4.5 star rating: Recommended 83 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Christmas Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 83 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The bus was comfortable and restaurants were excellent when we had our noon time meal. The sleigh ride itself was exceptional! The horses were beautiful, the snow glistened and our sleigh driver contributed to a perfect day.

Karen B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Had a fantastic day - well organised and the other travellers were great - made the whole day well worthwhile.

Richard P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

A memorable trip through some beautiful scenery. The event was well organised too, it was handy being collected from our hotel. Just remember to wrap up warm!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

This was a really nice day, where even the bus ride there and back were pleasant and enjoyable. The tour guide was efficient, polite and knowledgeable. The sleighs were comfortable and the route was scenic and beautiful! The restaurant that was reserved for our lunch totally optional was reasonably priced, had excellent food and was very comfortable. Overall, I'd rate this as a very worthwhile experience, particularly when you're there on Christmas Day! Dress for the cold, especially gloves, hat and good warm footwear.

Ana O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Excellent day trip, very well organised. Good mix of organised activities and free time. Horse drawn sleigh ride was excellent, thoroughly enjoyed by all. Loved the scenery.

Sian D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Not knowing how much and what to expect off a Christmas Day sleigh ride, all we knew was that we wanted a special white Christmas day. Well my sister and I can say, that this is one of the best day trips I have EVER experienced. The tour people were very professional and had a great commentary for us on the way up to the sleigh ride start point. They even had us joining in and laughing with their jokes. The horses and sleighs were just out of a Christmas story, even down to the bells on the horses. We loved the route we went on, and were surrounded by magnificent snowy mountains and a wonderful blue sky. Even stopping for a hot chocolate and a gluwein along the way added to the spirits. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would certainly recommend it to anyone. What a day, one we will never forget. Thank you so much.

Malcolm P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

An amazing Christmas Day. A truly unforgettable experience. The scenery and sleigh ride were spectacular. Magical!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Well organised day leaving us with lots of enjoyable memories.

Debra H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

The trip was well organized and an excellent value for the money, considering the outing is a full-day excursion. The sleigh ride itself was fantastic with glorious scenery.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Worth the money for a full day out. Yes it was quite a bit of time spent on the coach but it was clean and comfortable and there was plenty of lovely scenery to look at. 2 hours on the sleigh was enough and magical for Christmas, esp when the snow started to fall! Lisa our tour guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was excellent. I would make the first rest stop shorter.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic trip visiting three charming villages. A fun day out. Christmas markets were amazing. Dont hesitate to book. However times at each village should have been longer as only 3O mins at the smaller villages and only one hour at St Wolfgang in addition a beautiful 15 min boat ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We all love the ride from 10 yrs to 40 yrs of age. The view is simply majestic. Beautiful and strong horses. Restaurants along the way provided delicious lunches and snacks.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The information given in the e-ticket was poor ! We were led to believe that the tour was only for 4 hours and that we would be back by early afternoon. Instead we did not return until 1600 and later. This meant that the dinner and concert at the fortress had to be missed because of the lateness

James S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great trip everything it promised came true. Altho initially they couldnt find our booking from Viatour; they were helpful and solved that and even did a hotel pick up which was earlier advised to be unavailable. Worth doing.

From USD $ 83.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595HORSE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message