4.5 star rating: Recommended 813 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 813 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful full day of experiencing the sights and sounds of San Francisco and we have already passed on your details to friends for their trip to San Francisco early next year. Thank you for the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Bus Driver/Guide was outstanding............been on many tours all over the world but this guy was the best......Troy...was his name..........

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour that did not disappoint Trip to the Muir Woods was outstanding! Love the redwoods and could have stayed much longer. Sausalito was nice, but did not have much time to enjoy as we only had time to eat lunch before having to move on. Alcatraz tour was great, but you need to allow at least 2 hours to view the entire facility and grounds. Great first day in San Francisco!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour really is amazing!! I did love San Francisco but this day was definitely my favourite. The Muir woods is a must see destination, right on par with Alcatraz itself. (you really do need to pre-book as you can wait a week for tickets there). Can't recommend enough! 10/10.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I book this trip over the internet; we were a little apprehensive, this was due to some of the review we had read, we were worried about nothing. We called the office the day prior to our trip for our pickup time and the gentleman at the tour company was very polite and helpful answering our quires clearly and confidently. On the day of our trip we were collected on time from the hotel as the tour company had explained and transported to the main office to collect our tickets and board our onward mode of transport. The coach driver was very informative of all the locations we visited and with out him the trip would not have been so enjoyable. I am glad we chose Viator for our Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito excursion. Thank’s Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was great. Alex was a great driver and very informative. The tour lasts a full 8 hours so take some snacks as there was little time for lunch in Sausalito. Alcatraz was very interesting and the audio was very real and informative. The ride to Muir Woods is lovely and Sausalito is a great little village on the water. Wished the tour had allowed for more time there. All in all a good trip. The ONLY negative is that the tour company seemed very disorganized. We were picked up right on time and taken to the tour Office to get our tickets. However, there we had to wait for over an hour for our bus to arrive so the tour to Alcatraz really didn't get started until 10:30. After Alcatraz, you have to go BACK to tour Office to get your ticket for Muir Woods and Sausalito for the continuation of your day tour. The tour comapny failed to tell us that we needed ANOTHER ticket for admission to Muir Woods. Finally, they realized that no one had gotten their Muir Woods tickets and that was the hold up with the bus!!!!! The bus assignments are very confusing. The ticket is for a certain color (example - Blue) and you have to walk around and ask the drivers are you blue? The drivers were confused too. Once we got our bus and a terrific driver, all was forgiven. It would be simple for the drivers to have a sign in there window as to their color or stand outside their bus with a color displayed. The tour was a 5 star but I'd give the tour company only 1 star. Sorry to the tour company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent tour guide made this a an exciting visit . So much history and general information given during the day.We made use of every minute because of his advice and have lots of good memories and photos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time! Our tour guide was super informative and even stopped by the Golden Gate Bridge for photo ops even though it wasn't part of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing! The only thing I wished was that we had at least 15 min more to enjoy on both the Muir woods and to Sausalito. Enough to have some lunch and walk around a bit. Alcatraz was perfect! Had such a great time at all sites!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyable and informative trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Alcatraz the stand out. Brilliant audio tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Archie was our tour director for the day. He was very entertaining and told us facts all along the way. Our first stop was Muir Woods. The place is beautiful and we had a great time walking the paths. We could have spent the entire day in Muir Woods. Archie took us a little of course to the Muir Woods beach overlook. What a beautfiul view and great picture opportunities. We had an hour in Sausalito and enjoyed our lunch. Then we headed back to SF to Fishermans Wharf where we boarded the Alcatraz Tour boat. The boat ride was enjoyable and the Alcatraz walking/audio tour was one of my favorite things of the day. I would strongly recommend Viator Tours and we were pleased with our experience. Ask for Archie, he is worth the money!!

From USD $ 79.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMUI3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message