• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 55 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 55 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The walking tour was ok. The SOM tour was fabulous. I have never had such a good time on a bus. Peter was the highlight. Not only was he informative, he was hysterical. I will tell everyone to go on this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My wife and enjoyed the tour very much. We enjoyed both aspects...the walking tour with our excellent guide, Maria, and also the S of M tour guide, who was extremely humorous and welcoming. We thought though, that the guide could have given out information about the whereabouts of various places within Salzburg itself to visit, which were NOT visited on the coach.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Just loved the sound of music tour - everything I had hoped for

Phil R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, great tour guide, takes you to all the key sites of filming for the Sound of Music, together with good background information on the film. Enjoyed it...a must for people .who love the Sound of Music

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time on the Salzburg walking tour with Maria. We wish we had been able to pick an English speaking tour because Maria our guide had to give the information in German as well as English. During the tour she would alternate between starting in German and then English. When she started to tell us about the sites in English it was okay because the germans understood English but if she started in German then the German speakers would start talking while the English bit was being done and we found it difficult to hear her above them. Maria was great and was a mine of information. The Sound of Music Tour was the high light and was topped with the tour guide who was very funny and had the whole coach in stitches most of the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Tour company well organised and helpful. Knowledgable local guide and Sound of Music guide we had was hilarious. The Sound of Music Tour doesn't officially include the Mirabell Gardens, although the tour guide did mention this at the start, but as the tour bus starts and finishes outside the Mirabell Palace you only have to walk to the gardens free of charge (if you do an afternoon winter tour and only have one day in Salzburg, visit the gardens beforehand (as part of the historical walking tour or independently) as I suspect it will get quite dark by the time the bus returns. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Having seen the Sound of Music as a child multiple times in the '60's, I was living my childhood dreams!! Such a well done tour of the major places from the movie, and loved hearing songs from the movie during the longer bus riding intervals. Guide was wonderful, and very helpful with pictures, etc. If you're a Sound of Music fan, don't miss this tour.

The Historical Walking Tour was excellent, and gave a great overview such that we were not feeling lost on our subsequent trips into the Historical City area... well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Absolutely amazing, if you are a Sound of Music fan this is a must see. The guides put in extra effort to make the tour interesting with jokes, music and videos on the bus. Some of the movie scenes are shot in areas which are pedestrianized so you cannot go there by bus but the historical walking tour covers it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Well worth the price--both guides we had were very knowledgeable and made the hours fly by. I loved the walking tour because we got to see not only the old city of Salzburg, but several places where the movie was filmed. The afternoon tour took us to several picture-perfect outlooks and to the wonderful town of Mondsee for an hour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The guide for the walking tour was very knowledgeable and accommodating/attentive to all participants. The guide for the afternoon tour of the Sound of Music did an excellent job of keeping a large group on schedule, yet giving ample time to cover all aspects of the tour. I recommend both tours. However, one might want to book them on separate days, as there was very little time between the two tours to grab a bite to eat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

A definite must for all Sound of Music fans and even those less enamoured! The coach was clean,airconditioned and comfortable. Our tour guide was full of information, some more interesting than others! The tour took in some of Austria's beautiful scenery and towns,whilst visiting some main scenes from the film. We had a good old sing along to the original sound track on the coach, encouraged by the tour guide. Well worth the money for 4 hours.
The Historical walk was very informative and our guide was pleasant and approachable. It was good to find out about the history of Salzburg rather than the 'film' fame! Again, good value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

I should have stayed in Salzburg for the week I was in Vienna - it is BEAUTIFUL!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We enjoyed it very much and learned a great deal. We had answers to our questions and it kept a leisure pace,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We started off with the walking tour, which was a small group of 5 people, which was great! The guide was super friendly, and she took us around Salzburg, showing us all the highlights and giving us historical background. It was very interesting and Salzburg is such a beautiful city!
We went back to the agency and went on the Sound of Music tour afterwards. The bus was pretty packed, whereas the second bus (also a Sound of Music tour) was much spacier, so it would've been nice if they had split the groups a bit more evenly.
Still, our guide was very humorous and engaging as he explained the various locations we visited and tying it to the movie.
Can't stress enough just how beautiful Salzburg is. Fabulous experience overall.

Special Offer
$77.14 Save $8.42

From USD $ 68.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595SAVER2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message