5 star rating: Highly Recommended 195 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 195 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip and our guide was very possibly the best guide we have ever had and we've travelled quite a lot!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an experience of a lifetime and worth every cent. David, our guide was very impressive to the point that he knew we were from wine growing region in Australia. We saw all the highlights and the additional rooms were exquisite especially the Niccoline Chapel and David's commentary was both informative and amusing (even for our thirteen year old son). Thank you for a memorable start to our week in Rome!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was absolutely awesum and worth the extra expense. For most tourists seeing St Peters and the Sistine chapel is a once-in-a-lifetime event soooo go for it. Our guide was very knowledgeable, patient and willing to go that extra-bit
Thanks a lot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highlight of our time in Rome and worth every cent paid for this VIP tour. Seth (tour guide) was very knowledgable and the opportunity to visit several rooms not normally open to the public was fantastic. The mask room and the Nicoli chapel were particularly great. The time in the Sistern Chapel without crowds was wonderful. We went back without a tour a couple of days later - no where near as good with huge crowds and limited views of the items we were interested in revisiting. This tour is HIGHLY recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is so well worth the money! Fabulous guide (David) - and a small group in the extreme busyness of the Vatican made the experience so amazing. And yes, a private viewing of the Sistine Chapel - along with the private viewing of other rooms without other tourists - all so worth while! We all throughly enjoyed this tour and would definitely do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely the best. Worth the money. The only way to
See this venue .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an experience!!!! The tour guide Daniel was amazing and so warm and friendly. The private tour was beyond belief and we have recommended to several people already. The cost was worth every amount as having so much extra exposure to a beautiful place was increadible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Worth every dollar spent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide David was the most knowledgeable tour guide I have ever been with, he made our day and the tour very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked this tour as a family of 4 (2 teenagers 16 and 13). I was hesitant given the cost of this tour. But it is as all the other reviews before me have said, this is well worth the money. We were in Rome August 2014 and the lines and people at all of the various sites are massive and at times suffocating. This tour allowed us to see the Vatican Museum as a very small group (12) and we were for I would say 80 % of the tour in places just to ourselves. Our group had to be escorted the entire time by a Vatican staff because only he had the keys to unlock the various doors to the rooms no one else was allowed in. We saw rooms which were not open to the rest of the public and had the time to admire the incredible art completely to ourselves without having the jostle 200 people in front of us. But the best part is having the Sistine Chapel completely to ourselves. I kid you not. Our entire tour group of 12 plus our guide and the Vatican escort. That was it in the Sistine Chapel for about 40 minutes. We were able to hear our guide tell us the stories of the various panels and then just sit or walk around the entire chapel on our own. This is well worth every cent you pay. Our guide (a gentleman who I think his name is Tiber) was engaging, knowledgable and clearly loved the history of the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel). Thank you Tiber and Viator for organizing this tour. It truly was a highlight for us and we will never forget it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the most amazing experience. We were 11 of us plus the guide alone in the Sixtine Chapel for 30 minutes, and listening to our guide speak about it was marvelous. Then we walked back to leave and crossed a series of rooms completely empty. We also visited areas that are not open to the public. We had an outstanding guide, very knowledgable, excellent verbal skills. Expensive but totally worth it. If you like art and history, this is a treat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip. We enjoyed it so much that we went back the next day and took a regular tour. It made us realize how much more we got to see and experience with the small group tour. It was definitely worth the money, for the experience of a lifetime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic choice, we had a top class guide (Davide) and the access to rooms that others couldn't go to was an absolute plus. Would do this again in a heartbeat!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beyond insanely good!! The best experience we had on any tour. To be in the Sistine Chapel with only a handful of other people "after hours" was well worth the money spent for this tour. Once in a lifetime opportunity!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was the best of the four tours we took while we were in room. Our tour guide Tiffany seems to live and breath art history. We learned a great deal from this experience. Not only did she talk about the art, she set the stage of what what what happening in Rome socially, economically and politically at the time to really put things into context. She also knew the area very well and recommended some very nice restaurants in Rome. We highly recommend this tour....put in the request for Tiffany if possible.

From USD $ 418.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICANVIP

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message