Insider's Guide to Salzburg

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 124 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow wow wow. So much fun the guide was superb. Sininging dancing everyone singing. Wonderful. Do this tour above all else

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent.

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Such beautiful sightseeing, not just for the sites of "Sound of Music" , but for the total experience of the city and the countryside.

Candace G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very, very interesting! Our guide was great!

Martin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, must do in Salzburg. The tour guide was sooooo good, sooooo funny, made the whole tour very enjoyable. Saw all the landmark places in the movie. Great fun and will recommend 100%.

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

AWWW MYY GAWSHHH LOVE ITTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Been raving about this super interesting tour enjoyed it immensely - I want to do it again haha...

ps. when stopping at the town that the church the Von Trapps get married in... skip the strudel and go straight to the lake... it's so very beautiful :)

William E L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great tour, the first thing you should do when in Salzburg. Good fun and lots of sight tips, like where to get the best photos of the city.

peach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was fantastic. ..made the tour more worthwhile.

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Even tho the weather was not the best and the group needed English and German interpretation, the tour guide did a great job! With all the tours being performed, 2 in our group became lost, one not finding us. Maybe some better way of being able to follow would be helpful.

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Sound of Music: Delightful tour. Our guide was superb, entertaining, informative, interactive, helpful and had a really good yodelling voice. She had a terrific sense of humour, stage presence and crowd control - would make a great stand-up comic. Polished performance, both by the company and the guide.
Historical Walking tour: Hans was very informative, interesting and interactive.

Ashley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Natasha was the best tour guide! Be ready for singing on the bus and seeing all the important sites and beautiful countryside! Also here the real Von Trapp story. Best day of our entire trip!

mariagen64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it!

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter and I loved this tour. That probably sounds kind of hokey, but it is so much more than the Sound of Music. The first part of our tour was the historical walking tour with our guide, Naomi. We saw Mozart's home, a number of important sights such as the Mirabell Gardens and Old City Salzburg. We heard the history of the Hohensalzburg Fortress (and later visited the sight). The Sound of Music Tour was by bus and we were driven to sites where the movie was filmed and then went out to the hills and experienced of some the most beautiful views anywhere around Salzburg. We stopped in the town of Mondsee for apple strudel. The bus was full of very happy people singing "the hills are alive with the sound of music" and "do-re-me". Our tour guide was an Austrian man named Gus with a wonderful engaging personality.

Mrs Jillian M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Yugoslav C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

being a sound of music fan I really enjoyed this tour

michaelkoh888

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good informative n comprehensive

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed both of our tours! We were a group of three with two boys, ages 11 and 12. The tours were a good length and providied enough history to keep the boys interested. Both of our tour guides were very entertaining! A very fun and memorable day! Thank you.

Lindsey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

Joy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was such a nice, lively tour. Had a lovely time visiting scenes from straight out of the movie and listening to the evergreen songs on the bus. Our guide was Peter, whose energy, humour and engaging commentary made the tour all the more memorable. Had a thoroughly enjoyable time!

Ma Wilhelmina O Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

As a fan of the movie "The Sound of Music" it was a delight to be able to visit the places where the film was shot! My favorites were the Mirabell Gardens and of course Basilika St Michael.
The Historical Walking Tour was such a pleasant walk around Salzburg.

Tamara Ann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Historical walking tour was good. We really enjoyed the city and all the things that the tour guide took us to. She was very knowledgeable and really took her time to explain everything in English and German. She always made sure that the group was all together before she starting her explanations.
The Sound of Music tour was excellent. The tour guide absolutely made the tour. We enjoyed all the sites and all the commentary during the trip. Even the bus driver's contributions. A must do tour if you love beautiful scenery and the Sound of Music.

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide managed to get a German speaking group and an English speaking group for our historical tour but she managed it quite well, it also gave us heaps of time to take pictures. Salzburg is a beautiful city, the tour tell you all about the city. We then had to be pretty quick in getting some food and heading back to the tour office to be in time for the Sound of Music section. Our guide told us lots of different stories about how they filmed the movie as well as an awesome sing a long in the bus that everyone joined in on. The scenery of Salzburg and Austria is beautiful and on our last stop we all had crisp apple strudel before heading back into Salzburg where we finished at Mirabell Gardens. It was raining when we got back but it meant that we had the garden to ourselves to take heaps of photos. If you love the movie its a must do!

Adi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Peter the guide was great. Tour was a lot of gun

Barry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great tour

Duncan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very enjoyable day. Myself ( under duress), my wife, and 2 kids (11 and 12) enjoyed this tour immensely.
Our guide was fabulous. His knowledge of this family classic movie was expressed in a joyously camp
over the top manner which only added to the fun of the tour.
Our walking tour was also well worth doing- despite the pouring rain.
Overall, highly recommended to all. Even to those, like myself, not HUGE fans of the movie!

Viewing 2 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Special Offer
$79.25 Save $19.81

From USD $ 59.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595SAVER2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message