4 star rating: Recommended 272 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taste of Italy Food Tour to Chianti and Umbria from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 272 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

tremendous trip; good wine and food; stefano was excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

One of the best tour in Roma, thanks again to Stephanos :)

Michel et Johanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Fabulous tour. Worth the price!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

What a great experience. Our guide, Stefano, was knowledgable, articulate, and friendly. This was one of the best excursions we have taken.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Love Love Loved this tour!! great day and Stefano was so great... One of our favorite days in Italy! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. It was so nice to get away from the city and see the beautiful country side. love love loved stefano and the wineries were just so unique .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 2-week vacation in Italy (and missing it already!) and this day-trip to Tuscany was without a doubt a special addition we included! The guides were awesome and informative, the transportation was great, the experience was priceless. If you're considering this...do not hesitate! It was well worth the price paid.
Ciao!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Really enjoyed this tour. Very good tour guide and great tour group. Our luncheon was excellent. One note, buying olive oil, balsamic and wine is not recommened if you are travelling back to Canada unless you put it in your luggage, not carry on. We had to leave all our purchases behind.

AR
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Excellent trip to the countryside, the guide was excellent and tried so hard to give us a bird-seye view of the overall countryside! Food was excellent, no complains, for a day tour, and the wine was magnificent. In short, this was a good day trip for a short respite from the grandeur of Rome and its numerous visitors!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The very best of time. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. We fall in love with Tuscany. Wish we had more time in Cortona. A hour or so just wasn't enough. The winnery tour was great! We enjoyed our meal. More than we had expected. We got to eat fresh figs right off a tree. This tour gave us a taste of Tuscany. Ontario, Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This is a wonderful full day experience in scenic Tuscany. The two walled medieval hill top cities are so different from each other. Cortona, rich in ancient Etruscan roots, has a fascinating museum of Etruscan antiquities, beautifully displayed in an 13th century palace. Montepulciano, has a picture perfect square of medieval buildings. The Vino Nobile wine cellar is a highlight. It includes a visit to the 13th century cellar filled with Oak barrels, ageing the robust red wine for two years, bringing it to a 13% alcohol level. We got to meet the head wine master Adamo who has worked for the company since 1953. Sampling the local products of the region was wonderful, cheese, olive oil, Vino Nobile wine and pastas. A day from Rome not to be missed. Patricia Wolfe Scottsdale, AZ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Thank you to our wonderful tour guide Stefano! What a wonderfully smart and attentive person! Stafano made learning about Tuscany, its history, wine cellars, etc. very memorable and a pleasant journey. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! Laura and Scott from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Tour was very satisfying even with the rain shower. Tour guide was excellent. Lunch was very good; location beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We really enjoyed this trip. Stefano our tour guide was excellent. The scenery was breathtaking. I would highly recommend this trip to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This was the most memorable and picturesque excursion I've ever taken. I enjoyed every part of it and I highly recommend it for those who do not have a problem climbing steep surfaces. Though the scenery is breathtakeing its not for those who suffer shortness of breath.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

The small out of the way villages, were so picture perfect, from the quaint shops to the panoramic views.And then there's sampling of foods and wine and a wonderful lunch. I highly recomend this trip to the Tuscany region!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

A great experience from pick up at our hotel to the end. Our guide was wonderful and very informative. Cortona and Montepulciano are beautiful little towns and our lunch stop was a delight. One of our best days of our vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great tour! The sights and content were stunning and interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

The Chianti/Umbria tour was wonderful. We enjoyed the lunch and wine tasting and would have loved to stay a few days in the hill towns and just tour Tuscany. Perhaps we will do that on another trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

one of our favorite tours. Stephan was amazing!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This is a great escape from the craziness in Rome. The towns you visit are not only relaxing, but very beautiful. The drive to the towns is beautiful as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was an amazing tour! It was definitely the highlight of our week in Rome. Don't let the length of the tour or the distance to Tuscany deter you as it seems we weren't on the bus that long at all. Our guide, Stefano, was great as well. The towns of Montepulciano and Cortona were beautiful. Just enough time to walk through each..shopping and sightseeing. The wine tasting was fantastic too! Followed that up with wine tasting on our own at some of the other tasting rooms in the town. Lunch was good as well. Small group so it almost lent itself to feel like a private tour! If you are in Rome and not planning to go to Tuscany on your own, I would say this is a must do!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great trip, both towns where great and the tour guide was great also.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fantastic! Not too many people going on this trip, which made it feel less like we were a bunch of tourists. Very easy with hotel pickup even though my hotel wasn't even on the list, I was picked up. The bus was very comfortable. My guide, Stefano, was great informative and personable! The locations were beautiful! The food and wine were wonderful! We were given time in each place to stop, shop and explore on our own, which was great! It was a memorable and delightful experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We had a wonderful time! Stefano was excellent and both drivers were safe and comfortable. We enjoyed Cortona and Montepulciano, lunch, and the beautiful countryside. It was great to be picked up and dropped off at the hotel, too. This was just what we wanted for an introduction to the Italian countryside. Thank YOU!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

we had such a wonderful time on this tour, it's a must do.Catona was breathtaking, the lunch was fabulous and the winnery, 1000 years old, you have to see it, and our tour guide was very informative, I would highly recommend this tour.

Special Offer
$135.20 Save $13.52

From USD $ 121.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET18

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message