• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 133 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rotorua, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 133 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus driver darren was so funny the maori performance and dance was teary for me for a kiwi who now lives overseas the hangi was devine well worth it will recommend it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was just the very best. The knowledge of the people involved, the entertainment - beautiful voices, and the food, was just wonderful. Thankyou for all your hard work, your friendliness - especially our bus driver and thankyou for sharing all the knowledge of your people with us. We appreciated all three tours very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

a truely wonderful experience!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great culture experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A fantastic maori experience. The village is beautifully set up and you can even take part in some of the Maori traditions! Plenty of food and desserts at the end after you have enjoyed some real maori entertainment

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing, from beginning to end!

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Listening to the Maori history from arrival in New Zealand and Rotorua together with the respect for the land, the predecessors and the future was interesting. The welcome by the Chief and village members was warm on a cold and chilly night. The entertainment provided gave an insight into the traditions, dance and song was great. Well recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I highly recommend this tour. Great, authentic Maori experience and a FABULOUS meal. I would go again.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a wonderful night right from the very start when we were picked up from our hotel by a very entertaining coach driver Mark. It was rather wet, but this did not hamper the traditional greetings and the visit round the village. We then moved inside a large hall where more traditions were explained through dances and displays. Some visitors were given lessons in how to perform the haka. Next we moved to the fire pit where the hangi dinner was being cooked, the food was delicious and cooked to perfection. We had a choice of Lamb and Chicken, with potatoes and sweet potatoes. There were further choices available once we were in the dining area. The dessert was just as good as the main meal. It was a very memorable night and I would like to thank everyone who made our evening so enjoyable.

Sauly
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What an evening with Tamaki Tours , our guide/driver "DAZZA " who says his nickname was given to him by Aussies as I am a Aussie must give comment was a blast of entertainment before we even arrived at the Maori Village for our culture tour , show and fabulous Hangi Dinner , fully worth every dollar spent on this tour booking. Great hospitality , great food and great learning experience to get a little piece of the Maori culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Very interesting as we learn the in-dept knowledge of the Maori culture. Kia Ora!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My wife and I visited the Tamaki Maori village in February 2013. We both had a fantastic evening and were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up from our hotel in the tour bus by a Maori lady, who was a real character. She didn't stop talking and telling us all about the Maori and the local area and teaching us their language for the whole journey. She also put a big emphasis on everyone being friends, so we all had to introduce ourselves to each other. We also had to nominate a 'chief' from our bus to 'confront' the Maori tribe. At the village we were treated to a traditional welcome ceremony and haka, with our chiefs and the rest of us welcomed into the village. In the village we went around each hut and took part in various traditional games and activities, which were great fun. After watching our dinner being pulled from the ground, we trooped into the chief's ceremonial lodge for an hour or so of traditional entertainment, consisting of singing and dancing. Then we made our way to the dining hall, where we enjoyed our hangi dinner, which was very tasty and there was plenty to eat. The journey home was very entertaining - each country was asked to sing a song from their country, karaoke style! The whole evening was very entertaining and informative and we had a great time. However, it is very interactive, so don't expect to just sit and watch - you will be asked to join in, so if you're not happy being the centre of attention or singing in a bus load of people, then you'll probably feel a little uncomfortable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Not to be missed. Enjoyed learning about the Maori people and Culture. The food was very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent. The experience gave us a real understanding of the Maori culture and showed how they are a warm and hospitable people. The location, food, dancing and displays were memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

So much fun, great food, great hosts, very entertaining

Special Offer

From USD $ 97.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2295HANGI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message