Insider's Guide to Napa & Sonoma

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

alfred d c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour!! our guide was fantastic. She was an encyclopedia of information.

Stephanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

There are so many wine country tours to choose from, and we really hit on a winner with this one. With a maximum of 12 people, you get a chance to influence which wineries you visit, even if that's just telling the driver the kinds of wine you like without breaking the bank.

Our driver Don was wonderful - he had great knowledge of the area and of wine, provided interesting trivia as we drove but knew when to stop, and started us off with a tour of a family vineyard and caves. We visited 5 wineries, each different from the next, and had a really enjoyable tour.

Highly recommend you ask to visit Frog's Leap - by far our favourite.

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide/driver was Jan and she chose the wineries that we went to. My husband and I were picked up at the front door of our hotel which was nice. After picking up the other guests on the tour we headed to the wine country. Jan would comment along the way sharing tidbits of pertinent information which was also nice as this was our first wine tasting tour. She drove us to 4 different wineries plus an olive oil company and another vineyard for lunch. Drive time between each winery was minimal so you did not feel as though you spent most of your time in the van. The whole experience was great and very enjoyable! It was great to have a driver for this tour so that you didn't have to worry about driving (on lots of levels!). My one suggestion is that if you have a winery that you would like to visit add that to your comments when you book your tour so that they can plan the intinerary for the day.

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was excellent! My husband, son, daughter and I had an outstanding time and absolutely loved our tour guide, Jan. She chose the most perfect wineries for us to visit. We lunched at VJB winery where we enjoyed wood fired pizzas and sipped on delicious Italian montepulciano wine. Perfect! Our day ended at Gloria Ferrer. BEAUTIFUL We sat on the fabulous terrace overlooking Carneros with wonderful Ferrer bubbly. Definitely recommend this tour and especially Jan our guide, she made the trip even more special!

Helen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We chose this tour as we wanted a small group experience, which was exactly what we got with only seven of us in total. The van that we traveled in was very comfortable and spacious.Donn, our tour guide, was knowledgeable and friendly and in the absence of any ideas from us, he selected four excellent wineries for us to visit. The Sonoma and Napa wine region is spectacular. The stop for lunch in Sonoma was lovely. We would highly recommend this tour.

Haifeng W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Andy was our tour guide for this trip. He knew a lot of good places in the wine country. Very enjoyable trip where you can visit up to 5 different places and have very good taste of wine tasting menu. Highly Recommended.

Erika N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great guide/driver and a nice group of people. We toured 5 wineries and had a marvelous time!

TTY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic tour, highlight of the trip! Loved the customizable aspect and with only 8 people the tour was very personal!

Gascon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Frank was a great tour guide. The tour is exactly what it says - customisable. He has in mind where to go but is accommodating with special requests as long as it is not too far away. We asked to go to a small boutique winery and one with a view and he did just that.

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Did the tour with Frank as our driver. He was a genuinely lovely guy and very informative. We visited Baldacci, Stags Leap, V.Sattui, Menage a Trois and the Jacuzzi family vineyard. A wonderful day with a great set of people. Very luxurious coach with plenty space. Well worth doing.

Jingxian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Quite flexible plan as expected and wonderful guide beyond expected. Enjoy it a lot. Thank you!

Deborah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a great time. Out guide was very friendly and knowledgable. The group on the tour were very friendly as well. The wineries he chose were very nice. It was so much fun tasting all the various types and flavored of wine and very educating. I would only change where we ate lunch, the deli was fine, but a small cafe would have been nice.
All in all had a great time.

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great group and Mark was very entertaining.

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Mark was an excellent tour guide. He was very knowledgeable about the process of making wine and was able to answer all of our questions. He was able to meet all of our requests by taking us to the vineyards that served the kind of wine we liked.

DIANE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour!

Nancy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Paul customized the tour to suit the group. He had everything timed perfectly; his comments were interesting; his choice for lunch stop excellent. The two wineries he chose (Inglenook and Pine Ridge) were highlights...especially Pine Ridge which we deemed to have the some of the most delicious red wines we've ever tasted. I brought home some from there to celebrate my 70th birthday, coming soon! The weather co-operated giving us a superb day to view everything. Any group which gets Paul as their driver/tour guide is very fortunate. We thought that the price of the tour was extremely reasonable considering how much we saw and how much enjoyment we derived from it. I cannot fault it!

Carolyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very educational and lots of fun!

Teresa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Absolutely one of the best opportunities to taste wine and meet people from other places!
A hint: Be prepared to tell the tour guide what you are most interested in and then they negotiate with the other tourists.

Gayle D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Mark was funny and I really enjoyed the history he gave regarding the places we toured. He also gave great recommendations regarding where to eat during lunch. I enjoyed the fact that I didn't feel so rushed and enjoyed the small group so that there was more of an intimate feel to the tour.

Ashley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our Tour guide Don was wonderful. He was extremely knowledgeable about San Francisco and Wine Country. We had a fabulous day touring Napa and Sanoma. We would highly recommend this tour.

Kim B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

I was in San Francisco on business and my wife booked this tour for me on my only day off. We saw great places and had choice in where we went! The driver was great and would definitely go again.

Dean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great tour and wineries selected.

Edward K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour, driver was very infromative. The winneries were smaller ones except for Grgrich. But totally enjoyed the smaller ones as we were treated as royality. Made friends with other tourist and drank wine for over one hour and guide was totally cool about it. Would totally recommend this tour!!

Tom S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great trip - beautiful area --- Don Ray was a GREAT tour guide, very knowledgeable and considerate and fun! Thank you for an easy and enjoyable tour and process from 'start to finish' - Tom Sublett

Michele C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This tour was absolutely wonderful, in large part to our wonderful guide, Safiya. We visited four diverse wineries and Sonoma Square. Safiya was very knowledgeable about San Francisco, Napa, and Sonoma. She made the entire trip comfortable, informative, and extremely enjoyable, even for the two persons in our party who do not drink. She was flexible, and suggested the stop in Sonoma Square when it became clear that we needed a small break from "tasting". We requested a stop at a winery that also had tastings of olive oils, and she knew just the right place! Our two non-drinkers gave the highest compliment..."we were not particularly looking forward to touring wine country, but this tour was a highlight of our trip to San Francisco".

I highly recommend this tour. We felt that it was a good value given the small tour group, the personal attention, and the flexibility to request specific wineries and accommodate all members of our group. Thank you for an excellent tour...you exceeded our expectations. Thanks, Safiya!!

Viewing 2 of 6

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 130.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2402WINELOVERS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message