5 star rating: Highly Recommended 379 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 379 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We did this tour and we had another wonderful guide, This was a very comprehensive tour of both Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este and the water gardens. We got to see everything we had hoped to see and even had time for a delightful lunch on our own in the lovely town of Tivoli. My only suggestion would be to have the tour company pick up at the hotel in the morning as another tour company did........as it would save an expensive cab fare.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

WOW! Hadrian's Villa is breathtaking in its sheer size, and Villa d'Este in its beauty and layout. We both have mobility issues, but Valentino made sure we saw everything (we were determined to once we saw the sites), and it was well worth the effort.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed both Villas. The ruins of Hadrian were fantastic and the working fountains of D'Este were fabulous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was the highlight of our week in Rome. These two sites are fabulous examples of the culture of both Ancient Rome and the Renaissance. All in one day's outing! Well organised and led by a knowledgeable and charming guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A really pleasant day just outside of Rome. Our tour guide, Felix, was really knowledgeable (I think he said he was a PhD in Art History and it showed) and easy to follow. Hadrian's Villa was fascinating...a lot more interesting than I expected...with a good tour guide, it really brings the ruins "to life". Totally amazing what had been built here 2000 years ago. But Villa D'Este was even more special...all the water fountains and gardens make this one of the more beautiful places we've ever seen. Also neat to have lunch on our own in Tivoli...less hectic than Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Tivoli Day Trip was everything we had hoped for and more. Our guide Alfredo was extremely knowledgeable and shared his insights in a clear and interesting way. The tour of Hadrian's Villa gave us a glimpse into Roman life (or at least that of the uppermost class) at the height of the empire, and in the Villa d'Este the gardens and fountains were breathtakingly beautiful. Without Alfredo's commentary, however, what we saw would have meant little to us. The pace of the tours was just right, not rushed, but also not too slow. It was a highly worthwhile and enjoyable day in every way!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful tour where you will enjoy the outdoors and imagine the Roman concept of beauty. Our guide, Felix, made the difference he is a great guide and takes the time to answer all the questions you might have. Hadrian's Villa is an experience, I only recommend you bring very comfortable shoes it is quite a walk. Both venues are worth your time and money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tourguide was excellent. I was completely satisfied with the pacing and comfort of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The absolutely best day out!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I had planned to visit both of these sites independently but found the time frame involved unsuitable. Having done the tour I can't imagine doing it any other way. Can't imagine either site without an "Alfredo' to guide and enlighten you. He was a marvelous guide, informative and easy to listen to. Both sites came "alive' with his enthusiasm and commentary. An excellent way to fill in a full day before an evening international flight. Have done a few short trips with Viator and they have all been excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful tour. Good organized. Good guide. And a great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour although guide should have mentioned the amount of hard steps to climb.it was necessary to walk at a fast pace to keep up. Otherwise the tour was outstanding for beauty and information.highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hadrian's Villa was our first tour in the Rome area. I thought it was pretty amazing. There is so much to take in, and the guide was very knowledgeable. An added bonus after spending a week in the very crowded Amalfi coast area, there were hardly any people there while we were taking our tour. It was like we had the place to ourselves which made it even more special. We were on our own for lunch in the town of Tivoli, but were only given 45 minutes, so there was no time for exploring or shopping as we were lead to believe. The Villa d'Este was absolutely beautiful. The fountains were amazing. As far as the tour goes, we left on time, travel in a large air conditioned motor coach and arrived back in Rome on time. The guide was very good giving up lots of information at both sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful site. Excellent guide. Hadrian's villa is well worth a visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day with great guide Arianna (?). She was very knowledgeable, patient, and great sense of humor.
Full day seeing two fascinating and very different sites and nice lunch in Tivoli.

From USD $ 112.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message