• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 95 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 95 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A wonderful day with wonderful people, Fabio and Monica were the perfect hosts, and the food was AMAZING! Highly recommended!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The absolute best thing we did in Rome was this cooking class! Worth every euro. The chef, Fabio and his brilliant assistant Monika helped us cook our way through 12 different dishes. Wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was the most amazing experience! It was my last day in Rome, and when I showed up for the lesson we were told it would be filmed and photographed for chef Fabio's website. Fabio took us all around to the best food shops in Rome as he picked out his ingredients, and then we all walked back to his home to cook. He and his team of young chefs showed us how to do each step, and so we cooked a meal of gourmet foods that we were able to sit down and eat at the end. I got to try swordfish, and learned how to make several types of fresh pasta. It felt like a warm and friendly environment, like sitting down with family and laughing and sharing about our trips and experiences in Italy.
A perfect ending to an amazing trip - I would definitely recommend this. (and if you're not able to do this cooking lesson, then at least you can eat at Fabio's restaurant "That's Amore" in Rome)
I am so happy that I can now make my own pasta, and I'm planning to do this regularly now.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My husband, 2 teenage daughters and I had the most enjoyable morning with Chef Fabio and his team. It was one of the highlights on my trip to Rome and definitely the best food we ate while we were there. It was so much fun for all of us. The trip to the market, all the cooking and learning. Then the eating. I am looking forward to trying the things I learned at home, have already invested in a potato ricer to make some gnocchi. This is something different to do that gives you a real flavour for Rome and its wonderful food and culture. Thanks Fabio and your great team.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My daughter and I had a great time. We were paired with just one other couple. The guide took us through the market and we cooked several dishes. The pasta was the most fun but everything else was great too. The chef was wonderful and great with all ages, as my daughter was 13 and loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Highly recommended for anyone interested in a cooking class in Rome. The entire lesson was fantastic. I bought it as a birthday present for my girlfriend and she could not have enjoyed it more. Started with tour of market - where we purchased some ingredients - then returned to our chef's house to begin the cooking lesson. The food, the instruction and everything was fantastic. After the lesson we were invited to his restaurant, That's Amore, where we were given dessert and coffee. Will definitely book another lesson the next time we return!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Aside from being a wonderful cook, Chef Monica is a delight. Before meeting her classes, she makes the pasta for her boss's restaurant, That's Amore, where we ate the best meal the last night of our 14 day stay in Italy. She starts her groups with a tour of lesser visited areas in Rome as she feels there is more to the city than the usual tourist sights. We walked through the Jewish Ghetto, very serendipitous since all five of us were Jewish, my husband, myself, our 13 year old granddaughter and another couple. Then to the outdoor market to choose and purchase the ingredients for our lunch, then the cheese shop and That's Amore to pick up wine and more cheese. We ended up in a wonderful apartment nearby where we learned how to make raviolis from scratch, as well as bow tie pasta, gnocchi,eggplant Parmesan, stuffed tomatoes and peaches in a balsamic sauce. Each item tasted better than any of us had ever eaten! This was definitely a five star experience! Marianne Friedman, Piedmont, CA, USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We met with Monica first thing in the morning, and we were part of a group of 6. Monica took us through some city streets and markets, gave us a touch of history and culinary. After we bought supplies we went to the cooking location and learned to cook a fabulous meal to our liking.
The experience was a lot of fun, Monica was a sweet a guide as one can ask for, and she shared her knowlege of cooking with a lot of fun, that trickled through to the 6 of us. The results were fantastic - the best meal I had in Rome.
Recommended!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I somehow got very lucky and had Fabio and Monica all to myself. I learned an incredible amount with very kind, patient teachers. I've already recommended it to all my friends who are considering a trip to Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

My husband and I would highly recommend this class! Our best meal in Rome and it was the one we cooked! You may want to ask ahead of time where you'll be "walking" beforehand since my husband and I had already spent time in the areas we visited on this trip, but the cooking was good fun and the whole experience was well worth it. We're tough critics and I'd highly recommend this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Loved the cooking lesson. Our guides were great. The food was good, making fresh pasta was fun, and I'm glad that we all had hands on experience. My only complaint would be that, although the description of the class says we would take a walk to the market and check out the butcher, etc. It didn't state how much walking was going to be involved. I assumed the market was going to be around the corner from where we met and the class would be close by too. I had just ended a 10 day tour of Italy with non stop walking and was looking for a "relaxed" day. But other than that, class was great, I'm glad that I did take it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The cooking lesson was wonderful! Fabio and Monica made it fun and easy. Our kids enjoyed it too..a wonderful family outing.
We highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fabio owns a restaurant near the Trevi fountain. I LOVED the class. He is an excellent teacher. It was fun and I learned a lot. I want to take the class again. It was a highlight of a vacation that had many highlights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fabulous day with Fabio. I would highly recommend this tour cum cooking lesson. Very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Even in the rain walking through the market... THIS WAS A GREAT TOUR!!! Very well planned and executed and loads of fun learning some critical basics. VERY SPECIAL and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND! The Monica's were wonderful teachers!!!

From USD $ 154.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034ROMEFOOD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message