4.5 star rating: Recommended 855 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 855 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My 7 friends and I had a fantastic time on the whole tour from start to finish. The bus driver had little facts about everything we drove past and for every destination. He also took us to a unique picture spot unexpectedly and we got awesome pictures with the Golden Gate Bridge. Worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent trip, just enough time at each place and you are left at Alcatraz to leave when you wish, highly recommend !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I had a great time! Alcatraz was very interesting, although I wish more areas were open. Muir Woods was beautiful as was Sausalito. Brian the tour bus driver was friendly and a great addition to the trip with extra information on the history of San Fran. I've already recommended this tour to friends

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

it was a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great times at all three spots! Driver to Muir Woods was very informative and entertaining with his knowledge about the history of San Francisco.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour saved us the hassle of having to rent a car and make our own reservations to Alcatraz. The pick up and drop off went smoothly and the day progressed like clockwork. One suggestion would be to advertise that people can elect to stay in Sausalito and take the ferry back to San Francisco rather than riding the bus. We didn't know this was an option, so we didn't plan for it. The drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, even recommending restaurants and other attractions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful time on our vacation to San Francisco and really enjoyed our tour of Alcratraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito. We would highly recommend it to anyone taking a trip to San Francisco.
Loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was good, the tour guide was excellent. The only thing is we wished we would have had more time in Alcatraz. 1 1/2 hour is not enough time to take the ferry back and firth and see the whole island. That part was very rushed. But other than that everything was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour, but be advised it is actually 2 separate tours and we did Alkatraz and Muir Woods on different days at our request.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved all the tours that day. Each one was unique. Perhaps we put too much into one day. We would have loved more time in the Redwoods. If the transfers from one activity to the next were a little more seamlessly organised this would allow for more time and less waiting around. Our tour driver was excellent.
Gordon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great historical tour. The audio tour was SOO informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time on the tour and would recommend it to everybody. Some times you just don't leave yourself enough time that was our case, our guide to the Muir Woods was great, the tour through Alcatraz was very informative, really liked the self guided part seemed to give more information than anyone single person could relay!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic trip! It was so much to learn about Alcatraz. It was an Amazing tour. Also the Muir Woods trip was great to and our tour guide was WONDERFUL. He was so informative. I recommend that everyone take these 2 tours while in San Francisco, CA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Its definitely worth it. The driver was very good informed about the places that we visited and he provided several interesting infos. Dont miss this trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the tour, would recommend to friends, the driver on the Muir Woods and Sausalito tour was really knowledgable and entertaining really good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Guide was the best. Sorry forgot his name.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip, we had the best driver, he made unscheduled stops for the group and allowed us to take amazing photos. I highly recommend this tour, the time frame in each area was enough if you have a short time in the area and want to see a lot. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was so much more interesting than I thought it would be.Alcatraz is an experience that should not be missed.The Redwoods are a phenomenal site,and Sausalito is beautiful.I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was fantastic. Muir Woods was beautiful and Sausalito was a nice quick shopping stop. The tour operator/driver was wonderful! So knowledgeable and engaging. He made it so interesting and informative. Alcatraz was simply awesome. I loved the audio tour, it really made you feel like you were in the experience.

My only complaint is that we were expecting a big comfortable coach bus and instead we were taken in one of the smaller shuttle buses. Otherwise a great experience and I would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Busy day but very good. This trip not to be missed. Staff excelent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This trip was wonderful. One thing to know about this trip is that it is actually two separate events. The Muir Woods and Sausalito trip are a half-day excursion hosted by the tour company. Muir Woods is beautiful and we had a very nice and relaxing walk. Sausalito is a very quaint town, where our lunch was delicious. Our driver, John, was very knowledgable and helpful. After the Muir Woods and Sausalito portion, we were dropped off at the ferry terminal where we caught the Alcatraz ferry operated by the National Parks Service. The ferry times are very specific, so it is important not to miss the scheduled ferry. You need to be there at least 30 minutes before the scheduled ferry time. As a caution, it is helpful to bring bug spray, such as Off, to Alcatraz, as the flies are annoying. The bug spray seemed t help. Alcatraz is very well done and the audio tour is excellent. After the tour the bus picked us up and took us back to the tour company office and then back to our hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Highly recommend this tour. We had a great day. Muir woods is beautiful and a must see. Alcatraz was amazing to see and Sausalito is such a pretty place. We would do it all over again!!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was really nice . I would recommend it to everyone .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour to muir woods was very interesting and a lovely place to take in the nature. and Alcatraz was so good there was and old inmate there when we went and he was a very interesting character its a must see tour and having it done by the experts made our trip so much easier

From USD $ 79.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMUI3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message