4.5 star rating: Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Diego, California
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the San Diego City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The tour itself was great, but the booking experience had me wondering if I had made the right choice. When I emailed the San Diego tour operator about hotel pickup, I received an extremely rude reply. However, I brought it to the attention of her supervisor and she did apologize for it.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Had a good time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We liked it because we were the only ones on the tour and we didn't have to stop to take photos if we didn't want to. Unfortunately tour driver was not very knowledgable about the sights.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour company office showed up 10 minutes late and 8 of us just stood around not knowing what to do. Once the tour guide arrived and the tour started, she was very good. As it turned out, the tour was cut short because of a couple of other commitments some of us had.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was good until the driver decided not to on the Golden-gate bridge.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our tour guide was awesome! He did a great job with giving and providing information. I wish the tour would have been a little longer to allow us more time at each spot. I felt there was not enough time given at each stop we made on the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was OK and gave us an impression of the city. Unfortunately the tour startet 1 hour to late because of a car breakdown, so that we could see the last part only in the dark.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

This tour was just ok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We were only in San Diego for a few days so this was worth doing to get an overview of the city. We visited Downtown, Gas Lamp District (not as romantic as it sounds!), La Jolla to see the seals and pelicans (fab), a far too brief stop at The Old Town, 20 min stop in Balbao Park and then the final drop off was at USS MIdway where we stayed for a few hours (well worth the visit). Our driver/guide Javier was great.
However we were kept waiting at the tour operators office outside the ladies' loo at Santa Fe station for half an hour. A guide arrived saying that the other people on our tour were late which had delayed things however we later found out that Javier had only got the call just before 9am to take the tour at the last minute so someone was telling fibs! As we were running late we therefore didn't get long enough to stay at Old Town which we would have liked.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

It was okay, but could've been more organized. I always confirm a day ahead for my pick up time. I stood outside the lobby as instructed and they were 10-15 min late, so I called the same number back to see if my pick up was just running a little late? A female answered and said that I wasn't scheduled for a pick up and if I could walk to their office (@ the Santa Fe depot) 2 blocks from my hotel. It's funny that when I called the day before, i was told I'd be picked up in front of the hotel and now I wasn't even scheduled to be picked up. I don't mind the walk but I'm glad I don't walk with a cane. Then she says, is that okay? Do I have a choice. When I got to the depot, I get a call from the tour driver telling me he is at the front lobby. No communication what so ever!!

Another problem was that the driver/ tour guide seemed like he didn't know what to do. He said, because the group was so small what do you guys wanna do? I'm thinking, this is my first time to San Diego, am I supposed to know what I want to do? That is why I booked the tour so you can help me to get to know the city, go fig? I did enjoy the tour to an extent but

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The tour was fine altought got started late. However he vehicle needs to be replaced. it rides hard and difficult to get in and out of plus seat belts are difficult to put on.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The tour guide did was a no show and the driver had to fill in with his broken english. Otherwise, it was fine. Also took the harbor cruise, no problems there. overall good experience.

Sandra E
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Very disappointed. Our booking had not been passed to driver. Consequently waited one hour five minuites to be collected. Other tour members had been dropped at first sight seeing stop which fortunately we had done the day before, so we said not to bother. Enjoyed brief visits to other areas. . Driver did her best to make up for lack of time spent in various areas. Overall would describe it as a hurried trip and not enough time to take in the city. However, the company of other passengers five delightful girls, made up for it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Would have appreciated more information from the driver. The places we stopped were great. ..Some history or background of our destinations would have been nice.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The trip itself covered all the highlights of San Diego, but I was seated way in the back of the van and sometimes had trouble hearing the guide. She also had an accent that made it difficult to understand all that she said. The back seat moved, and it's passengers almost hit the roof on certain bumps in the road. I did enjoy the stops in Balboa Park,Old Town and La Jolla, but would have liked a chance to visit the Coronado Hotel for a while. I took the Hop Off, Hop On Trolley the next day, visiting some of the same spots (except La Jolla) and that guide made the trip more interesting.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

We were stuffed in a van but the last few people could not get in. We walked back inside the Amtrak station and waited for a bus. Both the van and the the bus were very worn (paint, upholstery--not a classy job at all). We left one participant at the Midway Carrier stop and had to return for her. The guide really know a lot about San Diego, but her need for dental work detracted from her total presentation. We would not recommend this tour company.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

We were very disappointed with the tour guide. Sure it was her first day. She could hardy speak American, had to ask the bus driver where we were and wait to read the signs. Didn't know her left from her right so we were basically past everything before she pointed it out. 45 mts late leaving!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The tour was ok. We spent way too much time going to La Jolla and at the Del on Coronado. We drove past Old Town and thru Gas Lamp district which would have been nice to spend time there walking around. Having taken city tours in many other places, this one was very disappointing. The first scheduled trip was cancelled, we found out when we showed up for the trip. We didn't get a call from them, even though I had a cell phone number on my trip. When I got home there was an e-mail saying the trip was cancelled. Not everyone travels with there laptop, but everyone has there phone.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

5 Star Tours did not deliver on your promises. The van we were driven around in was old, the seat was not bolted down securely and rocked back and forth with every forward and release of the accelerator which was continuous. We could not hear the driver even after telling her, the speaker didn't work in the back. We were taken to LaJolla in the height of rush hour traffic and to where the Cormorant birds' had stunk up the coastal area so bad it was sickening. This was not a fun experience for any of us on this tour and I wish we had never booked it nor would I ever recommend it to anyone.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

I called ahead to be picked up at my hotel and was told they don't pick up there although Viator indicated they would using the other Hotel field when booking on line. The representative on the phone at the office at the train station was arrogant and uncooperative. In fact they hung up the phone in my face and told me they did not want me on the tour. As for the tour we did see all the attractions as promised. The tour guide was nice but needs to be detailed in his explanations. I did not learn a whole lot about San Diego. There was a little down time from attraction to attraction. Not much learned about this city on this tour. We were very disappointed with this tour. I will not use this compny again nor will I recommend Viator to my clients for any trips to San Diego.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

We were VERY dissatisfied with the quality of our tour. First, the tour started 30 minutes late. The quality and condition of the bus was certainly not what we expected. It was dirty, and some of the seat backs would not adjust, and one would not stay in an upright position. The real issue was with our tour guide. Although he had basic knowledge of San Diego, his presentation skills were terrible. We sat near the back of the bus, and he frequently had "private conversations" with the people in the first few seats. When we left the bus to walk around, he was on a fast paced mission (probably to make up for the 30 minute delay). Instead of stopping so the entire group could collect and hear what he was saying, he once again spoke so only the 3-4 people closest to him could hear. Multiple times I asked him to slow down so everyone could hear what he was saying, but my requests fell on deaf ears. When going through Hotel Del Coronado, he told us to "read all the displays and take our time", but then he disappeared. We found him on the beach talking to the 3-4 people who decided to stick with him instead of "reading the displays". Lastly, after touring "Old Town" two members of the group did not return to the bus. After waiting 15-20 minutes, our bus circled the neighborhood, while our tour guide searched for the missing couple. After one trip around the block, the bus just took us back to bus station instead of continuing on to La Jolla as our tour guide had stated.
We traveled with another couple who go on many tours (G. and M. Wells), and this was the very worst they had been on. My wife and I took our niece who lives in San Diego and she told us more about the things we saw, than your tour guide. Definitely not worth it, and a waste of time.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

This was our most EXPENSIVE tour and it was horrible!! We were very very disappointed and would not recommend this to anyone. Our tour guide was also our driver, was nice, but not informative what so ever! Third sentence spoke, we knew it was not going to be a good tour. We were dropped off here and there for 20 min to 30 min per stop and then had to guide ourselves. We obtained more information from the local cab drivers. When you pay for a guided tour that's what you expect and should get. Long 4 hours, very boring.....do not waste your money like we did! Find something else to do.

Special Offer
$45.99 Save $11.50

From USD $ 34.49

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3044SDCITY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message