4.5 star rating: Recommended 1144 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Salzburg, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1144 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent. Our guide was natasha a very energetic and charming lady who made the tour very lively.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Can not say enough about this - it was GREAT! So much fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I had the grandest time on this tour. Peter was our guide and he was fantastic. We sang some songs from the film and everyone was happy! I wore my women's lederhosen, vest, blouse, jacket that I purchased in the old city of Salzburg, socks and shoes to go with the outfit. I felt like a member of the VonTrapp Family Singers! I would recommend this tour for anyone who liked the Sound of Music Movie!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Because of issues with our gps and bad traffic, we were late getting to the tour. We were only in Salzburg one day and we figured we'd miss the tour but maybe be able to get a refund. However, they worked with us and we were able to go on the tour. Such great customer service. Totally unexpected. Thank you so much we LOVED our experience! Such an awesome tour and a Salzburg is a beautiful city. Definitely one of the favorite things we did on our European trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly informative and fun tour. Great to visit locations and hear stories about one of the greatest musicals of all-time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great! Our guide and driver were amazing! They were funny, personable, helpful and extremely knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour combined just the right amount of campiness with fun facts from the movie. We weren't sure about taking this tour initially, but are glad that we did. The travel into the countryside is worth the price alone. We only had one day in Salzburg and this tour rounded out our visit perfectly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Exceeded my expectations. So much fun to finally see all of the places I've dreamt about visiting since I was a child. Our tour guide was brilliant, and I learned so much more about the film. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fabulous tour (despite the inclement weather) delivered by our expert guide Natasha. We booked on line before our trip, and called the office as requested, on our arrival in Salzburg, to finalise the booking. On the morning of the tour we were collected promptly from our hotel in a beautiful Mercedes car and transferred to the bus depot from where the tour starts. We couldn't have been looked after any better! Then on to the tour itself which was informative, fun, and packed with music and laughter. It includes lots of other stuff, not necessarily to do with the Sound of Music,and lots of opportunities to walk in the footsteps of the movie, and for those all important photos. Highly recommended! Stevie T and Jean, Liverpool, UK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Oh that was my Favorite Thing.....tour. I can't stop thinking about it. I could hardly wait it see the movie again and to relive my experience. A must see for all Sound of Music fans.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great fun! Mostly out of the centre of Salzburg, so it's good to have some time on your own in the very centre. Watch the film before you go and the sites are easy to recognize.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

All honesty, this tour guide (forget his name but said he was from Florida and his mother was Austrian) was the best I've ever experienced in my whole life! He was hilarious, informative, professional and he made our entire Salzburg experience magical and one we'll never forget. Absolutely amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My daughter, who was raised on The Sound of Music, and I, loved every single cheesy, silly, lovely, melodious moment of this tour. We even loved the true stories - they just depth to the Hollywood version we love. Thank you! A and K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very enjoyable. A little rushed a couple of times. Peter was an excellent guide and very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Peter our guide was helpful, informative and amusing and the tour was beautiful. Ferdinand the driver was also very sweet.

tannml
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Peter, our guide from Panorama, was hilarious! We couldn't stop laughing. He gave quite an in depth cover of the Von Trapp family. Took care of the bus load of people well. Well done! Keep up the good work Peter! Pity that our tour the day following yours was handled by another guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

excellent tour, even if you had never seen the movie.
the guide was excellent and the tour was very thorough and a lot of fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Only way to see salzberg!!! Fun interesting and memorable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide. Excellent topur plan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was a blast. The tour guide, Peter, was the absolute highlight of the trip but everything else was just great as well. Well planned, good timing for the stops...a great and careful bus driver.
You see most of the exterior shots from the movie as well as geogous countryside.
I highly recommend this tour to everyone!
Peter, thanks for all the great insider information and the many, many good laughs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent throughout and although weather was poor, this did not really take much way from the tour. Highly recommended to all SOM fans!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and loved our guide. He had very interesting inside scoop and facts. A little more time in Mondsee would have been great. We did the morning tour so it was lunch time when we got there. We didn't have time to go into the church. We used Viator for all our tours on this trip. Is there not some sort of discount starting with the second tour?

From USD $ 44.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3595001A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message