4.5 star rating: Recommended 139 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 139 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

It was very fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I loved going into the salt mines, especially going down the slide! Highly recommend for kids and adults too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Our family had a wonderful time on the Salt Mine tour! The slide is a great thrill for all ages! We have had excellent service from Viator. We were stuck in London for 2 days and they graciously accommodated us by changing the day of the tour with ease. We truly appreciate the helpful attitude of the entire staff!

Michael P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very good trip, the substantial Salt-mine section was excellent - very interesting with some very good, unexpected, fun aspects

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We enjoyed this tour. This tour was a combined Eagles Nest and Saltmine Tour, the bus dropped us off at the Saltmine, while the others went on to Eagles Nest. To enter the saltmine we had to wear very ugly overalls, which were very funny but kept our clothes clean. To reach the mine we rode on a little train into the mountain and then slid down a long wooden slide to the depths of the mine. This was great fun. There were two slides during the tour. Our miner tour guide spoke little English and pressed a button for the English commentary at each stop in the mine and after it was over called dis vay and strode on ahead. Some of the tunnels were damp under foot. The displays explained how the salt was mined, which was an interesting surprise others were about salt itself or the machinery used. The return to the surface was via a funicular elevator and then a return train trip. You can purchase photos taken while on the slide and train ride and there is an extensive shop. We waited outside for our bus to return to collect us. The bus returned and took us to Obersalzburg to meet the group returning from Eagles Nest. There is a shop at Obersalzburg where you can buy souvenirs of Eagles Nest. The scenery is very impressive. There was a lunch stop at Berchtesgaden before a return to Salzburg.

Diane P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A fantastic trip. The slide in the salt mine was brilliant. It made you feel like a child all over again. Highly recommended!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Had a great and fun tour. The guides were excellent..

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Very interesting and lots of fun on the train, slides and boat ride.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Sometimes I felt like they went into too much detail about how the salt is mined, but that could have just been me. The slide going down was a lot of fun, and the boat ride was incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This is great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

My son and I had a great time on this tour. Great for kids and adults.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour. Lots of fun, especially the slides! The tour company was wonderful.

Eyad A
Bahrain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Don't miss this tour. It was really exciting.

Ross M
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A real experience, and educational as well. Nice train trip into the mountain and tour through aspects of the mine - audio guide at the various sections with several language options. Nice boat trip on an underground brine lake. Sliding down the wooden rails was a real buzz - WHEEEE!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

I was lucky to have a clear sunny day after a couple days of snowy weather, so the scenery was absolutely amazing. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The salt mines were a lot of fun--especially the slide and boat ride. I would definitely recommend this tour.

From USD $ 60.96

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message