4.5 star rating: Recommended 36 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the California Academy of Sciences NightLife. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 36 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The California Academy of Sciences Nightlife event was awesome! I headed to the museum right after work and met up with a bunch of friends. The night was relaxing and educational! My favorite part was the rainforest in the middle of the museum. The seaweed sea horses were also magnificent. It was great to be at the museum without a bunch of kids around and the DJ was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Excellent tour behind the scenes of the CAS, also the Rain Forest, was able to use the telescopes on rooftop too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great attraction. Make sure you get there as early as you can as there isn't enough time after the tour to see everything as well as the planetarium show.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

the ticket situation was confusing, we had to exchange at the ticket booth. the line to get in was very long in the cold having tickets didn't help

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

I’m a huge Science Nerd, so I expected to love the California Academy of Sciences, but really – only California can make an Academy of Sciences so *Cool*. There was a DJ, and a live Band, and I took the VIP + Cocktails Tour, which meant open bar privileges. Trust me - you want the VIP Pass – even if you don’t drink. The ability to skip the lines into the 4 story Rainforest, and the Planetarium are well worth it. Not to mention that you get to see this beautiful climate controlled gem room, and go behind the closed doors to talk to the Scientists who are working while Nightlife is going on. There were many jealous looks as my friend and I bypassed what had to be an hour long line to get preferred seating in the Planetarium! We went on the third Thursday of the month, which we were told was a special night in the Planetarium. Every third Thursday, the California Academy of Sciences does a review of the new Astronomy finds that week in Science. It was excellent to see something that wasn’t the standard walk-thru of the planets and solar system. The MC for the Planetarium talked about all sorts of interesting things, like the effect of the Solar Winds on the Magnetic field of Earth, and how we would appear to Aliens, if they happened to see our transmissions. It was all really great, and we caught the last show, which meant it was kind of the final thing we did that night. It turned out to be the perfect ending to a really great night.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This is the perfect time to visit the Cal Academy -- without kids running around and cocktail in hand! Ideal for a first date or night out with friends and colleagues. It was so easy to book through Viator, we just showed up and walked right in!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

I loved it! The highlight for me was the aquarium. Tons of cool creatures to see, my favorites being the jellyfish and octopus. They even have a little pool where you can touch starfish and sea anemones! I'll definitely be going back soon.

Saké
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I have been here before, but the first time I booked from a different site and it was just as convenient. The great thing about booking on Viator for my second time round was that I could book at the very last minute! What a great service! Anyways, the California Academy of Science Nightlife was fun. It is a very different type of 'night out' in San Francisco. There were lots of people, but not too crowded. I had some great cocktails (wish I remember the names). The exhibits were fantastic and the music from the D.J. was not bad either, it was a good addition to the atmosphere. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a different kind of night out in San Francisco!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I booked these tickets to go with a group of friends and we all had a great time. The aquarium was fascinating. The 4-storey rainforest was also a lot of fun, I especially found the level with the live butterflies flying around really interesting. The tickets to the Planetarium were sold out by the time we got there, so I would advise others to line up for the Planetarium first. Also, if I remember correctly, the rainforest closes after a certain time. It was a fun night with good drinks and great crowd in a cool setting.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

There are multiple floors with just about everything science-y. Some cool aspects of the museum.
All the exhibits and show cases were interesting to look at and super informative.
Got my Planetarium pass for 7:30pm show ,the 3D show in the forum was awesome. Don't miss it. Its a great atmosphere with great music enjoy science. Don't miss it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Was a very cool tour just wished we had more time to explore with a guide and more time to relax into the evening at the bar and snack area.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Fun and informative. The behind-the-scenes tour was great. We saw gems that were amazing and got to talk to scientist s who were preparing specimens for the collection. The living roof was also amazing. Drinks and food provided were good. The planetarium show was wonderful.
Negatives: It was very crowded and noisy. Sometimes it was hard to view exhibits due to the large number of people trying to see the same exhibit. Drinks were served first before the tour even began so some of the people on the tour may have had too much to drink. Some of them were loud and not really paying attention to the tour guide.
However, in general this was an enjoyable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed this very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The Academy of Sciences is truly amazing; the least of which are the exhibits. The building itself is a work of art and genius! Congratulations Academy!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great night. go into a VIP que and go straight in where you are met and given a pass to wear. You are guided through to the roof whare you can have as many free cocktails as you like abd then taken to all behind the scenes.very interesting and well worth the extra money

From USD $ 12.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5072NIGHT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message