5 star rating: Highly Recommended 312 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 312 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about it, both destinations were well worth seeing. Great tour guide. Villa D'Este was stunning with all the fountains. I enjoyed Hadrian's villa more than Pompeii, great insight into how they must have lived. Only downside was the couple who went missing which kept the rest of the tour waiting on the bus for 30 minutes, extremely bad manners and not even a sorry.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best tour I had in Rome. This is a must see for everyone. Two UNESCO sites in one trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hadrian's villa was much more extensive and interesting than we imagined. Villa d'este was AMAZING with over 300 fountains and beautiful gardens and buildings. Great tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day began with a short drive into the Tiburtine Hills a few miles from Rome where we began our tour at the vast complex that was once Emperor Hadrian's Villa. The area is truly awe-inspiring and although you have to bear in mind that it was at its peak well over a millennia ago, our guides' knowledge and understanding of all the historical facts painted us a vivid picture of this, at times, unfathomable site. This first part of the tour somehow set the scene and fast forwarded us to another age, where inspiration, excess and visions of grandeur still played an important part in the development of what we would term as the ultimate 'Pleasure Garden.'

If you have ever dreamed of the most perfect Renaissance garden, perched high above a rolling green valley, with cascading waterfalls, sparkling fountains and columns of bright crystal clear water shooting into the bluest of skies, then The Villa d'Este is the place to be! Overwhelming, breath-taking, mesmerizing are just a few of the many adjectives I can use to describe this magical place. Our guide submersed us into a world of wonder and intrigue, laying before us all the historical facts that helped bring this place alive. A green oasis on a hot day, I came away refreshed and rejuvenated as though I'd dipped my toes into the fountain of Youth and vowed to return again one day to this small piece of paradise.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our wonderful guide, Alfredo, made this tour. His knowledge of archeology and the history of these sites/sights enhanced the beauty and our appreciation of what we were seeing. This trip was well worth the cost and I would recommend him as your tour guide. If you have an interest in history and archeology, he knows what he is talking about, makes it interesting and shares his love of these sites. The transportation was comfortable in terms of the bus and the temperature control since Rome was experiencing a heat wave during our visit. This was a thoroughly enjoyable day and excursion. You will not regret the trip.
Dennis and Kathleen, PA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful - great personality and very knowledgeable. Would recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great to go to a quiet area outside of central Rome. I love ancient Roman history so I really enjoyed seeing Hadrian's Villa and imagining what it looked like in its heyday. Villa d'Este was absolutely gorgeous! The fountains were amazing and should be on everyone's checklist of places to see. Our guide was very knowledgeable and recommended a great restaurant for lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had been in Rome for 5 days and this was a wonderful escape from the heat and craziness of the city. The office was easy to find, very close to the Roma Termini train station. Our guide, Lara (Croft Tomb Raider...haha....she had a great sense of humor) was very informative and entertaining. It only took about 35 minutes to get to Hadrian's Villa and it was so much cooler up there; very pleasant after the sauna that Rome was. Loved, loved, loved Villa d'Este with all the beautiful fountains. I would recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Tour guide Arianna is a very personable and knowledgeable archaeologist who gave us fabulous insights into the history and original construction of the ruins that we were viewing at the site of Hadrian's villa. This is a huge site, but there was ample time to explore and take photos. Lots of great explanations of the frescoes and history at Villa d'Este also. The completely gravity fed fountains at Villa d'Este were fabulous to see, and most still functioning after 400 years. Arianna expertly timed the tour so that we had a chance to see the organ fountain play - it's only twice a day so it's easy to miss it. The tour bus was modern and comfortably air conditioned, with a good audio system so that we could easily hear the guide's presentation. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour. I didn't know how well preserved Hadrian's Villa was but the highlight was clearly Villa d'Este. Amazing and the guide was very good. This should be on everyone's Rome vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent all round.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Serena was an excellent guide. Highly knowledgeable and personable. The sight were fantastic. The coach was clean and comfortably cool, and the driver was courteous and safe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Two excellent sites and a great way to spend a day outside of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was excellent! We enjoyed everything and found the guide well-informed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Priscilla our guide was amazing! Hadrians Villa, especially the banquet room, is worth the price of admission alone. The water organ, dragon fountain, and little Rome at D'Este Villa made for a great afternoon. Was great to see meaningful ruins without being surrounded by hordes of people.

From USD $ 115.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message