• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 949 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 949 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was very interesting and I recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing and incredibly scenic view of Salzburg. Finding out the background to the film will be very interesting to SoM buffs ! The tour was well organised. For example, it covered a lot of ground in four hours and we were always told where we were heading to next.
Our young tour guide, Helen, was absolutely great. She had a nice manner and sense of humor without being loud and annoying. She had a lovely speaking voice and she was very friendly.
I'd go again simply to look at the gorgeous Mountains and Lakes district . also, to take in the peripheral information about Salzburg all over again as its hard for foreigners to absorb the facts quickly when we live so far away and our lives are so different. Michelle from Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was highly acknowledgeable and throughout the tour, he peppered information with plenty of jokes. That created a really enjoyable atmosphere. I had a really nice time, singing along to the tracks from "The Sound Of Music". The trip was definitely worth it's price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great. We saw the areas listed, and had some free time to walk around the town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was very funny and knowledgeable about the movie and history or Salzburg. I highly recommend. Unfortunately it was a foggy day so we couldn't see all the sights but he still made it very entertaining and interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely fantastic (and I started out VERY sceptical). SOM has been a family favourite of my wife since childhood and she has passed it on to our children (11 and 8). I have read reviews that criticise the 1 hour stop in Mondsee - I can only recommend that those people do the trip with a couple of Australian children who rarely see snow, and you may reassess. Peter the guide has been doing it a long time obviously, but he is still animated and very funny. Best of all, it serves as a guided tour of the whole city. Bravo - I even sang along on the bus and am now a confirmed SOM fan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This Tour is a must if you are visiting Salzburg, Austria! Family friendly and very knowledgeable tour guides. My wife, 2 year old daughter and I had only 1 day in Salzburg before heading to our next destination and we absolutely loved the 4 hour tour. Worth every penny! Tour guide did an excellent job synching real events with the actual movie. Very comfortable ride, adequate time to take pictures and walk around on your own. Overall amazing experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Brilliant fun! Made friends, had just the right amount of time at each stop and saw some beautiful sights. Also were given suggestions on places to visit and tips on making best use of our time after the tour. What's more pre booked tour well in advance and then plans changed, was no problem to alter dates with no extra costs incurred. Definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a fantastic time, it was everything we had hoped for, but ...... even better! and absolutely stunning scenery! Naomi, the travel guide, was an absolute star, very funny and really enthusiastic. We would love to do it all again next year some time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great guide. Wonderful scenery.

Bethel J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My most favourite tour. The tour went all over salzburg except where Maria sang " the hills are alive. " at the opening of the movie. We saw almost everything , the tour leader told us stories on what happened during the filming of this movie in salzburg. We get to sing-a-long with the soundtrack on the bus.. Amazing tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Loved, loved, loved this tour! Our tour guide was Naomi and she was everything we could have hoped for- fun, energetic and hilarious! Highlight was seeing the church at Mondsee where Maria and the Captain got married in the film. Thank you so much, was definitely the highlight of our trip to Munich/Salzburg and would recommend it for any fan!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip, our guide Michael(I think that was his name) was funny and informative,enjoyed the singing, great scenery. Trip well organised, we were picked up from hotel and dropped back to the hotel,although our hotel was not on the list of hotel pick ups. We asked the tourist information to phone to find out where to meet the bus, this was no trouble, they informed us then they would pick up from hotel, so worth a call if you are not sure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Amazing loved every minute of it. Fun informative a real feel good trip dont leave Salzburg without doing this lovely lovely trip :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Natasha was our guide and she was great. We visited all the places that the tour information detailed on the website. We learned so much more about the Von Trapp family and about how the movie was made! Just beautiful scenery with the Autumn colours!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. The tour guide and the driver form a great team. We had many laughs and the guide was very knowledgeable and provided many facts about the area. We had a great time.

From USD $ 55.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595001A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message