5 star rating: Highly Recommended 489 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 489 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was excellent and we had a wonderful day and experience at both places. Having studied both locations in an architecture history class, the tour guide was able to add very interesting pieces of information about both places to add to my knowledge base. It was a bit hard to find the location of the office, however. A small map with simple directions included in the confirmation email would have helped tremendously.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Relaxing and enjoyable. Great day trip. Gardens amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What made this your a stand out was our guide Ariana, her expert knowledge of Archaeology really brought Hadrians Villa to life for us. Villa D'Este was magnificent in the sunshine with the fountains absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

beyond belief

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the highlight of my Rome experience! The guide was Fantastic! This is must see place. Beyond my expectations of being wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a last minute booking but the company office was easy to find, we got on our bus and off we went. It's a surprisingly short journey to Tivoli from Rome, and Tivoli itself is very pretty. Hadrian's Villa is amazing but the icing on the cake is Villa D'Este. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and I could have spent all day there with no problem. It was a very, very hot day but there was lots of shade in the gardens and so many fountains that you could hear water flowing everywhere. We were split into two small groups which was good. Our guide Marcetta was excellent and had so much information about both buildings. You have to go down quite a way to the gardens and one or two of our party decided to stay at the top as the climb back up again was quite steep. However, the Villa d'Este itself is lovely and well worth further investigation. I liked the fact that the trip is in two halves, first you go to Hadrian's Villa which is a ruin but a very interesting one, then you get a lunch break at own expense in Tivoli itself. About an hour is plenty of time to grab a sandwich or a quick plate of pasta. Then the Villa D'Este. It made the trip a lot easier having that break in the middle. I would highly recommend this trip. We loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is definitely a must see tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the sites, their history and their decline, as well as the key players in the construction/destruction of the sites. Villa D'Este just takes your breath away, and Villa Adriano was magnificent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour with informed guide, clean and comfortable bus. A good value. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful day tour, and not too long either, visiting Hadrian's Villa I have always wanted to go there!, then a break for lunch, then a tour of Villa D'Este and the glorious gardens of Tivoli in the afternoon. Our tour guide Vivienne Carbonara ? was highly knowledgeable and informative. Only one downside: we had no time with the scale model of Hadrian's Villa as other groups got there first - but so be it... Otherwise this was a highly enjoyable tour and a great chance to escape the elbowing crowds of the hubbub of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent service,especially through a wonderful guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic. Tour guide was one of the best we have ever had - passionate, knowledgable, attentive and took her time to take care of all the individual needs of the group members.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a lovely day on this tour. We caught a cab to the start the tour from the Pantheon and it cost around 12 euros. Our guide was Felix and he was very good. Without him as a guide Hadrians Villa would have had no meaning to us. The Tivoli gardens were so beautiful, we are so glad we took this tour as public transport would have been very hard and we would have missed out on having our own guide. We have been to Rome before so this was a great option for us to go somewhere different.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour.snd great guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, and the tour was well paced. I would recommend to anyone visiting Rome to take part in this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The visits to Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'este were highlights of our trip, particularly the latter. The tour guide was a trained archaeologist and a mine of information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So glad I booked this tour. A really fantastic day spent exploring these beautiful places. Our guide, Felix, was informative, knowledgeable, helpful and personable.. . it was everything I could have hoped for and more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely knowledgable and entertaining guide. Villa d'Este was a highlight of the entire vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was amazing!!!! Informative she was an archaeologist, good english and amazing locations!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, very prepared and knowledgeable tour guide.

I would have preferred a spanish spoken tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable tour despite being a very busy time to go. The guide coped well with a group of varied physical fitness for quite a lot of walking and climbing steps.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour would recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend take this trip. Both the villas are amazing and we have passed a wonderful day. Our guide was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Plenty of time was allocated for both sites and we were not rushed. The guide was excellent and informative. It made for a very pleasant day trip out of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great one day trip from Rome. There was just the right amount of time spent at both sites. Also, we were able to enjoy both sites without being rushed. Our guide was knowledgeable and gave us some good insight, making the trip that much more enjoyable.

From USD $ 101.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message