4.5 star rating: Recommended 620 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: San Francisco, California
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive Day Trip from San Francisco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 620 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was a very beautiful experience! Lots of great dining, shopping and picture taking opportunities! Would recommend for everybody! Tour bus driver is very knowledgable, gives great educational commentary!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide/driver John was very knowledgeable. Very nice tour.

Merle K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We recommend this tour very highly. Even though there was quite a bit of smoke haze the day we did this tour it was well organised and punctual. Monterey was a great place just to walk around the see the history and how it all began. 17 Mile drive was a sight to see and stopping at Pebble Beach and walking on the 18th hole of the golf course was fantastic. Carmel was a delightful and quaint little town and well worth visiting. The tour guide/driver was great and knew his area very well. Thank you for a job well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Ken the guide was superb. The trip is basically a full day, fully enjoyable, the scenery was breathtaking and you could take hundreds of photos! A well worth trip, the only change I would recommend is to spend more time in Carmel and less in Monterey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

TOUR WAS FANTASTIC but the last time we did it with another company who were much better
I would not recommend Gray Line as the driver was 30 minutes late and they left us all in the freezing cold and would not let us on the bus, the bus was advertised Wi Fi and was not available and we all froze the whole day as the bus had NO HEATING
the driver was quite rude and abrupt
would not use this company again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Relaxing trip. A highlight for us after all the bustle of the city. Entertaining and informative driver - he even played some music and sang (very well) some oldies but goodies. Weather was wonderful and the coast was beautiful. The vehicle was a 20 seat touring van, very comfortable. A lovely day's outing in a peaceful part of California

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

just too gud...not to be missed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great trip, especially with Wolfgang, our driver. I would recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour! We enjoyed it very much. Also, nte that this company (unlike other companies) leaves a little later and can pick your up at your hotel (unlike other companies) ... which is really nice for people who don't like to wake up early when they're on vacation. One tip: Pack a small snack or have a little breakfast before the trip or on the way. Then when you get to Monterey you can enjoy the aquarium for the full amount of time. (We were famished by the time we got to Monterey so ended up getting a lunch there, and deemed it just so-so ... plus regretted that we weren't spending our whole time of the Monterey stop at the aquarium.) Then when you get to Carmel, you can grab another meal and feel good about maximizing your enjoyment of each stop. Another note: Our driver was amazingly knowledgeable about the whole area and its history. He had a dry sense of humor which we found to be entertaining. One woman on our ride tried to ask a couple questions, but he had a hard time hearing her and had to focus on the road. Therefore, for the bus ride south, expect to be doing a lot of passive listening and learning while you look out the windows. We loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful tour.....very knowledgable bus driver. Would highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The ride was spectacular on the way. 17 Mile Drive was better than I ever anticipated. The driver was very entertaining! As always picked up and dropped off at our hotel by the Airport.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

From the moment we joined the coach until we departed at the end of the day we were well looked after by our driver/guide, John. His knowledge of the areas we were visiting was interesting and illuminating. Our timetable was clearly explained by him and pickup points/times throughout the day's tour were clearly set out. The coach was comfortable and since not all the seats were taken we could spread ourselves out with ease.
We had sufficient time in both Carmel and Monterey to explore. As an avid Steinbeck reader I was very interested in Cannery Row and the Doc's lab.
Good tour. Great scenery Good job, John.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was the most awesome and beautiful views I have ever seen.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour, coastline scenery going down was fabulous as was Monterey,and the aquarium.
17 mile drive ,Carmel and Pebble Beach were all highlights as was the Lone Cypress.
Tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable and made many photo stops along the way .
A must do when going to Sanfrancisco.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick-up from my SFO area motel was perfect to start. Great tour guide/driver, from the city to the end of the trip.

Special Offer

From USD $ 76.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2660SFOMON

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message