• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 118 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 118 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

An enjoyable tour with a guide and mini bus (only 6 of us on the tour) from Panorama. Time to look at Eagle's Nest from a distance and a fun trip with complete with train ride, slide and raft trip in the Salt mine - minimal commentary on audio - may have been frustrating if you wanted more detail though our guide in the mine could speak some English. On the return journey Berchtesgarden is a very pretty village with lots of churches. No time to sit and eat though a couple of our party managed it! Worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Salt mine tour was so much fun and very interesting! The Bavarian mountain tour wasn't much except a quick drive through the mountains to pick up other people.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

This was a good tour as it was more than just the salt mine, we found the rest of the tour very interesting. The sights were amazing. The salt mine was fun with the slides and oat ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great tour !

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was a very interesting tour! The tour guide was informative and funny. The drive to the salt mine was spectacular. I would recommend this to anyone who has 4 hours to kill while in Salzburg. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the tour seemed slightly rushed (in the mine) and I had no time to explore the gift shop afterwards. Another 15 minutes in the gift shop would have been nice. But overall, great tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Would have loved this trip more, had our guide spoke English. The salt mines were interesting. Save your money and don't buy into the "Bavarian Mountain's" thing. It is just a trip up the mountain with all the people going to Hitler's lookout.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Enjoyed the trip greatly.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Very good tour and very interesting. The highlight would have to be the 'slippery dip' ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The tour of Saltmine was very good and with lots of fun and information. However, Bavarian Mountains tour was a farce. Just they drove us by and told the names of the mountains. I expected to go to the top of some mountains and have a view of the area. However, the scenaries were fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Top little tour that the kids enjoyed too. The Salt-Mine is a good little tourist thing to do. Good info from the driver about Hitler's Eagle's Nest retreat (which we didn't see - wasn't open yet and cloudy).

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Some parts of this tour were a little odd, such as lighting up some areas of the mountain side with twinkling lights. Also, two out of five in our group had audio difficulties, like no sound at all. The slides were fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Fabulous tour! We had some initial difficulties (because Viator didn't disclose the tour-company name, and there were several tour companies providing this 'type' of tour once we arrived to claim our booking), but it all worked out once we managed to communicate that the booking had been through Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Tour was good, as i visited in the odd time of the year there were only 1 other family along with me for the tour and we had the privilege for a seperate vehicle , tour guide was informative and helpful, there was no hurry in the tour, salt mines is worth visit visiting in Salzburg it is very exciting for both children and adults

some important points to remember

1. You are not allowed to take photos inside the mines, but there are 3 places where photos are taken automatically at each photo cost 7 euros
2. the guide who comes to inside the mines would only speak only german (because only mine employees are allowed inside and your local guide cannot come with you, you would have hand sets in different languages but not that effective to a person speaking)

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Loved it! Slides were awesome, even our 2 yr old enjoyed the experience.

From USD $ 67.35

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message