5 star rating: Highly Recommended 361 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 361 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour as both sites are well worth visiting. I would recommend that the description be updated to better describe the walking. I did not have any problem with the pace of this tour but there are a lot of steps to climb. The day of my visit was hot and there were at least 5 - 6 people who could not keep up and had to miss part of the tour. Everyone interested should evaluate their physical abilities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic visit - Adriana was an excellent guide one of the best we have had, she made the trip enjoyable and had great interesting knowledge. Great !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour took us out of the city into the sweet village of Tivoli. We very much enjoyed this guided tour, away from the crowds of Rome, which helped these ruins come alive. Especially appreciated walking on these grounds, seeing what remains, and what is missing. Some of the loot from Hadrian's Villa was visible when we toured the Vatican. Personally, my wish would be for Pope Francis to return the statues, etc to their rightful place, where they can be more fully enjoyed by the people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a MUST SEE for everyone who visit in Rome. The view is amazing and especially the interesting history behinds it.
Although I am not recommended to do this tour on August because of the high temperature and the hit in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A wonderful day with a very good guide, Alfredo. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and both locations were fantastic in their own ways. A very well organised trip which should not be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you're looking for a good day trip from Rome, look no further. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the tour of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este - the guide's english was great and he was very knowledgeable of the history of the sites, which were a good escape from Rome's chaos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about it, both destinations were well worth seeing. Great tour guide. Villa D'Este was stunning with all the fountains. I enjoyed Hadrian's villa more than Pompeii, great insight into how they must have lived. Only downside was the couple who went missing which kept the rest of the tour waiting on the bus for 30 minutes, extremely bad manners and not even a sorry.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best tour I had in Rome. This is a must see for everyone. Two UNESCO sites in one trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hadrian's villa was much more extensive and interesting than we imagined. Villa d'este was AMAZING with over 300 fountains and beautiful gardens and buildings. Great tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day began with a short drive into the Tiburtine Hills a few miles from Rome where we began our tour at the vast complex that was once Emperor Hadrian's Villa. The area is truly awe-inspiring and although you have to bear in mind that it was at its peak well over a millennia ago, our guides' knowledge and understanding of all the historical facts painted us a vivid picture of this, at times, unfathomable site. This first part of the tour somehow set the scene and fast forwarded us to another age, where inspiration, excess and visions of grandeur still played an important part in the development of what we would term as the ultimate 'Pleasure Garden.'

If you have ever dreamed of the most perfect Renaissance garden, perched high above a rolling green valley, with cascading waterfalls, sparkling fountains and columns of bright crystal clear water shooting into the bluest of skies, then The Villa d'Este is the place to be! Overwhelming, breath-taking, mesmerizing are just a few of the many adjectives I can use to describe this magical place. Our guide submersed us into a world of wonder and intrigue, laying before us all the historical facts that helped bring this place alive. A green oasis on a hot day, I came away refreshed and rejuvenated as though I'd dipped my toes into the fountain of Youth and vowed to return again one day to this small piece of paradise.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our wonderful guide, Alfredo, made this tour. His knowledge of archeology and the history of these sites/sights enhanced the beauty and our appreciation of what we were seeing. This trip was well worth the cost and I would recommend him as your tour guide. If you have an interest in history and archeology, he knows what he is talking about, makes it interesting and shares his love of these sites. The transportation was comfortable in terms of the bus and the temperature control since Rome was experiencing a heat wave during our visit. This was a thoroughly enjoyable day and excursion. You will not regret the trip.
Dennis and Kathleen, PA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful - great personality and very knowledgeable. Would recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great to go to a quiet area outside of central Rome. I love ancient Roman history so I really enjoyed seeing Hadrian's Villa and imagining what it looked like in its heyday. Villa d'Este was absolutely gorgeous! The fountains were amazing and should be on everyone's checklist of places to see. Our guide was very knowledgeable and recommended a great restaurant for lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had been in Rome for 5 days and this was a wonderful escape from the heat and craziness of the city. The office was easy to find, very close to the Roma Termini train station. Our guide, Lara (Croft Tomb Raider...haha....she had a great sense of humor) was very informative and entertaining. It only took about 35 minutes to get to Hadrian's Villa and it was so much cooler up there; very pleasant after the sauna that Rome was. Loved, loved, loved Villa d'Este with all the beautiful fountains. I would recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

From USD $ 113.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message