Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 638 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

csarlouis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding

Claude a G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a great joy to finally see what I had read about so often. Victor made it happen so easily.

MG B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was good and interacted very well. One fact she got wrong was the age of Olive trees. They can be 1000's of years old and she said 100 years

Gustavo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

very knowledgeable and pleasant guide. well prepared, friendly and shared her knowledge with enthusiasm and conviction. Handled unruly and inconsiderate members of our group with patience and respect.

Rose Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Marchetta was a wonderful, knowledegable guide that linked both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Roman Empire vs Renaissance. Definitely a must!

jpiane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip! Guide was outstanding!
Only issue was finding the local office for pickup.

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable coach trip. Remains of Hadrians Villa the unexpected highlight but gardens and fountains at Villa D,Este also amazing. Tour guide originally from Denmark, spoke perfect English and was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Eli F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was Rossella, she was informative, friendly and good fun. The tour was very well organized, we left punctually and every phase of the day was well structured, enjoyable and relaxed with good information about all aspects of the sights and history. I would highly recommend this tour, thoroughly enjoyable,a very positive experience.

JONATHAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our trip to Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este at Tivoli was outstanding and our guide, Margetta, was a delight - relaxed, friendly, full of knowledge and enthusiasm, and with a clear delight in sharing her knowledge about these two fascinating sites.
Everything ran without a hitch and we were blessed with glorious sunny weather, too! We arrived at Hadrian's Villa ahead of the day's visitors and it felt as if we had the place to ourselves. Margetta lead us around all the major sites of interest at a comfortable pace, explaining many historical and architectural details, and pointing out some architectural features we'd be seeing again at Villa d'Este.
After a most enjoyable 1-hr lunch break in Tivoli, we entered Villa d'Este and were totally enthralled by the beautifully decorated halls and rooms, augmented by Margetta's excellent commentary.
Our time in the gardens was outstanding - Margetta's skill and experience showed up by the fact that we arrived at the Fountain of the Organ just minutes before it played great excitement! and, later, we reached the western end of the terrace of The Hundred Fountains at the perfect time to see the late-afternoon sunlight shining along its length. Magic!
Overall, it was a 'must-do' tour, brilliantly-well lead by an outstanding guide, Margetta. Unforgettable and highly recommended!

Judith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The address of the local tour company, is shown as 8A Via Marghera and one would expect their office to be across from the addresses on the opposite side of the street, say s 5, 7, 9, but instead, totally confused almost missing the tour as a result, it was located across from 47. Is this an example of when in Rome, do as the Romans do? Strange to most of us from other parts of the Western World.

Our female tour guide was excellent, knowledgeable, articulate and had great English.

J J Semple S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well planned supported by charming and well informed guide who emgaged our attention throughout the tour.

bobbin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour surpassed my expectations our guide ROssela was a mine of information and the gardens at the VIlla D'Este were better than anything I have ever seen it was a great day out.

M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect and we could fully appreciate the magnificence of Hadrian's Villa and the amazing scenery at Villa d'Este.
Larissa who was our tour guide was most informative, helpful and courteous.
Highly recommend this tour
Chandrasekaran

Stuart P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very good day out of the city. Less than an hour by bus and you can enjoy two contrasting attractions. Hadrian's Villa is a large complex of ruined buildings and some interesting garden features with quite a few Turtles swimming in the pools! As top for lunch in Tivoli, a small town compared to Rome, with a good choice of places to eat, then we went to Villa d'Este, where the big disappointment was the fountains were not working due to the heavy rain and flooding, a week before our visit, which affected the amount of silt in the river. Apparently we were very unlucky as this rarely happens, so we will just have to plan another trip and go back. It is quite a climb down and back up to the Villa, but if you take your time, you can appreciate the garden more and it is an ideal way to work off some of the Italian food you are bound to enjoy on your holiday!

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent Tour guide was extremely informative Villa d'esme was magnificent the fountains are incredible highly recommended

casann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour made even more enriching by our guide, Felix. His knowledge of these two sites was incredible. We would have liked more time at both sites as they are so vast, perhaps an hour longer at each, but what we did see and learn made for an unforgettable trip. We also did Ostia Antica with Viator and were very impressed again with the tour and the guide. We will recommend and use Viator when next travelling.

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide, Larissa, aka Laura Croft was a wealth of knowledge and very articulate in English.

Kerry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A terrific day trip if you have some time in Rome and the area. Putting Hadrian's villa first was a fine idea. It's worth a see, but nowhere as spectacular as Villa D'Este---one of the most beautiful and intriguing places we have seen, ever. Inger was a good guide. Finding the take-off point was challenging. 8a Via Marghera is no where near across the street from, say, Via Marghera 10. It's way down the street. A worth it trip if you are in Rome for more than a couple days.

Vincent A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I think she could use some review on English pronunciation for instance fountain is not fountane - same thing with mountain - not mountane.

fontaine_pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day, the tour guide was informative. Loved the fountains and villa.

Pamela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa are fabulous places to see. The guide was excellent. We learned a great deal about the history of the villas as well as being guided to see the very best elements of these sites.

Adolfo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide was thoroughly knowledgeable and helpful, everything was nicely planned and executed and the sites were awesome. Highly recommended!

Charles L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with excellent tour guide. Hadrian's Villa great to be able to walk amongst ruins. Tivoli Gardens worth seeing such beautiful fountains and gardens, both hidden treasures out side of Rome, well worth the visit.

Claude L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A not to be missed experience

Mary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour - wonderful guide. Amazing history and beauty.

Viewing 2 of 26

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Special Offer
$103.82 Save $10.38

From USD $ 93.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message