4.5 star rating: Recommended 76 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Christmas Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 76 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Amazing experience - not to be missed off anyone's itinery.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We really enjoyed the horse drawn sleigh ride, the scenery is absolutly stunning. The only negative is that they squeeze too many people into the sleighs.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent trip - thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend for scenery alone . The stop off half way on the sledge was a good idea by which time a hot drink was welcome. Time after to enjoy a meal at a local restaurant or wander round resort and into the shops.

Emma G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Leaving Salzburg to head to the sleigh ride we drove through the local area and through the mountain areas for the next 1 and a half hours. Once arriving at the sleigh ride destination we had lunch then boarded the sleigh ride. Due to the lack of snow at this time we were concerned that it wasnt going to be as good. But luckily there was a bit of snow and the sleigh ride went for approx 1 and a half hours on the roads through the local village and then finally on the snow to get back to the starting point. The sleigh ride itself was wonderful! Certainly rug up to keep warm! They activity took up the whole day travelling, stopping for breaks at road side stops and then a long lunch for 2 hours. We felt we could have left later and gone straight to the sleigh ride and not had to spend the whole morning at particular stops which were not really necessary. But never the less it was a wonderful experience and we would recommend it to anyone for something a bit different!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We really enjoyed our Christmas Sleigh Ride. The day was gorgeous and the scenery sublime. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We took away a great deal of information regarding the area and history. Careful if you have any allergies -we found out our daughter was allergic to the horses when she started with her eyes tearing and swelling. Bring an allergy medicine. It was a wonderful experience otherwise!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

There were 10 of us so we couldn't all go on the same sleigh which was fine, but they stopped at two different places for morning tea so we were not with our friends. Also, the service at the place where we had lunch was awful, but the food was ok. It rained during the ride and not all of the sleighs had covers.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Really enjoyed this. The tour guide was very knowledgeable on Salzburg and area. You get a two hour stop at a small village, there isn't a lot to do other than have a drink, bite to eat and walk, so if you aren't too good on your feet it's worth noting. Every where was very picturesque, we travelled through the snow covered Alps which was very festive, like a winter wonderland. After 30 minutes you stay at a nice little cafe/bar where you have time for a drink. Well worth it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Sleigh ride was great. Even longer than promised 2.5 hours including a break at a winter lodge to have hot drinks and struessel - yummm. Only complaint would be the hour long stop off at a truck-stop in the morning. Who needs an hour to use the restroom and look over some dumpy merchandise. We usually don't like bus tours, but this was worth being herded around all day. The ride was magical and guides very friendly.

K. C. V
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The driver forgot to pick us up from the hotel until we call them up and informed them after waiting nearly 1 hour.

Willem B
South Africa

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Nice outing if u dont have much else to do. Remember warm clothes, very cold on sleigh!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Way to many people, bus loads. You do not necessary get to ride with the people you want. After you are herded off the bus you are assigned to the sled. It is not a pleasant ride through the countryside. You are only on the sled for 45 minutes or so before you stop for the "tourist trap" break. Then back on the sled to the next 2 1/2 hour "tourist trap" lunch stop. Then back on the bus to Salzburg.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

We had hoped that this would be a very special Christmas day treat, unfortunately it wasn't! We were informed en route that there would be very little or no snow and that 200 people had booked that day, This meant that the group was split in two and we chose to be amongst the first group to have our ride, the second group had lunch first, followed by the ride. While the company cannot be responsible for the weather, most sleighs did not have a roof canopy and being cold and wet was most unpleasant. We spent almost an hour at a refreshment stop-a chance to get out of the rain but unnecessary when 12 a day was given over to the lunch stop. During our lunch stop it did snow and eventually we got to spend a short time in a beautiful setting. On our return to Salzburg we were left to find our way back to our hotel quite a distance. As the tour began with a hotel pickup, it was not disclosed that this would be the case at the end of the day. The driver and host for our bus were pleasant and competent but we left with the impression from the organisation that getting your booking was a priority but after that it didn't really matter what happened. For us and for many families with children, it turned out to be a disappointing day.

Elena Y
Netherlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

We did the trip on 31 December 2009. It was overpriced in our opinion, since the more or less only interesting part of the trip was a horse riding. But there was hardly any snow and the route wasn't very romantic. Also we spent 2 hours in total in some touristic shops as a apart of the route. On the way back from the hourse riding we were brought to some place to eat. The place was too small for the group and there was no place to sit inside !!! To be honest we were dissapointed.

Anhtony D
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

The stop at the truck stop is a waste of time. Then we drove to a village to eat, the service at the place we are directed to was terrible. Then back on the bus. Then another bus ride to a location were you fight to get on a sleigh. Then they cut you off half way through your journey to sit in a bar, then another bus ride were you stand outside in the cold while you wait for other to finish their ride. Then back in the bus. Recommendation stay in Salzburg and take a horse drawn ride around the village, it will be less money, more enjoyable and you will have more time to do other things.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

This event was a huge disappointment. The day's events were not well communicated, it was a MUCH bigger operation than we had expected (eg. huge tour buses with lots of people). Our guide was well informed, but smoked so many cigarettes that we all stunk at the end of the day. Not worth the money.

From USD $ 95.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595HORSE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message