5 star rating: Highly Recommended 176 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 176 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

THIS TOUR WAS THE BEST MY WIFE AND I HAVE EVER TAKEN. RACHEL OUR GUIDE WAS GREAT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour is worth every penny. Tiffany our tour guide was great, showed us a good mix of classical and renaissance works, for me the Niccoline chapel and Bramante's staircase were the highlights. Three hours which went very quickly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is an expensive tour so expectations were high. No disappointment though, well worth it. Our tour guide, Tiffany, was very knowledgable, very clear and encouraged questions from the group of nine people which she answered readily throughout. The Caravaggio painting, which I was keen to see, was not part of the tour due to time constraints, but as we got started quickly, Tiffany included it in the tour, giving an excellent overview of the painting and artist as well. An great bonus. The areas covered in this tour are not normally accessible and it was a pleasure and privilege to be able to see these artistic treasures and hear about them. Bramante's staircase and the views from it across the city of Rome - fantastic. The obvious highlight was the Sistine Chapel after the crowds had left. Tiffany provided an overview of the progress of Michelangelo's masterpiece, including interesting anecdotes, over the four and a half years he spent completing it. Wonderful. A once-in-a-lifetime treat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful tour, definitely not cheap but worth every penny! Our guide Shannon was terrific. She clearly has a deep understanding and passion for art history and that enthusiasm was contagious. She was engaging and informative, providing great insight into not just the artwork and rooms we were seeing but also history and insight into the artists themselves. The secret rooms we got to see were also a real treat and having the Sistine Chapel literally all to ourselves (just the ten of us in the group and Shannon) for over half an hour was an amazing way to finish the tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good, couldn't have been better. The guide was full of information and you knew she enjoyed what she did. First I thought the cost was a little high for the tour, but once you take this tour it's worth every dollar it cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was the most amazing part of our whole trip. It was beyond my expectations and this was in part to our tour guide Laura who spoke very good English and being a historian gave us an incredible amount of information. The meeting location was easy to find and being a small group easy to stay with. The tour was expensive but I will and have recommended it to friends that have plans to visit Rome because it was worth every penny. I had not even heard of Viator prior to our trip and was a little sceptical at first as to actually having a private viewing and the cost of it but it was the best decision I made about our trip. I will certainly book again with Viator for my next trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

One star for the tour in general. One star for all the secret rooms. One star for our guide Rachel, who was fabulous and two stars for having the private experience of the Sistine Chapel. Of all the tours I booked this was the best and most value for the money. A must regardless of your religious affiliation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Expensive, but worth every penny. The guide was very informative and gave us stories that we'll never forget. After the tour we went through the Vatican museum again, to view whatever we missed on the other tour. We were pleased to find out that the private tour covered it almost completely. We cannot think of anything they can do to improve.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my recent trip to Rome. Our tour guide, Shannon, was a personable and knowledgeable art historian, whose knowledge of renaissance art and also the history of the Vatican itself greatly enhanced the tour content. We were able to see many parts of the Vatican Museums normally off limits to tourists, like a significant Borromini staircase and a chapel with important Fra Angelico frescoes. We also viewed the Raphael rooms alone. But the highlight for me was a full half hour in the Sistine Chapel with our small group of ten people. Overall, I was impressed with the quality of the tour guide - and the VIP access was most definitely worth the price tag. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Fantastic tour and well worth the money. Tiffany was knowledgable and passionate. I felt she could have spent hours explaining the Vatican.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is a DO NOT MISS!!! Well worth every dime you spent on it. Our tour was ten people along with the tour guide and security guard. I have been on Vatican tours before with hundreds of people walking thru but this was just fantastic. Save up and do this one. You will not regret it at all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour. Rachel, our guide, was amazing. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed both of the Viator tours that we booked. Our guide for the Angels and Demons Tour, I believe his name was Massimo, was enthusiastic, funny and so much fun! The highlight of our first trip to Rome, however, was the incredible access given through the Sistine Chapel tour. Again, a fantastic guide, (Rachel?), who described everything in great detail. To have just ten of us, and two guides for over half an hour in the Sistine Chapel was truly priceless. We loved the tours and have already recommended them to friends!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was better than I expected. Our guide (Kimberly) was wonderful.

From USD $ 418.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICANVIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message