4.5 star rating: Recommended 1530 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1530 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour of San Francisco was really great with the bus driver adding to the fun. He had a great sense of humor and gave us lots of interesting information. All the stops worked out well with food and beverages and bathroom breaks. He advised us how to navigate Alcatraz in a timely manner.
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a most interesting area of our country.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was very thorough and enjoyable. I'm sure the driver makes a big difference on this trip. We were lucky enough to get Aaron. The Alcatraz tour and ferry ride were nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent experience! Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent weather meant a great trip on the water and the guide was very informative and helpful, steering us to the best photo opportunities, really enjoyed it. The bus city tour was really interesting also, with a very informative driver/guide. The city is beautiful and full of history. Would recommend the tour for sure!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was absolutely perfect for me to see everything I wanted to see in San Francisco. Even though I would have loved to have gone to Alcatraz, it was perfect going around it on the boat twice and having the rest of the day to myself. From going across the Golden Gate Bridge, to seeing Haight-Ashbury, going to Twin Peaks for an over view of the entire city, to Land's End, the tour was perfect on the bus. What made it really special was the cruise. Unbeatable views of the city, bridges, and Alcatraz. I highly recommend it to anyone who only really has a day in San Francisco like I did.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The escape from Alcatraz was the next best thing than actually being on "the Rock." Great views of the city and excellent overview of the prison. The bus tour is a must. My kids got a real flavor for the city and learned quite a lot from the driver who was very knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This experience was a day long one but well worth it. In the morning we toured the city in a Grayline Bus with Greg as the driver. He was a fountain of knowledge and made the tour both stimulating and interesting with his anecdotes and insights into all the various parts of the city. The highlight being the visit to a lookout point over the city which gave the tourists a good perspective of the size and scale of San Francisco.
In the afternoon we visited Alcatraz, taking the ferry which was about a 20 minute excursion in itself but we were delayed somewhat in departing because of the huge number of patrons lined up to get on the boat. Certainly brought home to us how popular this iconic prison on a lump of rock is for visitors across the world.
For me this was a compelling experience as the audio provided to each person is brilliant and gives one a very clear picture of what life was like for the prisoners at this establishment until its closure in 1963. The highlight was meeting Billy Baker a former inmate in the prison, aged 81, who was signing his book ''Alcatraz'' which he wrote on his release finally from prison in his late 70s. He was a very engaging fellow and was more than happy to talk about his experiences in this hell hole over a 6 year period…but what got me most was his admission that he spent the best years of his life in Alcatraz because of the close friendships he formed with a number of fellow prisoners, all of whom were career criminals, and the strong bonds of comradeship that developed as they schemed together for better conditions in the prison or in hatching plans to escape. For all visitors to San Fran this is a compulsory destination…it will certainly have an impact on you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Bus driver was excellent, knowledgeable and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything I expected and more with Alcatraz the standout.
I do suggest you take some food with you as there is limited time and selection whilst on the tour

Cath
Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our holiday in the USA, we loved San Francisco and the Alcatraz Tour is a must, so happy we booked early as there were a lot of disappointed tourists at the Pier trying to get tickets.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another great tour with Gray Line tours. On time and very helpful. One suggestion I would like to pass on is at the location where they drop you off to get your particular tour bus, the bathroom facilities are a disgrace. You have to go pass the restaurant and follow and long hall which was very dirty and so was the bathroom. Considering the amount of money charged for the tours, I would think they would have better accommodations. The bathroom was in the same condition the three days I used it on my three different tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was great to do one the first day and a great way to make sure you get your Alcatraz booking sorted!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent!!! the driver bus was very polite and he knows what he is doing. he explained everything with details, and the ferry was great too. I am happy had taken this tour (Alcatraz and San Fracisco City Tour). :)

From USD $ 79.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFODLX3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message