5 star rating: Highly Recommended 139 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 139 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This cooking class was amazing. Chef Fabio took us for a walk around Rome to collect fresh produce and then took the time and patience to show us how they should be used. I had the opportunity to learn many new dishes, as well as taste them all at the end. Definitely worth during when in Rome next!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely the highlight of our holiday in Rome. We went to pick up the ingredients from a local market, so all the veggies, cheese and meat were local and fresh! Our chef was brilliant, and gave out excellent tips about Italian cooking. Never ever had that good Italian five (!) course dinner. If you happen to get the same chef we had (Federico Alessandri) you are going to have a total blast all day!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the highlight of our stay in Rome.I did it with my husband, brother, and sister in law along with 6 other people. We met the chef at a central location and all walked to the market place where we bought vegetables, cheese, meat and wine then walked to the cooking class facility. Chef Frederico was just awesome along with his two assistants, Nicolette and "MiniMe" we learned how to made two kinds of pasta and three separate sauces for each pasta-- I am Italian and am a very cook cook but I learned some new ways to prepare sauces and pasta. The food was delicious!! Yesterday I tried making the fresh tomato sauce we learned at the class and I had many many compliments. I would take this class again as it was really worthwhile and fun!!! Thank You Chef Frederico!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Chef Federico Alessandri gave us a wonderful and memorable Italian cooking experience from start to finish. I attended the class with my mom, and we're basically polar opposites when it comes to cooking-- she's fantastic; I have very limited experience, but we both fit right into the atmosphere that Federico created. It didn't matter at all that I could hardly do anything right when it came to helping with the cooking prep. However, for people who could handle doing more advanced things, like my mom, Federico assigned more complicated tasks to help with. (Our group consisted of 9 people total--myself, my mom, a family of 5, including 3 kids, and a couple). I was impressed from the beginning at how Federico accommodated the kids in the group without taking away from us adults, his enthusiasm, or his routine of how he conducted the class. Even so, if you're considering this class, I personally don't think this is a kid-friendly type activity. We started off going to the famous Campi id Fiori market and buying fresh ingredients to prepare. Then we walked to a really cool apartment with a gourmet kitchen (where Marlon Brando once lived) where we cooked. As previously mentioned, my lack of experience was a non-issue. The activities we did included cutting vegetables and making several different kinds of pasta from scratch, which was very fun. Federico then explained to and showed us how he was using the ingredients we bought and the veggies we chopped up, etc. to make various types of sauces from scratch, the true Italian way. He gave us some great inside tips. Wine was served throughout the class, as well as at the end when we got to eat all the delicious food we made-- we left stuffed! It was the best food we ate our entire two-week trip in Italy. Bravo for Chef Federico! I highly recommend the class.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was probably the best excursion/tour of our entire two week vacation. Chef Fabio was fantastic! And it turns out that we're much better cooks than we ever knew we were, because the food we prepared with Fabio was absolutely delicious! The trip to the market to purchase all of our ingredients was a great way to start off the session - we would (and probably will) do this again the next time we're in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!
One of the highlights of our entire trip. I'm so glad we signed up for this class. Chef Federico is so passionate about food you can truly see it in his teaching. So informative and fun! From shopping in the markets to cooking in the gorgeous studio, we enjoyed every minute.
Best food and experience on our trip hands down.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was fantastic!!!! The group total was 3 so the hands on experience was great!!!! The day before the Chef had 10!!! Fabio (the chef) was very patient and explained each step which made making pasta easy!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic. Federico was the chef and my daughter's and I loved it. It was verey relaxing day and we enjoyed making the zuchinni pasta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a FABIOLOUS time with Fabio learning how to make homemade pasta. We made both semolina flour (eggless) and egg flour. The class took about 5 hours and we each got to help prepare part of the meal. We learned how to make 4 different kinds of pasta (Ravioli, Fettuccine, Cavatelli, and Casarecce) and paired each with a sauce. The food was amazing and it was so much fun to sit and eat and drink wine with all the students I had also met. Definitely recommend for anyone interested in taking some Italian techniques back home!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A session not to be missed. A must. From the trip to the market and meandering through small, cobbled streets buying meat in local shops this cookery course is interactive, fun and full of atmosphere with a chef and his team who made the experience enjoyable and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

loved this class! Chef Federico was great fun and informative. I am hoping my sauce turns out as well when I get home. Definately would do this again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I can honestly say this cooking class was well worth every penny! The instructor was AMAZING his English was great and he was funny. We made 11 different dishes and they were all DELICIOUS. The cooking studio is beautiful. He takes you to the market and butcher for fresh meat! ABSOLUTE MUST DO!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I took a cooking class with Federico on March 27th, 2014 at the Attic Apt. in Rome. By far this class exceeded both my and my husbands expectations. We started our day at the farmers market, the deli, and then to the butcher to buy our supplies for our day.This was a really cool experience for me and one of the reasons I picked this class. Then he gave us a tour of the 3 floor apt, which had an unbelievable rooftop view of Rome. It turned out to be a small class , with only 3 students including my husband and myself. Federico was incredible, knowledgable, funny , nice , and also asked for our input of what we would like to make that day. His assistants were also great, Roy and Nicolette. The class was very hands on , and Federico made it a point that we all had a great time and really learned allot . We made 3 different kinds of pasta( ravioli, orchietta, and tortellini) , gnocchi( my favorite) , 2 different sauces, roasted peppers, Roman Broccoli( which I picked out at the market) , veal and artichokes. During the class we drank some wine and after the class we got to eat everything , which was fabulous. I don't think the class could have been any better, we have great memories and recipes that will last us a lifetime. Federico was fantastico !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was so much fun! Not as hands on as the cooking class in Barcelona but the food was SOOO GOOD it was easy to forgive that part! Soooo much food, was sooo full, but some of the best food I ate my entire vacation!!! This was a blast - I can't wait to go home and make pasta for my friends and family!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Anyone interested in cooking, especially Italian food, will enjoy this opportunity to practice creating a delicious meal, and then eating it. We loved every minute.

From USD $ 126.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034ROMEFOOD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message