Insider's Guide to Rotorua

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 246 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Colin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great fun. Cheeky without being tacky. Excellent introduction to Maori culture and people, and to be accepted as a friend of the Tamaki family.

Scott Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great food, great entertainment and very informative.

Zigrida D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was excellent. We learnt about the Maori culture using a fascinating format. We saw Maori dance, songs, weaving, games, weapon making and general cultural experiences. We saw the hangi dinner being made and had our dinner at the village . Our driver had great experience and was very knowledgeable and passionate about his culture. I would recommend this tour.

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Maori dinner/performance was amazing. Great entertainment by the bus driver, I would highly recommend this whole experience. My boys just loved the interaction at the village itself. Gave you a good insight into the culture of the Maori people.
I would not hesitate to return and recommend this to others.
10/10

Jade I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Highly recommend!!!!!! My partner and I want to go back to NZ but stay with the tribe for a night. They were so incredibly welcoming, the food was amazing, and we learnt a fair bit. One of the best things we did while in NZ.

kathysapp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We spent a month touring Australia and New Zealand, and this was one of our very favorite excursions!

Alison C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Highlight of Rotorua, exceptional staff, quality of food and cultural activities.

Tracey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

such a professional slick performance, those involved are passionate and caring and it really shows. Food was good and plenty of it. We were not too keen on the alcoholic punch, didnt think it had any alcohol in it and was quite pricy. Apart from that this was certainly a highlight of our trip, the bus driver was an added extra - top marks to all :-

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fabulous bus driver named Mark! His Maori name has 56 letters...so, Mark! He is very entertaining and a fabulous linguist!

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Went 5 years ago and felt this trip much better organised enabling you to see more displays. Food very good too. All staff extremely friendly and welcoming

Brittany J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a lovely evening at the Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance. The Maori were gracious hosts who freely shared their culture with us. And on top of that, the dinner was delicious! I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone travelling in New Zealand.

Ben W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a blast! The experience was very educational and entertaining. Our hosts were fantastic!!

Teresa S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a wonderful experience, shared with 2 of my Adult children, we were willing well somewhat willing participants in different demonstrations, the information received about the culture and the way presented was great, loved the singing/dancing, the Hungi, fantastic food was well organised and presented, with such a large group there was plenty of food plus for all.

richardgravells

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is by far the best thing that I did in New Zealand. It is very cultural, taking you back in history when the first European settlers encountered the Maori. There are a lot of work shops and games to play before an excellent dance show with the 'Haka', then a grand dinner buffet. The Lamb here is by far the best that I have ever eaten.

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an extremely enjoyable evening. Driver and guides were extremely entertaining and engaging - I laughed so hard my ribs hurt! Food was tasty, and the insight into the culture was very valuable.

Corrye S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was fabulous. Greatly enjoyed learning about the culture. Wonderful experience. Very delicious food. Great interaction between the villagers and the tourist. Very informative.

JC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome experience highly recommended and a great performance and meal.

neil h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great Night

gchasebc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The native tour bus driver was hilarious and the welcome ceremony along with the interactive cultural activities were very informative. We enjoyed the dancing and singing performance. The meal was truly a feast.

Katrina Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good experience

Angela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Cannot recommend this experience enough. The respect, the culture, the whole trip was something beyond our expectations.
Fun multicultural singing on the bus finished the night on an all time high.
Thank You so very much.

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic evening of learning about the moari culture and great food. The trip to and from our hotel was lots of fun with our coach driver Dennis.

Dina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic evening. Brillant combination of a cultural experience and also a heap of fun. Highly recommend.

susan d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

excellent the bus driver gave us a good laugh the show and food was great

Stephan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very enjoyable experience.
Driver was very friendly and immediately started telling us what was going to happen.
The performance and the food were excellent.
We learnt alot about the Maori Culture.
Return trip was also very enjoyable because the driver entertained us all the way

Viewing 2 of 10

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Special Offer
$82.36 Save $12.36

From USD $ 70.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2295HANGI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message