5 star rating: Highly Recommended 515 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 515 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Ville d'Este is very beautiful. There is not much left of Villa Adrianico as it was looted by the Goths and the other barbarous hoards. It was a very good day with a good guide. The traffic on the Sunday was lighter than during the week, so it is a good time to go, although this time there was a bicycle race in progress so there was a short delay.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were so many wonderful things to see with this tour we would not have seen on our own. Villa d'Este has got to be one of the most beautiful places! The tour was very convenient and comfortable! Don't forget your walking shoes!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous day with great guide Margarette. Thankyou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide. Very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour. OUr guide, Maria?, was so informative and energetic. I felt like we really got to see both of these places really well, including the water organ actually playing at Villad'Este.
We had a brand new bus which was extremely comfortable for our small group of 30. We ate at a nice little restaurant which broke the day up nicely. I would highly recommend this tour to my friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Viviana was very knowledgrable and was a pleasure to have as a guide for both Hadrain's Villa and Villa D'Este.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic. The tour guide was careful to meet the physical pace of the people on the tour. Incredibly clear explanation of the different sites. Very friendly with a clear passion for the architecture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing!! Guide was fantastic and extremely knowledgable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our family of 4 took this day trip while vacationing in Italy in May. We had a wonderful time. Booking on-line was easy and we were lucky to book only a few days ahead of the tour. Our tour guide, Ariana, was amazing. So vibrant and knowledgeable. She brought Hadrian's Villa to life for us. Villa d'Este was simply breathtaking. The trip was one of the highlights of our vacation and we would highly recommend this tour while you are in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an easy was to see Hadrian's Villa and Villa d Este. We took a cab about 10 euros from Spanish Steps, with tip to the Viator office near Termini. Once the group was assembled, we walked about a block to the bus. The guide was knowledgeable, explained things well, and was aware of the pace of the group. It was a rainy day and Hadrian's Villa ruins is all outside. Wear shoes for mud and bring rain gear, it you go on a rainy day. We had lunch on our own before entering Villa d Este. Entry was timed so that we could hear the organ in the garden. House is restored and the gardens are lovely. We had some time to explore the gardens on our own. We arrived back in Rome just a little late bad traffic because of the rain. I would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was excellent and we had a wonderful day and experience at both places. Having studied both locations in an architecture history class, the tour guide was able to add very interesting pieces of information about both places to add to my knowledge base. It was a bit hard to find the location of the office, however. A small map with simple directions included in the confirmation email would have helped tremendously.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Relaxing and enjoyable. Great day trip. Gardens amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What made this your a stand out was our guide Ariana, her expert knowledge of Archaeology really brought Hadrians Villa to life for us. Villa D'Este was magnificent in the sunshine with the fountains absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

beyond belief

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the highlight of my Rome experience! The guide was Fantastic! This is must see place. Beyond my expectations of being wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a last minute booking but the company office was easy to find, we got on our bus and off we went. It's a surprisingly short journey to Tivoli from Rome, and Tivoli itself is very pretty. Hadrian's Villa is amazing but the icing on the cake is Villa D'Este. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and I could have spent all day there with no problem. It was a very, very hot day but there was lots of shade in the gardens and so many fountains that you could hear water flowing everywhere. We were split into two small groups which was good. Our guide Marcetta was excellent and had so much information about both buildings. You have to go down quite a way to the gardens and one or two of our party decided to stay at the top as the climb back up again was quite steep. However, the Villa d'Este itself is lovely and well worth further investigation. I liked the fact that the trip is in two halves, first you go to Hadrian's Villa which is a ruin but a very interesting one, then you get a lunch break at own expense in Tivoli itself. About an hour is plenty of time to grab a sandwich or a quick plate of pasta. Then the Villa D'Este. It made the trip a lot easier having that break in the middle. I would highly recommend this trip. We loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is definitely a must see tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the sites, their history and their decline, as well as the key players in the construction/destruction of the sites. Villa D'Este just takes your breath away, and Villa Adriano was magnificent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour with informed guide, clean and comfortable bus. A good value. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful day tour, and not too long either, visiting Hadrian's Villa I have always wanted to go there!, then a break for lunch, then a tour of Villa D'Este and the glorious gardens of Tivoli in the afternoon. Our tour guide Vivienne Carbonara ? was highly knowledgeable and informative. Only one downside: we had no time with the scale model of Hadrian's Villa as other groups got there first - but so be it... Otherwise this was a highly enjoyable tour and a great chance to escape the elbowing crowds of the hubbub of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent service,especially through a wonderful guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic. Tour guide was one of the best we have ever had - passionate, knowledgable, attentive and took her time to take care of all the individual needs of the group members.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a lovely day on this tour. We caught a cab to the start the tour from the Pantheon and it cost around 12 euros. Our guide was Felix and he was very good. Without him as a guide Hadrians Villa would have had no meaning to us. The Tivoli gardens were so beautiful, we are so glad we took this tour as public transport would have been very hard and we would have missed out on having our own guide. We have been to Rome before so this was a great option for us to go somewhere different.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour.snd great guide

From USD $ 100.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message