4.5 star rating: Recommended 136 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very, very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Very Fun!

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was an informative, fun and totaly original experience. Suitable for any age. your journey starts on a little train, then you take the slide into the heart of the mine. The audio guide is really interesting and visual effects add to the experience. Mirror lake is stunning, the ceilings reflection actually looks like a floor until the boat moves through it. We had young and old on our tour and it was equally enjoyed by all. The tour guide on the coach too and from the salt mine was excellent, informative and amusing. I would highly recommend this to anyone

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Loved this tour, the salt mines tour is a must.

MIKE ROYCROFT
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Excellent, the guide was super friendly and the tour was to expectations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

My wife and i took this trip and had a great day. Our guide was fantastic and made it all the more enjoyable. It didntl; feel too long and the scenery was great. It was helpfull that they collected us and dropped us back to the hotel afterwards. we would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Very nice tour. Guide was great in pointing out places and talking about the area. Salt mine tour was nice. Stop in Berchtesgaden was very nice, long enough to eat at a restaurant. Please be aware though that even if tour picks you up at your hotel, they do not return you to hotel. You must walk or make other arrangements.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Our teenage boys had a great time and it was really fun for all of us. Highly recommend going.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Interesting and fun wrapped up in one package!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

It was a perfect experience. The train trip into the mine, the sleigh rides there were two and the short boat trip on salt were fantastic to us. We had our 11-year-old son with us and he had an absolutaley fantastic time. It was probably the most amazing experience he had had during our stay in Salzburg. When I applied for this tour, I doubted whether the sleigh ride would be dangerous but there was nothing dangerous at all, even for toddlers. It is a place people who are planning to visit Salzbug should definetely see. However, on the way back to Salzburg we dropped by a small beautiful town called Berchtesgaden. We had only 40 minutes to visit the town and have lunch. So, it wasn't enough at all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I went on this tour to the salt mines four years ago and since they have totally renovated it. I would have recommended it before halfway, but with all the new fixes and totally new buildings I say this is a must do! Especially with older kids or for those in technicalscientific professions. But don't worry, everyone enjoys a different part---especially the slides!!!

Nihal F
Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Very nice tour. Guide was good, and as the day was good we got a clear view from far away of the Eagles Nest as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Loved this tour! Began with nice description of Salzburg as we were headed toward the countryside. The drive was beautiful and the tour was a lot of fun. I don't know if I understand how salt is mined but we still had a lot of fun!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

It was very fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I loved going into the salt mines, especially going down the slide! Highly recommend for kids and adults too!

From USD $ 60.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message