4 star rating: Recommended 272 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taste of Italy Food Tour to Chianti and Umbria from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 272 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

ROBERT G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

very happy with tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wonderful tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Beautiful sites. The smaller bus and group made the whole all day trip more than bearable. Best part of our honeymoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Great tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

HAD A GREAT TIME. HOPE TO BOOK AGAIN SOMETIME.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The tour was fantastic! Mostly due to the charm and information given by the guide, Stefano. It is a long day, but ample breaks are given and the bus makes a stop for cappuccino and a snack on the way to Cortona the first stop. For those who are "Twilight" fans, the main square of Montalpulciano is the star of one of the main scenes where Bella saves Jacob. If you're a fan, you'll recognize it immediately.

Steven J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A great day in the countryside. Wine tasting was fun, the villages were just beautiful. We had a great time at lunch and really enjoyed the company of the other people on the tour bus, it was a great way to get to know people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great trip outside of Rome. Beautiful country. Our legs got a bit of a rest because of the longer busride and the winetasting was great especially the winemaker! The tour guide and bus driver were great also. Very knowledgeable and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great tour! We had an excellent guide -- very knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic! Will definately recommend to others!

Brian M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Outstanding. Good value. Great guid. Great food and wine. Do not miss this tour.

MICHAEL T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This tour was excellent. The guide spoke fluent English the group was small around 20 the bus very comfortable and able to get into smaller spaces. A bonus when we went to the villages. The only disappointing thing was the lunch. We felt like second class citizens, crammed onto tables with paper cloths. They ran out of food for the last to be served, their helpings were tiny while a child who had been served earlier had more. It spoilt an otherwise brilliant tour. Couldn't praise the guide more -she was lovely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Italy wine and food tour was the highlight of our 2 week trip to Italy. The tour guide was excellent and the town of Cortona is one of a kind - you woun't want to miss it. If you can talk your tour guide into letting you spend more time in Cortona and less time in Montelpuciano - that would be great. The wine and food was excellent and the drive was short and comfortable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Very awesome! Guide was very good the food was excellent. I bouhgt cases of wine and had them shipped to the US. A must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The drive was beautiful!Cortona and Montepluciano were fantastic and picturesque. We had sufficient time to wander through each town and shop. The guide was pleasant and informative. The lunch was average and probably could have been omitted or substituted with each person purchasing their own lunch at one of the towns. I would definately recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This tour was fantastic!! I highly recommend it to anyone while visiting Rome. The countryside is breathtaking and the tour guide Stefano was great! The lunch was okay. Nothing fantastic, but didnt detract from the day. There is plenty of free time to shop and take some pictures. Remember to wear comfortable walking shoes as you walk uphill to the villages. I would have taken this tour again and again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The "Taste of Italy Tour" was delicious the Tuscan region Beautiful beyond words and the lunch at a Tuscan villa gave you a 'real' feel of the country side. The tour guide Stefano was warm, friendly and very interactive and knowledgeable he was a pleasure. This was my first tour with Viator and it was great! I also used Viator for transport to and from the FCO Rome Airport. It was excellent and no need to even call on your return they were at our hotel as scheduled. Ciao!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great! Nice long trip in a very comfortable bus. Guide was very knowledgeable and very approachable. He held private conversations with every one on the tour at some time during the trip. He was patient and answered questions with pleasure. The lunch and the tastings were very nice. Some climbing of steep streets, but overall very worth the trip. Absolutely would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The tour was just what we wanted. A nice leisurely day in Tuscany. We visited some very quaint towns and tasted several wines, cheeses, and sausages in this tour. The lunch was great and typical Italian, especially when we got to eat the fresh figs from the tree just outside the restaurant! This was a true Tuscany adventure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was a very nice tour. Everything went very smooth. The bus ride the tour guide, lunch, wine and cheese, were just great. Nice to leave Rome for a tour of the countryside.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We enjoyed the towns we visited. They were absolutely beautiful. The guide and driver were friendly and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

This tour was wonderful, it was a great way to see the countryside and try some of the regional food and drink. Wear sneakers because there was a lot of walking up hill! Our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. We would definitely recommend this tour!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This is a great tour, and well worth taking. The visit to Cortona and Montepulciano were both excellent, and while more time could have been spent at each place, there was enough to get a feel for these lovely villages. The meal was good, though not terribly special in terms of food, and we did much better on our own in other places, but the setting for it was lovely. The wine tastings were very enjoyable, though remember import restrictions to US before you buy! The tour guide was very informative, and really added to the trip’s enjoyment. Definitely book and get a little time away from the traffic of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

We visited Cortona and Montepulciano. Both towns were lovely, and it was exactly what I expected. I didn't feel rushed, and there was more than enough time to visit and explore on our own. There is not that much to see in both locations, and one hour is sufficient to see the highlights. The tour guide was extremely nice, non-invasive, made small talk, and made the trip extremely enjoyable. You spend a lot of the time on the bus, but after 2 days in Rome, it made sense to give our legs some rest. The lunch was served in a family-run agritourism restaurant. The lunch was good. I wish we had stopped at the lake mentioned in the tour info. Overall, great tour at a reasonable price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This day trip was definitely the highlight of my Italian experience. The drivers, guide, and hosts of restaurants and wineries were awesome. I felt the locations we visited were quaint, scenic, hospitable...and breathtakingly beautiful. Our fellow tour goers were from around the globe, so lunch conversation was interesting and fun. The only improvement for the tour would have been if our tour guide gave information on the historical monuments, locations, or buildings as we left and re-entered town. Since we were seeing places we had yet to visit in some cases, it would have been great to have gotten that information. But on the whole, I am extremely satisfied with my tour and recommend it to anyone wanting to "get out of the city" and experience the "real Italy"!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

By far, this was our favorite day in Italy. The towns were so beautiful and all of the wine, cheese, salami, etc, was amazing. But, just so you are aware, you don't really get an actual tour. They kind of just bring you to the center of town and then give you an hour or so to walk around, but I didn't mind that. Also, if you are flying back to the US, you cannot get any meat through customs. On the tour, they told us we could bring it back, but when we got into the US, they checked our bags and took it away. Our fault for not checking this first, but we automatically believed the tour guide when he told us it would be okay. I just don't want anyone else to make the same mistake. Wine, cheese, and olive oil, however, all got into the US just fine, so I strongly suggest you pick some up. They were all amazing. Montepulciano had a lot of free places to taste wine and they give you a lot more than some of the wine tasting I have done in Napa Valley. Both Cortona and Montepulciano had great views of the countryside, but you had to walk or climb a bunch of steps to see them. Definitely worth it though. I suggest taking some time to talk to the small shop owners. They usually only speak Italian, but they were all so nice. They made you feel completely at home.

Special Offer
$135.79 Save $13.58

From USD $ 122.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET18

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message