4.5 star rating: Recommended 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Wine Country Tour from San Francisco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a great day touring several wineries. Lunch was fantastic. Our tour guide, Seth, was very knowledgible and accomidating. This option of a small group with all fees and lunch paid for is the only way to go.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a ball. Our guide, Frank, was wonderful and very accommodating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

What a perfect day in the wine country! This tour was first class all the way and was seamless from start to finish. The wineries that we visited were not only beautiful and iconic-Napa, but also had amazing wines for us to taste. Lunch in Yountville was held a very posh bistro and was delicious. I can highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We had fun from the moment we stepped on board the vehicle! After a short and scenic journey, we arrived at the first winery, which ended up being my favorite. It was a beautiful tasting room on a stunning vineyard with great affordable wines - I left with a few bottles! The rest of the day was lovely with a couple more winery stops and a nice lunch. A great day in wine country at a great value!

Leah
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

It was a wonderful day in Wine Country. The Michael Mondavi estate is beautiful – great place to enjoy a tasting or have a full glass on the fantastic porch overlooking the vineyard! Yountville is a really cute town – great place for lunch. Our guide was super nice and helpful, and traveling over the Golden Gate Bridge is a gorgeous way to start and end the tour! The small-group aspect is definitely the way to go.

Timetable Tim
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A fantastic day out! Everything from the plush seating in the vehicle, the friendly guide and the high-end wineries was top notch. This tour is different from the regular tours from San Francisco as it allows you to visit small, exclusive wineries and this made a huge difference. Both Michael Mondavi and Black Stallion impressed and, with a hearty wine country lunch in between, you are certainly well looked after on this trip. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I’ve lived in SF for over 7 years and this has been the best trip to Napa by far. Not having to spit out wine and being able to catch up with friends instead of driving 2 hours is something you just can’t put a value on. Staff was very versed in wines and had very good information/recommendations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A lovely day in wine country! Fantastic food and wine, definitely would recommend this tour. Mondavi was surprisingly good and the tasting at Black Stallion was wonderful. Yountville was super cute too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

We had a small group of only four people so we were able to visit 5 wineries, as well as stop for lunch at a small restaurant. Our driver was very informative, with wonderful insights into the culture and history of both the wine country and the San Francisco Bay Area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Loved this tour. It's a nice enjoyable pace that lets you not just zoom thru and see the sites but really enjoy them. The guide was very helpfull in suggesting different wineries to meet pretty much everyone's tastes. Most definately recommed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Flexible small group! Exactly what I was looking for, the guide took us to some good places and we were also able to make request if they were within reason. The small group and flexible schedule made this the perfect day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Firstly: tour guide was hilarious. His name was Dave and he really made the trip great. Secondly: we had the liberty of choosing where we wanted to go as we were such a small group. None of us had anything in mind so Dave chose for us. Even though it was Easter Sunday and many wineries closed at 3PM we were able to make the most of it. We were able to drive through Sausalito on the way back and stop to take photos of the bridge. It was a truly great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Brandon our tour guide was excellent. The entire trip was awesome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Very good tour, which you could personalise if you wanted to focus on particular wineries in an area. We concentrated mainly on Sonoma and fitted in 5 visits, 3 which were free and those where we had to pay were at most $10. The guide was excellent and really knew his stuff. On our tour there were only 4 people so it was very personal with no big groups. A really enjoyable day and good value for money

Brian H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Friendly, informative and fun! We went to a wide variety of different vinyards and the driver was open to suggestions of specific places we wanted to go to. There were only ten people in total on the tour so it was personal and everyone was really nice. We even stopped for photos of the Golden Gate Bridge on the way back.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Driverguide Ralph was friendly, relaxed and knowledgeable plus group of four ladies on our tour had really done their homework and helped to plan the route. Five wineries in one day but no real rush at any time and many really excellent wines.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Excellent tour and guide, espcially liked the fact that the group was small and the tour was relaxed and catered to the wishes of the group. Nice to be able to tour some botique wineries. A bit more money than some of the other tours advertised but well worth the extra cost. We were picked up right at our hotel and delivered back 9 hours later. Would definately reccommend this tour and will go again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our group had a great time on the wine lovers tour! We picked three wineries we were really interested in and the guide customized the day to fit those three wineries in, as well as one additional winery he suggested and time for a relaxing lunch in Sonoma. The guide was superb and we had a wonderful day tasting wine and not worrying about driving.

Meredith W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had such a wonderful day out in Napa and Sonoma. Our tour guide took us to fantastic vineyards and some beautiful sights. We had our 16mo old with us and she was having so much fun at all the vineyards too. Everyone was so helpful. The wine was fantastic , the company was too. We ended up buying some wine and making new friends. We hope to visit again soon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was a well organized tour with a very funny tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Our tour was wonderful. We had a great group, and our director-driver was fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We loved this tour! I have been on other wine tours and this was by far the best one i have been on. The driver was amazing and absolutely awesome! He made the tour very enjoyable.

Kirsten B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

It was a rainy day, but I still loved it. Our tour guide was a right chatterbox with lots of useful tit bits of information. The wineries were a great selection. Being a Monday and a little rainy meant that we never had to queue or wait for our tasting, which was definitely a plus. Viator's markup over booking the tour was a bit steep, so it might be worth booking direct.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Perfect way to see Napa and Sonoma. There were only nine people total on tour--worth the extra money. Plus, they pick you up at your hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We could not of had a better driver if we had hand picked him. Our small group was a lot of fun, the wineries were great except one wasn't so neat, the guy who ran it didn't seem to care if we were there or not. But the rest of the day was great.

From USD $ 130.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2402WINELOVERS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message