4.5 star rating: Recommended 1292 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1292 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was brilliant! Starting off going round the city and all the information we were given along the whole route was really interesting. It was also lovely driving out of the city, along a beautiful route, and stopping at some lovely places, all relevant to the film, and also having some time to wander around Mondsee. Our driver and tour guide were fantastic - really good fun - and they knew how to make us sing!!! We had a wonderful time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide made this tour a unique experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide Peter and driver Ferdinand were hilarious. It was nice because we got information on Salzburg and its history, not just all Sound of Music information. The journey out of the town and up to the Mountains was great despite the very gloomy weather. Our one complaint is that we had very little time to explore the area around Saint Michael's church. It is also important to know that the bus cannot stop in front of the movie Von Trapp house, so if you want pictures, be sure to set so time aside outside the tour. Other than that enjoy singing along to the soundtrack and checking out the fantastic scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Although it rained a bit, it didn't reduce any fun of the tour the guide was excellent with a great sense of humor. Humming along on the bus felt great! I wished I refreshed those lyrics beforehand :

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If there was a 6-star rating we will give it! Our tour guide Sharon Lavvy (if we caught her name correctly) is fantastic, she's well versed in the story and sings extremely well. Great sense of humor and beautiful personality. We also like the driver Niko who was very nice too. Definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our day touring Salzberg, the surrounding Alps and the various set locations from the Sound of Music. The tour guide was delightful, humorous, informative, and very accomodating in answering questions and providing great insights not only regarding the movie but also the area's history as well. Our day touring the Austrian Alps was the highlight of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had beautiful weather and the sights were amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A truly wonderful, memorable experience and much more than the tour title suggests. My wife and I were travelling with my sister and her husband, and they came along with us although they weren't expecting much, not being The Sound of Music fans. They were equally enthralled with the tour. We saw some spectacular Austrian scenery, visited an Austrian village and saw the old Church where the 'wedding' was filmed. Our tour guide, Thomas, was friendly and informative. If you're visiting Salzburg, just do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! the tour guide was fun and accommodating. She made the tour lively and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a fantastic tour! We had Shaun and she was just amazing! She was very informative and a great sense of humor! The stops we beautiful. The weather was beautiful so we were so very lucky!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great tour. Our guide Helen was very knowledgeable and told great stories about the making of the Sound of Music. Highly recommend the tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was simply fantastic!!!! The guide was so nice and really knew his stuff!!! They had drinks on board which are great and reasonably priced they collected us from the hotel and we thoroughly had an amazing fantastic day!! Would definitely do it all over again well worth the price!!! :)))

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! Our guide was wonderful. He was entertaining and knowledgeable. We learned so much about the history of Salzburg. Salzburg is so beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My daughter and I are so glad we did this tour, and have raved about it since to all our friends. It was great to be on location so to speak, and walk the very places where the filming was done. The tour guide could have been more enthusiastic, but don't let this stop you from doing the tour. If you love the movie, do the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very informative trip. Pity that it poured rain for the whole tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Peter - my tour guide - was wonderful! I would recommend this tour to everyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Peter, was hilarious! We learned so much about Salzburg and the Sound of Music. We loved that we went to a few neighboring cities as well!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fun tour, great movie sites, lots of singing, great tour guide who looked and could sing almost as well as Julie Andrews!, great scenery. Highly recommend it...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really great tour and very interesting. The tour guide was good and the singing on the bus was excellent I must say.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip, well organized and comfortable. Went with the family with 3 kids, 16, 14, and 11. They all loved it. My 11 year old boy is not a big SOM fan but he loved the sights. Salzberg and the surrounding area is just beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent, good value for money and the rep was very informative and helpful.

From USD $ 44.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595001A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message