Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 639 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kyle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A perfect tour. What a great way to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Our tour guide was very well informed, and we felt that we spent the right amount of time at each of the attractions. A full hour was given for lunch at a place of our choosing. I would happily recommend this tour to others.

Elaine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The history of Hadrian's villa was well told by our guide. We enjoy history and archeology and this tour met our objective. The places for lunch were wonderful. Villa d'Este was on our sites to see for a long time. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Villa d'Este literally took my breath away. It is absolutely beautiful and the water features are amazing. Hadrian's Villa was immense and like a small town. The guide was excellent and give us plenty of information about both venues. It is a shame that so many people miss out on the opportunity to visit these two magnificent gardens due to time constraints.

sdssandie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful day trip to Tivoli...not overly long for a day tour, still leaves time for relaxing and other experiences while in Rome. It is a short 20-30 minute ride outside Rome. Our guide was passionate, well spoken, and very educated in the history and artifacts of these two historical sites. Hadrian's Villa is a little less exciting than Villa d'Este, which is the main reason I chose this tour. I had visited Villa d'Este before and the amazing fountains were a must do again, to show my husband. I'm glad Hadrian's Villa was included, it gave us a chance to view and marvel at the architecture of the time period. Amazing how well preserved things have remained. On to the Main Attraction.....Villa d'Este. I'm thinking that this would have been the water park of the 17th century, without the help of electric pumps! A prime example of Roman techniques of Hydraulic Engineering! Keep in mind as you tour this site, that everything is gravity based and comes from the local source, the Aniene River, diverted to the town. Over 500 jets in various pools, fountains and water features. Truly amazing! The only thing I would have preferred, more Villa d'Este and less Hadrian's maybe about 30 minutes more at Villa d'Este.
The tour allows time for lunch on your own in Tivoli, where there are a number of choices for various levels of dining. Time is limited, so be sure your choice will be able to serve you in the time allotted. There is no such thing as fast food in Italy!
This tour is not to be missed....fresco's and fountains...and lunch in Tivoli...what more could you want?

Gary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent all the way around.

Colleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth doing a tour here! Our guide was excellent, describing everything about Hadian's Villa, and the best part was Villa d'Este with all the beautiful fountains, grounds, and the town itself. Beautiful sunny October day made it extra special.

Glenn I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful day out of town with an outstanding villa and gardens to visit all with a knowledgeable and pleasant guide.

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very special day! One we will treasure! A wonderful and informative guide! Such breath taking historical sights! And such unbelievable gardens and fountains!

Beáta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was very lovely trip. I really enjoy Villa dEste. It was amazing. I would be possible to stay there for all day just to relax and listening sounds of fontains. Hadrian s Villa was also nice, but it was too hot for enjoy it.

Melanie M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed the drive to both locations. Guide did an excellent job at explaining the significant aspects of each location. As an individual who likes history, found it most informative learning about the uniqueness of the area!

Keith H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What can I say about this tour? Probably the best day of our stay in Rome. Hadrian's Villa is superb and the Tivoli Gardens at Villa d'Este are absolutely stunning. Our guide was a delight and thoroughly knowledgable.

Leonard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip was fantastic both Villas lived up to all our expectations. Anyone who does this trip should expect to do some serious walking.

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour exceeded my expectations. It was well organized and the guide was informative, professional an archeologist and fun. The Viator website, however, needs some improvement. For example, it did not show where the meeting point was, and there was some confusion as to what proof of payment was required as I had booked using an iphone and could not print out a ticket. But I would recommend this tour.

Mark W. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Was a great viewing experience.

Mark K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed our day at the ancient Hadrian's villa and then to visit Villa d'Este to see what Hadrian's villa would have once looked like. The gardens are spectacular and a pleasant and relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Well worth the visit and a great combination.

Simone A d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really comfortable coach to take us from the tour office to Tivoli. Tour was informative and what I expected.

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was superb! Despite being a truly hot day in Rome, the beauty made me forget about all that. Our tour guide Michela was excellent. Extremely knowledgable and excellent at conveying her knowledge clearly. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome.

bunny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was amazing. So knowledgable and obviously interested in talking and teaching us. We learnt a lot and had an absolutely fabulous day. Would recommend but just make sure you can do lots of walking and stairs. But so beautiful.

John Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

5 STAR

John s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an awesome day on the Tivoli Day Tour. Our guide was so informative and we learnt so much. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day, shame it was so hot. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour, firstly at Hadrian's Villa, the ruins to imagine how it was in that time, our guide Mikela, knew her stuff. Then Villa d'Este, was fabulous, a real villa, the famous fountains, and gardens, just lovely to see.

Laurette R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip. Lara was a great guide!

Walter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well informed guide, nice bus, enjoyable tours. A bit more climbing than expected at Villa d'Este, but well worth the effort.

Graham C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent. Very Knowledgeable guide..recommended

Sally

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really great day trip a must when you go to Rome. Well organized and not too rushed

Viewing 3 of 26

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 104.89

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message