5 star rating: Highly Recommended 173 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 173 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was the hightlight of our vacation in Italy ! Federico was the best ! We will do it again and again ! An amaizing experience ! It was "Fokken Lekker".......!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I would highly recommended taking a cooking class from Chef Federico Alessandri.
The class was so much fun from the start going to the market to the finish eating what we and Chef had prepared! No details were left out; my group had so much fun together making fresh pasta.
Chef Federico was very professionally and had a great sense of humor making the afternoon informative and fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely one of the best things I did in Rome. Rome is old and historical as a place. Federico the chef is invigorating, enthusiastic, engaging and put on an excellent day with his lovely assistant, Would do it all again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best experience if you like italian food and want to know how to cook it!
Federico is an amazing chef and with his assistant made our day really wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

BEST TOUR EVER!!! Federico is an awesome host and guide - everything was fantastic - DEFINITELY recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great day. Started in the market buying all the fresh ingredients then moving on to a great venue where we all learnt to be Italien chefs. Would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I can't recommend this enough! I loved everything about it - from shopping in the market, to the amazing location of the cooking class, the hands-on learning experience and most of all the delicious food we made. It was great to learn how to cook pasta from scratch from an authentic Italian chef. Leo (our chef/teacher) was absolutely amazing. I've been so inspired that I bought myself a pasta machine have been making fresh pasta regularly since my return home. Next time I'm in Rome I'll be doing this again for sure!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely brilliant.
The best thing I did in Italy.
The chef, Federico, was a lovely man who took the time to explain the principles of cooking. Many of the tips given are applicable to all styles of cooking, not just Italian, so will be very useful.
The food was incredible.
I have already recommended the cooking class to friends and relatives as something they must do next time they are in Rome.
I have also been inspired to start looking for pasta making equipment so that I can try and recreate some if the dishes when I get home.
Such an enjoyable experience, and one that will be fondly remembered.
A "must do" when in Rome - see the Pantheon, the Colosseum, and the Vatican, and then do this class.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Recommended Workshop with Chef Federico.
Choosing products on the market Kampo de Fiori, preparing Italian dishes, Italian cooking tips, a beautiful place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Ask for Federico...was a great time and delicious food!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Federico was a great instructor, patient and very knowledgeable. He sure knew how to make cooking fun while making sure we had a real hands on experience that we could replicate at home. Without a doubt one of the best tours while in Rome. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was on of our favourite days in Rome, the cooking class was a lot of fun, we had a lot of laughs and learnt a lot. I can't wait to go home and try this again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

So special! An advantage of visiting Rome during off peak season is the chance to have a private cooking lesson with Chef Federico and his assistant Nicoleta. My wife and I were their small group. Check the Fabiolous FB page to see the pictures of the gourmet things we did with simple, fresh ingredients. Friends have high expectations for our next progressive dinner.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I enjoyed the cooking class. learned processes that I didn't know. enjoyed this experience. I love to cook. after we finished making the pasta noodles and had prepped all the rest of the parts of the 4 course meal we were asked to sit down at a table to visit and rest. the meal was served to us as if we were in a restaurant. I would have liked to have stayed and watched the whole cooking process. I loved the tool to make the pasta noodles.
the class was well prepared, easy and interesting. if I go back to Rome again, I would like to take another class through this restaurant. I was impressed with the meal that we prepared that my husband and I went to the restaurant "That's Amore" for dinner that evening. we enjoyed it so much that we decided to make our last night in Rome a memorable evening by, going back to "That's Amore" for dinner a second evening. The food in the class and at the restaurant was top notched. really enjoyed the experience! thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was terrific. Chef Federic explained the sauces and pasta so we can now make our own with variations. He took us step by step explaining the how and why. Everything was delicious, it was a lot of fun, and I now feel confident in making my own. I even bought a pasta machine when I came home!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our chef for the day was Federico, a very talented chef who was also amusing and put everyone in the class at ease. His assistant Nicoletta worked tirelessly too which ensured there was no un-necessary time wasted in the class.
The lesson itself was superb, Federico focuses more on the method of cooking rather than trying to imitate a recipie, we picked up several good tips and have already began to use them.
The apartment used is well equipped and everything you need is there - including wine to wash the meal down.
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone regardless of cooking ability - thanks Federico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our Chef Federico (and MiniMe) were great. Started with the Farmers Market where we helped pick our favorites then cooked three amazing pasta meals. Federico is a wonderful chef and his sense of humor made the event so memorable. Thank you Federico and I'm ready to try it on my own - I hope it's half as good :).

Taylin
Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the BEST experience we had in rome!! The Chef Leo was so kind, intelligent and patient, we were 4 in the class and we got to make raviolis, fettuccini and cavatelli pasta from scratch. We also had saltimbocca, wine, water, a sauce for each pasta and a ricotta and chocolate cake to die for.

Before the class started we went to the market to pick the ingredients for the menu we chose in group and then we walked to the apartment that had great views of rome...

I would definetely recommend this activity if you like cooking and having a good time. It was worth every penny. =)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was my favorite tour of all time! My husband and I met with seven other people and Chef Federico to start our day of cooking. Chef Federico first took us shopping at a farmer's market to pick up our fresh vegetables and then on to a cheese shop and meat market. After a short walk to The Island where our kitchen and small apartment was located we started to do our prep work. Because our group was so small we each felt like Chef Federico had enough time to spend with each of us. We made pasta! We stuffed ravioli with spinach and also made fettuccine noodles. We learned how to make Tomato Sauce and Alfredo Sauce. We got to sit together at a big round table and eat everything we made with a glass of wine. Everything was delicious. Chef Federico was an amazing teacher, he made everything seem so easy. He was funny and smart and made us feel like we were the best group ever. At his side was "Mini Me". He kept everything moving smoothly and made sure our areas were all cleaned up for the next recipe. We wanted to take him home with us. Everyone needs a "Mini Me" in their kitchen.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Food was great! A great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our time started with a visit to the local market, a grocer and a butcher, then off to a private apartment overlooking Rome. Our chefs were friendly, and made the whole group feel comfortable. Everything from the meal prep to the meal itself was relaxing, and we were inspired to make our own pasta in the future ! Thanks so much for this experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were absolutely thrilled from the start with this exceptionally professional and enjoyable cooking class. Though the visit to the Campo dei Fiori market was brief, we selected our ingredients, with assistance from Frederico our chef and guide and proceeded to the kitchen- classroom. We were given lots of excellent insights into techniques and methods of preparing and cooking different vegetables, herbs, sauces and meats. The highlight though was really learning and understanding how to make pasta ourselves. The pleasure was doubled when we sat around and ate what we had made. While this class was a real highlight, it was mainly due to the enthusiasm and patience of Frederico our chef and teacher. His love of cooking shone through everything he showed us. We hope to recall this when we return to our own kitchen - or else we shall just have to return!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This class made my trip. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I had the best time shopping and cooking with Chef Frederico on this tour. He is knowledgeable, generous, charming and gracious. He was emphatic that we learn about ingredients and not memorize a recipe...and the food was delicious. The cooking class was a highlight of our visit to Rome.

From USD $ 125.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034ROMEFOOD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message