4.5 star rating: Recommended 861 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 861 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Archie was our tour director for the day. He was very entertaining and told us facts all along the way. Our first stop was Muir Woods. The place is beautiful and we had a great time walking the paths. We could have spent the entire day in Muir Woods. Archie took us a little of course to the Muir Woods beach overlook. What a beautfiul view and great picture opportunities. We had an hour in Sausalito and enjoyed our lunch. Then we headed back to SF to Fishermans Wharf where we boarded the Alcatraz Tour boat. The boat ride was enjoyable and the Alcatraz walking/audio tour was one of my favorite things of the day. I would strongly recommend Viator Tours and we were pleased with our experience. Ask for Archie, he is worth the money!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ferry and bus tour were amazing! Especially loved our bus driver, troy. Learned so much about sf and had a great time! Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the entire day. Our tour guide was very informative and funny. I wish I could remember his name. Sorry!! We learned a lot from him and had fun at the same time. Each place that we visited was entirely different but all were very enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour.

Rhona S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful woods and very eerie feeling walking in the footsteps of history on Alcatraz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz was a surprise hit. The tour includes the ferry ride over and back and once on Alcatraz, you are on your own to make sure you get back on a ferry that will return in time for the second part of the tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito. Even though you are on your own at Alcatraz, you have ample time to take advantage of the free audio tour, Alcatraz video, and wander around. The Muir Woods was amazing but it is a large preserve that definitely needs a revisit since you only get about an hour at the woods. Sausalito was a nice town to stroll, shop, and get a quick bite. You get about an hour in Sausalito. Overall, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the line for the boat trip was confusing . they told us to line up in the wrong place for 2 hours and then said we were in the wrong place
we had to go and redeem our vouchers twice to an office
why cant you send the vouchers directly as it wastes a lot of time
the content was good and our driver was knowledgeable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the highlights of my time in San Francisco. Great value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour guide. Enjoyed our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

fantastic tour had a great day reccommend to everyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz is a must see on anybody's trip to San Francisco and rightly so. A great insight into prison life history.
I really enjoyed the scenery around Muir Woods too - the Giant Redwoods have to be seen to be believed.

We did not get too much time in Sausalito so can not comment too much but it did seem to be a charming little town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I could have skipped Sausalito, but Alcatraz and Muir Woods were amazing! Our bus driver, Aaron, was incredible! He literally did not take a breath, providing us with info all the way. He was humorous, polite, he even held someones' baby for them! I would recommend this tour, my favourite part of my San Francisco trip. (I would have liked a little more time in Muir Woods)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the tour was a great fun day out. Very easy to access as there were lots of pick up points we could get to. Tour guides were fun and well informed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did several tours while there and enjoyed each one of them!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'd recommend getting to the Alcatraz 'Escape from the Rock' tour early so that you can get a good spot. I'm short so it was hard to get a good view of anything behind everyone. The trip was entertaining and informative especially thanks to our bus driver for the Muir Woods and Sausalito portion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip,plenty of time on island, beautiful boat ride over, wonderful walk in Muir woods

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Archie was our guide . Great music n personality

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Troy was both highly entertaining and knowledgeable. Given that we only had one day to tour three sites; Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito the tour needed to be carefully scheduled and it was. We would recommend this tour to anybody visiting San Francisco but be sure to book early and take a sweater or something warm to wear on Alcatraz Island regardless of the temperature on the mainland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Definitely interesting!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very fun tour. My family really enjoyed seeing and learning about Alkatraz, the Muir Woods and Sacalito. All amazing places to visit, we want to come back and spend more time at each. The tour guide was great too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an excellent day run by a very professional tour company. The hotel pick up was on time and The Alcatraz tour was amazing and with plenty of time to complete the audio tour and get back to the boat to get the coach for the next part of the tour. Muir woods was something really special with the giant redwoods a real treat. We had a lovely weather day and the driver was great. Loads of information and kept everyone involved as the day went on.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alcatraz and Muir Woods was one of our highlights, would definitely recommend this tour for everyone, although Sausalito was relatively uninteresting.

Spent 3 hours at Alcatraz, seemed like 30 minutes, if you only do one tour, take this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was an excellent trip and the Grey Line service was one of high quality and punctuality

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour. Our driver Troy was very entertaining and knowledgeable throughout the day and gave us tips for each of our stops. Muir Woods and Sausalito are very picturesque places that anyone visiting San Francisco should make the short journey to see. Alcatraz is amazing and a must-do in San Francisco. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

From USD $ 79.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMUI3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message