4.5 star rating: Recommended 1546 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1546 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This experience was a day long one but well worth it. In the morning we toured the city in a Grayline Bus with Greg as the driver. He was a fountain of knowledge and made the tour both stimulating and interesting with his anecdotes and insights into all the various parts of the city. The highlight being the visit to a lookout point over the city which gave the tourists a good perspective of the size and scale of San Francisco.
In the afternoon we visited Alcatraz, taking the ferry which was about a 20 minute excursion in itself but we were delayed somewhat in departing because of the huge number of patrons lined up to get on the boat. Certainly brought home to us how popular this iconic prison on a lump of rock is for visitors across the world.
For me this was a compelling experience as the audio provided to each person is brilliant and gives one a very clear picture of what life was like for the prisoners at this establishment until its closure in 1963. The highlight was meeting Billy Baker a former inmate in the prison, aged 81, who was signing his book ''Alcatraz'' which he wrote on his release finally from prison in his late 70s. He was a very engaging fellow and was more than happy to talk about his experiences in this hell hole over a 6 year period…but what got me most was his admission that he spent the best years of his life in Alcatraz because of the close friendships he formed with a number of fellow prisoners, all of whom were career criminals, and the strong bonds of comradeship that developed as they schemed together for better conditions in the prison or in hatching plans to escape. For all visitors to San Fran this is a compulsory destination…it will certainly have an impact on you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Bus driver was excellent, knowledgeable and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything I expected and more with Alcatraz the standout.
I do suggest you take some food with you as there is limited time and selection whilst on the tour

Cath
Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our holiday in the USA, we loved San Francisco and the Alcatraz Tour is a must, so happy we booked early as there were a lot of disappointed tourists at the Pier trying to get tickets.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another great tour with Gray Line tours. On time and very helpful. One suggestion I would like to pass on is at the location where they drop you off to get your particular tour bus, the bathroom facilities are a disgrace. You have to go pass the restaurant and follow and long hall which was very dirty and so was the bathroom. Considering the amount of money charged for the tours, I would think they would have better accommodations. The bathroom was in the same condition the three days I used it on my three different tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was great to do one the first day and a great way to make sure you get your Alcatraz booking sorted!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent!!! the driver bus was very polite and he knows what he is doing. he explained everything with details, and the ferry was great too. I am happy had taken this tour (Alcatraz and San Fracisco City Tour). :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just brilliant. The city tour was great and have us an idea of what we wanted to explore later. Alcatraz was so interesting. Being able to do it at our own pace with our individual headphones meant the place was eerily quiet and respectful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We highly recommend this tour! I went with my boyfriend and we had a great tour guide taking us to see the sights, he was so informative, which really adds to the experience. We had enough time to get off the bus and see places, then back on to go elsewhere. Once the city tour is done, he takes you to Fisherman's Wharf to go to Alcatraz in plenty of time. Alcatraz was great, so interesting to see and you have an audio tape to take you through the prison at your own pace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a very interesting tour. The tour guides was very good and told a lot about San Francisco. Alcatrez visit was very impressing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very Cool! Must do!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organized and on time.

From USD $ 79.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFODLX3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message