Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 221 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time

SUSAN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a truly wonderful cooking class! It ended up being just myself and one other woman in the class besides the chef, and it made for a really fun time! We shopped for our ingredients, cooked, drank wine, and talked. I think having a small class made for a more relaxed environment, and gave us additional time to talk, laugh, and drink vino... I've taken three prior cooking classes in Italy, and this one, and the one in Mazzano were the best ones. The pasta we made was INCREDIBLE, and the BEST I've ever tasted! I don't know why, but every bite was like a symphony in my mouth!! Maybe it was the truffle oil drizzled on top, but whatever it was, it was truly great! Thanks so much for a wonderful day in Rome!

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The description of this tour didn't do it justice. Our cooking adventured started at a local restaurant where I thought after our shopping we would cook, but not so it was simply a meeting place to start our adventure. Paulo collected us and took us on an Italian cooking adventure. Our first stop was the vegetable stall at Campo de Fiori. We learned about the different Italian vegetables and fruits. Then it was over to the cheese and meat store with a little of everything else and then finally over to the baker for a square of roman pizza to snack on. Then we walked to the cooking studio. This walk was as good as many a guided tour I've been on. Here a historic thing, there a historic place. I think the most poignant moment is when we went through the Jewish ghetto and he showed us the medallions set into the streets at the doors of the people who were taken to Auschwitz and Dachau,

The cooking studio was actually on Tiberina island in the middle of the Tiber river. We had over 3 hours of slicing, dicing, and fun learning how to properly cook vegetables I now know why my eggplant was never right and my tomato sauce runny as well as make 2 types of pasta dough. I can now make a reasonable ravioli, pappardelle, and cavatelli pastas. We had 4 courses plus a lovely dessert. All created by our group. I would do this again in a heart beat.

Erica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Shop, cook, eat and drink your way through Rome I great surroundings and with good company. What more can you ask of a tour? Paulo and Nicolette were wonderful. I am an Italian chef

Liane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was an awesome day of cooking five different dishes with a great chef! I booked this cooking class just a few days before, as I was looking for something to do other than museums and sights for a day. I'm so glad I did! It was just myself and another solo traveller in the class with chef Paolo, and it was perfect! The studio is gorgeous and the food was amazing! I definitely recommend booking this cooking experience for a day of awesome food and great company in Rome!

Dawn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was probably one of my favorite things we did! I would highly recommend this cooking lesson. The chef and his assistant were very nice and the food was awesome! They answered all of our questions and made the experience enjoyable. I would recommend wearing comfortable clothing and shoes as you are standing and walking a lot.

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Alfonso first brought us to the market where we bought fresh ingredients...then we all went to a studio to learn to cook the Italian dishes. AMAZING. He had us focus on the ART of cooking rather than just following a recipe. The atmosphere was beautiful and the experience was fantastic!

MIGUETTE MEG M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

this cooking class was truly a joy. The chef Paulo and his sous chef Nicoletta were fantastic! Highly recommend! The food was delectable, I learned lots and had fun, and we all left happy and satiated. Would definitely do it again!

Amy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I have been fortunate enough to have visited Rome several times, so this trip I was looking for a new experience. A fabulous cooking day indeed. We met in the morning at a café for coffee and then walked to the Campo di Fiore market where we bought everything for our meal. Fresh vegetables, fruit, cheese, meat, we purchased it all. From there a quick walk to the penthouse where we began to make 3 different types of pasta, chicken, potatoes and vegetables. Every dish was phenomenal. I left needing a nap! Our instructors, Paulo and Melissa were fantastic! This was such a fun and delicious day, I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves Italian cuisine.

lloyd h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Went shopping for the food in various markets and then went to Fabios apartment to cook. It was a wonderful experience for someone who likes to cook and someone who is just interested in how to make certain dishes. We cooked a big meal and then sat down to eat.

Oliver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic way to submerse yourself into the rich culture of Rome. Chef Federico was superb and made the entire day an amazing experience! Highly recommend this cooking class if you're looking to learn more insights about Italian cooking whilst enjoying a fantastic lunch, and all the while being in great company.

dtalain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this activity if you love to cook, hate crowds, have seen all the sights of Rome already, and want to experience something different. This class gave me the chance to take home a little bit of Rome that will last forever.

Length: 5.5 hours
Difficulty: Easy, but does involve a bit of walking from market to kitchen. Be prepared to walk about 15 minutes. Stairs are involved.
Included: Food and wine. Can cater to vegetarians too! Take notes!
Max participants: 8
Fulfilled by: Fabiolous Cooking Day

Our chef was Chef Federico Alessandri and his assistant Nicoletta. We started the morning by going to the market in Campo de' Fiori. Federico taught us how to pick the best vegetables and tomatoes. We then went to a cheese shop and butcher shop for more ingredients, then headed off to a private kitchen on Tibur Island.

Once in the heavenly air-conditioned apartment, we donned our aprons and started chopping. He gave us so many tips and tricks about cooking including how to prepare tomatoes, cook garlic properly, and blanch vegetables. We created two kinds of pasta -- semolina/water and flour/egg. We created and kneaded the dough ourselves including stuffing and rolling the pasta. Chef Federico and Nicoletta did all the actual cooking, but Federico taught us how to do it all ourselves.

In the end, we dined on 5 amazing courses -- Spaghettini with tomato sauce over seared tomatoes, topped with fresh mozzarella and basil Cappelletti pasta filled with zucchini, ricotta, and lemon zest, finished with a parmesan white sauce and red wine reduction Strozzapreti in a creamy broccoli and cheese I think pecorino, can't remember sauce

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous cooking tour with our host chef Federico. Gave us real insight to Italian cooking and food culture. Federico was great - very engaging, patient and entertaining. If you are looking for a break from the standard Rome site seeing tours then I thoroughly recommend this tour.

frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of the best times I had while I was in Rome. Federico was great and very funny. Both he and Nicoleta really made this a great time. I would highly recommend. I can't wait to go back!!

Hillary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Incredible experience!!! Chef Federico is funny and incredibly talented. I LOVE to cook and this was the absolute highlight of my dream trip to Italy. Could not recommend this experience more highly! Will remember this experience for the rest of my life!

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much fun and so much food! Very delicious and great easy recipes to make at home!

Lucas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

FANtastic!!!! Chef Federico was awesome! I knew my wife would love this but so did I. Federico was entertaining, informative and the food was excellent. We made it sort of like he did when we returned home. It was really neat to see the markets where they bought the food. Great experience to bring your family. Well worth the money. Unrelated to the class, I was displeased with the front office who told me to be at a different place than the meeting place. When I called they said if we didn't show up at 9:15am 9:30am start they would leave us behind we had a bus show up 30 minutes late. We did make it on time 9:17am and they weren't there. We called and they said they would be there in 10 minutes so it's ok for them I guess. However, Chef Federico and his assistant Nichole were looking for us and spotted us searching. They said they would have waited for us no problem. So long story short, front office was a mess but do this anyways because Chef Federico made it all better!

mem_rose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Federico was our chef for the day. He was an excellent teacher - explained well the theory behind what we were doing to help us understand the concepts behind the food we were making.

The day started with a tour of the local markets to buy the ingredients for our menu. The markets were colourful and filled with delicious, fresh ingredients.

We then returned to an apartment nearby to begin cooking. We began with preparing the tomatoes for the base sauce. Next we made two types of pasta dough - one with semolina/water the other with flour/egg.

There was a choice of red or white wine that was plentiful.

Federico made the sauces, all the while explaining what he was doing and why. I found it really interesting and gained some great tips.

We ate three different pasta/sauce dishes, veal with a lemon sauce ending with fresh strawberries with balsamic and mint.

This was a really fun day. Federico is entertaining and knowledgeable. His assistant did a great job behind the scenes. Thank you so much to both of them.

I'd highly recommend this tour as something different from the traditional Rome experiences.

A. Edward F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

GREAT experience and the food was incredible! can't wait for the recipe's to arrive! Federico was excellent ant the location was also!

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an absolute fantastic experience. It has been on my wish list for a long time and never disappointed. Frederico was a really good teacher, funny and very knowledgable. I would recommend this for anyone visiting Rome. It was great being able to select your own produce

Beth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic! Our chef Monica was brilliant in her teaching skills in making the novice and experienced cooks on the group successful in making three types of pasta dishes, a meat dish and a dessert. I would do this again. No problems at all were encountered. A great day.

Fernedavid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Spectacular.....Federico was everything you could have wanted. Knowledgable, entertaining and patient. Cannot recommend this experience more. We went with our 13 yr old grandson who loved it.

Allison F C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We ended up only have 4 people in the cooking class, so it felt like a private lesson! Fabio met us at the Campo di' Fiori outdoor market, and took us to his preferred vendors to select fresh vegetables, meats and breads for our class. He then took us on an unexpected short walking tour of the neighborhood...where he seemed to know everyone we bumped into! The cooking class was held at his gorgeous two-story with rooftop deck apartment, within 5 minutes walking distance from the market. We made three types of pasta, bruschetta, broccoli and zucchini and strawberries with balsamic dressing for dessert. DELICOUS meal! The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five stars was because we did not get to actually cook any of the food only preparation...Fabio had a kitchen staff for cooking. Additionally, we only shared one bottle of wine during the meal. It would have been nice to have wine during the preparation process also. However, Fabio was a fabulous cook and host, and we had a great time! Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a local, unique experience while visiting Rome. Be warned that it will take up your entire day though...9am-3pm.

JAMES A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the most fun experiences we have ever had on a tour. Chef Fabio showed us how to make the best Spinach and Ricotta ravioli I have ever tasted!

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My favorite activity of my entire 3 week tour. Frederico is an amazing chef and teacher. Highly recommend this!

Viewing 2 of 9

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 131.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034ROMEFOOD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message