5 star rating: Highly Recommended 265 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 265 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the absolute highlight of our trip to Rome--my kid's favorite. Shannon was wonderful--very warm, accommodating, knowledgeable and professional. We learned so many things from her that we didn't know! We did the VIP tour of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and Secret Rooms, which are parts of the Vatican that the rest of the public are not seeing. One of the secret rooms was a tiny chapel just outside of a former bedroom of the Pope that is still used once or twice a year by the Pope for prayer. Our group was small 15 people, and we ended the tour with a private, after hours viewing of the Sistine Chapel. Normally it's wall to wall people when tourists visit, so this was amazing. We had the entire place to ourselves for about 30 minutes, and our escort was kind and allowed us to take photos see attached. Shannon told us many funny stories, esp. about Michaelangelo, the Popes and the other artists. This is an expensive tour, but worth every penny. Cannot recommend it highly enough

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour started at around 3:30 PM after passing the crowd into the Museum, going through screening, taking care of some requirements, and going to the bathroom :- It ended at around 6:30 PM. It was a good 3 hour tour, which I am so sad it is only 3 hours. Hehehe. There are just so much to see, to learn, and to absorb in the Musei Vaticani that I do not think 3 hours is enough. I want moooreeee...

We did visit all the secret rooms mentioned in the description of this tour, which were only allowed for certain groups. Our guide was Sev if I spell and pronounce his name correctly, and he is very very resourceful and knowledgeable. He can tell you the stories of almost everything you see in the Museum or what you want to know about Vatican.

We did have the Sistine Chapel for ourselves since we got there when the Museum is about to close. It was a good 15 - 20 minutes in there, only the 15 of us, seeing the frescoes drawn, painted by Michelangelo dressing the entire ceiling of the Chapel. I don't know about the others, but at least I saw them with my eyes popped up and my jaws dropped.

Please make sure you arrive on time for the tour. Otherwise you will definitely lose your money. You can bring umbrellas inside actually, but the small one that you can fold and put into your bag. The big ones are not recommended since you have to store them in the locker. You can also bring your medium size backpack, as long as it is not bulky or too big.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were 3 adults and 5 teenagers. The tour was everything stated. Our guide Shannon was extremely knowledgable, pleasant and very interesting. Our group ranged in age from 13 to 72 and everyone thought the tour was fantastic! Unbelievable access and it was incredible to be in the Sistine Chapel with only 15 people. Amazing!! Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth the high cost. Shannon was a knowledgable guide, and the access to areas of the museum and time in the otherwise empty Raphael rooms and Sistine Chapel were incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was amazing and most informative! He made every minute count and was extremely personal as well. His in depth knowledge of everything was very eye-opening and would give this tour with this guide especially the highest of recommendations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved both the tour and our tour guide. His knowledge was amazing and we received all the packaged promised! Only thing I would suggest - let the women know they have to cover their kneecaps!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Shannon our guide was personable, very knowledgable and a delight. The tour was nice and so great to get out of the crowds! The time in the Sistine Chapel was a treat - again no crowds! Another highlight was the time in the Raphael rooms. The tour is pricey but worth it. Big thumbs up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. Guide was very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really special. Tour guide Zeb did a great job bringing it all to life. Worth the (very high) price.

Drew
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent experience with Shannon as our guide on the private tour. We returned the next day for the Papal audience and did the regular tour in the afternoon so we could get into the Bascillica of St. Peter. We saw the difference of touring with the crowds and without them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was unbelievable! Our guide, David, was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining! we definitely felt that we were truly getting a tour that most people didn't even know about! I highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I hope you get David. It exceeded my expectations!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

5000 STARS!!!!! WOW!!!! This was one of the most incredible tours my wife and I have ever taken. Yes, it was expensive, but you definitely get you money's worth plus memories and insights that are truly priceless. Our tour guide, David, was a walking encyclopedia of Vatican knowledge and a comedian all wrapped up into one. He made the tour both fun and highly educational. From the visits to hidden recesses of the vatican to the intimate and priceless time in the Sistine Chapel with only our small group, I can only encourage you to take this tour above and beyond any other tour in Rome. Truly exceptional and outstanding.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was a little hesitant to book this because of the price but it was well worth it! Our guide Shannon was so knowledgeable she made art history fun. Our 10 year old was with us and talked for days about Michaelangelo, Raphael, etc.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely awesome! Worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly amazing tour and worth the extra money. We were able to visit areas others do not see. In addition, the extra time in the Sistine chapel with the tour guide being able to share information was incredible. David, our guide, was funny and informative. Saw so many details and visual illusions we would have missed without his information. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

After talking to other family members that had taken other tours of the Vatican, we realised how lucky we were to go on this VIP tour. We saw so many more parts of the Vatican than they did, we were not crushed by the crowds and the final part of the tour just blew us away. We were a group of 15 people and we had the Sistine Chapel to ourselves! Well worth every cent, thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excelent tour, exceôent guide, fantastic atmosphere. Really VIP tour.
Thank You very much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide, saw private rooms and the best part was the 1/2 hr. in Sistine Chapel with just our small group of about 18 people. Worth the money!
Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide. Very knowledgeable and personable. Would definitely recommend this tour without reservation. Spending a half hour with only fifteen others in the Sistine Chapel is spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

MAGNIFICENT!!
OUR TOUR GUIDE SHOULD DO ALL TOURS, HE WAS INCREDIBLY KNOWLEDGEABLE, CARING AND TOOK THE TIME TO ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS. I LOVED THIS TOUR AND I LOVED THE SECRET ROOMS BUT THE SISTINE CHAPEL TOOK THE CAKE. WHAT A GREAT SUPER TOUR, WORTH EVERY PENNY, DON'T HESITATE TO TAKE THIS TOUR.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing; the guide was greatly informed and very fun; but the best part was the visit to the exclusive areas, specially the "after hours" Sistine Chapel visit.

Mark P
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing. Seph our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, humorous, and courteous. The private tour in the Sistine was the very top of an extremely wonderful trip through Rome and Tuscany. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This such an amazing opportunity. I was so glad we had found this tour. We saw areas and exhibits the normal tourist does not see. BUT, the amazing part was just beginning. When the Sistine Chapel was closing and making people leave, we were there with a small group and guide. She was able to tell us about absolutely beautiful. I lost track of time. I would say we were there alone in the Chapel with 12 others and our guide for anywhere from 45-60 minutes. I would give up all other tours, just to be able to do this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent beyond expectation and worth the price of entry... Small semi-private tour literally the last one's in the whole museum... Sistine Chapel all to ourselves! Amazing!

From USD $ 378.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICANVIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message