4.5 star rating: Recommended 794 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive Day Trip from San Francisco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 794 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

First off, our tour guide Ken G was absolutely fantastic. He made this tour exceptional with his personality and professionalism and his camaraderie with the attendees. Additionally, the tour itself was also great. On time, did not feel rushed, able to take photos and stop wherever we wanted. The only issue I would have, is in the future would want to spend more time in Carmel perhaps going there earlier before Monterary because there is seemingly more to do there and by the time we got there, was a bit tired. Otherwise, great tour and tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day trip. Plenty of stops for pictures along the way. Some of the most breathe taking sights you will ever see. Plenty of time in Carmel to see the sights and eat lunch. Don't know if I would do the aquarium again. Driver was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a beautiful day, and the views were fantastic! 2 hour in Monterey and 1 hour in Carmel was just about right.
It was a long drive, but the drive made stops at interesting places, and he had tons of interesting stories to share, so we were never bored. I highly recommend this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide/Driver--excellent 4/14, 9:00 am--first-rate. Ocean views--spectacular. Monterey--nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I recommend highly this trip along one of the most beautiful coastlines. Almost a mixture of Cornwall and southern Turkey! Monterey and Carmel are charming seaside towns. Lovely food at the various cafes and small restaurants at reasonable prices. Tasteful gift shops and amazing aquarium at Monterey. Bob.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome! I would do it again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour. Great tour guide/driver. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour! Awesome pictures and great tour guide. Highly recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was fantastic! Patrick, my tour guide was very thoughtful and nice!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I really loved it. Our guide was amazing, I don't know how he can retrieve so much information! I think we could have spent longer in Carmel, though.

Suzette T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip despite the rain but that cant be helped Kenneth great guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

our driver/guide, Kenneth, made the trip well worthwhile with his knowledge of the area. The best tour we went on the six days we were in SF. Will highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour! 17-mile drive is indeed spectacular (tip: sit on the right side of the bus). I did enjoy stop in Monterey, even if you skip aquarium, it's enough time to have lunch and walk to the beach.
Carmel stop could be shorter (instead, would prefer longer on in Monterey); unless you are into shopping, there is not much else to do (it's too far to walk to the seaside).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour itself was fabulous. Monterey was absolutely amazing. The scenery was breathtaking, the 17 mile drive was very beautiful. Our tour bus driver was not the best and started our tour off on a bit of a bad note with all his rules and he was not a very personable man. His driving left a lot to be desired as well, a couple step on the brakes and fling you forward in your seat. It was a very long day but well worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour and guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour guide. Great views!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing would highly recommend it Kenneth our driver was excellent pointed out interesting places along the way thanks Kenneth for a great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I loved this tour!! The driver was so informative with a great sense of humour . Scenery is spectacular!!! I wish there had been more time in Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Had a great day. the tour guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent day - very full and covered a lot of ground. The Monterey Aquarium is well worth a visit. We enjoyed the scenery, seventeen mile drive and our time in Carmel. Very enjoyable day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Monterey was great. Stopped there for about 1-1/2 hours. The 17 mile drive along the coast was awesome. The driver was great. We enjoyed stopping right by the Loan Cypress. Carmel was okay - not really my kind of place...kind of expensive for me. But all in all a wonderful day. I would highly recommend to everyone. Our tour guide, John was awesome!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We left San Francisco on a gray, rainy day. Our driver, Ken, was very upbeat in spite of the gloom. As we drove, he provided lots of insightful knowledge regarding the areas we passed along the way. We stopped to stretch our legs and have a cup of coffee, or in our case, hot chocolate at a quaint little restaurant, then continued on our way. It was just the right amount of time. As we entered Monterey, the sun came out and the timing could not have been more perfect! There is a two-hour stop in Monterey and you can choose to visit the aquarium. We walked, shopped and ate instead of touring the aquarium (I am not sorry about this choice, but would like to return to see the aquarium). There is so much to see and do, that Monterey could be a destination in and of itself. Continuing down the road, we came to the 17-Mile Drive. What beauty! There were a couple of unscheduled stops for photos just because of the condition of the sea that day: the waves crashing on the rocks made for some stunning views! Ken continued to point out many interesting facts about the area with both insight and humor. The Lone Cypress is a magnificent sight and again, makes for some amazing photo memories. Arriving in Carmel after dark was just as good as daylight, it was holiday time and the entire city was lit for celebrations. We had a drink at the Hog's Breath Inn, shopped, and it was time to return to the coach. On our return to San Francisco, Ken pointed out many interesting sights and provided more narration to go along with those sights. I was a bit sad that the garlic store in Gilroy was closed for the evening, but that was the only disappointment on the entire trip. I would definitely recommend this trip. It is an entire day, but well worth it if you have the time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Awesome tour, Moneterey is outstanding, the 17 miles amzing! Carmel is a paradise

From USD $ 85.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMON

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message