• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 162 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 162 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is a DO NOT MISS!!! Well worth every dime you spent on it. Our tour was ten people along with the tour guide and security guard. I have been on Vatican tours before with hundreds of people walking thru but this was just fantastic. Save up and do this one. You will not regret it at all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour. Rachel, our guide, was amazing. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed both of the Viator tours that we booked. Our guide for the Angels and Demons Tour, I believe his name was Massimo, was enthusiastic, funny and so much fun! The highlight of our first trip to Rome, however, was the incredible access given through the Sistine Chapel tour. Again, a fantastic guide, (Rachel?), who described everything in great detail. To have just ten of us, and two guides for over half an hour in the Sistine Chapel was truly priceless. We loved the tours and have already recommended them to friends!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was better than I expected. Our guide (Kimberly) was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was well worth the money. Our excellent guide took our small group through the Vatican Museum, a large part of which was having access to areas not available to the public. Of course the Sisteen Chapel to ourselves was the highlight. I remember Michelangelo's masterpiece, NOT the crowds that would otherwise have to go along with it. Perhaps a once in a lifetime experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a very nice tour and seeing the happiness on my adult daughter's face being able to stand under this work was worth the expense and that you can spend 30-45 minutes alone with a total of 12 people max was also great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

One of the Best tours I have ever taken. The Guide was Wonderful ! However, the Vatican Guard was Extremely Rude. He kept telling people not to take his picture yet he would stand in front of the very item people wanted to photograph ! Then he would take out his cell phone and photograph museum items as if he was on tour !!
Get a new guard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

great tour except for the end part, the guide told us to go around to see st peters but we were stopped and told we had to exit and stand in line for another 2 hours to get into st peters, we could not find our guide to remedy the situation, part of our group went directly to st peters, others had to exit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Expected it to be a great tour but it turned out to be awesome and worth the extra money to see the private rooms and also spend time alone in the Sistine chapel. To top it off, our guide Rachael ( we are pretty sure that is her name, but you can check as you probably don't have too many archaeologists who are Irish) - was excellent and made the tour even better. We have highly recommended this tour to other friends and family and it was a stand out in our minds in a standout city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Wonderful tour. Worth every penny. Exceptional tour guide and visiting Sistine Chapel after the public left, with only your small tour group was an experience of a lifetime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Cost a lot but worth every penny. Shannon was a good guide, be nice to the Vatican security guard that comes along, he has the keys.

The group meets at steps next to the Vatican Cafe. DO NOT GO INTO THE CAFE. It is the most expensive rip off in Rome. You have been warned. Pick a new place to meet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I am an art and history addict. This tour exceeded my expectations. I read a review on Trip Advisor strongly reccommending this tour. It was difficult to swallow the cost given we are a family of 4. But I chalked it up to a once-in-a-lifetime experience, which it delivered. Our guide was engaging, knowledgeable and patient. She often pulled in my children (2 boys ages 7 and 13; hard core sports kids with a slight interest in art) as part of the tour. I get tingly recalling the tour for this review. Being in the Sistine Chapel with 9 other people for 30 minutes; able to speak freely with our guide, ask questions and study the masterpiece is truly priceless. The icing on the cake was the tour of the museum to help us identify important artifacts in the Vatican's vast collection. She also called out graffiti by Michaelangelo, Da Vinci and historical figures which we never would have caught combing through the museum alone. Visiting exclusive areas closed to the general public with unique views of Rome and St. Peter's makes our photos special and memorable. Thank you for offering this tour. One thing to note, since we were leaving after hours, we did not have the opportunity to shop in the gift shop. For some of us, it was the only time we were near the Vatican. So it was a bit of a disappointment. But I made the time to taxi back for gifts for friends and had the chance to see St. Peter's, which is also not part of this tour. It was also well worth the extra effort.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This private viewing is very expensive, but worth every single penny! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It was awesome that we were able to spend 30 minutes in the Sistine Chapel by ourselves and enjoyed the artwork in private in addition to visiting some of the "secret" rooms that were not open to public. Make sure to call and confirm your booking with the local tour operator as soon as you arrive Rome to find out the exact meeting spot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was amazing! Best thing I did. Shannon, our guide, was extremely knowledgable and was able to answer any questions we had. I would take this tour again just for the fact of having private time in the Sistine. It is a fascinating tour and well worth the price.

robert b
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing, being in such a small group wandering around the Vatican. Even if you don't see that much, having photo's showing no one else around, not having to fight to see something and hear the tour guide. Wow. amazing photo's, best and well worth it. A Must do tour in Rome

From USD $ 436.05

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VATICANVIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message