Viewing All 323 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Glenn I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

While VERY costly it was well worth the money to see some of the more unique areas of the Vatican and to have the opportunity for a narrated and guided visit to the Sistine Chapel. They even allowed photographs to be taken in the chapel! Highly recommended.

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the highlight of the tours we took while in Italy. Not only did we get to see a lot of what the typical larger group tours saw, but we we shown so much more!!! Our guide in a professor there in Rome and he was absolutely amazing! His knowledge and storytelling outstanding! Not only did we get to see so many things not open to the public, but then to walk into the Sistine Chapel and have time alone to sit and admire the works was the best. They don't allow you to take photos while in the Sistine Chapal, but it's ok because you could never do it justice in an image anyway. Plus you can take photos every where else. I would do this again in a heartbeat!!! So glad we were able to do this. I suggest doing this tour on a Tuesday evening if possible and then going to the Papal Audience Wednesday morning.

Erica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Shannon was a great guide and this is a lovely tour if you want a little bit of luxury by not having a large crowd shuffling you through the Vatican museum and Sistine chapel. A full half and hour in the chapel with a guide who majored in fine art is lovely as well as viewing some private rooms and the Raphael rooms in a group of 12 was wonderful.

Bill P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful!

Jeanne Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

One of the best parts of our time in Rome. They deliver on the promise. No lines and many closed doors were opened for us. Saw parts of the Vatican that it is impossible to see otherwise. And it was our group alone in the Sistine Chapel. The guide was so excited to be sharing this treasure of a place, we learned so much.

Nina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Do this, it's the best!

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Worth every euro.

Tina M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow.....what an amazing opportunity to visit the Vatican Museum and then the private tour of the Sistine Chapel. Although this is the most expensive tour I have ever been on, it was worth the money. Our tour guide Shannon is an American living in Rome and was very knowledgeable and did an outstanding job leading us through the museum and Sistine Chapel, and just as the tour description states, we had a Vatican guard with us who took us to areas of the museum closed off to the public. Highly recommend this.

Francine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative guide.

Ed USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful experience! Our tour guide spoke perfect English because he was born and raised in the USA, yet he was superbly knowledgeable in his topic. He was also very thoughtful at all times and ensured my disabled wife and I were not left behind as happens with some tour guides. Having the run of the Sistine Chapel with only a few other people was a truly moving experience. For those disabled, though, watch out for all those Vatican stair cases, they can be difficult to navigate, but worth it.

Dan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was an amazing experience to be in the Sistine Chapel with only a few people. The tour guide was terrific! This is a must do tour! One I a lifetime experience. Book early!

suehut Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely magic and David was a wonderful guide

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was a professor at a local university, and he made this tour very fascinating. The vatican rooms were v. interesting, particularly the Sistine Chapel ceiling and the private rooms. We 12 people were the only ones in the Sistine Chapel, after hours, while our guide quietly enlightened us on its history of Michaelangelo creating his genius works of art there so long ago. The guide was the key to a very good experience for us. Highly recommended!

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Italy and Greece. I would recommend it to everyone.

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

bought this for my sister-in-law and her husband. They loved the tour! Excellent

lloyd h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was very, very hot the day we took the tour. It certainly was private, and places not open to the public.
Just wish it stated how much climbing and stairs their were. The guide was exceptional. My husband and I
Left the tour in the middle, just because the heat was unbearable. Hope someday to do it again in the winter.

LORI F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I'm embarassed to say that I don't recall our tour guide's name. He said he was an archeologist by trade and taught at the Univ. of Rome.
He was a brilliant man, discussing personal things about the characters her spoke of, which made the history come alive.

I've attended many, many tours over the years and this man was absolutely the best and most professional I've seen/heard. He spoke for 3 hours
with nary a pause. Out of 6 stars, I would give him a TEN!!


Rate your Rome trip!
I'm embarassed to say that I don't recall our tour guide's name. He said he was an archeologist by trade and taught at the Univ. of Rome.
He was a brilliant man, discussing personal things about the characters her spoke of, which made the history come alive.

I've attended many, many tours over the years and this man was absolutely the best and most professional I've seen/heard. He spoke for 3 hours
with nary a pause. Out of 6 stars, I would give him a TEN!!


Rate your Rome trip!
Our tour guide was the best and most professional I've ever had. He was absolutely stupendous!!
A ten out of 5 stars!!

Lori Findlay

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

excellent guide and tour. Best part is certainly being in Sistine chapel with no one else around. Bit pricey for a tour however.

Alan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The last tour of my recent trip and the best was saved for last. This is an amazing tour. David, our guide, was excellent - knowledgable, Professional and a lovely sense of humour. It really was a VIP tour with just nine of us in the Sistine Chapel after all the tourists had been ushered out. This really does allow you to take in all this famous Chapel has. Yes, the Vatican does have secret rooms which you are taken to see once the doors have been unlocked by a Vatican official. Obviously all this is with the very great support of the Vatican so much appreciation is due to them. So when in Rome do take this once in a life time opportunity!

Ben I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing!! We experienced the Sistine Chapel, as a group, alone. There were roughly 10 of us in our group that had the space to ourselves! Our tour guide was thoughtful and informative and she maneuvered our group expertly to avoid crowded corridors. Highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome!!

Kathleen I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was well worth the extremely high price. The special rooms of the Vatican were exceptional and in particular the Bramant Staircase and the Nicoline Chapel.

The guide was excellent and the highlight was the 30 minutes we had in the Sistine a Chapel with only our small group and also being allowed to take photos.

I would recommend this for anyone who does not enjoy the crowds and is really interested in seeing the art works.

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Honestly, the secret rooms outlined in this tour weren't that great, but what makes this tour is being able to be in the Sistine Chapel after everyone gets kicked out. It's a once in a lifetime feeling. Amazing.

Leonard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Definitely the only way to see the Sistine Chapel. We had about 12 people in our group and boy, it was worth every penny. At first I thought it was kind of pricey but when you experience the tour, you realize how well worth the tour is.

As our group entered the Sistine chapel, it was practically closing time for the rest of the public - we waited in a corner for about 10 minutes when the guards made an announcement for the public that it was closing time and that they needed to exit.

We were shocked in that once they left, our small group had the Sistine chapel all to ourselves to enjoy. Laura did a great job of sharing the history and pointing out every piece of artwork in the chapel. We had about 45 minutes all to ourselves to just take in the beauty of this place without anyone pushing us out the door.

I don't very many people have ever experienced seeing the Sistine Chapel this way. It was VIP treatment all the way.

César C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

this was by far my most favorite tour of my trip this summer! so worth the money to take this tour that took us to spaces in the Vatican that no one else was allowed! talk about feeling like a VIP! the tour guide really knew her stuff and seem to have a very personal connection with the spaces we visited and the staff there. The absolute highlight was the Sistine Chapel private viewing. We were ushered into the chapel while the rest of the crowd was being escorted out since it was closing and the viewing was timed for after hours. This gave us so much time to take in the all the wonderful art and history of the Sistine Chapel. There is no other way I'd rather see the Sistine Chapel than through this private tour!

daryl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and daughter had one of the best experiences of our life.
Our guide Laura was brilliant as we had the rare and amazing privilege of seeing private rooms at the Vatican and then a wonderful experience of having our group only in the Sistine Chapel.
Just a brilliant tour and could not recommend more highly.
Regards Daryl

Viewing 2 of 13

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 374.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICANVIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message