4.5 star rating: Recommended 42 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the California Academy of Sciences NightLife. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 42 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Saké
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I have been here before, but the first time I booked from a different site and it was just as convenient. The great thing about booking on Viator for my second time round was that I could book at the very last minute! What a great service! Anyways, the California Academy of Science Nightlife was fun. It is a very different type of 'night out' in San Francisco. There were lots of people, but not too crowded. I had some great cocktails (wish I remember the names). The exhibits were fantastic and the music from the D.J. was not bad either, it was a good addition to the atmosphere. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a different kind of night out in San Francisco!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I booked these tickets to go with a group of friends and we all had a great time. The aquarium was fascinating. The 4-storey rainforest was also a lot of fun, I especially found the level with the live butterflies flying around really interesting. The tickets to the Planetarium were sold out by the time we got there, so I would advise others to line up for the Planetarium first. Also, if I remember correctly, the rainforest closes after a certain time. It was a fun night with good drinks and great crowd in a cool setting.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Drink as much as you can in the open bar at the beginning of the tour cause it costs you money to get a drink after the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great museum and night

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

There are multiple floors with just about everything science-y. Some cool aspects of the museum.
All the exhibits and show cases were interesting to look at and super informative.
Got my Planetarium pass for 7:30pm show ,the 3D show in the forum was awesome. Don't miss it. Its a great atmosphere with great music enjoy science. Don't miss it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Was a very cool tour just wished we had more time to explore with a guide and more time to relax into the evening at the bar and snack area.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Fun and informative. The behind-the-scenes tour was great. We saw gems that were amazing and got to talk to scientist s who were preparing specimens for the collection. The living roof was also amazing. Drinks and food provided were good. The planetarium show was wonderful.
Negatives: It was very crowded and noisy. Sometimes it was hard to view exhibits due to the large number of people trying to see the same exhibit. Drinks were served first before the tour even began so some of the people on the tour may have had too much to drink. Some of them were loud and not really paying attention to the tour guide.
However, in general this was an enjoyable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed this very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The Academy of Sciences is truly amazing; the least of which are the exhibits. The building itself is a work of art and genius! Congratulations Academy!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great night. go into a VIP que and go straight in where you are met and given a pass to wear. You are guided through to the roof whare you can have as many free cocktails as you like abd then taken to all behind the scenes.very interesting and well worth the extra money

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

My daughter and I went. It was a wonderful evening. I would have arrived exactly at 6pm though, so I could see all the attractions. We were able to see the aquarium and were too late for the rest. Overall great evening

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Lots of fun - highly recommend this! But buyer beware - although this site lists a date for the ticket, the voucher you purchase here does not guarantee you entry on any particular night (ie if the event is sold out the night you go).

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Fun times.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

We thought this would be a fun way to spend our first night in SF, and planned on spending a full day here later. However, after just a couple of hours, we felt we had seen everything that interested us. We were expecting more of a science museum (with experimental exhibits) and not so much aquarium/rain forest. Don't get me wrong, it was nice, just not what we were expecting. The crowd was VERY young, which I am not. But even my 25 yr old daughter felt old. They seemed to be there only for the party, and I wondered why they didn't just opt to go to a club.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

IT WAS FUN TO SEE THE EXHIBITS AT NIGHT and THE OPEN BAR / SANDWICHES WERE A GREAT TOUCH. I WOULD SAY VIP IS THE WAY TO GO - YOU GO RIGHT TO THE FRONT OF THE LINE and HAVE ACCESS TO ALL EXHIBITS and SOME BEHIND THE SCENES EXHIBITS. YOU LEARN SOME FUN FACTS ABOUT THE PROPERTY- WHICH YOU WOULDN'T GET FROM DOING IT ON YOUR OWN. I WOULDN'T SAY NIGHTLIFE IS A "MUST-SEE" BUT IT WAS A FUN NIGHT OUT.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

Planetarium tickets were sold out, the rainforest was closed, and passes to see the penguins were gone. The aquarium was cool, but it would have been fun to see the rest.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

This was a waste of money as no-one was interested in the exhibits, everyone just wanted to dance to the too-loud music and drink to excess. I don't know why people who want this don't go to a nightclub instead?!
Everybody else's drunken behaviour ruined the visit for us, and it surely must have scared the animals in the rainforest and aquarium, etc?

From USD $ 12.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5072NIGHT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message