4.5 star rating: Recommended 83 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Christmas Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 83 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Willem B
South Africa

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Nice outing if u dont have much else to do. Remember warm clothes, very cold on sleigh!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Way to many people, bus loads. You do not necessary get to ride with the people you want. After you are herded off the bus you are assigned to the sled. It is not a pleasant ride through the countryside. You are only on the sled for 45 minutes or so before you stop for the "tourist trap" break. Then back on the sled to the next 2 1/2 hour "tourist trap" lunch stop. Then back on the bus to Salzburg.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

We had hoped that this would be a very special Christmas day treat, unfortunately it wasn't! We were informed en route that there would be very little or no snow and that 200 people had booked that day, This meant that the group was split in two and we chose to be amongst the first group to have our ride, the second group had lunch first, followed by the ride. While the company cannot be responsible for the weather, most sleighs did not have a roof canopy and being cold and wet was most unpleasant. We spent almost an hour at a refreshment stop-a chance to get out of the rain but unnecessary when 12 a day was given over to the lunch stop. During our lunch stop it did snow and eventually we got to spend a short time in a beautiful setting. On our return to Salzburg we were left to find our way back to our hotel quite a distance. As the tour began with a hotel pickup, it was not disclosed that this would be the case at the end of the day. The driver and host for our bus were pleasant and competent but we left with the impression from the organisation that getting your booking was a priority but after that it didn't really matter what happened. For us and for many families with children, it turned out to be a disappointing day.

Elena Y
Netherlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

We did the trip on 31 December 2009. It was overpriced in our opinion, since the more or less only interesting part of the trip was a horse riding. But there was hardly any snow and the route wasn't very romantic. Also we spent 2 hours in total in some touristic shops as a apart of the route. On the way back from the hourse riding we were brought to some place to eat. The place was too small for the group and there was no place to sit inside !!! To be honest we were dissapointed.

Anhtony D
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

The stop at the truck stop is a waste of time. Then we drove to a village to eat, the service at the place we are directed to was terrible. Then back on the bus. Then another bus ride to a location were you fight to get on a sleigh. Then they cut you off half way through your journey to sit in a bar, then another bus ride were you stand outside in the cold while you wait for other to finish their ride. Then back in the bus. Recommendation stay in Salzburg and take a horse drawn ride around the village, it will be less money, more enjoyable and you will have more time to do other things.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I signed up for this but when getting there the day before and realizing there was no snow, I asked to exchange it to the Sound of Music tour….which you did. We went the next day PAID FOR THE SOUND OF MUSIC TOUR….AS YOU PROMISED I WOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR THE SLEIGH RIDE…AND YOU WILL NOT RESPOND NOR REIMBURSE ME. Please respond to this and reimburse me and I will be happy to give a good review! 615-584-4255 Becky Porter

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

This event was a huge disappointment. The day's events were not well communicated, it was a MUCH bigger operation than we had expected (eg. huge tour buses with lots of people). Our guide was well informed, but smoked so many cigarettes that we all stunk at the end of the day. Not worth the money.

Dayna B
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2010

Do not do this trip! The tour leader was unclear and kept talking on and on about things like roadworks, annoying the whole bus. It was raining and miserable with no shelter and it was a horse drawn cart ride, not a sleigh ride. The service at the place we were taken to was terrible and we did not get half of our order and what we did get was not cooked properly. I travel with many tours and this is the first time I have complained. I am so disappointed with this tour.

From USD $ 84.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595HORSE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message