4.5 star rating: Recommended 148 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 148 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Fabulous tour! We had some initial difficulties (because Viator didn't disclose the tour-company name, and there were several tour companies providing this 'type' of tour once we arrived to claim our booking), but it all worked out once we managed to communicate that the booking had been through Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Tour was good, as i visited in the odd time of the year there were only 1 other family along with me for the tour and we had the privilege for a seperate vehicle , tour guide was informative and helpful, there was no hurry in the tour, salt mines is worth visit visiting in Salzburg it is very exciting for both children and adults

some important points to remember

1. You are not allowed to take photos inside the mines, but there are 3 places where photos are taken automatically at each photo cost 7 euros
2. the guide who comes to inside the mines would only speak only german (because only mine employees are allowed inside and your local guide cannot come with you, you would have hand sets in different languages but not that effective to a person speaking)

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Loved it! Slides were awesome, even our 2 yr old enjoyed the experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The trip to the Salt Mines was great. The children enjoyed it very much. The staff both in Salzburg and at the mine did a wonderful job.
The driver picked us up at the hotel on time and the tour bus left on time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Really friendly guide, enjoyable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Well organised. Excellent guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The salt mines tour was excellent. Our bus guide (Walter) was a delight as well as our dirver. Small complaint: we thingk we could have done without the stop and spent more time driving in the mountains.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent tour. Well worth the visit!!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Unfortunatly the day we done the trip it was very misty so we couldnt see much in the mountains.
The Salt Mines were brilliant though, we had a lot of fun going down the slides.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

A very enjoyable tourist day..well worth while.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

There were three of us...We thought this was great fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very interesting! Had fun and learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was a fun tour for our family, children ages 5 and 7. The tour guide was great fun and the tour of the Salt Mines was interesting. The pace of the Salt Mines tour was perfect, but the guide did not speak English so we had headset which my children found fun to wear. They also liked wearing the mining outfits.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

I really enjoyed the salt mine tour as well as the drive through the Bavarian mountains and would even do this tour again if I am lucky enough to go back to Salzburg. It is a bit cool once you get into the mine, so I would recommend a sweatshirt or light jacket to wear underneath the coveralls they give you. The only reason I didnt give the tour five stars was because of the stop at Berchtesgaden, Germany. You only get 45 minutes, but the tour guide recommends you stop for lunch at one of the cafes. Knowing how slow European restaurants are at least compared to the US, I went directly to one of the cafes so I would have the full 45 minutes. Well, that was not even enough time! The food had just started to come out when the 45 minutes were up and we were all due back at the bus. We asked the waitresses to wrap up our food, and not knowing that I understand a bit of German, the waitresses started complaining about Americans. So, during the stop in Berchtesgaden I would highly recommend that you just stroll through town and maybe get a snack I know there was an ice cream vendor around. Trying to go to a caf is not only stressful but a huge waste of time!

John T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Really enjoyed the trip, very good value for money.

Haydon O
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The tour was good fun!

Emma E
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Salt mines was very interesting, the English during the toor was a little diffiocult and quet as it was played via speakers whilst the German guide was talking. Fantastic drive to the mountain, and great viewing oportunity! Little village we visited after was lovely and can get some great photos of the Alps. Our driver was very good and infrmative and his English was perfect!

Wendy V
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

fun, but the tour guide didn't have patience for "english" tourists. At times we weren't warned our taped explanations were starting and standing in the wrong area to hear. But it was interesting and fun!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Much better than 20 years ago! This time with the kids, and it was the number one part of their trip.

Lisa B
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Really enjoyed this. Recommend bringing packed lunch and using allotted lunch hour to look around the town instead. Beautiful scenery in Bavarian mountains, would be better if we were given an opportunity to get out and take pics. Slides were great fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The tour to the Salt Mine and also a view of "Eagle's Nest" was fun. Our tour guide was very nice and he interacted well with all on the tour.

Jana S
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

I really enjoyed the mine tour. The train ride was quite an experience, and the boat through the mine was breathtaking! The tour is very rushed, and it's difficult to know what is going on if you don't speak German. The tour is given by a German guide in German, but there are stations set up with recorded voices in different languages to accommodate everyone else. The guide does not wait for you, and continues through the mine without you if you chose to listen. The recordings start after the guide finishes the German version.

Our bus was 20 minutes late to pick up the group, which threw the whole tour off schedule. We dropped off individuals on a tour of Eagles Nest first, which made our tour even later. Our bus driver took us to the mines and was quite impolite and was telling us to hurry up or we would miss the tour. It was him who was late. We stopped to take one picture of us in our mining outfits and were scolded by the bus driver telling us we were already late. Other than the tour company being late, the mine tour is definitely worth doing. It was great fun!

Melvine M
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

I loved the trip from Salzburg up the mountain. It was an amazing drive. I also liked the two slides in the mines; they were quite fun. The guide was very funny. I would recommend this tour to others.

John Y
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The tour in the actual salt mines was a little rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Good enjoyable trip.

From USD $ 54.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message