4.5 star rating: Recommended 83 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Christmas Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride from Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 83 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

As a family we were so excited to go on a sleigh ride on Christmas day 2012. We had lunch first which was lovely then went to meet our sleigh. The ride lasted almost 2 hours and we stopped for a hot drink about half way. We had plenty of snow and had the "white" Christmas we have always dreamed about.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Was a great day well worth the money, did not see the point in stopping for a coffee when we had only finished lunch hour prior to getting in the sleigh. Perhaps if it had been further in so we had time to digest lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Excellent tour - definitely met all expectations., Would thoroughly recommend this to others. Doing the trip on Christmas Day was a great experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Brilliant! Our tour guide Andy was great and we had loads of fun! My only feedback is to specify how long the actual tour is as we got back at about 5pm and all we had on our voucher was 1hr sleigh ride. If I knew how late it would get back I'd have skyped my family in Australia for Christmas before leaving. Cheers.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

I had a fantastic time, it was quite magical. While we were on the sleigh a group of little kids chased us and jumped on the back for a ride which was cute. Only complaint was that we got split from our group.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Amazing experience - not to be missed off anyone's itinery.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We really enjoyed the horse drawn sleigh ride, the scenery is absolutly stunning. The only negative is that they squeeze too many people into the sleighs.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent trip - thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend for scenery alone . The stop off half way on the sledge was a good idea by which time a hot drink was welcome. Time after to enjoy a meal at a local restaurant or wander round resort and into the shops.

Emma G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Leaving Salzburg to head to the sleigh ride we drove through the local area and through the mountain areas for the next 1 and a half hours. Once arriving at the sleigh ride destination we had lunch then boarded the sleigh ride. Due to the lack of snow at this time we were concerned that it wasnt going to be as good. But luckily there was a bit of snow and the sleigh ride went for approx 1 and a half hours on the roads through the local village and then finally on the snow to get back to the starting point. The sleigh ride itself was wonderful! Certainly rug up to keep warm! They activity took up the whole day travelling, stopping for breaks at road side stops and then a long lunch for 2 hours. We felt we could have left later and gone straight to the sleigh ride and not had to spend the whole morning at particular stops which were not really necessary. But never the less it was a wonderful experience and we would recommend it to anyone for something a bit different!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We really enjoyed our Christmas Sleigh Ride. The day was gorgeous and the scenery sublime. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We took away a great deal of information regarding the area and history. Careful if you have any allergies -we found out our daughter was allergic to the horses when she started with her eyes tearing and swelling. Bring an allergy medicine. It was a wonderful experience otherwise!!

Veronica V
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

There were 10 of us so we couldn't all go on the same sleigh which was fine, but they stopped at two different places for morning tea so we were not with our friends. Also, the service at the place where we had lunch was awful, but the food was ok. It rained during the ride and not all of the sleighs had covers.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Really enjoyed this. The tour guide was very knowledgeable on Salzburg and area. You get a two hour stop at a small village, there isn't a lot to do other than have a drink, bite to eat and walk, so if you aren't too good on your feet it's worth noting. Every where was very picturesque, we travelled through the snow covered Alps which was very festive, like a winter wonderland. After 30 minutes you stay at a nice little cafe/bar where you have time for a drink. Well worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Sleigh ride was great. Even longer than promised 2.5 hours including a break at a winter lodge to have hot drinks and struessel - yummm. Only complaint would be the hour long stop off at a truck-stop in the morning. Who needs an hour to use the restroom and look over some dumpy merchandise. We usually don't like bus tours, but this was worth being herded around all day. The ride was magical and guides very friendly.

K. C. V
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The driver forgot to pick us up from the hotel until we call them up and informed them after waiting nearly 1 hour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

pleasant experience. The guide on the bus leg of the trip was very informative.
Unfortunately there was not enough snow on the ground for the sleigh so we had to go along a road.
I suppose I was expecting a freer ride through forest. Still great time on Christmas day!

From USD $ 84.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595HORSE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message