Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 886 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour!

Janis A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful full day of experiencing the sights and sounds of San Francisco and we have already passed on your details to friends for their trip to San Francisco early next year. Thank you for the experience.

robert w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Bus Driver/Guide was outstanding............been on many tours all over the world but this guy was the best......Troy...was his name..........

Wayne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour that did not disappoint Trip to the Muir Woods was outstanding! Love the redwoods and could have stayed much longer. Sausalito was nice, but did not have much time to enjoy as we only had time to eat lunch before having to move on. Alcatraz tour was great, but you need to allow at least 2 hours to view the entire facility and grounds. Great first day in San Francisco!!!

Jemma L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour really is amazing!! I did love San Francisco but this day was definitely my favourite. The Muir woods is a must see destination, right on par with Alcatraz itself. (you really do need to pre-book as you can wait a week for tickets there). Can't recommend enough! 10/10.

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I book this trip over the internet; we were a little apprehensive, this was due to some of the review we had read, we were worried about nothing. We called the office the day prior to our trip for our pickup time and the gentleman at the tour company was very polite and helpful answering our quires clearly and confidently. On the day of our trip we were collected on time from the hotel as the tour company had explained and transported to the main office to collect our tickets and board our onward mode of transport. The coach driver was very informative of all the locations we visited and with out him the trip would not have been so enjoyable. I am glad we chose Viator for our Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito excursion. Thank’s Viator.

Melinda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was great. Alex was a great driver and very informative. The tour lasts a full 8 hours so take some snacks as there was little time for lunch in Sausalito. Alcatraz was very interesting and the audio was very real and informative. The ride to Muir Woods is lovely and Sausalito is a great little village on the water. Wished the tour had allowed for more time there. All in all a good trip. The ONLY negative is that the tour company seemed very disorganized. We were picked up right on time and taken to the tour Office to get our tickets. However, there we had to wait for over an hour for our bus to arrive so the tour to Alcatraz really didn't get started until 10:30. After Alcatraz, you have to go BACK to tour Office to get your ticket for Muir Woods and Sausalito for the continuation of your day tour. The tour comapny failed to tell us that we needed ANOTHER ticket for admission to Muir Woods. Finally, they realized that no one had gotten their Muir Woods tickets and that was the hold up with the bus!!!!! The bus assignments are very confusing. The ticket is for a certain color (example - Blue) and you have to walk around and ask the drivers are you blue? The drivers were confused too. Once we got our bus and a terrific driver, all was forgiven. It would be simple for the drivers to have a sign in there window as to their color or stand outside their bus with a color displayed. The tour was a 5 star but I'd give the tour company only 1 star. Sorry to the tour company.

Beverley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent tour guide made this a an exciting visit . So much history and general information given during the day.We made use of every minute because of his advice and have lots of good memories and photos.

CHRISTINE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time! Our tour guide was super informative and even stopped by the Golden Gate Bridge for photo ops even though it wasn't part of our trip.

FRANK F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing! The only thing I wished was that we had at least 15 min more to enjoy on both the Muir woods and to Sausalito. Enough to have some lunch and walk around a bit. Alcatraz was perfect! Had such a great time at all sites!

Steven S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyable and informative trip

Gareth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. Alcatraz the stand out. Brilliant audio tour

Powds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

Sherry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Archie was our tour director for the day. He was very entertaining and told us facts all along the way. Our first stop was Muir Woods. The place is beautiful and we had a great time walking the paths. We could have spent the entire day in Muir Woods. Archie took us a little of course to the Muir Woods beach overlook. What a beautfiul view and great picture opportunities. We had an hour in Sausalito and enjoyed our lunch. Then we headed back to SF to Fishermans Wharf where we boarded the Alcatraz Tour boat. The boat ride was enjoyable and the Alcatraz walking/audio tour was one of my favorite things of the day. I would strongly recommend Viator Tours and we were pleased with our experience. Ask for Archie, he is worth the money!!

Ashlee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ferry and bus tour were amazing! Especially loved our bus driver, troy. Learned so much about sf and had a great time! Thanks!

Michelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Clarissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the entire day. Our tour guide was very informative and funny. I wish I could remember his name. Sorry!! We learned a lot from him and had fun at the same time. Each place that we visited was entirely different but all were very enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour.

Rhona S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful woods and very eerie feeling walking in the footsteps of history on Alcatraz

Jan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz was a surprise hit. The tour includes the ferry ride over and back and once on Alcatraz, you are on your own to make sure you get back on a ferry that will return in time for the second part of the tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito. Even though you are on your own at Alcatraz, you have ample time to take advantage of the free audio tour, Alcatraz video, and wander around. The Muir Woods was amazing but it is a large preserve that definitely needs a revisit since you only get about an hour at the woods. Sausalito was a nice town to stroll, shop, and get a quick bite. You get about an hour in Sausalito. Overall, highly recommended.

Himakshi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the line for the boat trip was confusing . they told us to line up in the wrong place for 2 hours and then said we were in the wrong place
we had to go and redeem our vouchers twice to an office
why cant you send the vouchers directly as it wastes a lot of time
the content was good and our driver was knowledgeable

Nicola K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the highlights of my time in San Francisco. Great value for money.

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour guide. Enjoyed our trip.

Stella L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

fantastic tour had a great day reccommend to everyone

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz is a must see on anybody's trip to San Francisco and rightly so. A great insight into prison life history.
I really enjoyed the scenery around Muir Woods too - the Giant Redwoods have to be seen to be believed.

We did not get too much time in Sausalito so can not comment too much but it did seem to be a charming little town

Bradley G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I could have skipped Sausalito, but Alcatraz and Muir Woods were amazing! Our bus driver, Aaron, was incredible! He literally did not take a breath, providing us with info all the way. He was humorous, polite, he even held someones' baby for them! I would recommend this tour, my favourite part of my San Francisco trip. (I would have liked a little more time in Muir Woods)

Viewing 3 of 36

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 79.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMUI3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message