Insider's Guide to Salzburg

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 178 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kym C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We enjoyed this tour. This tour was a combined Eagles Nest and Saltmine Tour, the bus dropped us off at the Saltmine, while the others went on to Eagles Nest. To enter the saltmine we had to wear very ugly overalls, which were very funny but kept our clothes clean. To reach the mine we rode on a little train into the mountain and then slid down a long wooden slide to the depths of the mine. This was great fun. There were two slides during the tour. Our miner tour guide spoke little English and pressed a button for the English commentary at each stop in the mine and after it was over called dis vay and strode on ahead. Some of the tunnels were damp under foot. The displays explained how the salt was mined, which was an interesting surprise others were about salt itself or the machinery used. The return to the surface was via a funicular elevator and then a return train trip. You can purchase photos taken while on the slide and train ride and there is an extensive shop. We waited outside for our bus to return to collect us. The bus returned and took us to Obersalzburg to meet the group returning from Eagles Nest. There is a shop at Obersalzburg where you can buy souvenirs of Eagles Nest. The scenery is very impressive. There was a lunch stop at Berchtesgaden before a return to Salzburg.

Diane P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A fantastic trip. The slide in the salt mine was brilliant. It made you feel like a child all over again. Highly recommended!

Minita M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Had a great and fun tour. The guides were excellent..

Pamela J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Very interesting and lots of fun on the train, slides and boat ride.

Kristi N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Sometimes I felt like they went into too much detail about how the salt is mined, but that could have just been me. The slide going down was a lot of fun, and the boat ride was incredible.

Mary gail G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This is great.

CRISTYL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

My son and I had a great time on this tour. Great for kids and adults.

Jason G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour. Lots of fun, especially the slides! The tour company was wonderful.

Eyad A Bahrain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Don't miss this tour. It was really exciting.

Ross M New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A real experience, and educational as well. Nice train trip into the mountain and tour through aspects of the mine - audio guide at the various sections with several language options. Nice boat trip on an underground brine lake. Sliding down the wooden rails was a real buzz - WHEEEE!!

Karen F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

I was lucky to have a clear sunny day after a couple days of snowy weather, so the scenery was absolutely amazing. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The salt mines were a lot of fun--especially the slide and boat ride. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Gareth W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

This was a great trip; informative and loads of fun. Highly recommended!

Karen M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

The salt mine part of the tour was lots of fun! My kids loved it. The Bavarian mountains were beautiful. I learned a lot on this tour.

John P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

The excursion was both informative and enjoyable. It was a very interesting tour that made us aware of little known facts of how salt is mined. Once in the mine, the tour guide mostly spoke German, however he gave ample time to the English version played separately at each location visited. Be prepared to walk and some stairs but nothing overly strenuous. Definitely different, but enjoyable

Nadja J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Our guide was hilarious and had us in stitches. I have been to Bertchesgaden before and visited the salt mines. On the way back, we stopped at the actual town and were given a perfect amount of time to get a meal and some chocolates shaped like mountains, which are only made there. Good trip!

Michael V Bermuda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

Excellent in all respects. Kept my boys 11, 4 and 2 captivated.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Great fun. Great for the whole family - the slide was fantastic.

Agnes L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Interesting experience at the salt mine . Worth the trip. However the Bavarian Mountains visit was just a stop over at a half way mountain road for a photo shoot and much time spent at the souvenir shop which I felt could have been replaced with a further trip to the mountain view.

Aleksandrs J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great Tour, but it was a bit to long, would have been better if we skipped the break in town and sites and just went for the cave

Leanne V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

a great tour - a little more time in the mine would have been good though. enjoyed the drive, commentary and stops to view the fantastic scenery.

Mark S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and well run tour. Commentary in languages other than German were via an electronic audio guide.

Thomas K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour of itself was really interesting and entertaining. Our guide, Gunther, was also quite amusing. The only drawback was the poor organization of the transport at the Panorama Home Station. It really appeared as if they were not capable of getting the right people on the right bus on time. Once we departed, it was as enjoyable as we had hoped. As an example: I had purchased the morning tour for 6 people. They had us booked on the afternoon tour. Once corrected, we stood around waiting for our bus which never arrived. Instead the passengers for the Sound of Music tour were offloaded, and we took there bus. Customers weree confused as no real information was forthcoming...and tempers flared. Still the tour was very much worthwhile.

bj4449

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Salt mines were fun. Tour felt rushed, almost did not want us to take a toilet break. Then only 10 minutes after tour for gift shop and toilette if needed. I could have done without the twisting and winding mountain road to get a very short peak at Eagles Nest.

Carroline C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good, enjoyed the slide down although very scary. Tour guide very informative. Thanks Panorama for a great Salzburg experience

Mindy Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was an exciting experience. Our bus guide, Walter was very knowledgable and pleasantly humorous. The mines tour was interesting although the audio in English did not work so well. The picture for 5.00 is a bit pricey.

Viewing 4 of 8

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 57.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message