4.5 star rating: Recommended 142 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 142 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Eyad A
Bahrain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Don't miss this tour. It was really exciting.

Ross M
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A real experience, and educational as well. Nice train trip into the mountain and tour through aspects of the mine - audio guide at the various sections with several language options. Nice boat trip on an underground brine lake. Sliding down the wooden rails was a real buzz - WHEEEE!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

I was lucky to have a clear sunny day after a couple days of snowy weather, so the scenery was absolutely amazing. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The salt mines were a lot of fun--especially the slide and boat ride. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Gareth W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

This was a great trip; informative and loads of fun. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

The salt mine part of the tour was lots of fun! My kids loved it. The Bavarian mountains were beautiful. I learned a lot on this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

The excursion was both informative and enjoyable. It was a very interesting tour that made us aware of little known facts of how salt is mined. Once in the mine, the tour guide mostly spoke German, however he gave ample time to the English version played separately at each location visited. Be prepared to walk and some stairs but nothing overly strenuous. Definitely different, but enjoyable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Our guide was hilarious and had us in stitches. I have been to Bertchesgaden before and visited the salt mines. On the way back, we stopped at the actual town and were given a perfect amount of time to get a meal and some chocolates shaped like mountains, which are only made there. Good trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

Excellent in all respects. Kept my boys 11, 4 and 2 captivated.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Great fun. Great for the whole family - the slide was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour. My small group of six people very much enjoyed the salt mine experience, and our guide, Walter, was knowledgeable about the history and geography of that area of the Bavarian Mountains.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour. The only problem is that they were rushing us and they did not even give us enough time to go to the gift shop. Then after that we went to eat, but again they were rushing us. So they should give more time, but had an awesome time.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Learned lots of the salt mines.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Well worth doing. The journey here through the mountains was supberb. The salt mines although very informative was a bit sameish. After you had done the first stop and talk the rest were similar.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salt mines are fun, and the Berchtesgaden area is simply beautiful. We enjoyed our trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great, informative tour, but the guide spent a lot of time speaking in German, and very little time speaking English , making us feel like we weren't getting the full explanation of all the information. Overall all , a good experience.

From USD $ 52.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595003A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message