• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 204 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 204 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved our guide. He was pleasant, patient and very informative. The tour itself was also very satisfying.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hadrians villa amazing. Sadly rained during Villa d'Este tour. Tour guide once again very, very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you have grown tired of the fast pace of Roma take a trip to the countryside. Tivoli, featuring Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este don't disappoint. It's imperative that you use a guide so that you can appreciate the history of Hadrian's Villa. Our tour guide, Lara was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This double barrelled tour to Tivoli visiting Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este is a winner thanks, in large measure, to our professional tour guide and archaeologist Larissa who brought these magnificent sites to life with her dramatic and witty historical storytelling. Bravo!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful tour of Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. I had been there before but this was my daughter's first trip. We enjoyed our tour so much. The guides were excellent and we had enough time at each venue. It was so nice to have an expert take you through these sites. As a seasoned traveler, I know that taking a tour with an experienced, reputable company saves money, time, and gives you information that you could never gather yourself. It was a day that we will never forget!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really loved our day trip to Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Our guide was lovely, very well qualified to explain all the history, and good fun into the bargain. We had adequate free time to explore and a good break for lunch as well as the extensive guided tour at each site. Being taken by bus took all the hassle out of the day, especially in regard to getting from one site to the other.
Judy, Sydney, October 2013.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great trip not too far from Rome at a comfortable pace. Another ancient Roman site with some well preserved components particularly Villa d'Este and a great story behind the location and buildings. The water driven organ was a pleasant surprise, we really enjoyed this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour. It may be that we were lucky to have Priscilla as a guide (she actually has an archeological background), but anyway she was superb - informed, full of detail, always ready to answer questions, witty and a good but never officious organiser. She even commented on areas we passed on the (relatively short) journey to the area. One could not ask for better.

The tour is very convenient in combining visits to the two locations. Villa d'Este is more or less in the centre of Tivoli, but Hadrian's Villa is in a small town a couple of miles away, and would have been much less convenient for us to visit on our own. Both locations are amazing: d'Este chiefly for its wonderful fountains, which are dazzling in the sun (so try to arrange to go on a fine day!). Hadrian's Villa, which is a larger site, is a striking example of what the Romans got up to in truly sybaritic mode, and Priscilla was particularly knowledgeable about this site.

Inevitably, there were areas we might have explored at greater leisure on our own, but there was no sense of hassle on the tour, and the benefit of having a guide and an organised itinerary outweighed any other considerations. Our one suggestion is to give people just a little longer over lunch (which was in the centre of the small town of Tivoli). There are plenty of places to eat, and Priscilla's recommendation provided quick friendly service and good food, so we can recommend it, but it would have been nice to feel that bit more relaxed, and perhaps to have fifteen minutes longer than the 50 we were allowed! However, this is just a small reservation in an otherwise excellent and memorable tour.

The tour office is pretty easy to find (near the central station), and the formalities were all handled in a pleasantly informal manner. We actually booked the tour online from our hotel while we were in Rome, and everything went exactly according to plan. Full marks!

Ronald C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We very much enjoyed this tour. Our guide was an archeologist who was very knowledgable and interesting.
The pace was relaxed. Hadrian's villa was particularly fascinating and surprisingly large. Unfortunately the treasures have been stolen by others over the years but much of the original structures remain. Villa d'Este gardens were also well worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was just EXACTLY what we were looking for! Worth every penny and the guide was brilliant. She
certainly knew her stuff and was extremely accommodating. I liked having the opportunity to have lunch on our own; certainly, she made recommendations. It was very active and her information was fascinating.
I would recommend this to anyone who actually wants to visit and understand these sites! Having a bright
young scholar for a guide was excellent! Many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Martha was our very knowledgeable guide for this tour. If you like history, you will enjoy exploring the ruins at Hadrian's Villa. The Villa d'Este was amazing. The Villa itself was beautiful but the gardens with the walkways and fountains were truly beautiful and a site to see. Thank you, Martha, for the excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best kept secret, close to Rome. The guide was exceptional. We enjoyed this tour a lot. Well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very good tour, lots of information and lots to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very nice trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing tour. My tour guide was a wealth ok knowledge, and very friendly. I would recommend this to a friend. Thanks

From USD $ 126.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message