5 star rating: Highly Recommended 173 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rotorua, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 173 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This was a great opportunity to experience the Maori culture, and the food was great too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We were a bit apprehensive about this, thinking it might be too touristy, but were delighted by the humour, dignity and professionalism of the participants as well as the delicious food - I refuse to confess how many helpings of pavlova I ate.

Big Dog
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This is one of the best trips I have ever done in Rotorua. I've done a hangi and concert in Rotorua before, about 20 years ago (back when hangi and concerts used to be staged in hotel conference rooms), and this was a million times better. The setting in the bush was fantastic, especially with the light of the setting sun through the trees. The concert was great, and the food from the hangi was fantastic, really good, typical hangi food. Remember to save some room for the steam pudding after dinner, there is nothing like steam pudding cooked in a hangi! I can thoroughly recommend this trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The show was entertaining and the food was very good. Was told this particular excursion was much better than the dinner and performance that's given in certain hotels.

SHARON F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was an a fantastic experience, learning Maori culture. We were made to feel really welcome & the whole experience was great. The food was very yummy as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent evening. Only criticism is that we did not have enough time to go around and see all the different skills before going for the meal.

Carmen M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

It was extremely enjoyable and very informative, especially for the young children to learn the culture of the Maori, and the bus driver was entertaining and amusing. She made our journey most enjoyable. Recommend it highly.

Leah T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The Rotorua Maori Hangi was brilliant! Everything from the very enthusiastic bus driver right through to the delicious dinner! Would highly recommend to all!

Michele W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a fantastic night. It started with a great bus driver called Darren who got us all in the mood for a fantastic night. The Maori greeting was excellent, the village was fun and interactive and the food was excellent. This was worth every cent!

Drynene M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

We had a great time. Kids enjoyed the village and show. Well worth it.

Noel F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Well worth the money, bus trip was half the fun, great driver. Showed insight into Maori culture and extremely well presented. Oh, GREAT FOOD.

Ria C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Great night with a great meal to top it all off! The tour is well organised and the performance is great! A great insight into the Maori culture!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Great guides and a very informative tour about Maori traditions and culture. Excellent.

HUGO G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Wow, an absolutely amazing tour. The bus journey was absolutely superb - the driver had the best sense of humour I have come across for a while - I will never forget the roundabout - not going to tell you what that is in case they do it again! The best part of the tour was the welcome to the village done in traditional Maori style. The show was good but quite short and the food was fairly standard. There were a couple of good but not 'in your face' shops.

Karl F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Great food, great people, great atmosphere. Thanks for a great Maori hangi experience!

John E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

A Very entertaining evening overall, even including the bus pickup. Our Driver was a real laugh. Thanks Heaps.

WILLIAM M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

We were collected and returned to the door of our B and B. Made to feel very welcome, good food and company, a great evening.

Arthur R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

There was only one misunderstanding as we were staying at a hotel out of town with the same name as one in town and the driver was sent to the wrong one. This should be borne in mind by the staff reading e-bookings and confirming with guests.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

It was an enjoyable evening. The food and entertainment was good. The bus driver was fantastic.

Kylie M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had the best time here at the Tamaki Maori Concert and Hangi. It was one of the highlights of our whole NZ experience. Out bus driver who was part of the whole experience was amazing! Entertaining, informative, funny and a whole lot of fun. The ceremony was very interesting and the whole experience certainly opened my eyes to a culture I knew very little about. I have come away more open. The food was delicious and so much of it. You won't come away hungry from this one! The village is set up so you can see more of the tradition and how things were done. There are a couple of little shops so you can bring some of the experience home. I had 2 teenage sons with me and they loved it just as much as I did. The bus ride back to the hotel again with Mark was a whole lot of fun and you really feel like part of the experience and that you are really valued. I couldn't recommend this more highly. Excellent!!! Well worth the money and also not having to worry about driving there and back as you get picked up from wherever you are staying in Rotorua. Again, excellent!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Only draw back was the weather - It was a cold and windy evening and the first part is held outside. Perhaps visitors could be told to take something warm. I had on a t-shirt and sweatshirt with a fleece lined windbreaker and could have used gloves and a hat. Fortunately the rain did not come until after we were inside.

Susan B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Very well organised, super evening. Rush to eat food as all on plate at same time, but lots of it.

Barry F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The tour was one of the highlights of our holiday. The concert and hangi were amazing. Definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

An educational and pleasant experience.

Robert P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A thoroughly professional educational experience, conducted by extremely friendly people. The Hangi was first class.

From USD $ 82.48

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2295HANGI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message