson took place, called Calcata. My friend and I both really enjoyed the day, and came home with some excellent memories.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

This was a perfect way to end my stay in Italy. A great experience to cook in someones home in a little village outside Rome. The recipes were everyday meals and quite suitable for use at home. Very relaxed and lots of fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This tour was really worthwhile -- enjoyable, fun, and informative. Monica, the tour leader, with her wonderful sense of humor, cooking knowledge, and experience in the region was a highlight. We learned to cook 3 different pastas -- gnocci, fetticine, and ravioli with sauces for each; a chicken dish, an appetizer, and strawberries for dessert -- all incredibly delicious. I would have preferred learning to make another type of dish or two rather than the 3 different pastas, which, after all, was really too much pasta to eat at one meal. However, it was all quite delicious and was a great experience to add to our time in Rome. We'd do it again!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very good - friendly group, chef and tour guide/chef - pleasant village atmosphere - good value !

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Simona was our guide / cook. We were a small group of 3 which was perfect. Due to our size Simona drove us in her car as opposed to a mini van. Interesting experience to say the least. The small village we went to was lovely, very rustic, with loads of charm. The cooking was good fun, inspired me to buy a pasta press when we got back to Rome, and have put it too good use already. Possibly a bit expensive for what it was, but i'd definitely recommend it, thoroughly enjoyed getting out of Rome and taking in the country side.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

This was truly a fun day. The setting is picturesque, the kitchen homey and the food fantastic. David and Theresa were very welcoming and friendly. We made 3 pastas, 2 appetizers, 2 chicken dishes and 3 sauces. Most amazing meal. Now we will try to replicate it at home. We stopped by their restaurant "That's Amore" by Trevi Fountain for dessert and wine that night, not because we were hungry but because it was our last night and just had to top that spectacular meal off. The restaurant did not disappoint either.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The trip was very good. Very different from what we would normally do as a tourist while travelling. Would surely recommend this.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

This was a great day. I had lots of fun learning to cook the dishes in a great house in a rural village. the only downside was that the certificate from the day that should have been emailed never arrived and the recipes that should have been available on the website were not those that we had produced. This has made it hard to replicate these at home. The florence cooking class in which I also participated had certificates available on the day and supplied the patrons with a booklet of the recipes used

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

The class was OK but definitely not worth the money. They do a lot of the cooking themselves without me being involved, and also they never gave us the recipes for the things they made. Also there is some obvious tension between two of the instructors that needs to be worked out or they should not work together because it is very unprofessional and we all said it felt like we were in a family dinner where the family doesn't get along. I am still waiting for the recipes to be mailed to me and it has been 8 days.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

I value the "small group" experience. However, when the others in the small group cancelled I was not notified in any way that I would be alone for this activity. The chef was wonderful, the food was fabulous. But it was a solo experience which was not what I was hoping for and may bother others more than it did me. Also the visit to the "thriving little town" of Calcuta was a disappointment. My chef was quite up front that the town basically shuts down during the week. She took me there anyway and we walked through (it's a very picturesque setting), but virtually NOTHING is open during the week. I was there in July, so it was 'high season'. Book on a weekend or be prepared to find all the shops and restaurants closed up.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

We were disappointed overall. The description did not match the experience and it was really overpriced for what it was.
The leader of the trip did not speak a lot of English and did not teach us about Italian cooking, food or anything. We thought we would learn about foods, how to select them, the names of the items, etc.
The walking tour of the Calcata was kind of strange - we were not taught anything about the place I guess due to the lack of knowledge / English of the leaders.
The positive part of the experience was getting to know the other awesome tourists who signed up for the excursion.

Note from Viator: We are following up with our local supplier based on your feedback. Thanks for alerting us to this issue, your feedback is a critical part in our ability to ensure a quality experience from our local suppliers.

Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

From USD $ 150.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034COOKING


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message