4 star rating: Recommended 272 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taste of Italy Food Tour to Chianti and Umbria from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 272 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Italy. Our guide was great and we had a small group of about 15 people. The Tuscan countryside was beautiful and tasting the food was awesome!! Our lunch was so good complete with pasta, beef and wine and a dessert. The people we encountered were so friendly too. And it was fun to go to Cortona where the film Under the Tuscan Sun was filmed. It was a fun day out of the hustle and bustle of Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Our tour guide was amazing!! She knew everything about the areas we were going to and spoke very good English!! It doesn't even matter that it was a little rainy through the day, it was a perfect ending to a perfect trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Fabulous!! Really enjoyable and relaxing. I'm so glad I did it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

This was one of our favorite day trips while in Rome. Our guide was amazing and the time spent in each location was perfect. Lunch was great. I have nothing bad to say about this tour. I will do this again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

My daughter and I absolutely loved this tour. Because of the small size of our group we took a small bus with great air conditioning, making the ride very comfortable. Our guide was a petite, blonde, Russian speaking young lady who was informative, considerate, funny and quite charming. The food at the farm house was good and the tour of the winery great fun. I'm so glad that we had this unforgettable experience!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The scenery was incredible, the wine and cheese tasting unforgettable. We would recommend it highly. They didn't try to make the lunch anything special at the agriturismo we visited--just a scrawny chicken leg and not much else. The city tours of Cortona and Montepulciano were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We were very pleased with the service. The bus was on time, the lunch was charming, and the tour to the villages was wonderful. Our guide was informative and very friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was a small, intimate group. We were well cared for and treated well. The Etruscan towns of Cortona and Montepulciano are really worth the trip. This tour also gave us a sit down lunch in a quaint villa. We were all friends by the end and the guides were exceptional. The food and wine tasting was a bonus. The "taste of Italy" is really the opportunity to see these unique towns outside the bustle of Rome. I highly recommend this tour to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

Wonderful day, small bus but the group was family by the days end. Scenery was phenomenal, would do it again in a heartbeat. Tour guide was informative and very considerate as there is a lot of walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

For only being in Rome for a few days, we highly recommend this tour. This was by far my wife and I favorite part of Italy and well worth the money. Having an opportunity to travel outside of Rome and into beautiful country was very spectacular. The visit to the winery was also a great experience. So much so that we have a case of wine being shipped back to the US. We would definitely do this tour again if we ever go back

Jerry S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

Great informative guide. Great people on the trip & great places visited. Excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

An excellent guide, wonderful vistas, good food, and a nice coach. What more can you ask. A great opportunity to see what's outside the big city!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Our guide was great. Wish we had more time in Cortona. The wine cellar visit and tasting gave us a true "Taste of Italy"!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

Excellent guide, beautiful stops at Cortona and Montepulciano.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

Very nice trip. Cortona was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

This was a wonderful tour! Touring the Italian countryside with a stop in Cortona was delightful. The lunch at the farm house was one of the best meals eaten in Rome, and the day was only made better because our meal was followed by a stop at a local winery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The tour was a wonderful experience, one that we would recommend to anyone considering a trip like this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Tuscany is beautiful, and I liked the tour guide. The food was okay, and I enjoyed this trip very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Even the bad weather did not take away from the beauty of the tour! The guide was marvelous and the lunch was set up to serve us with the most knowledge of the area and some understanding about the truffles in the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We had the Tuscan tour of our lives. Our guide was the epitome of knowledge, and he was fun to be with. Our group was six people, all of us US citizens. We had such a fun day. If anyone I know comes to Rome, I'll make sure that they take this tour. All the merchants in Carton were wonderful and so sweet. They knew what we were looking for and were delighted to show their town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This was a great tour. A long day, but definitely worth it. Our tour guide was very friendly. The lunch was very tasty and the location was wonderful. I would HIGHLY recommend it.

I also would recommend NOT taking the Imperial Rome Tour which we got free for booking this specific tour. We only went into the Cathedral. For the Forum and the Colosseum, we stood outside while they talked. They didn't even take us back to our hotels.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

It was a great trip (on an air conditioned bus!). The tour guide was great. And we would highly recommend it!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The lunch was great. The towns were beautiful. However I was not expecting so much climbing of hills and stairs to just get INTO Cortona and Moltepulciano. A bit difficult for me. I've been on other hill town yours and there was never his much climbing. The tour guide was knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very good tour although the guide could have been a bit more talkative but having said that the scenery was spectacular and the food great and lots of picture opportunities.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was a nice day out from Rome - the weather was great. Our guide Stephano was lovely and the lunch was delicious. It was a shame not to have had more time to spend in Cortona! The traffic getting back into Rome in the evening was terrible but aside from that it was a really nice day.

From USD $ 133.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET18

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message