5 star rating: Highly Recommended 383 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 383 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour although guide should have mentioned the amount of hard steps to climb.it was necessary to walk at a fast pace to keep up. Otherwise the tour was outstanding for beauty and information.highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hadrian's Villa was our first tour in the Rome area. I thought it was pretty amazing. There is so much to take in, and the guide was very knowledgeable. An added bonus after spending a week in the very crowded Amalfi coast area, there were hardly any people there while we were taking our tour. It was like we had the place to ourselves which made it even more special. We were on our own for lunch in the town of Tivoli, but were only given 45 minutes, so there was no time for exploring or shopping as we were lead to believe. The Villa d'Este was absolutely beautiful. The fountains were amazing. As far as the tour goes, we left on time, travel in a large air conditioned motor coach and arrived back in Rome on time. The guide was very good giving up lots of information at both sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful site. Excellent guide. Hadrian's villa is well worth a visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day with great guide Arianna (?). She was very knowledgeable, patient, and great sense of humor.
Full day seeing two fascinating and very different sites and nice lunch in Tivoli.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative and enjoyable. A great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed the tour and thought there was about the right amount of time at each place - both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este are amazing and well worth a visit - and our guide Alfredo was knowledgeable about the history of each villa and the people associated with them, which really added to the experience for me. Between Villa visits there is a stop for lunch. I recommend walking back up the road a bit from Villa d'Este as the places there are cheaper. Also I agree with what others have said about a guide to the fitness level required, as some people began complaining - but my 69 year old friend found it manageable (just!!).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Visiting Villa D'Este has been my dream for almost 40 years. I wasn't disappointed. In fact, the gardens are even more spectacular when experienced in person. The design of all the fountains and witnessing the mastery of hydraulics is sheer brilliance. Our guide, Alfredo, was extremely knowledgable and personable. This was most evident when touring Hadrian's Villa. Alfredo is a professional archaeologist turned tour guide. You can imagine our delight receiving such scholarly and in-depth commentary on all the buildings, open spaces, and water features in the villa. The vast scale of the villa is only surpassed by the imagination of the polished marble (long since removed) that once adorned all surfaces. The remaining columns and Roman sculptures provided a hint of the opulence that surrounded a Roman emperor. The coach was modern and comfortable and the journey to Tivoli provided a glimpse into the countryside. Overall a most educational and enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific - enjoyed every minute - guide Alfredo was excellent. If in Rome this is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fabulous day! The morning was long but very interesting and the Villa d'Este topped our 5 week holiday. Fabulous and not just for garden lovers. Not for those that struggle with walking any distance or steps though, particularly Hadrian's palace- no seats available for those that needed them. I think it should be noted in the tour information that a medium to good level of fitness is required

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide and wonderful sights to see. The gardens at Villa d' Este were fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you have an extra day in Rome, I will highly recommend this trip.
The villas are beautiful, show casing the engineering marvelous of Roman Empire.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip. Felix was a great guide. Kept us moving without being exhausting and very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful trip. It is not too far from Rome and well worth the visit. Hadrian's villa was informative and the gardens of Villa D'este were amazing. The information given was interesting and the pasta at the restaurant nearest to the villa D'este entrance was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything was great, the proposal at Villa D'Este went perfect and was a gorgeous view!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day out. A well organised day so you do the hardest walking in the morning and visit the tranquil Villa D'Este in the afternoon. Our guide for the day, Felix, was knowledgeable and interesting. One small downside is that the tour office was a bit hard to find and better directions would have been helpful.

From USD $ 112.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message