4.5 star rating: Recommended 143 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 143 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The salt mines tour was excellent. Our bus guide (Walter) was a delight as well as our dirver. Small complaint: we thingk we could have done without the stop and spent more time driving in the mountains.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent tour. Well worth the visit!!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Unfortunatly the day we done the trip it was very misty so we couldnt see much in the mountains.
The Salt Mines were brilliant though, we had a lot of fun going down the slides.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

A very enjoyable tourist day..well worth while.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

There were three of us...We thought this was great fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very interesting! Had fun and learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was a fun tour for our family, children ages 5 and 7. The tour guide was great fun and the tour of the Salt Mines was interesting. The pace of the Salt Mines tour was perfect, but the guide did not speak English so we had headset which my children found fun to wear. They also liked wearing the mining outfits.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

I really enjoyed the salt mine tour as well as the drive through the Bavarian mountains and would even do this tour again if I am lucky enough to go back to Salzburg. It is a bit cool once you get into the mine, so I would recommend a sweatshirt or light jacket to wear underneath the coveralls they give you. The only reason I didnt give the tour five stars was because of the stop at Berchtesgaden, Germany. You only get 45 minutes, but the tour guide recommends you stop for lunch at one of the cafes. Knowing how slow European restaurants are at least compared to the US, I went directly to one of the cafes so I would have the full 45 minutes. Well, that was not even enough time! The food had just started to come out when the 45 minutes were up and we were all due back at the bus. We asked the waitresses to wrap up our food, and not knowing that I understand a bit of German, the waitresses started complaining about Americans. So, during the stop in Berchtesgaden I would highly recommend that you just stroll through town and maybe get a snack I know there was an ice cream vendor around. Trying to go to a caf is not only stressful but a huge waste of time!

John T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Really enjoyed the trip, very good value for money.

Haydon O
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The tour was good fun!

Emma E
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Salt mines was very interesting, the English during the toor was a little diffiocult and quet as it was played via speakers whilst the German guide was talking. Fantastic drive to the mountain, and great viewing oportunity! Little village we visited after was lovely and can get some great photos of the Alps. Our driver was very good and infrmative and his English was perfect!

Wendy V
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

fun, but the tour guide didn't have patience for "english" tourists. At times we weren't warned our taped explanations were starting and standing in the wrong area to hear. But it was interesting and fun!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Much better than 20 years ago! This time with the kids, and it was the number one part of their trip.

Lisa B
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Really enjoyed this. Recommend bringing packed lunch and using allotted lunch hour to look around the town instead. Beautiful scenery in Bavarian mountains, would be better if we were given an opportunity to get out and take pics. Slides were great fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The tour to the Salt Mine and also a view of "Eagle's Nest" was fun. Our tour guide was very nice and he interacted well with all on the tour.

Jana S
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

I really enjoyed the mine tour. The train ride was quite an experience, and the boat through the mine was breathtaking! The tour is very rushed, and it's difficult to know what is going on if you don't speak German. The tour is given by a German guide in German, but there are stations set up with recorded voices in different languages to accommodate everyone else. The guide does not wait for you, and continues through the mine without you if you chose to listen. The recordings start after the guide finishes the German version.

Our bus was 20 minutes late to pick up the group, which threw the whole tour off schedule. We dropped off individuals on a tour of Eagles Nest first, which made our tour even later. Our bus driver took us to the mines and was quite impolite and was telling us to hurry up or we would miss the tour. It was him who was late. We stopped to take one picture of us in our mining outfits and were scolded by the bus driver telling us we were already late. Other than the tour company being late, the mine tour is definitely worth doing. It was great fun!

Melvine M
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

I loved the trip from Salzburg up the mountain. It was an amazing drive. I also liked the two slides in the mines; they were quite fun. The guide was very funny. I would recommend this tour to others.

John Y
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The tour in the actual salt mines was a little rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Good enjoyable trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour was awesome. My only suggestion would be to lengthen the time in Berchtesgaden if possible.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Hotel pickup did not mean hotel drop off too, for some stupid reason, and this left us needing to pay extra to get back to our car! We weren't even staying at the hotel! We just picked it as a convenient location as the website states to do! Not impressed.
The actual salt mine tour was great, just not with this tour.
Also note that the Eagles nest part of the tour is rubbish - you just see it from many hundreds of feet below!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This trip is worth the time and money for the beautiful scenery and the mine experience. However, I rated it as a 3 because the "guide" was disinterested, unenthusiastic and boring, and only seemed to be concerned about having a smoke at every stop.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This is a tour you would do with children. It is interesting to learn how salt is mined in this area and the little train ride is fun. The best part of the tour is really two big slides - these are fun and the kids loved that. I disliked that this tour took much longer than necessary as we were dropped off to eat lunch in a little town - this was purely designed for the shops to pick up this business. It's OK but not a must do.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I took this trip with a group of friend in January 2014. This trip starts by a drive towards the Bavarian mountains where you stop in a small gift store to catch a glimpse of the mountains and eagle eye then the driver takes you to the salt-mines and finally, there is a stop in a small german village. In the village, there is nothing interesting to see but we grabbed something to drink. Overall, the trip was good. The best part of the trip was the salt mines tour. The English tour guide was monotonous and a bit boring.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

This was a great trip, could have been an hour longer to allow more time in Berchestgaden. Salt mines tour was very interesting.

From USD $ 53.81

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message