5 star rating: Highly Recommended 281 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 281 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable tour to two amazing sites. Fredo the guide was very knowledgable, very warm and very generous with his time and explanations. Villa d'Este is jaw-droppingly gorgeous. I would have like to spend the whole day there. Hadrian's Villa is quite remarkable. Both sites really need to be seen with a guide as they both are very big and full of many things with their own amazing history. We had an hour for lunch in Tivoli, which was enough time to have a fantastic lunch in one of the trattorias recommended by our guide. Both sites are close to Rome so the trip is short. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tivoli gardens are one of the earths most beautiful places and our guide Larissa made it even better. Jill miller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good guide. Well paced trip with sufficient time to see sights and have a fairly relaxed lunch. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and our guide was knowledgeable and informative. Wish it could have lasted longer. Will use Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Pleasantly surprised and close to Rome as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The ruins, fountains and gardens are all amazing. Was beautiful walking around - there is a lot of walking and stairs however so you just need to be aware with comfy shoes and water.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful tour with a very knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour and guide were both great. Wonderful day. Would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed the tour of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, comfortable discussing the archeology, architecture, and wealth of antiquity at Hadrian's Villa. The Villa d'Este was beautiful, filled with sparkling fountains and manicured grounds. I recommend this tour to those interested in the history of Rome, especially if they have already visited the magnificent sights of central Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Lara, was a wonderful guide and was very knowledgeable on history and architecture. Anyone who wanted to go around the villas at their own pace were able to do so. We opted to stay with Lara and the main group and found this very worthwhile. Villa d'Este was the highlight beautiful fountains and views.

We would highly recommend this tour. We wondered if it would be an exhausting day but found the time on the coach between the villas, break for lunch and journey actually meant that we were less tired than the days we spent in Rome. We had a lovely lunch supplied by the company at Angelitos in Tivoli.

A great day highly recommended by 65 and 70 year old.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an excellent day tour, with a really friendly guide, Lara who answered any questions and was very knowledgeable about both places. Villa d'Este is a beautiful place and it was lovely to wander through - very relaxing after the hustle and bustle of Rome itself!! Hadrian's Villa was also an amazing place to see and although Lara gave us the option to go around by ourselves, I would recommend staying with your guide so that everything is explained to you, in terms of what the buildings were and what they were used for - I personally found that it made the excursion much more interesting.
I would definitely recommend this tour if you're staying in Rome for a few days and have the time to do it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The bus ride to and from Tivoli is comfortable and not too long. Hadrian's Villa is fascinating and the tour guide knowledgeable. She was easy to understand and used a pace that was comfortable for our group. The Villa visit was also interesting although more crowded [nothing Viator can do about that]. Good on-your-own lunch options and time for a quick meal. We were there in early May - not too hot, so it was a very pleasant tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A memorable day's excursion in the quiet and appealing Italian countryside only a short distance from Rome itself. Elisabeta, our guide treated us to a thoroughly detailed insight into the history, art, architecture, culture and political machinations of the eras relevant to the construction of Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este at Tivoli. She animated these historical sights with anecdotes and a wicked sense of humour which enhanced the overall impression of centuries long gone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

very nice and informative! great guide :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Elisabetta was both knowledgeable and funny.

From USD $ 122.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message