5 star rating: Highly Recommended 499 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 499 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you love history then this is definitely worth it. Hadrians villa and Villa d'Este are in such good condition considering and our guide Vivianna had worked on the ruins of Hadrian's villa so she was very knowledgable and helpful. There is a little bit of walking but nothing terrible. Loved it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A very enjoyable day trip, were luck to be with a good group of travellers. Hadrian's Villa was nothing like I imagined it was BETTER - Same with Villa d'Este, I had no idea what it would be like and it was beautiful. I never seen so many waterfalls or fountains.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour. Worth the visit. Amazing historic area outside Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour and Felix our tour guide was excellent. It was a perfect mix of information and beauty. The tour gets you back to Rome in time for a nice evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour! We really enjoyed walking around seeing this wonderful place. Our guide Elizabeth was great! her explanations were so interesting and we could even imagined how was the place in ancient times.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Viviana Carbonara was great, she was very informative about Hadrians villa and Villa D'este plus she gave us good time in the city of Tivoli to explore and eat lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day tour of two impressive historical places. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and great to chat to. Highly recommend it.

Brad P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing,fantastic, so much history.
Just do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour. Great guide. Wonderful time and I got to see what I had missed on several previous trips to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Felix was very knowledgeable. He was good at keeping the group together and the tour moving on time. He also was helpful with suggesting a good place for lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent because of our tour guide who was not only well informed but she was fun!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

this was an excellent tour and the guide was outstanding. the amount of uphill walking at the beginning of the first stop was really too much for some of us. It looked like some vehicles were allowed to at least drop off guests further up the hill.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Good trip
Good guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour stared on time and it was such a pleasure to take a break from Rome and go to Tivoli. I forgot the name of our tour guide, but she was fantastic. She is clearly very passionate about the history on the sights that we visited. On our arrival back in a Rome, she arranged with the driver to drop us off at Termini, which was far more convenient than having to walk from the official drop off point.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A visit to two significant sites - one Roman, one Renaisance - in beautiful Tivoli just outside Roma. The ruins of Hadrian's palace complex are vast but are indeed ruins. The d'Este villa and its famous fountained gardens are in great shape.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

very enjoyable with an excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Transportation was on time and efficient. Guide was very knowledgeable and eloquent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very knowledgeable guide, a great way to get away from the bustle of Rome for a day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Would have liked to have been picked up and dropped off at our hotel before and after trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

One of the outstanding events of our stay in Rome. The tour company meeting point for this day trip is near the Termini and easy to find. The tour bus is modern and comfortable with all the bells and whistles and a good audio system. The very best aspect of the trip was our guide, Signorina Carbonara (Vivianna) a fully credentialed archaeologist, with a perfect command of English, who was cheerful and energetic and responsive to endless questions. She also possesses pinpoint timing and got us through two major sites and Lunch without ever.seeming to be rushing or "herding" us. We arrived at the precise moment to hear the water-powered organ perform at Villa d'Este and arrived back in Rome at the designated time. Our group was congenial and the two sites not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful day out. Seeing the d'Este Villa was a dream come true. Absolutely splendid. Hadrian's Villa also splendid in a more distant way. It lasted just about the right amount of time for us to see everything. Our guide Rosella (Scarlett) was incredibly knowledgeable and sensitive to the needs of the members of the group. In fact on her recommendation I am now immersed in reading Hadrian's Memoirs. This is a highly recommended day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our travel director Elizabeth was the best, "To have her as part of your team your business can only reach new heights" It was a highlight to our visit to Italy. To all future visitors make sure you don't miss this tour. Thanks again Elizabeth. Love Tony and Tina Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good day tour. Our guide Viviana was a lovely and very knowledgeable guide who is a trained archeologist which helped our understanding of the sites very much. Well organised, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We did this tour and we had another wonderful guide, This was a very comprehensive tour of both Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este and the water gardens. We got to see everything we had hoped to see and even had time for a delightful lunch on our own in the lovely town of Tivoli. My only suggestion would be to have the tour company pick up at the hotel in the morning as another tour company did........as it would save an expensive cab fare.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

WOW! Hadrian's Villa is breathtaking in its sheer size, and Villa d'Este in its beauty and layout. We both have mobility issues, but Valentino made sure we saw everything (we were determined to once we saw the sites), and it was well worth the effort.

From USD $ 101.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058TIVOLI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message