4 star rating: Recommended 269 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taste of Italy Food Tour to Chianti and Umbria from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 269 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This tour was worth the price tag. There were only 13 on the tour, in a very comfortable bus, with a highly proficient driver (Giuseppe), and a knowledgeable tour guide (Stefano). Tuscany was all we expected. The towns of Cortona and Montepulciano were charming, although there were some significant hills to climb to get to the churches above each of the towns. Lunch was very pleasant at the Marinella Restaurant in Pineta. It was away from the lake but pleasant surroundings nonetheless. The pace of the tour was just right, no so hectic that you felt exhausted at the end of the day, and not so long that you got bored at each of the destinations. Stefano was an outstanding tour guide and I would certainly recommend this tour to anyone I know.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was one of our favourite days on our entire 16 day Mediterranean Cruise. We absolutely loved Tuscany and all it has to offer. The tour guide was excellent! We absolutely fell in love with Cortona and Montipicello. The meal that was served was so much more than I had expected. We had a delicious soup, pasta and dessert served in a lovely restaurant. Tuscany is such a beautiful region and our tour guide provided us with an abundance of information about each area and sights that we passed along the journey. He was very personable and made an effort to speak individually to each and every one on the tour. He also had an abundance of patience as my husband and I were a bit late getting back from one of the stops...just couldn't drag ourselves away from this little piece of heaven on earth. Will definitely recommend this tour to friends/family ~ as a matter of fact I have already recommended it to my daughter who will be traveling to Italy in September! Thanks so much for kicking off our Mediterranean Holiday in grand style.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The best tour. Small group - wonderful tour guide. No crowds just beutiful medieval villages and good wine.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fabulous trip and a wonderful day overall! I had expected to have lunch "on the lake" instead of at a resort / farm but it was lovely just the same.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

If you want to get a feel of Tuscany and Umbria in one day, this is the way to go. A leisurely pace is kept throughout the day with plenty time given to look around Cortona and Montepulciano. The streets of enchanting Cortona are pretty steep, but despite that the climb up the hill to admire the beautiful view and to visit La Basilica di Santa Margherita is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Best day trip ever!!! Loved it, Loved it!! Our tour guide Alana was super sweet and had a great personality. The view of the Tuscany region was amazing. Loved the lunch at the farm house. Did some great shopping in Cortina, was able to buy some leather purses. The prices were better than in Central Rome and so was the selection. This was my favorite tour of my entire vacation to Europe!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Absolutely wonderful! I would definetely do this again. We had our tour guide, Alina was amazing. If you are on limited time and can only pick one day trip, do this trip! The Food and the Scenery is amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The trip was amazing and our tour guide, Alaina, was great. She was very knowledgable about the region, wines, and art. Tuscany and Umbria are spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We had a wonderful time, this was our second time on this tour.....We enjoyed Steffano (our guide) so much....Would do the same tour again on our next trip to Italy ( if we could have the same guide)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

It was a wonderful respite after the hustle and bustle of Rome. Loved the citys perched on top of hills. So much to see. We had a small side trip to one of the volcanic lakes which was a nice touch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Loved, loved, loved, this tour. Cortona and Montepulciano are beautiful. Our guide was knowledgable of not only the towns themselves, but of the land, trees, and other towns along the way. The bus was crazy hot though, but it seemed like we were always warmer than most of the locals. The restaurant we stopped at was wonderful, quaint, the food amazing. I absolutely adored the old man at the winery. Amando or something. Overall a wonderful day trip, and a beautiful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Fantastic tour! The guide, Stefano, was incredibly knowledgeable and very willing to answer all questions from the group. Although you are on the tour bus for a few hours during the day, the bus is comfortable and the views are spectacular. You are given a good amount of free time in Cortona to check out the old town and take in the views and people. Lunch was at a different location, surrounded by olive trees and rolling hills. The tour at the winery in Montepulciano was great, and the views AMAZING! This trip was a perfect respite from our busy 11 day trip in Rome, Naples, and Florence. Completely recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The tour was one of the highlights of our vacation in Italy, We loved the area, the Lunch was delicious and the wine tour was fun and educational. Our thanks to Stephano, he was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area and helped us really understand where we were. John and Linda skillern Claremore OK USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This tour was the highlight of our vacation. The tour guide was wonderful and informative, and we LOVED the time we spent in Cortona and Montepulciano. There was enough time to roam around and enjoy the towns. I would definately recommend this tour to everyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

A fantastic day, In my opinion a beautiful part of Italy, the guide was great , the food and scenery were magnificent.

From USD $ 148.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 8+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET18

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message