5 star rating: Highly Recommended 383 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 383 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Ce fût une façon facile de faire la visite des deux sites exceptionnels. Aucune préoccupation de se véhiculer entre les deux sites. Il ne faut pas manquer de voir l'un et l'autre. Les commentaires de notre guide étaient adéquats. Notre journée a été merveilleuse.
Merci Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour- excellent tour guide and fascinating sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Two MUST see 1/2 day trips while in Rome. The gardens and fountains at Villq d'Este are beautiful and well worth seeing. The ruins at Hadrian's Villa, considering that they are almost 2000 yeaar old, are in fairly good condition. Since it is an hour from Rome, the villa, unlike much of the ruins in the Roman forum, were not used as a quarry for later buildings so are still recognizable. The villa is not just a house. Hadrian build a mini Rome, complete with two baths, temples, a formal meeting hall to recieve important guests, fountains,pools, moats.and many, many other buildings. In Pompeii and Ostia Antica, you see how the people lived. This is how an EMPEROR lived. The tour guides were excellent. Definitely take this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day and a wonderful guide - Alfredo. This was a 7 hour tour to Hadrian's Villa and to Villa d'Este. We normally would steer away from group tours, but were glad that we went on this one - very comfortable, nice people, and glorious sites. Anyone who has several days in Rome should include a visit to these sites, filled with history and beauty. The day was run at a comfortable pace, with a break midday for lunch in the lovely hillside town of Tivoli. Best of all our guide, Alfredo, was so knowledgeable and patient to answer any and all questions. Definitely a 5 star tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Another outstanding tour, excellent time-keeping and information. Could not be improved upon. Alfredo was cheerful and very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a wonderful day at Hadrian's Villa, Villa D'Este and lunch in Tivoli. Our guide had a wonderful, friendly personality and was extremely knowledgeable. The skies opened up on us and it just added to the charm to be escaping the weather with so many laughs and fun stories. Would recommend this tour to escape the hustle and bustle of Rome for a day and enjoy the lovely Italian countryside.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I don't know how this is so under appreciated. This was a FABULOUS tour. It's only about a 40 minute bus ride from Rome and you step back 2,000 years. The ruins AND the in tact villas are amazing. I would highly recommend this tour....lots of diversity to see both places the same day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable day out - well worth the money. The guides were excellent and very knowledgeable. Overall we would highly recommend this trip..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Tivoli trip was one of the highlights of my trip to Rome. It was organized and left and returned at the time it was supposed to. Our guide was obviously passionate about the two sites and it was apparent in the detailed information she relayed to us. It was wonderful to hear about the history and the culture of the two places and her professionalism was appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The first part was Hadrian's Villa - very fascinating history - I was astounded by the scale of the villa (more like a town). Almost all in ruins, even marble was stripped, but tiny portions can be seen and one can imagine how glorious it was in its heyday; many mosaic floors are intact. Like Pompeii, I would say that Ephesus is much better preserved. Guide was great and knowledgeable. She also recommended a restaurant just outside Villa d'Este for lunch - home-made fettuccine - texture was exceptional, sauce was fair to good.
The second part is Villa d'Este - glorious fountains, very beautiful gardens in a nice setting. History is provided in detail. I have only one tiny complaint - because the schedule was to reach Rome by 4.30pm, this part of the tour was a bit rushed. It would be much better if it were schedule for 6pm or 6.30pm to reach Rome - a reasonable time, which will not be too late.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. We didn't have this on our list to do in Rome. The day was excellent and really enjoyed the gardens Villa D'Este.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Alberto was wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Trip was amazing the fountains beautiful. It was hard for some in the group. Lots of stairs and sloping walk ways.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant! Our guide, Michela, was lovely and very knowledgeable - a true expert in her field.
The contrast between the two villas made for a fab tour. Villa d'Este's garden is beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour as both sites are well worth visiting. I would recommend that the description be updated to better describe the walking. I did not have any problem with the pace of this tour but there are a lot of steps to climb. The day of my visit was hot and there were at least 5 - 6 people who could not keep up and had to miss part of the tour. Everyone interested should evaluate their physical abilities.

From USD $ 112.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message