4.5 star rating: Recommended 131 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 131 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Great fun. Great for the whole family - the slide was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour. The only problem is that they were rushing us and they did not even give us enough time to go to the gift shop. Then after that we went to eat, but again they were rushing us. So they should give more time, but had an awesome time.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Learned lots of the salt mines.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Well worth doing. The journey here through the mountains was supberb. The salt mines although very informative was a bit sameish. After you had done the first stop and talk the rest were similar.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salt mines are fun, and the Berchtesgaden area is simply beautiful. We enjoyed our trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great, informative tour, but the guide spent a lot of time speaking in German, and very little time speaking English , making us feel like we weren't getting the full explanation of all the information. Overall all , a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A really interesting tour and worth doing. Some very good features, such as sliding down the salt slide and going across the salt lake underground. A couple of down sides. The guide speaks only German and you are given an English hand set. Mine worked partially and my wife's gave out completely. Also, we were not told what to do at the end of the tour. We waited outside the exit and five minutes later, the tour bus showed up. Others walked off in different directions looking for the bus and then the tour guide had to spend considerable time looking for them.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very well organised tour. The tour guide was excellent and gave us lots of information. Unfortunately we didnt have the best weather so views werent amazing. Overall a good tour that takes the stress out of travelling to the various places on your own. Salt Mines definately must be visited, great experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fun tour. Very informative :) This was my second time doing the tour of the mine and I still enjoyed it. I especially loved the drive through Bavaria, and the tour guide was wonderful :)

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was not a clear day in the mountains and I am sure it was the tour would have been quite special. We did a Sunday tour and the town was still asleep and was not going to wake. The salt mine is a mass tourist attraction but nevertheless they put a bit of fun into salt mining tunnel experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The hand held device for hearing english was not working properly. Therefore, it was a tour with no explanations that we could understand. This was very frustrating and really detracted from the tour appeal. Otherwise good.

Wally and Rena Herle

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our 10 year old son really enjoyed this tour. It was a fun half day trip with a stop for lunch afterwards. I enjoyed the tour and it was fun but not sure if I would've done if our son wasn't with us but it was a good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

An enjoyable tour with a guide and mini bus (only 6 of us on the tour) from Panorama. Time to look at Eagle's Nest from a distance and a fun trip with complete with train ride, slide and raft trip in the Salt mine - minimal commentary on audio - may have been frustrating if you wanted more detail though our guide in the mine could speak some English. On the return journey Berchtesgarden is a very pretty village with lots of churches. No time to sit and eat though a couple of our party managed it! Worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Salt mine tour was so much fun and very interesting! The Bavarian mountain tour wasn't much except a quick drive through the mountains to pick up other people.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

This was a good tour as it was more than just the salt mine, we found the rest of the tour very interesting. The sights were amazing. The salt mine was fun with the slides and oat ride.

From USD $ 63.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message