Viewing All 223 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

yetshyan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Very interesting as we learn the in-dept knowledge of the Maori culture. Kia Ora!!

Dr Adam J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My wife and I visited the Tamaki Maori village in February 2013. We both had a fantastic evening and were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up from our hotel in the tour bus by a Maori lady, who was a real character. She didn't stop talking and telling us all about the Maori and the local area and teaching us their language for the whole journey. She also put a big emphasis on everyone being friends, so we all had to introduce ourselves to each other. We also had to nominate a 'chief' from our bus to 'confront' the Maori tribe. At the village we were treated to a traditional welcome ceremony and haka, with our chiefs and the rest of us welcomed into the village. In the village we went around each hut and took part in various traditional games and activities, which were great fun. After watching our dinner being pulled from the ground, we trooped into the chief's ceremonial lodge for an hour or so of traditional entertainment, consisting of singing and dancing. Then we made our way to the dining hall, where we enjoyed our hangi dinner, which was very tasty and there was plenty to eat. The journey home was very entertaining - each country was asked to sing a song from their country, karaoke style! The whole evening was very entertaining and informative and we had a great time. However, it is very interactive, so don't expect to just sit and watch - you will be asked to join in, so if you're not happy being the centre of attention or singing in a bus load of people, then you'll probably feel a little uncomfortable!

lindaappo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Not to be missed. Enjoyed learning about the Maori people and Culture. The food was very good

Edward Philip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent. The experience gave us a real understanding of the Maori culture and showed how they are a warm and hospitable people. The location, food, dancing and displays were memorable.

ccburton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

So much fun, great food, great hosts, very entertaining

moongazy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very friendly, informative and the food was great!!

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our whole evening, from the bus driver who picked us up, through the show and hangi meal. We learned a lot about the Maori people, which we knew very little about, and developed a high respect for their culture. Thanks for making it such a great family event for us!

Theresa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We had a great time
It was very interesting
The Maori people involved us in the evening
The food was awesome
The only slightly negative thing was we felt rushed to leave at the end

Jim and Janet USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Fun evening and another entertaining tour bus driver (Florence). This was a well-orchestrated combination of educational demonstrations, fabulous dancing, and good food.

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Had an absolute ball. We were treated very well and learnt a lot about Maori Culture. Loved the performance, hangi and local hospitality especially Aroha our bus driver. Highly recommended and a must for tourists. Very good value for money and would definitely do this again if I had the chance to.

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very well organised by a fantastic crew. Performance was brilliant. Great insight into their culture. Hangi food was exceptional and plentiful. Sing song on the bus home with Dennis was very memorable!

Iowa travelers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was fun, educational and entertaining, and the food was great also. Glad we signed up to do this. The bus driver that picked us up at the hotel was very personable and talked about what we were going to see so we knew what to expect. He made the ride out fun!

Amanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Really wonderful. Do not miss this.

Linda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Good food, overall entertainment and insight into Maori culture.

Janet A W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Absolutely fabulous trip, not to be missed. Excellent food, concert and even a very entertaining coach trip (thanks to Gnuta).....brilliant

Xandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Definitely a great introduction to the beautiful Maori culture. A MUST.

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

An excellent trip -enjoyed every minute of it. The coach driver was brilliant - she encouraged everyone to join in right from the outset. the Maori village, feast and show were outstanding.
I would highly recommend this trip - a not to be missed occasion.

Herbert J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Amazing show! Really money's worth..

Laura G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Absolutely fantastic! A definite must do when in the area. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming - an amazing evening.

Carole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

fantastic night. great hospitality, bus drivers were fantastic.

S J O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The bus trip was a hoot - both ways. The performance was interactive, educational and highly entertaining. And the food was plentiful and delicious. Thoroughly recommended!!

Simon G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Very nice night out. Would really recomend. They give you alot of insight into the Maori way of life and the food was really good to!

IAIN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Could not have been better

Marianne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Superb Experience!
It is highly entertaining and instructive! everyone is so warm and welcoming! Felt very privileged to learn more about this wonderful nation.

Rakesh A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Fantastic experience. Our driver was highly entertaining, the mock village was surreal, and the food was ample. The Maori culture is really brought alive, and you feel very much like you're in Polynesia. Would recommend this to anyone!

Viewing 5 of 9

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 78.51

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2295HANGI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message